Silhouette the Atelier

busybee, rokko
okie, i will try to ask for jasmine then. i haven't set a date for my PS, so haven't booked MUA yet....i dun need glam look. in fact, i don't think i can look glam, will probably turn out horribly wrong!

as for info for table, i dunno what you gals/guys want....erm, the one i did for another thread contained the usual wedding info, like date, BS (which is not applicable here), PS photographer, AD photographer, dinner venue, church/solemnisation venue, new home etc etc etc
but can put any other info u interested in - age, occupation.....

busybee, i find the email then i PM you? a bit busy these few days as flying off again this weekend for biz trip, so rushing to finish everything before i go.

rokko
Good luck for tomorrow's paper *jie you!*

I brought princess and another of my client down to Sil last evening. It was really nice. Princess tried on several gowns and she chose all the dramatic ones coz she's such a drama mama... kekekeke
Anyways I shall leave it to her to share the Sil experience.

I told Miah about my two sugar plum faries and he had a really REALLY good laugh! He says if he ever goes missing please look for BB coz she probably kept him for her own personal consumption. Kekekeke

jasmine's make-up is very natural. I would have probably gone with her if I didnt find someone else who I am even more comfy with
Have to agree that freddy's make-up glam so if you want to look like a diva then freddy's the way to go. I think princess should go with freddy coz her gown will be so GLAM...
so they make-up will go GREAT with it

blush
You wanna PM the table to me? The sect of Sil fan club aka TinTin can do up the table

i have only seen the suit from G2000. Man they are ex. Anyone has any idea how much is a suit from U2?

Alternatively, I am thinking of engaging the tailor from malaysia who is recommended in an another thread in SB.

I spoke with him before and his suit is from $180 to $220 only.

The Silhouette Experience according to Princess Wong...

My Encounter with Sil was like Moulin Rouge. Me = Diva type LOUD design. (Fanciful in simple).

Hmm, sil has more customized design to chose from. I love them all when Minda Gomez showed me total 4 pics to try on.

Another good thing about sil design is versatile we can choose to have your wedding gown with embroidery but evening gown with Feathers, crystals, beads or embroidery etc.

Another thing I might want to consider is rental of kua, Sil provides that at a minimal charge . For price + grown ,suit,MU,flower package, I would say SIL is lower than TY, but + all the extras, I think the sil is better value. but that's how I feel.

I find Minda to be very professional and nice. Worth my every single cent-->*action * Busy digging my piggy bank.

Thanks to TT. Minda manage to dig out 4~5 WGs + one EG for me to try....cuz my Bust is petite and the gowns there were too big for me their gowns are customise to model sizes..*sob* me juz an average Asian girl size...

TY px from $4900++ - $5900 (approx). Sil's prices are at the lower end of the $5K figure, but they have the groom's suit included, TY doesn't.

Both packages do not include car. The rest are included..ie. WG(MTM rental), EG (MTM purchase),SUit-(this is inclusive of MTM men's suit to keep), flowers, hair & make-up(trial, PS & AD), 1x flowers.

To my knowledge, Sil has 2~3 designers sil has gorgeous embroidered gowns and their designs are nice n special. i personally like them cos the gowns they make are very classic and elegant which ever way u wan them to be, they have good designers who are very obliging and dare try to have it done the way we want. ppl there are easy to get along with. I believe all designer will have different strengths.

i trust that they will do a fantastic job on my gowns...

Happy to know that miah has BIG Sil's fan club too!

After talking so much abt Sil, let me side track a little. My Appt with Tan yoong was a pleasant one. He is a very nice guy i must say he really live up to his name of veteran. Not only is he experience, he is a guy with no airs. He gave me true advices where no other bridal boutiques will go to the that extend. (Beside Sil) Trying of the gown is permitted for TY if you have fixed an appt.

But i like both BS!! I go back to Sil for the second appt w my FH (he outstn). *excited

I m so so torn in between these nice BS....

S.O.S

tintin
muahahaaa... miah's funny... BB u better watch out, all eyes are on u to make sure miah's not out of sight and suddenly missing... hee

the dance of the sugar plum fairies! i want!!! must start practising... *twirl* *twirl* *CRASH*... hahaa... ok so i need to practice <font color="0000ff">MORE</font>... but my other sister fairy cant dance with me on ur wedding leh, cos she'll be dancing at her own! :p

so which designer did princess see? was it miah? princess ah where are u? im eagerly waiting for ur updates!!

cutepigs
hey u know, im *really* keen to put a face to both u and fiancee!!! cos u're such a sweet man and she's such a blessed woman (and im sure she's sweet to u as well!) any chances of us seeing u both?

actually just wondering, if u're gonna be wearing dark coloured or black suit for the wedding, why not get your bestman to wear his own suit? im sure all men have that one dark-coloured/black suit hanging somewhere in the closet... but of cos u can prepare a bigger angpow for him then...

rokko,
I just posted Princess's Sil experince

If you didnt know... BB postponed her wedding. So she will be dancing at mine kekekeke
and if I can come back in time, Ngiap Heng and I will be lancing at hers and creating havoc !

princess
eh after i posted asking "where's princess?" and there u go, u posted before me!!! haahaaa silly me ;p

waahhh look like you had a most enjoyable trip to sil! goody!! u diva ah.. hahaa... must choose and wear those glam glam vavavooom kinda gowns then - im sure u can carry them off well!!!

that's the bonus abt sil - great designers, versatility in designs, great value for money!!! and im confident that miah can do a great job on my gowns!

but ultimately, follow your heart... i was also initially torn between sil, kai and tedwu... all three BS have their own strengths, all produce such beautiful gowns... but it's not just the gowns, but also about the communication and chemistry with the designers becos ultimately, if he/she understands your personality and what u are looking out for, he/she will be able to design your *perfect* to die for gown!!!

heheee anyway keep us updated on your choices! both sil and TY have their own strengths... happy BS shopping!!

tintin
HUH???? *blur* so when is BB's wedding now??? oy im confused lah, how come she shifted her wedding back??

but in that case.... the sugar plum fairies are back in business!!!! hee!!! *twirl* *twirl*

rokko
yah. she is very sweet to me. no doubt about that. as to meeting up, don't know leh. cos we both very shy people so quite hard for us. heehee
no offense.

as to why not get my bestman wear his own suit.. well firstly, i don't have my own suit myself. cos i never need to wear one... that is till now... secondly is we are going to get the bridemaid a dress so was thinking should also get one for the bestman.

btw don't know if you all do this but i do make a distinction between a bridemaid and an ah yee. So she will have a bridemaid and lots ( and I really mean lots) of ah yees. And I will have a bestman and xiong dis.

And to Princess Wong... no need to be torn one lah. I have a simple solution. Just sign with Sil. problem solved.

tintin
geez *slaps head* now i see, u posted princess' comments about trip to sil on her behalf... haiz... im *blur* leh, think the studying has gone to my head....

Cutepigs,
When we have our Silhouette Fan Club AGM, you and your FW can come attend kekekeke...

The AGM will probably happen after mid Nov at location (TBC) but probably somewhere in the east

No need shy one lar... we dont bite

cutepigs
dunno how much U2 suits are. but try waiting for christmas sale, they usually have something on. if not, i got U2 discount card, can go with you if i'm in singapore!
lemme go home and see if i got any other U2 or G2000 discount vouchers, they just sent me smth...

tintin
okie, will try to PM you the instructions. but will likely be next week, cos flying off on sunday, and by the time i go to work there, will be tuesday here already! :P sorry!

rokko
good luck for your paper tomorrow!! i'm sure you'll do well...u've always been quite studious one if i remember....
next week's location not so exotic as last one lah. next week going to be in miami. too bad not staying for a weekend, so can't go to the beach. will be in and out in a week. expecting to be terribly jet lagged!! i'm sure i'll age very quickly like dat. how? how to be pretty for wedding like dat?!?

princess
glad to see another BTB happy with sil's services...reinforces my belief that i made the right choice!
i was agonising over BS for a long time.

ok, quick one, testing. if successful, i'll send tintin this file and instructions next week...

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2">Nick</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dinner venue</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church / Solemnisation</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Designer</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">PS Photog</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD Photog</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Home</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">rokko</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">10/9/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Miah</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">cutepigs</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">18/9/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">blush</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">19/11/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Miah</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">tintin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">10/12/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">busybee</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">16/12/05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Miah</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></td></tr></table>

<blink>blush</blink>
that's a good idea

maybe i get him a suit this christmas so he can wear it 9 months later. assuming he does not go out of shape by then
wahaha

cutepigs
hey, i got the same dinstinction between ah yees and bridesmaids. i will only be paying for bridesmaids' dresses, not ah yee. bridesmaids will walk in before me in church, ah yees will help to block the door at home during the morning "fetch-the-bride" saga....
only thing is i don't have a maid of honour. some ppl identify a maid of honour among bridesmaids...conversely, i don't think my FH has groomsmen...so a bit unbalanced! :P

eh...give strict instructions to your bestman not to put on weight lor?
otherwise, deduct from his ang pow to pay for sliming course! hahaha....

tintin
hey, i want to attend AGM too! but i'll only be in singapore between 15 nov and 27 nov leh....can?

sorry so troublesome! me have to travel for work very frequently....

<font color="0000ff">rokko</font>

i deduct from his ang pow also not enough arh!
in the end he might have to give me ang pow!

Blush,
Most welcome to attend
Just waiting VP to finish her exams and President to decide on a date.

You all wanna watch movie or something at the AGM? If not what we going do other than stare at each other?

PW to Cutepigs:-

Ha that a gd one jus sign up Sil n it solve ...
Well not now cos my FH is outstn he will only be back somewhere end of Nov...tentatively shortlist these two BS.

Me busy posting my compliments at the other thread...TT thanks for posting here on my behalf.

Gals I wanna to say is TT is a beri Blessed &amp; sweet gal that I ever met. U gals got to meet up w her.. hee *Free ADvertise for TT*

STill I m still need to clarify w Minda w the proposal that she gave for the package.

She didn mention esp on MUA....Eg: Pre wed how the arrangement for the MUA = will he / she be attaching to us the whole day or wat?

Floral etc...all beri Vivid....so must reali sit down w my FH &amp; HEr to discuss more....
Looking forward to join Sil fan club.

Cheers babes
Have a blessed weekends..
PW

hahaha...i'm just wondering if the minutes will consist entirely of compliments of the Sil staff? (especially the sub-fan club of Miah)!!!!

hello everyone!
BB is back and very lost!!! this thread is moving excitingly fast!

yet another day of frenzied marking and passionate(passionately incensed)shouting. it's really like a munsters' playground now that exams are over and they like to show their exhilaration by screaming their lungs out. i'm telling myself, 2 more weeks and school's out! then i can practise my sugar plum faerie dance.
eh, rokko...you'd gimme the necessary training yah?

blush
what are the BS you were agonising over? heheh...i was twiddling my thumbs over ted wu and sil for the longest time and driving everyone around crazy with the 'silhouette or ted' question. but eventually, miah was the deciding factor. i felt that i'd be in good hands.
220243.gif

TT
eh! you're saying that i'd what...eat miah? i couldnt bear to eat him in a hundred years.
alright, if rokko is training me for the part, i'd be your sugar plum faerie. just so happens that i love tchaikovsky too...haha, presenting the nutcracker by the sil fan club!

rokko
good luck for your exams and dun you worry about the AGM...the secretaries usually take care of everything. the Ps and VPs simply turn up like everyone else.

I'm going to make the first appointment with Sil...wat they will do for the first appointment?? will they offer me to try on the gowns..or i have to ask myself...and do i start bargaining in the first appointment already?? wat do i expect from 1st appointment..?? pls help..thanks!!!

pink_lady

for my first appointment, we (my fiancee and I) went down to meet minda and she ask my fiancee what designs she prefer. Then minda would let her try on a few gowns (which are gorgeous) and she would make suggestions on what suit my fiancee and how the gown should look like.

then, I went through the details of the package with Minda and signed on the spot. Easy.

I am thinking of getting customized wedding bands. Now thinking of going to Fairy Inc, but have not gone down yet.
Would like to ask if anyone has their bands made there before and what is the price range?

Hi pink_lady,

Welcome to this tread, oh behalf of the members of Silhouette fan club would like to extend our warmest welcome and hope that your wedding preps will be an enjoyable experince for you and your future husband
*hugz*

On your first appointment. You will sit with the designer and you can let them know what kind of gowns you like, how you want to feel on your wedding day, what materials you would like to be wearing. If there is any photo of any gown in particular that you like, you can bring down the pic or the magazine.

Based on your likes and dislikes and your body shape, they will bring out a few gowns for you to try and make you walk around in it so you will have a rough feel of it and you can see how you look and then see if you are comfy with the "look" or if its the "look" you are trying to achieve on your wedding day
so you dont really have to ask to try on the gowns, they WILL make you wear them! kekekeke....

Anyways... they have many gowns on the rack on display also. So, if there is any that catches your eye on the rack, you can ask them to take it down for you to try. The designers are extremely nice people so there is no need to be shy about anything...

I'm sure you will enjoy every moment of "The Silhouette Experience..."

Cutepigs,

I've gone down to Fairy Inc before, the owner is actually my JC mate (IJ gal). Can't remember the price range (not exactly cheap) but they are nice people. We didnt get ours from Fairy Inc coz Ngiap Heng prefered rings from The Carat Club which also does customized wedding bands
Our wedding bands have "God's Grace" and a heart engraved on the inside with the wedding date which I thot made it so much more meaningful coz our relationship was such a blessing from God for us...

Hi TinTin,

Happened to pop by this thread, and happened to know you were an IJ gal. Well so am I. I was from IJ (Toa Payoh). Just glad to hear from a fellow IJ gal.

Have been to Sil's and love their gowns too but am choosing between a few: Ted, Julia Wedding News... Sil's a little to ex though. Was quoted around $5.7K.

I do like Fairy Inc's designs. They are unique indeed. Wish you and other ladies here a blissful wedding!

Hi Jan,

Sil's packages are "sorta" not exactly cheap but for the service and quality of the gowns, makeup, flowers, etc... they give, I think they are very value for money.

I know I can trust them to make my dream wedding gown come true with no nasty suprises in between the preps to the wedding day
I've heard horror stories from brides from other BS which was pretty scary...

How was your "Silhouette Experience"? Who attended to you the day you popped by? Minda, Miah or Heath? As you can see, we have a Silhouette Fan Club here with membership growing by the day
Hope you can join our little fan club soon

Oh btw... I think the owner of fairyInc was from IJ Toa Payoh too

hi everyone, it's been so long I can't find my last post in this thread LOL ...

I read about cutepig's arrangement for the bridesmaids and ah yees. Just a question : must ah yees be older than the bride? :S Reason I asked is, isn't it kinda funny to call my girl friends ah yees ?

TinTin
nah carat is too high class liao. out of my reach

joelle
we don't call the ah yees as ah yees... we call them jie mei.

TinTin,
u make me feel so excited abt the meeting...i'm going to Sil this coming sat to meet heath!!!
hopefully everything will turn out fine...they won't force me to sign on the spot rite???
went to blush blush last sat...a bit disappointed...may be i look a bit blur and dunno wat i want...so they din let me try on the gowns...hope this sat with sil will be a good one and i can become a Sil bride too!

hellos all!!
greetings from miami....sufferring from jet lag right now...brain very S-L-O-W......

jan and pink_lady
hope you will fall in love with silhouette like we all did! you'll have a fab experience there!

cutepigs

The Carat Club is not that bad lar... Just do buy "The Love Diamonds" those are very expensive. But if you get a normal diamond. They are VERY value for money. My 0.5 carat diamond was 2x better the quality of a destinee at 1/2 the price only. Give them a ring, if not just go look see look see also good mah...
Sungeetha, the mgr is very nice

pink lady

I'm sure you will have a great time at Silhouette and be enjoying every moment of The Silhouette Experience
The people at Sil will NEVER force couples to sign on the spot. They dont really even talk about closing the deal or money unless the couples bring up the matter first.

The Silhouette Experience is like... the couple goes in and Heath will be like this consultant advising the couple... asking the bride what designs she likes... how she would like to feel on the wedding day... what materials she hopes her wedding gown would be... based on the answers, he will take out a few gowns for you to try... he will also bring out some other designs for you to try so do go with an open mind coz sometimes what you like, you may not look so good in it and what you thot you will never wear may look GREAT on you so you never know...

If you already have something in mind, he would even draw it out for you on paper to show you how the final gown will look like and all these at no obligations at all... so couples walk out of Sil with no bad feelings
Now you know why all of us are like so crazy over the people at Sil? kekeke...
Like someone once quoted... Being a Silhouette bride is at if they are marrying off one of their own daughters so you get very fussed over and feel very intimate with the designers there unlike many other BS which is very commercial and transactional.

So, in conclusion... Enjoy your Silhouette Experience and do share it with us after okies?

Cheers !

princess wong, thank u for ur jiayous!!! hee... im finished my exams oredi! yay!!

busybee, thanks also for ur well-wishes re. exams... finished oredi, what a relief!!! /b{/u{{BUT}}, i still have one more assignment and one more dissertation to write before i graduate! cant wait!!! ;p

pink_lady, welcome welcome!!! ahem... our sil fan club honorary secretary has spoken and said it all... hope u will enjoy ur silhouette experience and hope to see u back with us again (why do i keep feeling this sounds like an air-stewardess' broadcast in the plane?)

tintin, wahhh spoken like a true honorary secretary of the sil fan club!!! hear ye, hear ye!!!! hee... busybee, i think we shld give her a big end-year bonus, what say u? ;p

and i think ur rings sound absolutely lovely! the part about having the words "God's Grace" and a heart engraved on the inside with the wedding date definitely sounds meaningful!! sweet!
can show us when we next meet, if possibel? FH and i have our own ideas abt wedding rings, but we have yet to find the perfect rings yet... we're thinking of getting the russian wedding rings (think cartier's trinity ring) - which is three rings (in white gold, rose gold and yellow gold) interlinked... white gold will represent him, rose gold represents me, and yellow gold represents God - a reminder that our wedding is based on a r/s between us and God! so far we're v keen on the Cartier's trinity ring but it's rather chunky - i feel like some 'da er long' wearing it! hee

cutepigs, i've been to fairy's inc, i think the two ladies there are lovely!!! another place that seems highly recommended for wedding bands is called flower (i think) at takashimaya, next to larry's... perhaps u could also check that out?

rokko

been to flower... or rather passed by there before... looked very very poshed. so we a bit scared... been to je'taime though... for a plain simple plat ring, they quoted $1300 each. kind of ex.