SG Bridal in JB

emily:

lesser than 3 mths. i took my shoots in mid-apr and end-apr, and then by now, the design and all are pretty much firmed up.

talk to them, see if they can keep to your deadline.

was @ SGBridal yesterday evening, to finalise on the album design, and also the wall mount picture frame. pleased with the final outcome. simple and sweet.

also handed in my DVD montage songs. next trip in will be 30 june, to pick up all the stuffs for wedding on early july.

HdBanger

Those printouts that u mentioned is the big piece of paper that they gave u to choose the pics that u wan rite?
Did u add any photos or pages to ur albums?
Will those normal photo shops able to develop the pics if we were to bring our 'printouts' to them?
Any idea at what price...

I was there last saturday to choose my photos.. quite statified... very nice... had i long time choosin.. very excited to see the outcome!!

passed by SG bridal on sat , but they were close..
we were quite late cos initally was making a round at taman sentosa.

next weekend, we intend to go down and check out SG bridal b4 coming to a final decision.

can you guys give me a rough estimate of what i can expect in terms of pricings n freebies n perhaps a particular coordinator to look out for?
appreciate any advice.

Hi nec,

The rough pricing will be RM2888 or Rm3888 or RM5888, you can consider the platinium effect which my hubby like alot! BUt you will have to add on if you want that. I think you can ask for more poses or pages but don't expect too much because they are quite firm in the no. of pages they give.

Extra things will be extra photo frames, musical stand, guest book....

My coordinator is Nicole but seem like most people got Ivy. Both are very friendly & nice people to talk to. You can say you are refer by Dina... Hee...

ling:

yes, those are the printouts, of all the pics.

we ended up adding 2 pages (RM300 per page), and shifted some of the pics over to the smaller album. my missus does not like 24 crammed into 10 pages. too packed. so it's 20 poses in 12 pages.

as for printouts, it won't be ideal to scan and make a duplicate. cos of the surface of the photo paper.

you can select the pics you want (beyond the number of poses you are allocated), and get them to develop for you at a price (mine was $25 per 4R). they'd give you the soft copy. then you can develop extra copies yourself.

nec:

they are closed on mondays. there was once i'd wanted to go in on sunday, and they were involved in a weddin fair, so couldn't meet up. maybe you can call to check if they're around on the day you're goin in.

dina:

heh. your chio big frame pic (3 shots, of you and your hubby) was made as sample for potential customers to reference. still there on sunday when i view my album pics.

Yah ling the printout is also too small to make a duplicate....

Hdbanger, aiyooo you saw my sleeping beauty photos hah? Wahaha....

Dina,

Yah, saw pics of u n ur hubby in their shop too.. e small table top wan. wif e 'jumpin' effect.. tink u bcum their' huo zhao pai' haha
ur slpin beauty pic so nic, i did had tat shot.. but doesnt look nice.. haiz..

Hdbanger,

u mentioned $25 per 4R, is in RM or SGD? hm.. wat u mean is if i wana develop tose pics which i did not select to put in the album, i can ask them to develop right? hm.. y didnt i tink of it earlier.. ivy oso nv mentioned..

Frankly speaking.. i tink Nicole would make a better coordinator.. cus whenever i was there.. ivy nv serve us.. SHE's ALWAYS BUSY, though i've booked appt wif her...

hello all..
went down to SG today.
no one was in! lol.
only the MUA Helen.
she was ok lah....not so hard selling, not so easy to negotiate either.

their pics are very impressive....but she kpet showing me model pics, rather than customer pics..
you know that album with very dark backgrd in sultan garden.

oh yeah, she said that was a "theme" album...??
but no proper name of this theme...and that it can ONLY be done in sultan garden...no where else.
ok, i mean for the old building look, sure, but since most of it is photoshop anyway, and the rest depends on PG skill...isnt that kinda weird?
i mean the style is fantastic...but i dont really want to copy-paste from this model album right?

she quoted me RM35 for each soft copy leh.

and told me MTM is abt $2kRM.
:P
cos their AD gowns arent really my taste.
PS i dont mind exploring and wearing all sorts.

but for AD, i want something i WANT.
and after looking at photos n at the gowns hanging around....really couldnt find anything with embroidery that was more american style...(like say da vinci or eve of milady or alfred angelo)
i dont expect replicates of course, but that kinda pattern is just not available.

perhaps i should discuss with someone else....cos Helen wasnt very flexible in the gown area and in general negotiations...
suggestions?

nec:

think you'd call them, and ask for ivy/nicole. cos that's the best chance of findin someone competent to handle your requirements. helen (don't know who she is) is MUA, don't think sales is her department.

fix an appt with them. then see what style you like. cos once you can tell them, they'd have better idea. then it's whether they'd have it or not.

gown wise, i'm happy with their outdoor gowns, and white gowns. but i don't feel good with their evenin gowns. but designs are subjective. what ilike may not be what you like, vice versa.

so see if can find a match in styles etc. as far as i'm concern, i've given them some leeway, considerin that we're in different countries, and that tastes etc, will always be a little different.

then again, me and missus are not out to be the grandest couple in the world. just some nice and warm will do.

as for softcopy, i was quoted for RM25 for a pc of 4R pic. i want those pics anyway. then can request for the softcopy. maybe your 35 is for another size?

Hi ling, thanks for the nice comments!! Yah, didn't expect them to have the "S" glass table top in their bridal shop as well. I have one on my TV console & I love it!!

As for the sleeping beauty shoot, the reson why its nicer might be because I like to sleep mah... heee... :P

Nec, nobody around? Thats strange but like what HDbanger says its better to call & arrange with them first then they can allocate time to serve you. As for the gowns, they only showed me the PS gowns but not AD gowns, they told me nearer to the dates then choose the AD gowns because will have new ones available. To what I know, they gave me a new gown for my AD, different from the PS ones.

And I agree with HDBanger that AD evening gowns not fantastic but still ok, we choose a black gold-ish one.

My AD photos are out! But still must find time to upload on multiply!

thanks guys for the advice.

yeah, think i better grab hold of ivy or nicole..

oh, i dont mind the gowns for PS, or AD EG.
my only priority is AD WG. the rest i'm very flexible, willing to try anything/everything.
just the AD WG. :P
church wedding lah.
very impt to me.
dinner n ps are secondary.

nec:

highlight to ivy/nicole, so they'd take note of such things.

one thing i emphasised to jenny for several times when we were doin gown selection, was to give enough paddin to the gowns. my missus conscious of how it'd be 'moulded'.

when jenny and ivy saw how serious i was about it, the issue was resolved in the next fittin.

ladies,

have signed up with ian (tho without the express montage, due to time constraints) to do videography. and like what the rest said, he's a v friendly guy.

and somehow, he managed to ID me, heh. left me wonderin for a long time. perhaps he's lurkin somewhere in the forum.

with that, SGBridal's work is about 90% done. left the gown, coat, accessories and pics to pick up this wkend.

Hi HDbanger, you can be rest assured with Ian, he is responsible & humorous! And he brings up the mood on your wedding! Cheers!

<font color="aa00aa">i finished my PS yday! din noe it can be so tiring.. what went wrong yday: halfway thru the outdoor shot, it started to rain + parking summon. other than tat, everything else was ok.

i was told tat the photos will be ready for selection in ~1 wk's time. am i expecting to c edited photos, all of them or as-is? cos i dun tink they will edit all fotos when im only gg 2 choose <30 rite?

lookin back at the fotos i took wif my hp yday, i regretted having tat hairstyle to go with the red gown. i look really weird. and the kimono look. HB wasnt very confident if the shots for outdoor will turn out well anot cos it was hurriedly taken. sigh.. all i can do is to wait and hope tat everything's gonna b fine, wif the help of editing.

paging for ian.. i've been trying to contact u but u nv reply. i had planned to pay the deposit yday but cldnt find ur shop. can u pls eml me at [email protected] when u c tis msg? thanks alot..</font>

Hi rosel, don;t worry about the PS, it will turn out nice!! I trust SG skills! No, the other time when I choose the photos its not edited one. Pls do let us see the photos once its out!

Actually you can ask Ivy or nicole to call Ian, he will come over to SG bride one. Cheers!

rosel:

don't worry about the photos. since you'd be takin out <30, just pick out the ones that didn't turn out bad. plus, take your time (i took about 1.5 hrs to look at the pics carefully), and think carefully what 30 will go into the album. will have to form a theme or something (which my missus and i didn't do), then easy for them to edit and lay out on the pages.

the photos for viewing will be as is. any special editin requirements, highlight to them during selection.

as for ian, best is you call his mobile. number is somewhere in this thread (probably 1 page before this). that's how i got him in the end too.

ladies,

as for myself, have picked up the gown/suits/photos. had a long day, as we waited for jenny to amend the cuttings, as some didn't fit my missus well. so about 1 hr taken for the amendments, plus another half to 1 hr to wait for her to settle other couples before comin to us.

but i'm glad the fittin ended nicely, missus is happy with it. and i'm happy with the pics.

viewed the dvd montage, also happy with it. think ian settled the mood nicely.

my only minor grouse (if any): i wasn't given the soft copy for all 105 pics i picked. not sure if they left out, or i have to pay extra. probably i have to remind ivy before i go back in to return the stuff next wkend.

total damage: above RM6K. 2 extra pages, and 105 x 4R pics, on top of the RM3888 package.

Hdbanger,

Don worry...everything back to normal..

Dina,

Thanks for the compliments. Need to treat u for makan... strictly for "ROTI PRATA ONLY"

Cheers...have a good day

Hi dina
so long haven't been in here..
when I wanna intro, the hotel staff came to attend to us... but I'm really glad SG bridal did such a gd job on your album! ya, saw your big framed photo in SG bridal + the frosted S shape glass..

Hi Hdbanger
Initially when we went in,still hve my doubts that they might treat us differently after we placed a small deposit..but after that we just went ahead...
end may:
paid 1st deposit..Kevin as our pg as I like his methods when i viewed 1 of the sample ablums ..
June:
attend their wedding fair,spoken to ivy, top up for extra pgs..poses..better gowns which she mentioned it's super super vip -not in those normal pkgs, paid another deposit RM500
till now we still have not decided when to go for gown selections...headache!
they have a new theme..very nice too..those in white background..

end June:
actually went in for shopping, but at the same time to tally our new receipt coz we top up till no place to write during the fair... hee..
saw alot paper bags &amp; car decors in the frontshop.. and also get to view a couple's montage...later spoken to Ian's brother, watched their vg, their comical one very funny!
mayb will sign them up for our actual day.. any gd deal ian?? ;p

for those with SG bridal, pls kindly add me: adnl2002 for me to view your pretty photos!!! ^__^

hi beatiful BTB
so nice to see so many pp going to SG bridal and my choice dun seems wrong in choosing this shop
just rec a PM from a BTB and u gals just remind me of my wedding anni on 080706.

rosel
i rem some mths bk u told me abt ur exp in SG bridal and am glad to see U taking up e package. i miss e time i was preparing for my wedding.. time flies.. another yr has gone by....

Ian
my BB vanda will soon come to ur shop and ask for ice cream liao hor... we wanted to go SG bridal soon to take our family pics but no time. then vanda was too young and now 4mth, HB is away india..

ladies,

still at hotel suite right now. took an extra nite stay after AD on 4th july.

firstly, to ian (aka fatboy)...

my thanks again to you for your vid shoot on AD. sorry i'd to put you thru some 'hot moments' as we did a grp shot of my brothers (i'm part of the clubmusso gang, and about 6 mussos supported the convoy in the morning. i drove a musso bridal truck too). the rest of us had a great time with you. hope you did enjoy yourself too.

ps: invest in a security camera system lah. hook up to record into harddisk. any probs can ID the person at least. or lock equipment in cabinets. best is use keypad code entry at door. at least pple find harder to attack. heh.

as for the gowns, sadly, it was so rushed in the dinner nite, my missus ended up using only 2 out of 3 gowns. my dinner start late, and there were a couple of montages to see. i used SG Bridal's DVD montage (also credit to ian's team's design, missus and i like it) as screensaver during reception to save time.

many pple commented i look great in a mandarin collar coat (macam like fei yu qing), but i used my own suit at nite, and stayed with it all the way. personal reasons.

and we did miss jenny's makeup expertise. our AD MUA wasn't 'zai' enough to pull off the whole thing smoothly. which caused a bit of delay during the bride pickup. and also evenin's solemnisation.

will be returning to sgbridal this sat to return the gowns/coats. many thanks to them for their support and advice.

Hi hdbanger, what happen? Seem like an adventure for you! I also took three gowns from SG but one is for tea ceremony because I thought I wouldn't have time to change 3 outfits in one night...

My guests still talking about the video now after two months... And that fat boy ian is very funny! Hee... Ian, my hubby forgot to drop by your place to pay you, I will remind him again. Sorry!

HI Fion,
Don worry.. Ian kor kor (Not uncle) will treat vanda ice cream when you allowed. Hey the name is very nice.

Hdbanger,
Actually during your toasting, i wanted to ask you to bang your head as you flow with the music. Well so nice to see you to enjoy your BIG day rather than you work it out.Remember take things easy man!!!

Dina,
Huh!!! no need to say sorry as i would charge the interest accordingly...
(BIG ear hole rate)

Everyone, cheers for friendship!!!

dina:

long story. by AD, i was too exhausted from all the preparations. had only been doin about 4-5 hrs sleep per nite for about a month, as i did all the plannin after work in middle of night. family issues didn't help.

other things tossed me upside down. traditional cakes didn't have ribbon. red wine supplier gave shiraz instead of cabernet. honeymoon tickets couldn't confirm (agency wanted to scam extra money). flowers was sourced only on friday evenin for wednesday wedding. bridal suite got problem confirming. JP was held up by our delayed mess. mom forgot IC durin solemnisation. delay during convoy shoot (which led to late check-in, n later makeup). the list goes on...

dinner started late, as plenty of pple had problems gettin a lot at my hotel (my van club kakis probably filled them up big time). so it was about 8.30 when it started.

good thing was, everyone had a great time. and whatever tried to plan for (montage, music), my kakis executed beautifully. so we had a great time at nite, tho short time frame, and great fun. in plain dressin (ie unbuttoned shirt and jacket). didn't even gel my hair.

ian,

sorry, was busy watchin and controllin the wine flow (long and smooth preferred), so let mandy do the banging instead. heh.

cos by nite, the crew can handle with the hotel, n mandy not flustered by 'external noises', then i can 'fang xin' enjoy the nite. tho in protest, i decided to stick with the same outfit for whole nite. sorry if i didn't add variety to your vid. but that mood at nite, was how it was supposed to be for the whole day. heh.

hope you had a great time workin with my mei's husband, colin.

ian
still not fixed yet..although tentatively there's a date..but still finalising which one...
will inform u once fixed! ^_^

hdbanger
congrats to u &amp; ur missus! times really flies!

think i mentioned wrong name..it's shld by kenneth who'll b our pg...haha

ladies,

returned the gowns/coats safely. and got my softcopy of the pics, which ivy forgotten to hand over during collection.

will not load up the pics now, perhaps after i'm back from honeymoon, either load up the pics at my mutiply site (which is down for personal reasons), or host it somewhere else.

lookin forward to ian's vids later this month. think there's plenty for him to edit. heh.

ADNL,

thanks. life back to normal for me and mrs. she remarked seemed a little different, seemed still the same. wasn't the perfect wedding, but ended on a high note.

Hey Dina,

My multiply id is :thocat
mind adding me. will really like to see your pictures before going down to SG.

ladies,

how's everyone? hope all havin a good time, before and after wedding etc.

i've opened the draft pics again on multiply, after locking them down around my AD period. had some friends who wanted to see them.

sg bridal's studio pics are finally up (all 106 of them). AD pics taken by my friend (my commissioned PG) also in there. ian, the VG mentioned in this thread, is also seen in one of the last few photos in the AD album. heh.

enjoy...

http://photo.distancer.net

Hi Kavitha, no prob! Invited!

Yah marriange life is so far so good! Except for the housework... :P

Hi Hdbanger, where did you hold your wedding?

I'm back in the forum again. Busy over the weekends. Finally settled booking my wedding banquet and settling for wedding date. All done in one sunday.

Dina/HdBanger: I keep reading abt the recommendations of Ian. Is his service good? My sis getting married in Oct. She is looking for actual day photographer and videography. Budget not exceeding $1K. Any recommendations??

dina:

grand plaza park hotel. somewhere near peninsular plaza. about 28 tables filled, out of 30.

as for housework, you'd be used to it, after a while. even both of us also doin some of our own housework, tho we stay with our folks (for now).

lizzy:

if you're lookin for some humourous vid compilation, ian's a good option. i didn't go for that, due to time constraints. he has several options. you can find a package under 1k, like me too. mine's about 800, with the full day video.

as for how it went... basically, he took the proceedings, plus a few poses/actions which he asked me/brothers/sisters to do etc. then vid taking of all dinner tables, as we went around for photographs. just make sure he follows along one of the main brother vehicle along with/in front of your convoy. the groom's place, he gotta reach there first to take shots of your arrival.

and, allocate a place for him during dinner (i forgot all about that in my exhaustion, so sorry ian..), let him grab a bit of bite in between etc. enough water for him in case the day's hot etc. you get the idea.

call his mobile, wire an appt, and take a look at his sample vids, and see if you like his style. if you not in hurry, can fix to see him in sg, esp if he's in the area. just need to prepare a power point, to run his laptop.

hope it helps.

HdBanger,

Ur photos are very well-taken and I must tell u that your wife looks gorgeous, SG did a geat job on the hairdo and make-up to enhance her natural beauty. The gowns are very nice too.

SG is one of my final 2 shortlisted BS, after seeing your photos I am not sure if I had made the right decision to sign up with another BS :P

bubblesushi:

thanks. you can see her real looks (ie no makeup) in the honeymoon pics. jenny did a good job with her setup. til today she's still regrettin not gettin jenny as her MUA on AD. we had problems with MUA on AD (you can see from AD pics). cos once jenny knows your style, she can set it up proper in a short time. dem competent.

as for the gowns, we took quite a while to pick them. most of what they have (esp the evening gowns), were not what we have in mind. wife's sister helped quite a bit also in deciding.

as for direction of photography, we left it to them. all i want is something that won't look outdated 20 years later. somethin which is fun and cheery. relaxin durin the sessions help a lot to bring it out nicely.

don't worry too much about your choice. just take it as it comes, and make the best out of it. bottom line (which was wat i told my wife): you have to feel comfortable and good in the gowns, esp the AD ones. if not, make them alter until it is so. and for photo sessions, just relax, and snap away. you can choose the ones you want and don't want later.

beyond this, we're not fussy about anythin. which also helped.

have a great shoot, and wedding.

Hdbanger,

I fully agree with u. One will only be confident when feel comfortable, I shall get ur advice earlier. My PS was over, my 2 main WG were not fitting and I kept adjusting the gown during the PS as I feel uncomfortable. I should have insisted to get it altered to fit me but now is too late just keep my finger cross on the AD gown which is more important.

hdbanger,agreed wif bubblesushi dat your wife looks v lovely...so many photos taken...took more than half an hr to finish looking.. am oso looking for ssangyong car actyon i guez it's spelled like dat...is musso belong to u or rented? how much?

Hi lizzybride, ian is good!! He is super funny &amp; all my guests really enjoyed his video. Must try out!

And yes hdbanger, Jenny is really good in what she do... I am posting my AD photos in multiply... first part done... now doing 2nd part.

bubblesushi:

AD gown for my wife was problematic (she chose in end-apr, AD in july, size change a bit). plenty of amendments. waited the whole nite for jenny to settle the gowns, and be sure they fit and hold onto her body nicely.

adnl:

actually, if you saw my AD pics, the brother gang is consisted mainly of guys from the ClubMusso forum, which i'm one of the regulars. i'm there cos i also drive a double cab truck, nissan d21. probably the only non-musso trucker there.

the white bridal truck was borrowed from one of the musso guys. he consented to my wife's request for a white (instead of other colours) musso. like he said, so long my wife happy, can already. i gave him a nice AP, pumped his tyres for him, and topped up diesel. and let him have all the car decor for his daughter.

the rest came along for AD morning (6 mussos in total, 1 wish, and a sunny). plenty of fun, if you saw the pics.

i'm not sure if any actyon is available.. cos no actyon drivers in forum. can ask for you tho. but my best suggestion is for you to head down to MyCarForum, and make an enquiry there, see if any actyon drivers are around and can lend you a helping hand.

hey dina,

great pics! you look great in those gowns too! think i made it in time to catch part 2..

think your hubby and i same. not so much into dressin like a suave hunk. heh. just somethin presentable can already. i looked worse than him on my AD.

but yeah, think you guys had a great time.. which hotel? looks cosy to me.. pity my PG didn't take a lot of pics of the ballroom...

Hi HDbanger!! Thanks for dropping by! I saw your photos as well, wanted to leave comments but there was no option there.

My hubby didn't change his suit he feels no need... Hee... We were at HIA ex-concorde, love the purple theme.

dina:

didn't need a huge round of comments, you ladies enjoy and happy after viewin, it's enough. which is why i didn't enable user registration (which seemed the only way to input comments on my photo website).

your hubby and i same. i didn't wanna change for the dinner. tho i had 2 suits, and time while waitin for my wife to change. ditched the tie even. so i end up using the suits for the day only.

HIA, one of the place i wanted to check out. but wife was tired of seein so many places, so we settled on GPPH.

dina:

my mistake. thought you were referrin to my photos over @ distancer...

for multiply, the comment function wasn't disabled. not sure why, at times the comment box refuse to appear. it was the same for my photo album last time. refreshin the page will help.

Hdbanger,
thks for the info!

Thought it's all musso ;p... ya, can see u all are enjoying..those guys are nice..

i will probably ask my FH to go into those 2 links which u provided.. anyway our weddg will be held only next year..

Thanks again!