Dun
our package oso went up wif the rates! kekekekeke

xinyi >>> last time is higher but nowadays i realise that spore rate better

Wow serene,so high arh...but im working in tuas so no chance to go there also

xinyi, i went for my aerobics and cardio scuplt at sport complex and CC. i think it works leh. my arms not as flabby as before. been doing for 3mths already.

i always go arcade to check the exchange rate. only change when its above 2.40. now we already have enough to pay for the balance, hotel stay and some expenses.

Hi Chloe, which CC you went to? My CC don't have all these classes so I signed up for gym =( but overall I think exercise do works cos I lost 7kg since CNY till now liaoz.. =P

Wow didn't know arcade has got such good exchange rates haha. But it's not near my workplace so can't go over even the exchange rate is high. *sighz*

High exchange rate in JB does not benefit Malaysian as it will make Singapore dollar more expensive. However, in Singapore, cheaper RM make Malaysia much cheaper for us....

I seriously need help on the GuoDaLi items..l ever posted question about it like a month ago..but now reli need definite answer.

Haha..Im a hokkian and HTB is a cantonese. My parents decided to take tables instead..which means the dowry required will be lesser rite? My future MIL asked me to write down things that i want them to bring over to Jakarta (they'll be flying off to visit my parents in June). I reli dunno wht to ask? Coz i heard each custom has its own requirement. Do i need liquor, phoenix candles, jewellery, oranges, sweets, diapers angbao? Hahaha..im reli confused..please help!!

Btw, is it a MUST to select an auspicious date to present the GDL? Coz seriously, we juz chose the date of 20th June (Sat) without consulting any master :o Btw, when the bride's family returning some of the GDL items to the groom's family, does it hv to be on the same day? My AD will be on 26 Sept, but the GDL "ceremony" is 3 months earlier, can or not ar?

autumia & xinyi, may i ask how often you exercise per week and for how long per session? i am desperately looking for motivational stories to remind myself that my aerobics will work and will make me slim!
4 months liao still same weight

>shery, it realli depends on what ur parents wan for guo da li.. cos for my mom, she ask my mil to substitute everything wif angbaos..there are shops tat sell guo da li items.. 1 in chinatown, 1 in IMM and i think there's one in Jurong west.. sometimes those traditional pastry/cake shops will be able to help oso..
as for choosing of dates, as long as the date is suitable for having customs, then shld be ok if u are not tat particular..

shery >>>> hmm,,my mum never ask for much for GDL.we are both hakka.my mum only ask for a pc of red cloth for the door,long feng candle 2 pairs, 6 can of pork meat (dun know how to say in english)and 2 more items cant remember.we never even say when the GDL will be maybe just a few days b4 AD also can cos we all not supersitious.As for dowry i think we will not give much cos my dad wants 7 out of 10 tables that we had (ARGGHHHH) talk abt this im blood super boiled.

It all depends wat ur parents wants.its give and take lol

Hi Xinyi,
If everything is to be substituted wif angbaos, wun it look like we r being materialistic? Understand that actually it's for a matter of convenience la..Haiz... both me and HTB dun mind on hvg GDL 1 week or 3 weeks or 3 months b4 the AD..though he says we'll juz follow that we muz consult a master in regards to our An Chuang's date..The prob is..my parents don't know that even GDL oso needs to set a date...haha..i don't intend to tell them..coz my HTB and his parents hv already booked ticket to Jakarta :o

I think Angel's recommendation is right...just eat less rice..or don't eat rice at all..juz hv meat, lots of vegies and fruits.. you'll be fine..of coz..exercising will also speed up the losing weight process...and must think positive..dun keep thinking, "it doesn't work"...u must think that you are receiving results already and you'll continue to follow (one of the secrets of law of attraction). Hope it works for you, coz it works for me :D

hi lovenco, it depends on how much time i have for the particular week cos i need to do OT sometimes. usually i'll exercise at least 2 times for an hour a week, that's the min. if i got the time i'll go to the gym like 4-5 times a week and at least 1 hour each time.

hi Shery, GDL is really depends on what your parents are asking for. eg, my mum's teochew so she already stated that my htb must prepare 4-dian gold and teochew cakes but my dad's hokkien so he ask for canned pork leg. some cantonese will also give coconut to the girl's side (this is what i heard from my cantonese friends) so you have to see what parents of both sides are asking and giving.

I think my parents can be chin-chai in the GDL items la..since they've alr asked on the tables (5 out of 9) and diaper's angbao. We hv to eliminate the pork meat thing coz my parents are "vegetarian". Im juz concerned about not hvg auspicious date for the GDL exchange..maybe i shdn't think so much!

Fashion Closet, wah 7 out of 10 tables :o u also gog to hv a small wedding ar? Haha..y u are super boiled?

7 out of 10 means all the 7 tables angbao will be keep by them but the whole wedding money is our money lol..7 tables means 7k.i think its too much.i dun know how urs work?

Fashion Closet, i've confirmed 9 tables and reserved 6 tables..juz in case..the wedding dinner will be paid by my future FIL. If we asked for 5 tables, that means the bride side doesn't hv to pay for that 5 tables la :o I'm also not sure..whether the angbao money will be for me and HTB to keep..or..it will be used to pay for the dinner, minus off from the total billing..then my FIL will pay for the difference..which i think it will be more likely...
Anyway i'm always grateful that my future FIL is willing to help.. doesn't matter it will be small or big sum of money

for me, i try to take wholemeal bread with tuna or salad or fish soup for lunch. as for dinner i will be having with my bf, so i will eat watever he is eating (normally he eats junks haiz...). i excercise 1hr, twice a week. So i think taking up these excercise classes is good, at least i feel obligated to go.

those ceremony stuffs, i will ask my mum to write down wat she wants from my IL. She will go n consult my aunites, cos she also not sure. den i will pass the list to my bf to discuss with his parent. make sure everything is agreed b4 the parents meet, to avoid any arguement. I give my mum 8 tables, the ang po collected from these 8 tables will go to my mother, we wont take a single cent.

shery >>> lucky u to have ur FIL to help,,ya i think its reasonable to use the angbao money to pay for the dinner.then the dowry ur bf can give more.

for my case is my parents will take the 7 tables money and not helping us at all so i tell my bf the dowry just give a minimum sum will do since they will collect all the angbao.

I juz clarified with HTB..the angbao collected from the numbers of requested tables will be given to my parents..then the rest will be going to my future PIL, which will be used to pay for the wedding dinner la. Nothing goes to our pocket ^^.

ya i suppose so too cos ur parents take the 5 tables money as a form of dowry.thats y i say when GDL the angbao we will not give much.

You are lucky cos ur FIL help u to pay,mine is our own money and nothing goes to us except the 3 tables that belongs to my bf side cos my MIL also very understanding so the angbao will give back to us.hope that it can cover abit for our honeymoon

Fashion Closet,
i don't mean to rub it in..if i were in ur situation, i'd also feel fired up.. i also kinda feel paiseh that my FIL has to help to pay..coz me and HTB r actually saving up to buy HDB flat.. i can only try my best to be a good DIL to repay them.

Ya..im also glad to understand how the angbao things work now..dun wait till the AD then argue on this thing..so paiseh sia...

shery >>> yup,its good to have a clear discussion first b4 AD orelse it will be ugly on that day

yup,,actually me and father has not been on good terms since im 14.but my mum its ok lar,but she very poor thing cos she is also in between

and i took this opportunity to move out of the house 3 mths ago.

Hi Fashion Closet,
I understand how u feel.. for me, my relationship with my family can be considered close.. too close till i wanna have my own space.. at first i thought wanna hv ROM first this year..then the customary dinner on the following year. But my parents forbid me to stay with HTB even tho after we had our ROM, coz they are very very strict.. so feeling so restricted, in the end we decided to have both ROM and dinner in one day. Haha! And good thing we've made the right decision, coz it's really cheaper (we've got our ROM setting FOC) and oso we dun hv to confuse our guests giving angbao twice :D

haha..ya good idea! that is wat we want also cos no point ROM and cant stay together
my father is very strict also but im those rebelious typo so he got no choice when i say i want to move out that time.cos he already 'sell' me away liao..hahaha (who cares) but i still go home for dinner everyday now except weekends.

>ladies, i miss the whole day of action!! my parents ask for 8 tables.. but for ou case, we will pay them the amt for the 8 tables.. that's 8k gone liao.. my colleagues actually teach me to pay the 8 tables to my parents first so that on the actual day we can get the ang baos from the 8 tables so tat wun loogi. but it all boils down to the agreement which my parents will wan to hav wif us..

>fashioncloset, undertand how u feel.. my parents actually once objected me wif my htb then.. things got so bad till we are very careful in handling the wedding... my MIL will jus do n buy watever my mum wants.. i;m a teochew,so gotta settle the 4 dian jin oso.. but htb is hokkien so very different.. tat's why mom wan us to sub mos of the items wif ang bao.. my mom tot its for our convenience though...heee.. but now headache,dunno how much to put in the ang bao... :P

xinyi >>> im not sure will u loogi or not cos all depends on the ppl u invited.actually i thought of this method also give my dad the money first then we collect angbao but we felt a bit risky cos out of 7 tables 4 are from my dad side and they are super stingy one
so i decide not to risk it.

>fashioncloset, think cos ur tables are lesser... perhaps logistically wise, it will be more convenient for u to pay your dad first? then can take all the ang baos tat nite'?

Hi Fashion Closet, Xinyi,
For me..i don't think my parents can get $$$ from the 5 tables that they requested..coz all my indo relatives..most probably will give me jewelleries, not angbaos -_-" Aiya..like that shd juz ask for pinjin hor :o GRGRGRGR...

Fashion Closet, where u'll be holding ur banquet?

Morning gals!

Angel, u've collected ur album & wedding gowns, etc rite? Everything shun-shun-li-li...Hee..in the end, did u ask ur coordinator to help re-issue the invoice to avoid the tax thingy?? ^^

Then how many gowns u hv? Im thinking to have one in the morning & ROM, another one for the march-in and EG! Kyaaa so excited... How's ur preparation? Ur wedding day is approaching...ahead from all of us here ^^

All brides, we must jiayou! Dun let work take away our happy days!

MY co-ordinator Amy from SG bridal called my bf ytd to say that next yr's schedule is open for booking! but me n my bf no time to discuss when to take yet

So all remember to call up to book your dates!

Hi All, Re-post coz it has been archived

Angel's AD: 20 May 2009
Fashion Closet: 21 Sept 2009
Shery's & Esthee ADs: 26 Sept 2009
Chloe's AD: 29 Sept 2009
Yulei's AD: 3 Oct 2009
Yong Ling's AD: 21 Nov 2009
Xinyi's AD: 28 Nov 2009
Purple Posh: 13 Dec 2009
Shirley's AD: Mar 2010 (TBC)
Jing Yuh's AD: 23 May 2010
Valerie's AD: 5 June 2010 (TBC)
Heartz: 20 June 2010
Dione's AD: 25 July 2010
Misspiggy's AD: 10 Oct 2010
Lydia's AD: 18 Dec 2010 (tentative)
Baby pie's AD: 23 Jan 2011
Autumncandy's AD: Nov 2011 (most likely 11 Nov 2011)
Huiling's AD: March/April 2010

Hi Sharon, haha..i cld only recognize everyone in their nickname..wuahaha.. Btw, i saw Zen as our common friend is FB, u know her?

Misspiggy, thank u for re-posting.. what's ur real name on the FB ar?

>Angie, thanks for re-posting the dates. If we are all agreeable to post the wedding dates on facebook, we should put our nicknames and real names together. Guess we have to get all to agree
Otherwise, i'm ok as well : )

Hi Purple Posh (Sharon ^^), she is my ex-client la.. hahaha.. what a small world =)

Oh..ok..so Misspiggy is Angie Lee, Yong Ling is Cheryl Ling, Purple Posh is Sharon.