Senja Green , HDB August 08 BTO

Normally BTO units are handed over 6 mths ahead of schedule. Mar - Jun 2012 looks more realistic. 633C are doing up the walls of level 30.

In year 2000, HDB have surplus 10,000 units mainly 5 rooms, located in Jurong West / Pioneer area. In 2005, the cluster of units near Jurong Camp / Pioneer area have yet to be cleared, to the extent that the unsold units need to be repainted since it had been 5 yrs since completion.

To address this issue, HDB reduced the building of units sharply in 2005, 2006 and 2007, which created this problem now. And even though HDB announced 22,000 BTO units within this year, they bloody forgot the pt that, it takes at least 3 yrs to get the units ready for TOP. ...

IMHO, MBT is sitting in MND wasting taxpayers money. The same goes for Raymond Lim... BOth their policies did not improve citizens lives... They improved the bottom line for state coffers.

santa >> Oops, maybe my eyes are the ones that beat birds instead...

stonefish >> On the topic of birds, your eagle nest was on ST a few days ago. Seems like its on the land slated for the new EC and someone asked if anything will be done to help the eagles.

Hi neighbours, I guess the rental flats is being occupied already. Went pass a few times and there are families staying in there le. Seems our flat might come sooner den we think?

Tomahawk : ACRES and Nature Society are aware. But I doubt they will be able to relocate the nest successfully, as once human intervention are detected, the birds will abandon their nest,

Hi Everyone~~ Missed me?? I'am still alive~~ Juz pure busy and been overseas for the past weeks~

Santa>> I still routinely follow this thread .. dun worry .. u ppl are my future neighbours~ I will stay in this thread til it removed~~ And i am still very kaypo .. u know hor .. wiwiwi pregnant liao leh . .wahahaha~~

Wiwiwi>> Congratulation~~ going to become mummy soon hor~~ The flat will come juz in time~~

Wilson>> Welcome~~ We are real close neighbours~~

Wah~~ The latest batch of BTOs all so expensive .. nothing change leh~~ Mabo go already still the same .. hehe .. but give them some time lah~~

Yesterday evening passby saw our flats all completing .. great job~~

haha...ya, even the blangadesh workers oso miss u and u should work as a reporter instead...den can bring us more news. hahaha... jk.

@wiwiwi, congrats on becoming mummy soon!

Wow.. Co2fan.. how is china..? Having fun ma?
Am joyous when i drive pass our senja green. Can even see the roads to Rental Flats.

But im puzzled. With the MCP not ready yet, how can ppl move in Rental Flats?

COE so high, keep rising. I think ppl with no car can move in before carpark is done. No car now means won't buy car now. Crazy COE...

SAndy>> China got all the lobang .. all things very cheap~ For example, I bought NIKE shirts at less than 10 bucks sing dollars..Angry bird medium soft toys at 2 singdollars each .. multiplier fan (smallest size selling $300 plus here) selling at $50 plus sing dollar~~ Real quality stuff bargain in mainland~~ All very quality, nice and trendy . some not yet available in singapore like the Donie Yen underwear which i bought 10 pair myself. My wife bought jeans and blouses..my sis bought branded lugguage better priced than the lugguage fair recently at Taka~ You'll be surpriced at how cheap the leather stuff is~~ And i got some contact from their mega whole seller mall(intent to courier some back here to sell .. guarantee stuff singaporean will like coz here dun have mah)
Muz go Zhuhai, Guangzhou and Jiangmen when you happen to be in Guangdong province or bypass Macau.
Hey you sell your car then no car drive liao leh .. now buy 1 like pay 2 wor~~

Haha... Co2fan... you saw the light in China... Normally my business trips to China, went with almost empty luggage, return with full luggage. haha... Best part is the food...

Is the quality from china good?? Just wondering, sometimes the price is really too good to be true isnt it?

Just had news from my fren who bought a hse @ Arcadia (premium flats), her block are ready for inspection soon *envy*, now the residents there r pretty unahppy about the sink in their toilet, guess most probably they will be lodging a complain..

I wonder how will ours looks like?

@ co2fan, with each China business trip, I never fail to put on a few kilos when I am back. thats why I stopped going China... changing to ROC and HK soon...

@ sandy : Many moons ago,for mass market tiles,toilet accessories, HDB is using Malaysia / Taiwan products, until the rise of the World's Manufacturing factory - China. In fact, I have a ex client who's into manufacturing of tile, toilet bowls,sinks, bricks etc. Too bad they only deal wholesale, selling by the containers.

MIC products got local grade or export grade. Export grade are fine.

BTW, whats wrong with their toilet sink ?

Toilet sink by default lo. No legal cause to complain. We have to take what they give. Go by left lo if your contractor is willing, just hack and change lo. No one will know. Unless contractor Bao Tou...

Home
About the picture you took... the one with downtown line MRT. Which direction are you taking from? Is the junction in the background Woodlands road turning into Senja Road?

Dampard... Yup, this is the T-junction from woodlands road left turn to senja road. I have added three photos into the album. The concrete overhead bridge is torn down. There is a new steel bridge crossing woodlands road. 2 lanes are closed and 3 diversion lanes are built towards senja green. I'm not sure whether this would be permanent for woodlands road widening project.

Latest DBSS in Tampines .
- 4 - rm ( 83 ~ 84 sqm , less off 14sqm for AC ledge n balcony, usable space 70sqm ) S$531 - S$683
- 5 - rm ( 108 ~ 109 sqm less off 16 sqm for AC ledge n balcony, usable space 92 sqm) S$685 - S$880

Crazy prices for public housing units governed by HDB rules for public housing , even after deducting the furnishings, which I estimate at around 50K.

$685 - 880K for unit which cannnot be used as collateral to banks and sales restricted to Citizens or PR only. Same amount will be better utilize to get a pte property with less restrictions on sales

I am puzzled, I tot the DT line is below the Ten Mile junction? Why do they have to hack the roads while we are 600-700m away?

home >> If I didn't see wrongly, 633A has started painting works at one of the corner, away from the main Woodlands Road.

dampard >> DTL is all the way until Gali Batu Depot (The hill next to the junction from KJE to Woodlands Road).

I believe they have plans to extend that line to NS line in the future too.

stone >> The boss from Sim Lian still claims that it is affordable. Hahaha... Anyway its an indicative price. They might bring it lower if Mr Khaw talks to them.

tomahawk-> he meant its affordable to him. Remembered seeing the TV commercial of Lian Beng Group Chairman and a young female director. He really spoke like a lao Beng and she speaks like a xiao Lian....

I went up to the roof of the rental. Can really guage the distance between the rental block and block C/D. It's only now that I realise the upper half of the rental block do not have units facing block C/D.

Anyway, I saw people working on the interior for blk A and D.

Anyway Blk B & C complete all 31 storeys already? I think I saw A & D roof complete, but not too sure bout the 2 taller towers

Dampard>> I dun think so .. how are they going to paint for owner who didn't opt for flooring ... without floor tiles theres no skirtings. So when there is no skirting .. where they stop the painting at? 5 cents worth of tot~~ so u owe me 5 cents~ kekeke~~

My estimation cannot make it. According to my hubby's estimation, assuming u refering to the upper half of the rental blocks, shd have 20 metres. But for those really low floors with rental units facing them, no.

From the 2nd half year GLS plan, the commercial & residential site at Jelebu Road / Petir Road will be supplied to market again in October, 2011.

Estimated commercial space is only 15,000 sqm, less than half of AMK Hub (33,000 sqm). I guess it won't hold a cinema or a department store.

@ dampard , co2 ,

from the HDB documents, the ceiling and wall will be painted. No floor, no skirtings, the wall will still be painted. Probably they will just use cheap paint....

From what I had seen from my photos of the Demo unit in 633A ( from the Senja Grand MSCP ) , the walls are painted.

Personally I will be using Nippon Paint Easy Wash... Had even chosen my color from the Nippon Catalouge... haha.. drop by any dealer, and try to grab a copy haha..

I have been to houses where the walls are so smooth. Like they are sanded smooth with abrasive paper and coated with paint.

I dun think HDB can supply that kind of quality

Do you know whats that method call? How do I talk to contractors or IDs about such requirements?

Stone>> Wow .. you've already choosen your own paint? I have juz ordered make a set of sofa with a dining table plus a king size bed last week at the Expo furniture fair. Becoz they said these prices will go up end of the year~~ I think HDB will paint white on the ceiling and wall to let it look better also to hide some cracks here and there during construction.

wow!
Co2fan,, u r fast man!

where r u gg to place those stuff...?
King size..? Will the MBR be too small aft the king size bed is in?

40K? Make smooth wall need 40K meh?

Its better to get furniture early. Its true furniture is more expensive as time goes by. I was thinking of that too. My alternative is to take advantage of the strong SGD and go MY to buy. Furnitures are made there anyway.

Dampard, need to see the quality of the wall plastering on our units. If you are not comfortable, probably just tell ur ID/contractor to give a another coat of smooth plaster before painting over again.

co2fan, Having decided on the color , Then it is easier to source for ready made furniture and finishing and plan for custom made stuff. I had calculated that If I wanted a custom made wardrode in our MBR, that leaves me with only enough space for a queen bed. If we have a king bed, the space between the bed n the WR will be shortened by 1 feet, and ur WR door certainly have to be sliding door and not those swing open type.

Prices of everything will inflate. But I am really surprised that custom made WR is still at S$200/feet ( for raw plywood, and not the cheaper reconstructed plywood ) since many moons ago. The furniture industry is very competitive with more and more MIC players entering the market. Hence I doubt the price of furniture will shoot up like 10 or 20% at yr end, unlike prices of diamonds and durian this yr, higher demand of both from PRC.

Sand>> I was also worried as to where to store them when i decided to catch the deals but surprisingly these Nova, Novena furniture mega sales includes holding these furniture for you for up to 2 years. They guaranteed no problem with that as long as you give them in advance for at least 3 weeks to deliver the products. And best still they'll only fabricate the furnitures when the time comes so its a good bargain especially end of the year the costs of these materials are expected to go up at least 25% ... so you muz make your booking early .. and you'll only pay deposit of 30% with guaranty at time of delivery. My sofa, dining table and bed costs around $5000 so i only paid them $1000+ as deposit~

Damp>> If i want to include smooth wall job, my reno budget will exceed to around 25K excluding furnitures~

Stone>> Ya .. agree king size bed leaves lesser walking space but its still most comfortable available. Come to think of it .. me and wife not big size ppl .. but we feel very cramped with queen size bed. I can't imagine couples like Moses Lim and wife or Ex-president Nathan and wife sharing a queen size bed~~

co2fan, source of 25% inflation for furniture material ? Your trusted contractors,suppliers from work or from the furniture shop ?

From my understanding in 2007 there was a Reverse takeover of Novena by TT International. And since 2007, TT Intl had been struggling to stay afloat , hit by the Financial crisis,fought off a court proceeding initated by the banks n creditors to wind up TT Intl and all its subsidiaries. Settlement agreed on I think 20 or 30 cents per $1 of debt. ( forgot the exact figures. ) .Thats why the construction of a warehouse/office/retail mall opposite JE Mrt halted , and their Auditor disagreed with the valuation of the Land they owned. Something to the tune of $70million above the land valuation , for " construction works done " Not too sure of Novena's financial health, but my gut feeling and advise is, at the earliest possible realistic date, get your furniture delivered. If TT Intl gets another injunction or wind up application, banks n creditors may not accept another settlement.

co2fan, if one is a multi millionaire ( $4million X 10 yrs ) like our President, fitting 10 super king size beds in the master room in their palace is never a space concern for them...

Stone>> Wow .. your an "analyzer" .. anyway its not about how much the cost will rise or why Novena .. or even Nova .. or even Ikea .. or even Courts is selling cheap with these add on services. Its about whether the cost of materials will go up or not and to me i believe these furniture will cost a little more very soon.
And haha~ i was juz taking fat couples for example. I believe average income "heavy weights" still sleep on standard size beds rite ? .. Juz trying to imagine whether the normal king size bed is big enough to "hold" and "support" them~ I guess most people still prefers the bigger the bed the better .. don't you agree?