Senja Green , HDB August 08 BTO

Nice to see our flats standing majestically from afar. Thanks Stonefish & Homeless for your effort!

@Stonefish & Xin, Contractor vs ID...in my view, ID offers a one-stop service and advise on designing & conceptualising. Whereas, contractors may not advise those (unless you can visualise clearly on the outcome in your mind). Pricing wise, I think the difference will be a couple of K's?

There will be black sheep in every trade. I have read/heard contractor using lousy materials and vice versa. If the ID or contractors quote you a value-for-money deal, you will get suspicious whether are they giving you a lousy materials or shoddy workmanship...

But I agreed that bulk purchases will get better discount...so how about if we were to get quotations from ID and Contractors and then compare from there? Most importantly we must have the numbers to agree on this.

Santa, the challenge is that, almost all quotation will be for different requirement. eg some want 12 feet cabinet,some 6 feet. Wall features, tv console, shoe cabinet, built in dining table , and material varies. Hence the quotation obtained, is very subjective, which give rise to the chance of being taken for a ride.

Unless,we use a standard range of requirements for items n materials n get quotations. eg, solid plywoood instead of reconstructed wood for wardrode, laminated kitchen top instead of solid surface top etc...

Also, be it an ID or contractor,they can give a lower quote for the same requirements, but claim material out of stock halfway through the project,and causing the project to stall,

Unless there is a added clause in the contract, stating ID will be responsible to ensure the availbility of stock of the stated material for the signed contract price. In the event of material out of stock, ID/contractor to be responsible for any added cost for the same material. Let them go and confirm stock 1st, before committing. We need to protect ourselves in this gray market.

And state the progressive payment terms., eg 5% for downpayment, startwork 45%, upon 70% completion ( state what define 70% completion) 45% and most importantly a rention amount of 5%. Must make sure the ID really touch up on the nitty gritty before paying the 5% retention.

The FC will be 5 bus stops away from the stop at Woodlands Road. For sun brunch, still ok la, brunch n gorcery shopping. I think a wet market is in the works too.

Ya, each of us have our own requirements and ideas. But my point is that, lets say 5-6 couples go to a certain ID or Contractor giving our own requirements. Wil our final bill have a 5-10% discount? Will it work this way?

Santa I get what you mean, if its not a standard package with standard items and standard pricing , we will never know if the price is being marked up before giving a 5- 10% discount.

eg, standard package say 20k. ID says ok 10% discount with gp of 5. Then we give our requirements, quotations are customised based on what we add, and each of the 5 got different patterns n items, and the price is different too. comes up with say 25K quote before 10% discount. Then how to tell if there is indeed a real discount or a marked up discount ? As the Chinese saying goes, take the long, mend the short. Its all about creative accounting , or rather creative quotation. Those in sales, tender bidding or calling should know how project costing/ budgetting works..

Of course I will like to hunt in a pack n get the bulk discount.

stonefish >> Holland-Bukit Panjang will be facing a fight from SDP. Interesting to see how it goes. I'm currently in CCK GRC. Also another interesting battlefield. :D

I don't mind getting a bulk discount should we find a reliable and good ID. Will be easier for them to manage also since we are staying in the same estate.

I didn't opt for the flooring though. Will need to source for tiles and parquet for bedroom.

uhu all~

have been MIA-ing for quite some time..
reading the few recent posts, i see that you guys are already sourcing for IDs/contractor firms liao..
that's fast!

Tomahawk, I used to be under CCK SMC in the 2006 GE, and now, will be under CCK GRC too. Next yr, will be changed to HBP GRC since Senja falls into this GRC. Our area look like the border of 2SMC and 2 GRC previously, CCK SMC, Hong Kah GRC, BP SMC & HBP GRC. Now becomes "golden triangle" liao with the forming of the new CCK GRC.

The scholar couple team is so much stronger than the NMP who like to pose in the nude. If he can gather around 40% against the MIA Gan in the CCK SMC in 2006, I am of the opinion that the NSP team can do better. And we could jolly well create history by being the 1st GRC to fall into opp hands. Its a no brainer why CCK SMC is being recarved into a new GRC. The nude guy had been challenging for the past 3 GE and votes are increasing for him. At the rate, he might even be creating a upset against the MIA MP/Minister. I will be stocking up on my coke popcorns and chips , sit back n enjoy the wayang on May 7th / 8th.

sinplyme : It takes awhile to see see look look for the design n concept , so as to be able to finalise the requirements n hence the budget too. And we can have a entire yr to monitor the prices... haha...

stonefish >> I think the prices can only go up, thinking that many BTOs are ready between now till next year.

I will also sit back and see how both sides woo our votes. I think its interesting that PAP sent this team over to CCK though. Seems like they want to throw away this GRC and focus on the others.

tomahawk : So long as the ID / contractors do not form alliance and charge monopolistic pricing, I think the pte sector ID price increase is still acceptable. 10 yrs ago, the pricing for kitchen cabinet and wardrode is S$200 / feet. I am suprised that the price now is still around this level. The industry had found creative ways to lower their overall costs by using reconstructed wood, and instead of using the ju hu kias, they are using the ah tiongs electricians, carpeters, tile laying worker etc. I am impressed by their efforts n creativity. Unlike the HDB.

If one had noticed, from 2008 when we booked our unit till the latest BTO, the pricing of the HDB flooring had increased around 44% for the flooring ( 2008 : S$3000 , Now : Around $4300+ , and 57% for the 5 stupid doors ( 2008 : S$1800 , Now S$2800+ ) . Thats crazy. In 3 yrs, our unit appreciated about 35K - 48K ( based on latest Senja Parc Vale prices vs Senja Green ) , due to the demand n supply problem created by Mr Mah. But don't tell me the raw materials for the wooden doors and tiles increased 44 - 57% in 3 yrs too ? Or its just to coincide with the rised cost of HDB, and line the coffers of HDB-> SLA-> State Reserves ??

Tomahawk, well, when the sampan is sinking, those on board gotta throw something to prevent the sampan from taking in too much water, probably taking cue from the Sang Nila Utama legend, his boat pass by Spore waters, got storm, then he throwed his crown overboard, n saved the boat from sinking in the storm n saw a lion after landing, hence the name of Lion City if I rememeber correctly from my pri sch class. But well in the GE context, the crown jewels are still closely guard, MP and AMK.

Now I felt like a cattle, in a cattle farm named L & L Inc, being milked by the Lions in every possible ways...haha...

I think fielding a weak team at CCK is a calculated move.New Opposition firepower seems stronger than the incumbent party new candidates right now. They need to draw their heavy fire to elsewhere. And remember, Tengah will be developed into a residential area in the recently announced plans, so if they see this GE ratios, they can conveniently bring in Tengah and claim the electorate is increasing, hence the need to carve out CCK GRC once again if they know they may lose this ward in the 2016 GE. Great wayang show ahead.

stonefish > i seriously have no idea how to headstart this arduous journey of looking for the 'right' ID...
any idea how to kickstart.. :?

Stonefish > Like you've said. If it is a monopoly, they can increase prices in any way they want. I'm mildly surprised, but yet not overwhelmed by the plateaued prices for renovations. The companies facing cutthroat competition can only keep up profits by reducing costs and not putting the costs on consumers.

Sigh. Now I'm looking at MBT vs WP on the housing prices. The more MBT argue, the more I want to back WP, even though WP is not contesting in my GRC. I wonder how many people actually benefited from the increase in HDB prices (i.e. pocketed the money and living a better life now).

sinply >> One good way I think, is to look for friends who have just done their reno and take a look at how is the workmanship involved. Another, to look for reviews via renotalk or this forum.

@ Sinply. After search and reviewing a few ID, most pple will get tired and settle down on acceptable ones.

I guest the best shortlisting way is like what Tomahawk had mentioned. Frens or relatives' ID. Can see the worksmanship.

Of course having a idea of the theme & requirements u need and a budget will help in shortlisting. 1 of my criteria is that the ID / contractor must have their own workshop to fabricate the carpentry stuff.

@ Tomahawk, WP have been the most consistent and highest calibre OPP I feel. NSP coming up too. Yeah too bad WP is not fighting in our GRC.

The group of pple who will benefits from the high HDB prices are namely the Foreign Talents , retirees who had bought very very cheaply decades ago and property agents.

My ex-sch mates and excolleagues are not concerned at all about the high HDB prices.

A ex sch mate is only concerned about the new property laws preventing her from owning a resale HDB with her hubby ( both PRs ) , as she already owns a condo in her name here, her 2 siblings each owned a HDB and their family owned a row of houses back in their hometown. And her stance is, her family is here to make $$$ out of the 3 HDB units they owned. "Why not since everyone is doing it " was her reply. They do not care that HDB prices are skyhigh and out of reach for some locals. Since they can get 30yrs loan,and are not going to service the loan for 30 yrs. Once they get their greencards, they will all sell off at a profit and exit here, together with all their CPF $$$. This is what I was told.

Another excolleague n her hubby, PRC PR, refused to take up singapore citizenship. Same thing, high prices not an issue with them. Same reason she told me, 30yrs loan also no need to service full 30yrs. They will just go back to PRC once they have made enough here, along with the CPF and the profit from selling the HDB. Recently, her hubby took up spore citizenship. Bcos of lift upgrading,her area, non citizen owners have to pay $30K . So her hubby took up Spore citizen, they paid $15k only. They still can sell off everything here for a house in PRC, in my excolleague's name and enjoy all their $$ back in PRC.

This what my ex sch mate and excolleague told me. I seriously think NS is not that bad actually. But after working for awhile and bringing in the issues of FT not needed to serve and creating so much problems for us at workplace and inflating the HDB prices, I would say that NS is a complete waste of time. Serve to protect the nation - Nation of who ? Nation of FT who are not serving, and out to make $$ out of our public housing n scoot off while citizens serve our 2 + 10 yrs and servicing our HDB loans ??

hm.. then that's bad, cos none of my closer friends & relatives did renovation recently... :x

think i have to really start from scratch... :x

By the way, anyone here planning to get the Irobot Roomba and Scooba ?

I'm intending to get both. Did a analysis, shipping in from the States is about 2/3 the local price,( $1700 vs $2500 ) with a catch. US warranty vs Local warranty. If there is a need to service locally,the charge is $150 or $180 . If we add on $360 to the cost of shipping the US set over, it is still cheaper. Not sure if the local agent is willing to match the US price if we have bulk orders. This we can find out if we have enough orders.

By the way, this irobot is MIT technology and the robot US sent to the Japan nuclear plant is the industrial robot produced by the same company.

stonefish >> I am looking Neato's XV-11 instead. The navigation seems better...

If you are interested in iRobots, there is a guy who sells it locally and provides 1 year warranty. Not as cheap as bringing in from US yourself, but saves u the hassle of getting a step up transformer and repairing in case it goes down within 1 year.

Anyway, can you PM me your MSN or any IM u are using?

indira >> Getting a robot cleaner is useful for those with pets and small children in the house. Reduces the amount of hair and dust in the house. Of course, the traditional method of mopping and sweeping and vacuuming is better, but robot cleaners can do it on a daily basis, without the need of you at home to do the job. Hehe... It's kind of a hobby for me to play around with technologies like this, so to me its worth it.

indira, I did a vague CBA ( cost benefit analysis ) of using robot cleaners vs manual labour cleaning using the following parameters , 3 times cleaning per week, 30 mins sweeping, 30 mins mopping over the course of a yr ( 52 weeks ) base on my current remuneration's hrly rate. I will recover the cost of the robots in abt 7 mths, as compared to if I have to sweep/mop manually.

For someone travelling and working late nights in the office, the cost is well spent for me.
Of course, the downside of this CBA is , I excluded the cost of electricity in charging the robots...

Anyway, last checked the BTO, 633B is completing the roof. 633C is doing up level 28 iirc. I guess before the end of May, all 4 blks roof will be completed and full concentration on the interior. Had some shots of the interior of the demo units, can see the MBR toilet bowl and room door haha...

Stonefish >> can u post the photos..? Can't wait to c it and the demo unit ~

Wondering if we can enter the site to view the demo unit...?

*morning folks, today is poll day.. vote wisely*

@ santa in simple term, time better spend for leisure activities. Toilet comes with bowl n basin

starzz n dampard, demo unit for workers to see n do. not open for public. shot at MSCP at 750mm

Thanks for the pics stonefish!!!! Wow, the toilet even comes with wall tiles!!! Fantastic (maybe oni me dunno abt this...)! The flooring oso looks good.

On the downside, seems i cant buy my fav basin and toilet bowl liao....

Stonefish, when did u take those pics?

Stonefish, referring to your pic showing the mbr toilet bowl, i noticed there are 4 window panes. I thought only our living room have 4 window panes?

Photos taken on 1st May. Not sure if 4 panes are for LR or BR. Santa, if your contractor is willing, you can go by left. as the SAF saying goes... do anything but just don't get caught.

Santa, during the booking of our flats, we were given option to have tiles and doors built. If you did not opt in, most likely those tiles wouldn't be there. Then you can enjoy your customization.

Stonefish>> thanks for e pix! Haha, still can see toilet bowl liao..
As for the toilet tiles, it shd be there even if we opt out of tiles n doors. Coz my fren opt out but both his toilets have wall tiles too. The photo showing 4 window at mbr shd be a 3 room flat bah coz 4-room I know is only 3 windows at mbr

IIRC, $1800 for the optional doors, $3000 for the floor tiles for living room n 3 bedrooms.

storeroom floor tiles, toilet wall tiles & toilet / kitchen floor tiles by default.

So Dampard intend to customise the living + bedroom floor tiles ? IIRC, once opted, cannot hack for 5 yrs.Likewise toilet basin + toilet bowl. Need to verify this though

What?! There also a stipulated time frame to change the basin & toilet bowl?????? This is ridiculous!! %@!#*&^

I still thinking of dunno whether can do trade-in when buying a new basin & potty...

oh-oh, i can only rem we paid 3k for the tiles.. i thot incl. of doors.. can't rem if we paid 1.8k for the doors or not... sigh~

santa : IIRC, there is this clause. You need to read the lease agreement to confirm. Anyway, to remove the basin b toilet bowl, most likely have to smash it. Did expect a trade-in to be possible.

sinplyme : Double confirmed I paid $1.8k for the doors. Now the floor tiling and doors cost above $7K, super inflated prices by mr MBT.

Yah, the tiles n doors so exp now!! I kinda regetted not opting for them. Jus hope that next time can negotiate a good price with e contractors.