Senja Green , HDB August 08 BTO

Thks metro for e update...!
Ya 633C really is crawling.. Guess we be e last batch to collect keys

Thanks metro!

I'm wondering why they are taking their time with the roof though. Been quite a while since they completed the top levels for A and D..

Metro, gum sia! Ya lor, ours sooooo slow.

Sandz, i oso think we will be the last batch to collect keys...

Hawk, i think is more complicated to build the water tank n pipes all the way up.

Past weekend went to the clementi mall and also went up to the 40th floor, very nice view all around and very breezy.

Xin>> Hey .. you really MIA for few years liao leh~~ Welcome back~~

Santa>> 40 storey scary hor? From clementi can see PSA and Tuas and Orchard lor~~ I think 60 storey can see Changi airport liao~~

Metro >> Thank you

Co2fan >> Yah loh.. Very Busy With Work ~ But I Still Try to Log In Once A While to View the Updates
Hee ^*^

Blk C Highest Level is What ?? Looks like all Blocks are Ready for Interior Construction le ~

@ sandyz, I think key collection dates is not dependent on the completion date. As from what I can see from HDB website, they are calling for tender for 3rd party Quality Inspectors, I guess, to inspect the units completed, if it is according to the specs, and report any defects, deficiencies of the units and including public areas like MSCP, void decks, street lamps etc. And I think the company being awarded that contract have 3 mths to do so, add on some time for the constructor to rectify the works, probably 4 - 5 mths after the tender for inspections are called, we can expect to get the calls from HDB? I guess keys collection will be according to unit numbers ?

@ Tomahawk, due to the sheer amount of water the tanks will be holding, I guess they are reinforcing the roof,similar to piling works. If not done properly, the sheer weight of the water can crush the whole lego building.

@ Santa , I was at the Clementi Mall too on Sat late afternoon too, went up to Level 40 when it started to rain. I prefer the seaview of the 40th Floor at Commonwealth. Too bad our SG stopped at 31st floor. Else would like to get level 40 too.

2 weekends back saw A 3rm unit at 633A I think 3rd level, it seems that the interior is done up,with floor tiles,skirting,painting and room doors done, probably as a demo unit for workers to see. Similarly a 4 room unit on level 4 ( i think ) of 633A. Took some photos,but the reflection off the windows are bad. Shall return with a polariser on my lens n see if able to get some decent shots of the interior.

The road leading from the entrance of the gate to the rental blks are tiled with the red bricks and street lamps are up. MSCP is also shaping up. I guess the interior works will be fast and furious

co2, I like high levels. But i find it quite scary at the staircase there. The railings quite low.

stonefish, I was there at nite cos my fren told me he was able to see MBS or flyer from there. Could not see anything though...

Well, just hope can get our keys by mar 2012. 11 more months to go. hee hee...

Hi guys, u are welcome!!

I was also wondering abt the progress so juz walk over to check it out.

Was quite surprised that Blk C is still trailing far behind cos i thought since the other 2 blocks alrdy finished lego.. but most impt is the quality lah.. if they rush then we got lousy quality also sianz..

Mar 2012 is a good date to get e flat i believe.. anyways can only do reno after CNY so its still quite ok

Santa, technically, should be able to see MBS or the giant fan around Clementi area if you are high enough and in the right direction. When I was out at sea off West Coast,the "ship" and the giant fan are visible on a good night..

Possible for Mar2012. 9 mths to complete the lego and interior, call for inspection tender in Dec 2011, Mar 2012 is a possible date, or Apr/May if we factor the lead time for repairs n reinspection.

Btw, was window shopping around over the weekend and realised the market rate for built in wardrode to be around S$200 per feet ( ceiling to floor ), interior is customisable too. Compared prices of Ikea and built to measure. Any one knows what is the market price for kitchen cabinet per feet ? Since kitchen cabinet is not ceiling to floor, the going rates should be less than then wardrode price ?

Oh... Ok, no wonder the time taken to do up the roof. But ya, better do a good QC than to hand over to us a flat that constantly needs repairs.

I should also think 1st set of keys will be released in March/April 2012, but I think will take a few weeks to handover all the keys.

As for reno... I haven't really taken a look. But I guess Ikea's kitchen solutions can also be used as a rough gauge. They have a 10 or 25 years warranty on the cabinets.

no idea how much is the market rate for built in wardrode or kitchen cabinet... speaking about kitchen cabinet, i have a crazy idea of making a aluminium one or a half aluminium half wood one. Anyone here have frens/relatives/current house done that way?

hmmm...i guess steel is more expensive than alum?..I dunno..I will go for the cheaper material. Initially wanted to go for a glossy cabinet but then have to clean like crazy or else the gloss will be covered by grease & dirt. Normal wooden cabinet looks a little bit boring lei IMHO :p

@Santa.. Yea i somehow get your idea..
But if use alum, the tendency of getting the gloss by grease & dirt is high too.. imagine wiping non stop everyday after cooking a meal *faintz*
The best is to dun cook often in kitchen >,<

Did everyone opted for flooring and doors?
I saw premium with wooden floor, i really drool, it will just go well with everything unlike HDB tiles.. Agree?

ahhhh, but for gloss finishes, after cleaning few times more, not glossy liao. Alum is easier n durability is high. And yes, I agreed that less cooking is the best! Dabao is the way to go!

Errr...wooden floor is expensive, is easy to scratch n will peel off easily?

Wouldn't alum products have the issue of alum oxide ? -> thinking along the line of the mess tin during reservists. I think treated Alum will have less of the oxide issue.

Wooden flooring, normally is worry shrinkage / warping after a few yrs, but in our region, the concern should be termites , due to the high humidity of ~ 70%. And with built-in wardrode, the battalion of termites may be well camoflouge, until they increase till a division size army. Not too sure of the quality of the wooden flooring provided by HDB. If able to choose the quality of the wood for the flooring, I guess its ok

Santa, are you taking the renovation into your own hands ?

I am planning to do so since I am not in a rush to move in when the keys are collected

After reviewing some renovation packages, I do not see value in them. Most of the small renovation companies do not have their own inhouse workshop. They usually do the ID,and outsource the electrical works, carpetery works etc. On top of the cost of the works, the ID will charge a premium, ( haha ,like how the infamous doctor outsource some medical treatment for the Brunei Royal family,n charge a premium for them )

And I do not plan to have built-in stuff apart from the kitchen cabinet / wardrode

I have a rough idea of the decor that I want. So should be sourcing for
- a workshop to fabricate n install the wardrode, kitchen cabinet etc ,
- a general contractor for installing the curtain railings, lights ,window grills , shower sets etc
- painting works will be done by myself
- other fittings like lights, curtain railing, kitchen basin , stove, cooker hood,toilet accessories will be sourced separately locally n overseas.

Anyone else planning to do their wardrode / kitchen cabinet separately too ? Maybe we can pool together and get a better price than the current market rate of S$200 per sq feet for wardrode n kitchen cabinet ( upper n lower deck ) .

Say maybe if we can secure 100 feet of wardrode, we may be able to get 10% off ? Its easier to talk to the supplier when we have the mass.

If you ask for discount from the ID, they will give, but recover the discount by charging higher for other areas.

The savings from reno will be channelled into getting better gadgets... haha...

Kudos to you da vinci aka stonefish! Painting by yourself... but you have to plastered your wall 1st before painting.

True on your comparison about those renovation co vs The Doctor.

Im interested in customising:
1)a built in wardrobe
2)a built in shoe cabinet
3)kitchen cabinet
4)Tv console
5)dinning table

I still also have to do a fake ceiling and hacking.

That means we have to source for a Workshop and a Contractor? If we have the trusful sources and a handful of us, I dun mind at all.

Wow Stonefish, sounds like u have donequite abit of research for reno alrdy

I know nuts about reno but jus planning to get Contractor cos I know ID charges higher. And actually we can just show pictures &amp; i think the contractor can replicate it for us.

The idea of getting workshop to do carpentry work sounds good but will it be difficult to coordinate that with the lightings' installation?
Like the switches, etc?

Santa, with the help of my bro and sis, I painted my parents' 3-rm, my sis's 5-rm and my cousin's 5-rm. Not much of an issue if the tools and techniques are right. The ceiling is the most taxing, the walls are easy.

I think the wall is plastered and painted white before we take over the unit. I want to have another coat of paint of my choice.

I like that I had seen last weekend, and probably will use the shop/workshop, unless there is another workshop with better pricing/value. We can alws source for workshops doing the wardrode / cabinet in the Sungei Kadut area. They are mostly the same, show them a photo of a cabinet / wardrode, they are able to replicate.

As for contractor, we can approach the sub-contractor of anybody who's going for a packaged reno and find the subcon to be reliable.

I think, at this stage, we should be viewing , sourcing for ideas n reliable workshop / contractor and have a list of those who are taking it into their own hands. Once the tender for inspection is called from HDB website, then we finalise which workshop to use. Like i say, if we can have say 100 feet worth of wardrode on order, it is easier to negotiate for price. I am going for 12 ft of built in wardrode and probably 12 ft of kitchen cabinet ( judging from the floor plan ) . I have seen a wardrode design that my partner n me liked, and can be replicated by almost all workshop.

So maybe let me kick off the list of those who are in for the built in wardrode/ kitchen cabinet. Feel free to add yourself to the list.

Built-in Wardrode / Kitchen Cabinet List :

1. stonefish35
2. santa

Metro : Just see see look look over the weekends, and some online browsing of reno packages. The trend now is for wardrodes with customisable interior.

Ikea charges around S$1399 for a 7 feet wardrode, but of reconstructed wood material, and the buyer needs to install themselves, or pay ikea to do it for them. And the height is not full length, meaning there will be a small gap ( and trap dust ) betweeen the top of the WR n ceiling.

Whereas full height built-in WR , plywood material, costs ard S$200 per sq ft,( excl GST i guess ) , so in this sense, the Ikea WR are not value for $$. Same pricing, but inferior material n got gap trapping dust somemore. The same goes for Ikea's Kitchen cabinet. Overpriced, when compared to built-in cabinets from the workshops.

Metro, you mean the ceiling light? The location of the wiring &amp; switches for the ceiling lights are predetermined,wiring hidden in the celing if am not wrong. The location of the lights &amp; switches are fixed . So the general contractor / electrician will be able to settle that easily.

If you are referring to the wardrode lights, normally they are powered via the 3 pin power pt, which we still do not know the location from the floor plan. Anyway, not much of issue, they can alws just run a cable to the wardrode.

stonefish >> I'm interested too with the kitchen cabs and wardrobes. But would like to see to what extent can the workshop provide. I'm also pending to see if I can get my friend's ID. He's doing up his place soon, so I wanna take a look at his work first.

tomahawk, feel free to add yourself to the list when you think you are ready. Most workshops are able to replicate what you show them. Btw, we still have about a yr's time to shop around n see the design n quality of the build n decide which contacts to use. Probably with the list growing n date draw nearer, we will shortlist a few workshop, general contractor n decide which to use.

Maybe we will keep the list to a manageble size of around 10 and move the discussion off this board . Too many customers at once, the workshop / contractor may not be able to deliver.

Stonefish >> I wld prefer a full length wardrobe, like wat u said.. at least wont trap dust like those ikea ones..

Oh so our electrical points are all fixed points?? Hmm, will take note of the pointers, thanks for the info &amp; advice!! Haha, my hubby dun bother about finding out all these so im at a loss..

Hello All >> My hubby and I went to a friend recommended ID called Plush Living.. We receive quite a reasonable quotation from him but yet to confirm.. Maybe you all can look for him too.. If we go in bulk might get good price..

Ohh Xin
WOW.. such a small world, my hubby's cousins just engage them few months back =) They are very happie with the result!
I must say they are very good and responsible ID.
esp the manager Louis.

Such a small world...

Sandz >> yap.. My Frenz gotten their flat at Segar Meadow.. So theirs is under renovation with them now.. Haven really see the result but we have already let him quote us.. The price is reasonable lah I can say as my cousin in law open an ID too.. He help me review quote and he say is reasonable so should be lah.. Just dat we still not sure when collect key so dare not commit into contract signing yet..
If u all interested, maybe I can tell the boss Darren if we go in 3-4 will there be any additional discount.. Haaas

Metro >> send to u le on rough guide cos the detailed one is with my hubby... I dun have it with me ~

I got do flooring lah cos I never opt for HDB one.. My hubby dun like it

Hi xin, pardon my ignorance... PL will give us a quotation and drawings based on our requirements (eg hacking, re-wiring, built-in furnitures etc)?

Did some research, found something like the following :

4 RM HDB package , range from S$11,999 - S$15,888 . Price vary from different shops.

A. Professional Interior Designing &amp; Services Includes:
1 Design Concept Consultation
2 Space Planning &amp; Furniture Layout Plan Proposal
3 Furnishing Consultation
4 3D Computerized Perspective Drawing
5 Materials &amp; Colour Scheme Proposal
6 Hassle-free ISO formatted Project Management &amp; Site Supervision &amp; Audit
7 5 Years Warranty With Guarantee After-sales Services

B. Masonry Works
8 Laying of 600mm x 600mm polished homogeneous floor tiles c/w skirting at living, dining &amp; store room
9 Laying of HDF laminated flooring c/w skirting at all bedrooms
10 Construct 50mm cabinet base
11 Construct 50mm washer base
12 Construct 50mm fridge base
13 Construct shower kerb at bathrooms
14 Construct main entrance kerb
15 Alteration existing main gate

C. Plumbing Works

16 Extension of copper piping to new kitchen sink &amp; washing machine position
17 Labour for installation of storage or instant heater
18 Labour for installation of bathroom accessories
19 Labour for installation of kitchen sink
20 Laying conceal drainage pipe for kitchen sink
21 Laying conceal drainage pipe for washing machine

D. Ceiling Works

22 Construct false ceiling at foyer area
23 Construct false ceiling at bedroom passage way
24 Construct L-box light holder at living area
25 Construct L-box light holder at dining area
26 Construct 2 rolls of L-box light holder at master bedroom

E. Carpentry Works: external in laminate finishes

27 Design &amp; fabricate 20ft kitchen cabinet in ABS trimming door c/w
i design handles &amp; cutlery tray
ii Supply &amp; install stainless steel dish rack
iii Labour to install cooker hood &amp; hob
iv Stainless steel backing at cooker hob

28 Design &amp; fabricate 8'L x 8'Ht feature wall c/w swing door at household shelter
29 Design &amp; fabricate 6'L TV console at living area
30 Design &amp; fabricate 6'L x 6'Ht feature wall above TV console
31 Design &amp; fabricate 6'L wardrobe at master bedroom

F. Miscellaneous / General Services Works

32 Supply &amp; install 10mm tempered glass shower screen at master bathroom
33 Painting of whole unit's wall &amp; ceiling with pentalite emulsion paint
34 Painting of all pipes, doors, door frames &amp; gate with gloss paint
35 Paint or re-vanish of existing main door
36 Laying of floor protection after completion of flooring
37 Chemical washing for whole unit
38 General cleaning upon completion

May seems like alot in this package, but in fact, not all are needed by me. Eg, B, D, F. So basically, I will just get quotation for carpentry, ( the plumbing works can be settled by the workshop for the kitchen cabinet.) and electrical works.

Santa >> yap.. He gave us the 2D drawing and quotation based on wat we wanna.. 3D drawing will only give after u sign contract with them ~

Stonefish >> ur quotation look so much cheaper with bigger things from mine.. Haas.. What ID company is dat?? But dunno got other hidden cost a not hoh??

Xin>> thanks for the PM! But is your quotation more ex than $13k?? Juz wondering..
Stonefish>> thanks for the quotation items. I'm still deciding whether to do a TV console, coz a customized one would cost 2 times more?

@starzz , the company is homesuccess.com.sg,for the specs, the quotation is $15,888. For almost similar specs, I can find $11,999 - 14,888 from other firms. The thing seems "alot" due to the terms they use, make simple things look complex. Eg , The plumbing for the kitchen sink,would be the responsibility of the workshop installing the kitchen cabinet . THe theory of If you can't convince, confuse . Haha. Normally, say for a package , if you want to add on item XXX, they will say charge you $500, due to labour ,material costs bla bla bla. But if Item XXX is in your package and you dun want, they will only deduct say $200 off, as they will tell you, the item is not worth much.

Firms will ask you for budget and the things you want to do. If Budget < Things you want to do, ID firms will either ask u to increase ur Budget, or change to using cheaper materials to bring down the cost.

If Budget > Things you want to do, say you got $30K budget, but what you want only costs $20K, they will tell you , oh the material is out of stock( esp if they know homeowner is in a rush to move in and do not have the time to "wait for the replenish stock") , you need to change material, ( to one that is of higher cost &amp; profit to the firm ) .

Starzz, I dun think this package is cheap.Now we know wardrode / kitchen cabinet cost about $200/feet , and work our sums from there. Plus the plumbing,is already done up by the HDB constuctor. Unless one intend to place the washing machine, kitchen sink all over the place away from the location where the gas / water pipes are, I do not see a need to reroute the pipes. The cabinet / wardrode costs about 5K plus from there,and 10K for the rest of the works ( esp when I do not need the false ceiling, tiling etc ) seems abit high.

@metro, I am also thinking of whether to custom make the TV console, Wall feature etc. A simple TV console can cost anything between 300 - 1000 n above. So I guess, if we are able to custom make the console at ard 400 ~ 500, it seems fine.
I think most carpetry workshops can fabricate that too.

Homeless>> thanks for e photos!!
Stonefish>> yup, I'm in a dilemma in the tv console issue.
Coz a customized one will definitely fit in to complement e whole living theme( if we have a specific theme like zen or contemporary). Unless we scout ard n managed to find a console similar to the theme. And then theres e problem messy wires lying ard the tv console which I wish to avoid.

@metro : Initially wanted to minimise the amount of built in stuff,but after seeing the price of ready made TV console, I think built in TV console n the wall feature to hide the wires loooks ok.

@starzz : Probably will be good to see see look look around, we got 1 yr to go...

Hi people~~ Thanks for all these precious photos~~ You guys are the best .. the photos so pro~~ I am so updated although i havn't been to the site for 3 weeks~ Keep it up~~ We are almost there~~

Thksss..Stonefish and homeless for the lovely picts =)

I saw the window panels.. looks diff from other BTO flat right? all aluminium colour... =(

Thanks everyone for the photos and info...

Xinz> my cousin also got her hse done at the same ID? Not very close to her so didn't ask how much it cost. What's ur quote like? Can share?

Parliment just dissolved, paving the way for GE. My guess, 7th of May. Must give the electorate time to nibble on the "carrots" , distributing on 1st May, before marking the "X" in the box.

By the way, Senja falls under Holland-Bukit Timah 4 Man Group Ripoff Council , err I mean GRC.

Anyone follow sh*t times ? I mean sunday times ? There will be a Food Centre in Bukit Panjang finally. None at the moment for BP / CCK / Yew Tee area. Location at the open field near the mosque. Accessible by LRT, or bus 960 at the bus stop at Woodlands Road.