Senja Green , HDB August 08 BTO

co2fan , cotton is not a good insulator.

When I was still in Shanghai last week, I'm wearing the uniqlo heatech, my office attire, fleece jacket, and National Geographic Goretex jacket, with a scarve ,2 heatech socks,1 SAF black socks, 3M Thinsulate gloves and still feeling cold outside.. And the eyes were tearing at -3degrees, to protect themselves from the dryness n cold .

Did not want to get a down jacket as its too bulky to carry around for business trips

Stone>> Ya lor~~ Aiyoyo .. i think next month 14th i fly there again i have to dig out my long john liao .. wah my long john 8 years since my Japan trip never wear liao .. think rotting somewhere in my wardrobe~ My colleague lip and face all dry until the skin came out .. :P Now i feel some jet lag .. haiz~~ muz ask chris how to coup with this~~ Talk about Chris .. i think she plump liao hor? You seen her photos at her fb? ...... *gossip*

co2fan, if you need new johns, get the uniqlo Heatech. Light and compact for packing for business trips. Good for up to 0 degrees I feel, below that, you will need down jacket. 5 degrees onwards is considered warm liao. Depends on where you are heading, same 5 degrees in a dry place, like Beijing , is not as cold as 5 degrees in the south, like Fujian, as the humidity is higher. Throw in the wind chill, its really cold to the bones.

My SOP for business trips, apart from the coffee, Body shop Vitamin E lip gross, facial wash and moisturister and body butter. Its a good idea to get a scarf , in case there is strong wind ( to protect your face from the sand , or your neck from the wind ). Gloves, get something of thinsulate material...

co2fan> wahaha.. u dun gossip in front of me loh.. must be behind my back mah.. :P Yah loh.. i put on a lot of weight from the trips. Err.. think one hand not enuff to count. So now its dieting time. Sian... Think must start blocking u on my fb liao. Haha..

Ask me how to cope with wat? The dry skin? Or the jet lag? Jet lag cannot cope one lah.. Just sleep loh. Or try to sleep on the plane... No other way out. But i usually dun haf much jet lag. At most one day (that is when i travelled to US). The rest all quite ok. Though i take one or two days break after the trips.

As for the dry skin... buy a very good and thick face moisturiser (for cold places can get the more oily ones, its ok). Apply like its free. Especially thick in the day and night. From day one u are there must put liao. Same for lip balm. Use balm more effective than gloss. Get the oily ones. Also start putting from day one. Once u feel that ur lips dry and gg to crack, its too late. And to prevent cold rash, body moisturiser loh. Like wat stonefish said, body butter is good. Thick enuff. Basically, if u find its thick in singapore, over there is prob just right. U can use the body butter for the hands too. In case the skin on the fingers crack. Key idea is to start applying once u get there.

co2fan> Ask for a hummifier in the hotel. It helps a lot to absorb back the moisture during sleeping so you won't have too dry skin.

Its very encouraging to see 633C coming up fast.

Chwis>> Aiya .. joking lah .. dun block me~~ But i have to admit you have very good skin .. maybe you used a lot of SK2? (very fair some more like Tofu) hehe~~ Plump a bit neber mind lah .. kekeke~~

Damn Leopard>> Ya .. i always fill up a cup of water before i sleep overnight in aircon room or cold confine so that the dryness absorb the cup of water instead from my body~
Now in Bangladesh cannot book 5 star hotel liao (becoz Cricket World Cup starting 17/18th February) so i doubt theres any hummidifier at 3 star hotels offer.

Stunned Fish>> I will include some moisturising lotions in my next buisiness trip (SOP) .. i think i can steal my wife's SK2 series .. heyhey .. this year is my year .. Happy Rabbit Year!! U2 Me2 .. SK2 = SK rabbit~~

co2fan, the glass of water only helps in aircon room in SEA where the average humidity is around 60-70%. In places where humidity is like 20-30% like Shanghai, Beijing, it's useless.

There is a "humidifier" in most hotels - the kettle.
Most kettle, the sensor,or thermostat is in the lid. Open the lid and let the water boil for 20-30 mins before you sleep. That was what I did when I was in Zhejiang in Dec. Kettle boiling beside me when I was working on my laptop in the hotel room at night. Be careful of the water drying up though..

I agree with stone

Last year summer I was in Seoul, the air was so dry that I boiled a kettle, put wet towels on the table, left water undrained in the bath tub. Doing all I could to keep moisture. In the end I came back to Singapore like an old man. Full of wrinkles and crack lips. Then my girlfriend told me there is such thing call hummifier, and I could get it in the hotel.

haaa....
been busy these 2 wks, thats why no response...
my unit will kena blocked ah???
but the block infront is only 8 floors lei....
haiz..... so i get to see others changing???? hahaha

JoJo>> Ya .. you like which country boys? They have Bangladeshi, Indians and PRCs macho body changing~~ Sometimes Thais, Myanmese, and even Philiipinas also have.. kekeke~~

Anyone here knows if Senja Green and the nearby places are flood prone? Have been hearing so many news about heavy rain and flooding. Now beginning to wonder about the landscape there.

Wishing everyone a Bountiful Labbit Year. Huat Ah. Remember to buy the CNY Toto..

dampard, not any that I know of area around the SG region.

Happy CNY to all too! Hope this year's GE carrots will be good for everyone.

dampard >> I think Bukit Panjang is a "Bukit" for a reason. ;) No need to worry about the area as the drainage system there is quite adequate. Maybe the area from the Linear to Senja Road can get some water puddles (Pedestrians beware!), but overall still quite OK.

Hopefully after the MRT construction is done, we can have a better road as it is very bumpy and uneven for now.

Dampened>> BP got big drainage around remember? I guess only the main road will have pools and puddle of water. Then theres the Lake .. we can wash clothes and take shower there .. kekeke~~

Happy CNY~~~ Huat Ar~~

HAPPY LUNAR NEW YEAR!

Senja Green TOP could be next year Q2. After that HDB needs several months to settle down the loan and paper work. We can only collect keys after June? $@#^!#%^*&^!@#&@$...

Anyone notice that downtown line is only THREE car formation? It might easily get overcrowded!

No problem for the overcrowding. There will be ERP in the DTL2 tunnel to " ease the congestion" . And with the introduction of COE so as to be able to ride the DTL2, all overcrowding will be solved. Probably 10 yrs after the opening of DTL, they will have expansion plan to " improve" the situation that they have created in the 1st place.-

Having taken the Beijing and Shanghai Metro, I will say, Singapore's MRT have alot more to catch up. To think our , ahem..... Govt is still trying to sell our urban planning concept to the Chinese.

Shanghai Metro system, 10 lines and counting. Took a train from the industrial area to downtown Shanghai effortlessly and zip around downtown easily. The train stations in the industrial area are not serving much commuters, but yet the stations are opened,that is what I call Public transport. Now I know why we are using Shanghai Tunnelling Company for DTL

Haha~~~ Agree with you SF. We have a very calculative Pay And Pay garmen mah. I remember media reported that SG public transport system is very rare in the world which makes a profit. A garmen is supposed to serve the people, not to make money from the people.

LTA did a "GREAT" job increasing the commuter cost in recent years. Now property becomes so expensive to afford. I won't be surprised GST could be 20% some day. With the coming high inflation, it's like a conspiracy to gradually make Singaporean life difficult.

Alamak~ Holiday over liao~~ .. tommorrow start work liao~

Btw, today i juz went to check out our house progress~~

633A - Completed 25th storey
633B - Starting 23rd storey
633C - Starting 20th storey
633D - Starting 23rd storey

Huat Ar~~

stonefish >> 10% GST is mad. If u go eat at restaurants, that's like +10% service, +10% GST. $100 meal becomes $121...

But someone "promised" that if GST is raised to 8.5%, public transport will be free!

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/397794/1/.html

co2fan >> seems like the construction is pretty quick. The last time I checked on the 16th Jan, they are -3 levels from what you saw. Around 2-3 levels per 2 weeks?

Hopefully they can complete by end of this year. :D

But I think they will be giving away goodies for Citizens + PRs buying houses. Probably increase the housing grants and $$ for first time buyers. Hope we can get it if it comes out...

Congrats to co2! Your blk has completed!

Wah, GST increase to 10%...
Wah, Kopi & Teh increase 10 to 20 cents...
Wah, Sugarcane increase 10 cents
Wah, Night Rider bus service increase 50 cents...
Wah, Popiah increase 10 cents...
Wah, Western food increase $1...
Wah, Vegetables increase 20 cents...

This is surely the year of Labbit...everything hopping upwards...

Tom, you achieved 2008 news ? Anyway the report did not promise free public transport when GST hit above 8.5%. It states, to have free public transport, the GST needs to be raised to 8.5%.

I like this part " But with oil prices - which operators traditionally cite as one of their high cost factors - dropping significantly in recent months, why have bus fares not come down in tandem?

Mr Lim explained: This is because the public transport fare is not directly linked to the oil prices. We link it to national factors, like the inflation level in Singapore, and the wage level in the whole of Singapore."

This is a whole pile of bullshit. When oil prices rise, public transport fees rise. When oil price falls, they say public transport cost depends on more factors other than oil price.

Get so much pay liao, also do not bother to spend more effort and time to find a better excuse.

GST will definitely go up after GE.It is only a question of straight away increase to 10% , or spread over 2 parts. Budget coming out soon. If they do not raise the GST, how are they going to pay for the " benefits" for citizens, just before the GE. Not to forget, how much Temasek had lost over the purchase of the US banks shares.

Santa>> Er .. my blk is 633D leh~~ Er .. i am born in Labbit year leh~~ Sorry huh~~ Labbit cannot walk .. can only hop .. keke~

Co2, hahahaha, paiseh...i see the wrong alpahbet. Me oso born in Labbit year.

I guess by Jun or July, blk B,C & D will be completed.

Santa>> Aiyo~~ my blk suddenly slow down like the Labbit .. then let the tortise (Blk C) catchup .. haha~~
Yeah~~ hopefully next June or July can take key and prove my prediction (September) wrong~
My company this year gave us 9.5 month bonus $$ .. next year hit 10 months my budget no problem liao .. hehe~~ Anytime during 2012 can renovate house with no budget constraint~~ Woohoo~~~~
You 24 years old this year rite? Me 12 years old leh .. fwhahahaha~~~

WOW!
co2fan ... u r a rich man now! Dont hve to wait for next yr bonus you already can splurge on ur renov le.
your Co still have vacant for new staff ma? lolx

For 633D highest is 25 level right? Then should be completing soon ma...

Co2, keppel fels always give good bonus one. My company oso have contract with yours but only 3.5 months...sigh. Luckily, i have already hit my budget liao. And thanks lei, for guessing my age correctly! hohohohoho :D

Sandz> Not as rich as you lor~~ Now i still cannot afford luxury makeover for my unit but i do feel a sense of save up responsibility~~ I pray this year will go smooth for me~ Thank God~~ I also pray for all of you. Labbit year will be a good year i believe~
You want to join keppel please go to website .. keke~~
My blk starting 23rd floor .. another 3 to go~ Yippie~~

stonefish >> I didn't archive, but I remember clearly that someone said that to have free public transport, GST must be increased to 8.5%.

So if they go up to 10%, I expect free public transport + massage on the go. :D

co2fan >> "affordable" has a different meaning to them leh... Hahaha.

Anyway, now that A is complete, maybe they can move some manpower over to the other blocks? :p

I wonder how long it takes for the interior though... All the tiling, electric cabling and piping.

Toma>> Hehe.. now the small horse come out~~ TODAY exclusive~~

http://www.mnd.gov.sg/reflections_housing/index.htm

" Housing is one of man’s most basic needs. Yet in many countries, decent housing is beyond the reach of many. My counterpart ministers who visit Singapore often ask me: How did we do it - house so many of our people in good quality affordable housing? "

Another "Affordable" word come out~~

Tom, 10% GST we will see, Free public transport will never happen here.

As for affordable, well, the raise in cost of public housing, HDB, is man made reasons. Global property prices increased due to the flood of liquidity in the market, for PRIVATE housing...

What we are seeing here , is the staged increase in the price of the PUBLIC housing, from the shift in costing policy. No need to argue till the cow comes home. TH screwed up in the US banks investments, and the hole need to be filled up with funds from elsewhere. Not to forget the Suzhou Industrial Park loss. Wherelse to raise the funds apart from the human's most basic needs sector.

I find it an insult that our minister is comparing global PRIVATE property prices with our local PUBLIC housing prices, expressed as an % of income. The economic / accounting / finance module in university classes are not attend for fun one lor...

stonefish >> Yeah "free" things will never happen here.

You've got the point spot on! Why compare private housing to public housing? Why say that we are given a roof over our head, when we are leasing it for 99 years and then spend 1/3 of that time paying for it?

There are many things that are questionable, and yet none of our ministers dare to ask MBT why. They always say they improved Singapore such that the GDP is one of the highest in the world. I'm sorry, I think I'm not benefiting from the high GDP at all, whats more to say about the lower income earners?

Anyway, don't wish to OT in this thread. Haha... Supposed to discuss on Senja Green's development. Not PAP's promises.

Tomahawk, lets la kopi one of these days n discuss. Haha.. I share you views on the GDP thing. No stats on that part. I guess, it will be like the case of Malaysia. 80% of the wealth in the hands of 20% of the population.