Senja Green , HDB August 08 BTO

co2fan

With shipping costs and taxes everything is expensive in Singapore.

I had done some analysis. If say 2 persons do not spend in singapore in a yr, ( on normal brand products like clothing, bags, shoes etc, excluding luxury brands ), the savings for 2 persons, is enough for 3 nights in Bangkok, with almost the same amount of goods. Of course, Bangkok stuff may not appeal to some people.

With China in the picture, I think the same savings can sustain maybe 5 or more nights.

Red Dot>> Nose no bleed but that few night cannot sleep .. kekeke~~ @@

Chris>> So when you take off??

Stone>> You really take photo deep to the sea ar??

co2fan> most likely dec 17 then back on dec 22/23. I wanted to stay one more night come back dec 22. But he seems to be reluctant. Dun dare to push my luck later cannot go even worse. My hb complaining i like to anyhow spend money liao.. :S

co2fan,
I started taking photos underwater many yrs back during my dive trips.. And moved on to shooting on land as well.

Any nice places to recommend in GZ ?

Sinplyme> check out SQ website. Think there's promo to Maldives. 2 to go for 1.7k... Not sure if valid for your dates of travel. But better than no promo... ;)

Chris>> Wahahaha .. Honeymoon ok one lah .. all Singapore Bridegrooms want to spend his most romantic time of his life with his wife especially on own special Honeymoon .. so on the last day you do something to make him want to extend lor (like buy him some dog meat)~~ Kekeke .. later he like animal .. then call office to take another week annual leave. Then two of you most happy liao~~

Stone>> Gee .. i think i missed those underwater albums from your Flick photos~~ You posted some rite??
In GZ, theres a place called "Small Bird Heaven" where there are amazing sceneries and natural sightings. Hundred species of Birds living on one Mega Huge tree (the size of Clementi measured by how far the branches and roots stretched)
Amazing hor~~ .. u've got to see it to believe it~~

Wah~~ Scary~~ Tiger Airway also like that .. i think now short of good techinicians and supervisors in the industry~~

http://sg.yfittopostblog.com/2010/10/02/thousands-stranded-as-tiger-air-cancels-flights/

stone >> Great analysis! Too bad when I bought my D90, Sony was still lagging slightly behind. But I've seen their pricing recently. Together with Pentax, they are really much cheaper n have more value compared to Nikon n Canon. Hopefully both N&C realise that the consumers now are smarter and reduce their pricing and enhance their systems to match that of Sony + CZ lens. However detractors will say these are not real CZ lens and just that Sony manufacture according to CZ specs. But then, who cares if our eyes cannot discern the differences. Our wallet rules! :p

I'm beginning to think goods in Singapore are getting more and more expensive though. My FIL is looking at a Sony video camera. It's SRP is almost S$400 (after GST) lesser in Malaysia compared to Singapore! I also recently imported some stuff (less than S$400) from Japan and even after including a us$40 shipping, it is almost S$100 cheaper than what I would pay in Singapore. Though warranty is not covered here, but it doesn't really justify the cost.

By the way, nice time lapse! You have a setup for that?

stone> i saw ur link too.. nice time lapse! No idea how u do it.. But looks cool (frm someone who dunno anything abt cameras.. Haha.. )

co2fan> Err... i went on a honeymoon in june liao. Hb is complaining nonstop now that i want to go on another one... Hai.. Dunno whether can go or not. Low morale liao. Sian..

But the 'small bird heaven' sounds lovely.. u must have enjoyed urself there...

co2fan : Nice recommendation. Will bear that in mind if i go to GZ

Tomahawk : True, just like made in Japan Toyota have a premium and cult following over made in Thailand Toyota. The differentiating factor will always be our wallet. So far, my non professional photographer eyes like what I see from the A55 + CZ. Sharper and more vivid colors than my 5D + L lens.

Sony is smart. C & N will not let CZ produce a lens with AF, else it will cannibalise their own top lenses. With the technical expertise learnt from the CZ experience, Sony will incorporate all experience into their very own G lenses.

By the way, should you be deciding to let go of your D90, do it by early Dec the latest. As I had advised my fren , intending to switch from D90 to the new D7000. Sell now at a higher price, then go 2 mths without a camera, then get the D7000. Else, with D7000 hitting our shores, the resale value of D90 will fall...

Christie / Tomahawk. Its just a simple setup.
Camera mounted on tripod. With Image stabliser/ VR switch off, used a timer remote control. Shot the time lapse video over 40 mins, 600++ shots. And used a software , virtualdub , to dub into a video. Music can be added, but not to be posted on youtube. Tom, if you will be attempting, I suggest getting a good tripod, and weight it down with your bag...

Tomahwak : Yes, most things are alot more expensive in SG, Most camera bodies and lenses are cheaper elsewhere. Even factoring GST and shipping, it may be still worthwhile to ship in from overseas.

christie > i'm waiting for the october natas fair and see where it brings us to... :x
am planning to travel out after 20th dec.. which most likely will have no promos.. (SQ promos always very ex nearer to major holies... like Xmas and new year).

so you book the air tickets + accom liao?

sinplyme> yupyup.. i just booked the air tickets and accomodation. I am gg hilton coz its much cheaper. Going from 16-22 dec. First and last day dun really count since i am reaching like at night on 16th and flying off on the 21st night. Altogether 5 nights. One at male, 4 in the resort.

And there are cheaper flights on SQ. So as long u dun fly back on the 23rd or 27th of dec. I did the checking coz i wanted to fly on the 25 and back on 30. But i think ur issue is more of the resorts. Coz u are going to hit christmas leh. The meals there on christmas eve is going to be crazily expensive. That is the reason y i changed my dates of travel. Anyway, we prefer to celebrate with a grp of frens.

Is your wedding on the 18/19th weekend? If so then i think maldives maybe too pricey if u want to go there immediately. If your wedding is the weekend before, then i suggest u see if u can like fly off slightly earlier ard the dates when i fly. Alternatively, try for january? Think the flight prices are still on discount.

If you are flexible with the dates, then wait for the upcoming natas. For us we decided the natas prob wun affect us much. So we decided to go ahead. Coz the tour agents are charging so much more. Think i rather DIY and do the booking myself.

christie >
yup, you are right! wedding's on the 18/19th weekend so flying out after that... hm... yah, think i will wait for the natas then see how...
enjoy your maldives trip and keep me updated whe you are back yea~ would like to know how's ur trip there... so if i don't go maldives for HM, i can plan it for other trips..

Sinplyme> sorry.. been busy with work. Just manage to pull out a bit of time before sleep to reply. In tat case think wait till natas and see what is the best offer... Shld be able to get something there. Though i advise you to have a rough idea what you want before u go. Its super overwhelming there if you dunno wat u want. The last time i went, i was so confused with the tons of travel agents ard... Oh yah.. go early too. If not got to queue super long loh.

No worries, will keep u updated abt the trip.. But still far lah.. ha.. dec leh.. I now so busy with work until dec feels like its yrs away...

christie >

dec is only 60+ days away!

Actually I really don't know what I want now... I am just going in to Natas with an openmind.
really can't make up my mind on the HM destination!

sinplyme> Hmm... its liddat... tat time i also cannot make up my mind. Everywhere looks fantastic. Go with the one tat attracts u the most loh. I regretted not choosing maldives the very first round. Now making up for it.. So no worries.. always got chances after that.. At least our flat not coming yet. Ha.. still can afford to spend a bit.. :P Seems like we scared off the grooms of senja green with our honeymoon talk...

yea.. How is the progress so far? The last time i went 633C is already building 6th level.

The road along bukit timah road is so bumpy and dangerous =( due to the construction of the MRt.
Is the MRT going to be underground??

last nite went over to check out the progress of contruction. I think 1 of the rental block has finished building oredi..

Blk 633C till 8th floor, 633D till 14th floor..the rest cant see properly as i was at senja grand the coffee shop there.

eh..seems like the construction is pretty slow arr... sianz..

wiwi> yah... it seemed to slow down a bit when i pass by... 633B till 10th floor... 633A blocked by the rental flats so i cannot see from the main road. Rental flats more or less abt to be done.. All four blocks seem to be standing tall...

Freedom>> I think not~~ .. but on the other hand, 633C Level 1-10 (facing the main road) is blocked by the other rental flat .. i was also surprised the rental flats are so high up~~

Hey .. you and cocoabun stay the same floor .. direct neighbour!!

The best unit is still 633C 15th-29th floor facing the main road with no west sun and windy somemore.

Sandy, Wiwiwi, QQ31, Kitty, Felix, Metro 18, Keiko and Homeless => can swop unit with me?? heehee~~

Hey co2fan, hee it's becos of those rental flats.. If not, I would choose lower levels, much cheaper..
End up take 19th floor, if the lifts break down think I will faint...

Bah(Metro)Ren(18)Dah>> Er..the higher the better lah => More windy, fresher air, higher value, good scenery and less dusty lor~~ The highest Senja Unit also cheaper than many other BTO high floors already lah~~

yupyup... everyone's bet for the name was wrong.. Ha... its parc view.. So the whole plot of land there all used up liao. Wonder where else they going to develop in bt panjang.. I praying its not the plot of land in front of our house...

Hmm~~ Parc View~~ Same Pattern~~ Theres no difference between the two typical 4-room except for one more piece of window .. i bet you'll pay more for that piece of window~~ Wah~~ SengKang one Super Expensive leh .. newlywed might as well choose Senja Parc View .. HDB Short Short De ar~~
Eh .. from the map i suddenly realise something~~ The MRT Depot is juz below us .. no wonder the downtown line project extend to our side .. So Das Ne~~ That means we still need to walk to TMJ to take MRT~~ TMD!!

co2fan >> If its TMJ its still ok lah. Somemore with the distance-based fares, taking 1 or 2 more stops = a couple of cents more, or even free for some.

Hopefully they can speed up Parc View, like what MBT promised, then we do not need to suffer from any dust and noise. :P

The SengKang flat design looks so muck sleek!
Senja Pac colour abit too ... 'green'

MRT Depot below us? Hmmm.. in terms of feng sui is consider bad right =(

I agree that that Senja Parc is too green.. why mus the colour scheme be always green? Jus becos we are in the midst of greenery? Im glad that our colour scheme is so much better as compared to Parc View.

I kpo & went to check out Senja gateway floor plan too.. found that our 4-room layout is the worst cos our living room is not the longish type
( I prefer longish) And the MBR also bad layout cos the AC ledge is obstructing (cant put wardrobe)I foresee we are going to have a major headache when getting ID to design our house.

P.S.: Ytd nite went to dig our floor plan out & realise something. Actually there's 2 type of floor plan for 4-rooms. Anyone noticed it? The difference between the front door & the storeroom/ bomb shelter

metro >> I haven't noticed any difference... Actually for the AC ledge, what some ppl do is build the wardrobe over it, but for that particular door, you keep stuff that is not heavy and can be moved around easily.

My only qualm is why they didn't want to increase the floor area of the living room for Senja Green, and made it more recessed into the house compared to the other 3 rooms. It'll be so much nicer if they could extend the size of the living room... I wouldn't mind paying extra for that 4 or 5 sqm. :D

co2fan/sandz >> The track runs under the Woodlands Road, not directly under our flats. The depot is after the KJE exit/entrance. No worries about fengshui unless you drive an F1 car and the MRT running underground can affect your circuits. :p

comparing the prices of Green and Parc View, our units have appreciated almost 43k in a matter of 2 yrs, and my unit is still a column of air now !!. Crazy

Tomahwak >> U are right.. im always lamenting about that.. if the LV is recessed, we are able to put the sofa against the wall instead. Now, our sofa placing will definitely affect the walking area towards the bedrooms if we buy too big a sofa

From wat i know, most punngol layouts also haf recessed LV.. We cant have everything that we like but I always keep in mind that our unit price is considered cheap for the high levels.. & our kitchen layout is considered quite good already!

Btw, the difference in the 4-room layout is very minimal. That's why I didnt realise it when I was selecting my unit. Ytd, jus feel like taking a look again & found the difference.

If u look carefully at the units near the lift and the ones at the staircase. The storeroom/bomb shelter is abit recessed for the units at the staircase. Then u will see that the LV room is abit smaller for the units at the staircase.

Metro>> Yes, our living room is unique compared to most BTOs recently (To me i prefer squarish coz i've seen the long living room, My uncle's unit at Taman Jurong,which is not convenient to lay furniture and long living room looked visually smaller) Long living room very boring to me as very restraint.
I already pointed out in earlier forum that the door swinging direction is different. Block B and C is the same .. where Block A & D swings inwards towards the kitchen which is something i find not so logic .. but i've got solution to every inch of my unit .. hehe~~

Tomahawk>> Yeah .. the tunnel is opposite Senja Green nearer to the raiway where they are digging. And Depot is around the highway junction there .. i wonder if we feel some unwanted vibrations when MRT moving out from Depot~~

Sandz>> Wind blocked liao after Parc View completion .. shit~~

Co2fan>> Really hope that the squarish LV room will turn out ok.
Blk A & D should be completed earlier than the other blks judging by the progress..
U shld be getting ur keys earlier, rem to take help pictures of the inner layout for us then!

co2fan >> Haha.. I just realised that after you've mentioned it.

metro >> I think its not drawn to scale bah. But maybe they compensate a little by making the other places a little bigger. Next time take ruler n measure after we get our units. :D

Metro/Tomahawk>> Wahaha~~ All block finish then can take key lah~~ I measured before .. the sofa long and big one still can fit in our living room .. nicely and cozy feel~~