Savings for marriage...(couples with zero savings to start, pls join in)

wah ... u dun let noxy see this ah ... later she wants to increase budget again muahhahahaah

10k exclude honeymoon and banquet definitely ...
sigh ... today must tio toto lah :p

i must tio more than you wor ...
somemore solemisation i hold diff day and not at legends that time budget 10k also reach le .. sian ... its gettin real exp to marry ..

ok u take group 1 and i'll take group 2

but hor .... i din buy today

hahahahha

out of curiousity ..... anyone did mkt research on banquet losses .....

for example : 1000 per table (%losses compared to total expenditure on banquet)
800 per table (% losses)
600 per table (% losses)
400 per table (% losses)
etc

i tink this would help couples to plan and have in mind how much to save roughly for banquet losses

sorry if this sounds dumb

difficult to say how much you will lose.
1. the hotel you chose.. normally ppl may pay more for 5 star hotels.
2. your friends ... are you close to them.
3. your relative.. i heard of relatives covering a few tables with 1 ang boas.. also got relative give gold.. which you need to sell to turn to money.

I agree with JGal.
Also, some older relatives may only give gold during tea ceremony and not give anything during wedding dinner. There are also some guests who may give gifts like cyrstals for the wedding dinner.

more guest turn out doesnt mean you gain.
less guest turn out doesnt mean you lose.

it really depend on your r/ship with them also.

hi ayukie, yes, some give in mornig dun give at night.in morning, they may give gold, not cash. esp the older generation and teochews.

for the tea ceremony, they just give a small token, about $10-30.
for the dinner, is a separate AP given before they enter the ballroom. then the amount is to cover t he banquet cost/head.

if one AP cover two event..then too bad.

The wedding dinner can request from the bank to up yr credit limit to pay for the banquet $$. Juz produce yr hotel receipt. Than wedding dinner nxt day take the hong bao $$ use to pay that amt ... if not enought top up with own cash ....

yes...
just provide bank with banquet co-ordinator name and contact.

the limit can be as much 2 times of ur credit limit. also depend on ur last drawn pay and paymement history.

re : AP for tea ceremony / dinner

Depends on family, mine gives gold in the morning. Luckily, i requested for 916 gold.
now gold price went up. Do tell your folks that you prefer 916/999 gold lor.. else they give you small diamond jewellery / white gold stuff.. you also wont wear one.. and waste money.
Dinner, my family give my parents angbao.. which is not for me to keep lor

Credit Card limit :
If you using citibank, you can go online and request for increase the limit. we increase to 4 times our limit. Just pay when the bill come. In the meantime, deposit the cash in high interest acct :P

Im new to this thread, hmm my HB n i oso no savings, so when we decided to hold our AD we are shocked by the banquet pricing.

Hmmm so in the end we rent our both our Flat in JW n AMK, to save up for our banquet. its tedious for my HB asd he earn lesser than me but still insit to pay all the expense himself.
so i let him be, but i save up as back up oso haha..

I have found a great system to earn extra income using internet. It has been proven by thousands that it works. Just wanted to share with you. There is no obligation for to you sign up and furthermore there is 60 days refund guaranteed.

This is not another one of those Get Rich Quick Scams, this has absolutely nothing to do with Multi-Level-Marketing or anything alike. This is a 100% Legal online opportunity that people just like you are using and getting REAL results and earnings in return.

Discover yourself of how to earn extra income using Internet.

Discover here:

http://www.casey-home-based-job.media-sb.net/

My bf and me start off with zero saving for a wedding so this is how we start off with our planning starting from proposal ring...

Getting AFFORDABLE proposal ring:
Can go for 0.9ct instead of 1ct cause diamond as it reaches the full number which is "1" onwards the price is super expensive, unless you know of supplier who can give u at distributor price which for my case, He purchase a 1ct customize wedding ring for me at only SGD3000 nett price.

Next we go into finding wedding packages, a lot of couple fail in this part cause they didn't manage to state down all the verbal agreement with the bridal shop in the end they had to pay off super a lot more extra! So don't be shy to as for discount and more freebies! For my package I mange to get 3 gowns, photos, groom suit, all flower and deco, the Traditional red gown, 3 brother coat, 2 sister gown, fathers coat, mother dress, make up for all, everything at one $3800nett price.
DONT EVER USE CREDIT CARD! cause bridal shop actually allow you to pay them back slowly until the day your wedding lunch or dinner commence!!!

Lastly find wedding location, lunch or dinner??

Many people choose Lunch cause they think wedding lunch is cheaper than dinner so they can save more $$. The answer is WRONG! and my recommendation is never ever get package from wedding fair cause there are many couple on the event and asking for prices and package, do you think that you get to have the 100% attention from the sales attendance?

I manage to find can them up myself in order to get their full attention. On my average research, the cheapest table with 8 course meals are $500nett price and the 9 course meal is $850nett price with one whole suckling pig per table!! Nowsaday how much couple can afford one suckling pig per table?? But $850nett only I get to do so!!

And when I mention Nett price, I mean all GST service charge already calculate in, with free flow beer, drinks, weeding gift for all guest, invitation cards with printing and some even with complimentary car parking!!

The whole wedding cost me less than $20k and I get the whole full proper wedding with a 1ct diamond ring( all couple exclude their proposal ring cost but mine had the proposal ring and wedding band price included!) And we got this all plan out in just less than a month time for our 2018 wedding.

So who say getting married in SG is expensive? It's couple lack of proper planning.

Lastly, don't always expect your guest will always be that generous to give you BIG any bao. For all you know the economic is bad. So before you decide to go for hotel wedding, think if how much dollars you are willing to loss out before going to hotel wedding and of cos oversea photo taking