Savings for marriage...(couples with zero savings to start, pls join in)

me also savings trying anyway ... bf as well but i think im the cuplrit he kant save sometimes but den i just dunno u know hehe ..

hi Ayukie
How much are you budgeting for your wedding?
my HB and I actually wanted to do the solemnisation and six months later the dinner reception. We did the numbers and realised that we can save $$ by combining the two together...

We budget about S$1K per table (including F&B). There are other expenses like the BS, PG, VG etc... trying to cut corners as much as we can....

i oredi am spending alot for the solemisation liaoz and still growin lolz ...

For banquet trying hopefully to find 800 nett per table de lor **prays**
BS settle abit le
PG settled cept payment part lolz
VG no idea on dat yet ...
For me coz of the date of solemisation hehe so doing it seperate lor
AD will def be after i get house frm hdb so reno etc will come in 1st bah thus feels sooo broke

hi Ayukie
Will your AD dinner reception happen before or after the 7% GST?

2% increase is darn a lot of $$ for me!! My AD is end of DEC 07. My house will only be ready end of 08. Sigh!! Money not enough!!

wedding inded need TONS of $$$$
is it tat standard wedding dinner usually cos abt 1K per table?

i'm curious to know...

Hi Julia,

I think the price depends on where you hold it.

If you hold in restaurant, the standard is about $500. If it is restaurant, the standard is about $900 on weekends (before tax for the places which charge +++). Then yuo have the high end restaurants up to almost $900 and as low as $338. For hotels, you have high as $1488 for weekends to as low as $700+++ for weekdays.

anyone of u interested to earn side income in the wellness industry?
it is a home based job actually..
me also like u all saving money to get married.. and i feel this had helped me alot..

actually is a slimming plus bust enhancement/firming centre..
have money back guarantee insurance..
i have afew colleagues getting married or they wanna lose weight, so i brought them to this company which my friend opened not long ago.
and i know that they are in safe hands and we get to get referel fees when we intro someone there..
my friends feedback to me this as a gd side income..
haha..
btw what's MLM mean??

Me and bf talked bout marriage too. Want to start a joint saving account. You guys think feasible? I was thinking each of us contribute $100 or $50 into the account. At least I feel alittle secure that he is really serious with me. But til now he refused to open the account with me leh..is this a sign he doesn't want to further our relationship?

opening acc needs at least $500. Maybe he is still saving up to the minimum sum. You can't just take $100 and walk into the bank and open the acc. Dun you know that?

Yes I know what's the min deposit. I'm talking beyond that. After open the account, every month contribute $50 very hard meh?

Hi Cactus, he always tell me no money. Or he will say if next time break up how? so messy. can u believe that? i totally no security at all lor.

Hi Tiara, it sounds like your bf is not ready to commit to your relationship yet, much less, to prepare to enter into a marriage.

Actually, my hb and I only opened a joint account half a year after he proposed to me...and after our engagement party. I think it's better for the guy to take the initiative to decide when he's prepared to commit to a marriage (ie. say, with a proposal) than for us ladies to jump the gun and suggest having a joint account. Cos seriously, what if there is a break up next time?

sad lor, i also think it's better for the guy to initiate to see if he is prepared to commit further into the relationship lor. nvm lah. see how it goes.

Hang in there, Tiara. Guys usually move slow and steady. Cos they have alot of issues on their mind - their career, their parents, their ability to sustain a family. Most guys subscribe to the thought that guys need to support their parents and family... that's why they move slowly. Give yourself time too.

I guess most probably he aint ready to commit to that extend yet? Yeah, guys have a lot of issues on their mind. Sometimes on this topic, then suddenly jump to another topic without warning. Haiyah..

Hey cactus and esteem zero, thank you guys. guess i'm thinking too much. it's good to have some frens out there to explain HIS side of situation. yah, maybe he really have some issues to deal with.
and guys being guys aren't like us who will pour out everything if something is bugging us.

tiara_wan.. how old are you ? how long have you been together...some men aint sure what they want and dun want to changes to their current situation.. you need to assess your current situation carefully lor.

Yo JGal, me turning 22 tomorrow.
We have been together for 2 years, my frens told me, maybe my bf needs more time to mature..i heard of stories that some guys into their 30s still behaving like a boy..that's scary man.. Of coz I hope by opening a joint account means some security else I don't know where this relationship is leading though.

i cant tell you if your bf is really immature or his is unsure of the relationship. You have to observe yourself, cos' i am not in the relationship.

sometimes ppl get into a relationship w/o thinking of the future.. when they are in it, they realized that this may not be the one but they are too comfortable to take-off or they dun have a chance to take-off.. so they just let it be..with no intention for "forever"

I wondering what the guy is scare of? that you change your mind? or that he may change his mind later.

You need to access if this is the situation. I had friends who basically found out the "truth" after they presurized the guys into committment.. one of them, it's a 10 yr relationship.. Purely waste of time to the gal.

2 yrs is a long time to know someone.. probably already know if you want to commit or not.

Hi tiara,

If your bf is about your age, there are definately alot of things on his mind. He woudl have just left school,in his first job, hardly much savings in his bank account. Most guys take about 5,6 years to know what they really want in life. Getting married is not just tying the knot, as you realise. It's about deciding where to stay, what type of housing/car to buy, how to deal with both sets of parents, consider financial obligation. What happens if babies arrive after marrige. That will be additional expenditure. Would you and him be able to be role model parents?

I agree that a 2 years exclusive relationship pis enough time to know someone. But if the mentality is not "to know someone with a view to marriage", but "to know someone to be a bf", your bf may not be prepared to commit now. My hb proposed to be when we had known each other for about 15 months...he didn't think he was too quick cos he was 28 then. We only opened a joint account about half a year after he proposed.

I agree to what Cactus mention above. However, what happened to me is very much the opposite. Hahaha

My hb proposed after 5 months after we know each other. We ROM a yr later and had our customary half a yr after that. I married when I was 22, hubby was 27. I was sorta fresh out of uni but working, hubby was working for 1-2 yrs. We had out joint a/c open once I came back from studies overseas cos I see the need to save. Luckily he listens cos he doesn't bother abt finances...so I have to manage it. I also pretty chin cai, I stay with my in-laws. Overall, after 6.5 yrs, with 2 kids (3rd one coming), we are fine except some parental issues with my in-laws.

I guess overall, it doesn't matter how long u know a person. It's whether you feel comfortable with the person. The person may not exactly what you want (remember, it works the same way the other way around), but it's the issue of knowing how to compromise with each other faults. =)

My hb basically told everyone that i am his wife after we go out for 1 mth.. by the 4 mth we went to see flats liao.. ha haha .. then we got our flat in 9mth..Married another yr later, when we have more money.

No joint acct.. but .. he give me his atm card to settle all the wedding bills. :P

I think time is not a factor too.. but sometimes, when guys dun commit, it may show some problem in the relationship.. too many ppl i know are in their current relationship not because of love.. but because it's comfortable, and routine.

anyway.. tiara is only asking for $50 deposit frm her bf.. i believe even if along the way, he cannot put in $50 mthly, she also wont chase him since the wedding is still long way.
the problem is the guy dun even want to part with $50 bucks! $50 buck is less than my mthly transport cost.

I agree time is not as great a factor as the mentality. If the guy is not prepared to settle down, it doesn't matter that he has gone out with a gal for say, 10 years.. and I feel the younger a guy is, the more concerns he has.. cos guys think differently from gals. And some guys may have more responsibilities towards theri parents... so added burden. But there are definately some guys who feel prepared to tie the knot when they are still young. I know some guys got married even before they started work! Most of these guys have alot of support from their parents.

Hmm... my feeling about the $50 issue is a bit different from JGal's. Maybe the amount is not an issue. But rather, it is the hassle of having a joint account...

i dun think there is a need to have joint a/c. touch wood if both of you break off...

i agree that both of you should save towards wedding and house but at your own account. its a trust you should have for each other that you will commit on the agree amount to be save per month.

we only have joint account when we get our house.

Hi ayukie, at the moment, nothing good in the market that I know of.... if you are relatively young, it's better to have protection separate from returns... cos being young, we need more protection, touch wood, if something happens to us. And pure term policy is much more affordable.

catus I alreday have some endowments + protection le ... looking for something for my hb lor ...
anyway im really intrested in any joint a/c that's gd tat really savings kinda but of course better interest rates would be preferable

Yah JGal, open bank a/c needs $500 deposit. I told him we will split half half. THen mthly put in $50. The fact that he just brush off the idea irritates me, that shows he doesn't even wana do something serious with me.
sometimes we go out for makan, when asked for the bill, he is so slow to pay lor..i feel so paiseh esp he take his time to count and pay. Sometimes even tell me not enough. In the end, I paid with my debit card. I asked him why he doesn't believe in NETs. He said he scared he will over-spend. Sure or not..can't stand miser guys leh..

tiara.. i hope i am not discouraging you here.. i just want to advise you to open your eyes big big after 2 yrs with this guy..

you need to very sure he is the one you want to spend the rest of your life with. And he is serious abt you before you spend more of your precious youth with this guy.

Hi tiara,

actually it may not be bad to have a bf or husband who is careful about how he spends his money. You just have to make sure both of you have the same financial mindset when it comes to earning, saving and spending, if not, there may be problems in the future.

cactus.. it's very contradicting.. if he's careful with money.. he shld have saving liao..

My hubby is very careful with money, maybe stringy when i first went out with him.. but he saves and plans for our future use very much.

Hi JGal,

Sometime back, I posted a message saying that perhaps, tiara's bf is not ready to make that commitment yet... What I didnt say explicitly is perhaps he is not prepared to contribute any amount because he doesn't want to open a joint account with tiara at this stage.

the purpose of my last post is to suggest that tiara may want to explore her own savings/spending pattern and compare that against her bf's... cos if they enter into a committed relatnioship, she may not be able to come to terms with his "miserly" ways and there may be problems in the future.

maybe.. just tot marrying this guy needs serious thinking...

dun get me wrong.. i just think that the guy's action is very contradicting.. not your comments..

Hi JGal,

No worries. I agree that the guy's action is rather contradicting, but I find most of the time, if someone is very thrifty, he tends to pay alot of attention to $ and watches over his own $ very very carefully. Perhaps that, together with his unprepardness to commit to tiara at this stage results in his being "miserly" = should have savings, yet say dun have and therefore don't want to open joint account.

Having said that.. I feel a man who truly loves a woman, would skimp on himself and allow the woman he loves to spend on herself. And a sensible woman would not spend extravagently.

Yah lor. I agree with both cactus and Jgal. I really seriously doubting him leh. A few times happened to me. We go window shopping coz I dun wish to spend too much. And you know how ex clothes are in spore. Then he will ask me if i like or not, i said yah nice but ex. Then he will offer to pay for it. (Boy buy gift for girls is part of relationship mah) I said okie. Then in front of the cashier, he got not enough. Ask me got $10 or not. Wah! I super paiseh leh! I quickly pay with my debit card then run out of the shop lor. After that, he treat like nothing happen! I dun intend to buy the clothes wan, now I'm a few hundred poorer and more miserably. hai...

Hihi .. saw this forum .. deicded to join ...
Jus to share... we are about to get flat and realise that we actually have close to zero saving (previosu saving all gone to past holidays)... if really wan everything have to rely on parents .. therefore we are starting from scratch ...
Anyway after a few attempt on seeing him save .. i realise that its probably going to take 10yr for us to get enopugh .. anyone share similar fate ? By the way .. my FH is very anxious but also have no money sense so nearly got trapped in a finanacial plan which his agent insist is good for him .. so please be careful and think and ask many questions before you or yr FH commits ..

its like that ba .... getting real expensive to survive in singapore

quite lucky that i started saving straight after school plus no financial worries so after close to 3 years of working still can get married hahaah

told my WTB no choice muz suffer abit cos wedding alone needs 10k exclude honeymoon then still must consider losses from dinner (just in case)

siong ..... so everytime she complain i nvr spend enuff on her i told her bo bian nid to save on wedding since im paying close to 99% of it
... so on the whole she quite understanding

happy saving guys and gals ....

gt little bit savings .. housing , wedding , banquets etc etc all will wipe out also and more haiz .. esp with all the rising costs ...

cars - 10k so little meh ?
bridal studio , wedding bands etc etc i think 10k le
no counting banquet etc ...
i think my honeymoon shd b postponed lor ...
housing cfm more than 10k on reno and appliances liaoz oso ...