Ritz Carlton

angeliss

hi princess
m planng to hold my dinner in Ritz on the 26th jul 2008... i can send you the package...

Feicia
will be holding my dinner in CHihuly room as well. how was the room? spacious?

bethany

Hi angelbride (angeliss),
yes for my case it is really way too spacious already, we only had about 70 guests and the table set up is for 84 guests, i think even you have 120 guests there still it will be spacious.. cuz our theatre seating chairs in front were not really removed when we started the lunch, if we remove that sure can put a lot more tables..

that time we made a stupid mistake, the package is for minimum 50 pax and somehow i got the impression the room is for 50 pax only, so we did not invite a lot of quite close friends, and only after we finalized the guest list and informed those friends that we are not able to invite them due to space constraint, then we realized the room is really big enough for 12 tables ba.. so depends on how many guests you are inviting lor...

bethany

The food was great according to many of my friends, but for my sis who is more particular about food, she said there are a few dishes which are really so so only... but good thing is it is buffet, so definitely everyone can find something they love.. and dessert is definitely good...

we did not taste much food indeed, too busy with other stuff already.. so we cant really comment, but i think definitely above average standard ba...

cutiephinphin

Anyone can advise the contact to the coordinators in Ritz Carlton? Don't wish to send for RFP via their internet system.

Felicia
I noticed your wedding was just the solemization ceremony + lunch right? The ballroom is rather big. I'm not sure if they have a venue for my capacity of 200pax.

bethany

Hi Jeannie,

Here's the contact: [email protected]
Joey is very nice and helpful.

And yes, mine is not at the ballroon, they can definitely help you if you need a place for 200 pax.

i have this quote here, http://winsonandfelicia.weddingannouncer.com/downloads.html
First one under this link, it is too big so i cannot upload it to this forum. it is for 250 pax, then either buffet lunch or set lunch.. you can use as a reference.. i do not have the quote for dinner though.. but i am sure they can come out with something nice for your de...

just went there for dinner last night, really enjoyed their 6 star service from their great staff there...

mypl

hi angelbride, can send me ur RC package too? thks

tiramisu91

hi felicia,

i am tinking of ritz to hold ROM as well...hope u can give some advise based on ur past experience...where is chihuly entrance located..hows d march in??

during ROM, guest shd be seated at the table or there will be a theatre shape seating arrangement in the room? thanks

maudrey

Thinking of Ritz for my ROM. I already have idea about food. Can anyone give feedback about their cake? How about the favours? Thanks.

enivi

Maudrey,
I just met up with their wedding coordinator about my solemnisation lunch recently, there is no wedding favours in their package.I will take their chihuly room, for lunch buffet, it is $95+++/pax, min 50 pax.

desmondtan

yesterday I just attended a company's D&D at RC. here's my feedback on the grand ballroom
hotel lobby is spectacular with very friendly staffs. (plus plus)
need to take a lift to reach the grand ballroom. (minus)
reception foyer is spacious and never short of cocktails. (plus plus)
banquet staff are neatly dressed. female hair all bundle up. very impress by the outlook presentation. (plus)
inside the grand ballroom: extremely spacious, pillarless and high ceiling. big stage, we have a total of 88 tables. abit squeezy thou. (plusplus)
table setup is so-so.maybe it is a D&D not a wedding (minus)
sound system is good (plus)
lighting system is good. dimming system is good, lighting effect is good. (plus) credit to the operation technician.
food is so so only, quite disappointed with the food maybe due to its 6star status. (bad)
food are individually served. so u don't get the see the whole dish presentation and no extra portion. (bad)
cant distingiush how many server per table. coz quite afew serve our table . very initiative servers. replace drink and top up drink very promptly. (plus)
every dish change plate(plus)
toilet is small but clean and neat with handtowel provided(plus)
overall I tink it is a fantastic ballroom. one of the best i have been to, in term of ambience, professionalism, class. (9/10)but for the food, there is room for improvement. (5/10)

hope my review helps

candyrock

my cousin just held his wedding in ritz carlton grand ballroom in dec. my overall experience there as a wedding guest was fntastic

the cocktail ran over 1.5 hrs. but the canapes and drinks kept on coming. there was also a 3pax string performance for nearly an hour.

the ballroom is huge with a fabulous grand stage. the overall feel was very glam. as for the staff, i think they are reasonable neat and polite.

the usual downsides of ritz carlton would have to be their lighting. I have heard from several cousins (who also held their wedding at ritz) that their PG would complain about the dim lighting. esp during the march in, when they would leave the lights out except for the stage. this is a important factor affecting your wedding pictures.

as for food, their shark's fin is well brewed to taste and yes, you do see 2 pcs of shark's fine. their triple mousse dessert (mango, choc and strawberry) was something different...a sure favourite amongst kids and younger adults. and yes, food is served in individual portions. i'm very certain there's always enough to go around the table...and for each dish, there is normally 2-3 extra helpings. i think it's good because you won't the kind of situation where some shy guest don't reach out that much for food or some kiasu guests will take more than they should. the plus point for this is, your beautiful centrepieces will stay on your guest tables. as a guest, i'd rather feast my eyes on the floral arrangement than the dish!

the centrepiece were clustered with loads of orchids and red roses and candles. the whole ballroom was also nicely don up with the same red roses theme. you get the feeling it's very romantic because of the amount of flowers used.

but for90table banquet, you don't get alot of space between tables. overall, ritz carlton is very worth it if you're looking for ambience and class.

hyqc

hi jasmine i'm new here. i just booked the ritz carlton for my AD in 2010. I feel quite relieved/happy after reading your review. just wondering, the menu that you mentioned - was it the individually-platted one or the normal cantonese-style one?

candyrock

Hi HQ L, congrats on your upcoming nuptials!

most of my cousins' weddings are held at shangri-la and ritz carlton. most of the time in ritz, it is individually served.

i wanted to get ritz too for 2010...it's like my dram wedding venue..but our 2 fortune tellers wouldn't agree o us marrying in 2010. ritz carlton is fully booked for 2009...so i only managed to get Pan Pac for dec 2009.

you are so lucky! ;) anyway, the grand ballroom gallery is only nice for holding solemnisation too...do consider!

hyqc

hey jasmine> thanks! congrats to you too. =) yes... when the wedding consultant showed me the ritz ballroom i was completely blown away. i actually went to look at the pan pac ballroom too and i quite liked it, but their catering sales person was really rude so fiance and I were like NOOOO.

yeah! i just saw pics of the grand gallery set-up for solemnization. we are considering doing that in the event that we can't book our church's sanctuary for that particular date.

are you solemnizing at Pan Pac too? or have you ROM already?

candyrock

thanks HQ L, it's great to get to know you here!

i'm rom-ing on mar 25 as that was calculated to be the best day for us. we couldn't get any JP in time so we have to do it in rom premises instead.

well, i really think ritz carlton is a better bet than pan pac. for the small amt in difference of pricing that we're gonna pay, you really get much more with ritz. the stage and aisle decor at pan pac is quite sparse. kinda disppointing...so we're gonna make a stage backdrop and bring in our own florist.

and the lighting at the ballroom gallery is great for pics. just remember to inform your PG about the lights-out during your 1st march-in. and everything should run very smoothly for you ;)

hyqc

jasmine > thanks for the heads up. i didn't know there were so many things to think about. i haven't even hired a photog for my AD yet. still looking now. who did you get?

jay00

Dear RC Brides,

You must all be so super lucky to be able to have or about to have a memorable wedding at RC. My best wishes.

Would anyone be so kind as to send me your dinner banquet quotation for reference? [email protected] Thank you in advance.! ^^

candyrock

You're most welcome, HQ L! I also didn't know there was so much to plan for...not till my FIL's secretary passed us a task list. My jaws dropped...haha

As for PG, I'm still between 39 East and Lighted Pixels. Initially, we were thinking of hiring Live Studios (by Willy Foo). But we weren't sure how good they are at weddings.

CK and Eng Hong from 39 East has a documentary style of capturing weddings. A little on the romantic side for Eng Hong.

I'm sure I don't need to tell you more about Kelvin Lim from Lighted Pixels. He's got an excellent eye for moments.

Price wise (based on 10 hrs of coverage),

Kelvin Lim - $6,000 (no asst)
CK - $7,000 (inclusive of 1 assoc.pg)
Eng Hong - $5,000 ( assoc pg at 100/hr)

For Lighted pixels, there are 2 assoc...alwin and ixin. i only know that alwin charges 300/hr, minimum booking of 5 hrs.

I'm getting 2 PGs for my wedding. For my cousin, he got 4 pgs and 2 vgs to cover the 90 table banquet. How many tables are you guys expecting? eng hong advised on getting an assoc for banquets >300pax.

when is your wedding? i remember you said some time in 2010...which makes you a very hardworking bride ;)

hyqc

hey jasmine > thanks for the info! i'm also seriously considering lightedpixels. alwin shot my friend's wedding in bali and he did a really nice job, so we have been in touch already. we've looked around online at a few others (i saw 39east, one eye click and expressively joho) but we haven't confirmed anything yet!

my wedding is in feb 2010. i figured we would book stuff early, then we can have some time to relax in between. fiance and i like to do sports and other activities on the weekends so it would be nice to have a break from the wedding stuff... that's why we're doing all the hard stuff now

we got a checklist too. the ritz carlton coordinator gave us one in our folder after we signed with them! it has so many items... trying not to think of them.. haha

which BS are u going with?

candyrock

wow HQ L, you're moving really fast! i agree that the couple should take it easy when the wedding day draws near..but i haven got the time to meet up with the pg/vg..i better start moving soon!

we are about 85% sure about picking 39east...htb likes their style the best. plus, we're roping in a friend who is a fashion photographer to help out.

how about vg? have you got an recommendations?

i got the checklist folder from pan pac too. i also got myself a nice "wedding" file. basically, i subsectioned it out and slotted everything in. make things alot easier and organised. that includes pics of my dream gown...i think that's one of the most exciting tasks!

as for BS, i have so many in mind. ted wu, amanda lee, bridal veil, dang, silhouette, renee l, kai, flamingo.. and the list just seems to go on and on. i have only met Michelle from bridal veil and amanda lee...and i'm definitely not going with michelle cause we didn't click at all.

but one thing's for sure..i like tulle gowns. so for now, kai, silhouette and dang appeals to me more. since my mum's a half-pernarakan..she is hoping that i get ted wu. still pondering if i should buy the gowns. although i have a 2nd celebration overseas, but i'm hoping to wear different gowns. how about you?

hyqc

Hey Jasmine > I saw 39east. Their pics are really good =) I am still totally undecided!

Who is your coordinator from Pan Pac? Is it this lady called Jocelyn?

I heard about Michelle from various sources. I don't think I will meet her that soon - I am going to try their dresses only on 7 Feb.. doubt she will attend to me then.

Tulle gowns - I really like those from Silhouette. I went there to check out the dresses too but I don't think they will look good on me. I'm not very tall and I am paranoid that a dress that's too puffy will make me look short. :p

I think I'll probably end up signing with Bridal Veil. Their package seems reasonable and I like that their dresses are simple and no-frills.

candyrock

Haha...I had exactly the same feeling after i saw both kelvin's and ck's pics..but i'm going for 39 east! they have this album credits where i can choose what kind of album i want...so it's a little bit more flexible for us. Eugene from Chris Ling is good too.

My coordinator is charlotte..she's quite cheery, but not very flexible coz' of the hotel's policies.

As for the bridal gowns, i'm not sure too cause i haven pop by silhouette and dang yet..i think you will be in good hands with bridal veil...they are really good with their workmanship. fantastic cutting of their gowns! 2 of my female cousins were with BV..she was like super nice and flexi with one of them, but quite "attitude" with my other cousin. both of them got great gowns, only that the process wasn't that pleasant for one of them.

there seem to be alot of additional costs, particularly when it comes to their embellishments. i like their gowns but i couldn't stand the way she was talking to me. my htb got a little offended and we actually left before the bv guy got to talk about their packages.

now, i do regret a little..i should have bear with it..do you know the package details? pls share with me if you do...i feel like going back.

iamken

Really envy all who can afford RC.

I had make an enquiry with them for a 20-25 tables quote.... and the quote was like.... WOW!$!$!$

Hmmm... Wonder if the Toto I bought yesterday won me anything..... I go check now =p

If no kena... then I better 'guai guai' stick to the basic hotels I have shortlisted like Raffles Hotel and Four Seasons.

hyqc

Jasmine > nope i don't have the package details yet cos I haven't even spoken to anyone from BV yet. But I will definitely let you know when I have the details =)

iamken > I hope you get lucky!

sean_ng

I have the following items for sale from my wedding last Friday.
All items are brand new and only bought few days before my actual day.
Please send me an email at seanngyl@gmail for more details.

1) Martell VSOP, 70cl, duty paid, 8 bottles, $70 each

2) Berri Estates Cabernet Sauvignon, 75cl, duty paid, 22 bottles, $18 each

iamken

Hi HQ L,

Am wondering if you can email me your RC quote. Would like to do some comparison.

Did not kena Toto.

Worse come to worse break my piggy bank to boost Singapore's economy =)

My email [email protected]

hyqc

Ken > you've got mail

Jasmine > congrats on getting your pg! I'm talking with lightedpixels at the moment... me and fiance really like them...fingers crossed!

carebearz

Ritz's payment scheme is the gradual payment, every few months gotta fork out cash.

Did anyone manage to negotiate the payment scheme to pay deposit and the rest on the wedding day? Thanks.

zoxy

My AD will be in March 2010 and I'm thinking of RC too. Does anyone happen to have the lunch and dinner package for the grand ballroom? Is there any difference between the price for Sat & Sun?

hyqc

hey jenelle i have the dinner package. what's your email add? i can send it to you. sat and sun are the same price IIRC.

zoxy

Hi Hql,

Received with thanks. How's your prep coming along? Still abit early to start right?

Which bridal and PG are you using?

hyqc

hi jenelle, my preps are good! i booked my venue, BS and PG already... going with bridal veil and lightedpixels for photography... you?

carebearz

Does anyone have a coordinator at RC to recommend? I'm currently talking with Joey and am not very happy with her service. Thanks.

enivi

Hi CareBearz,

Sorry to hear that things not going well with your coordinator. What's the issues? I believe RC is professional and should be a ble to work out something with you. Have you signed the contract? Or do you have problems coordinating the wedding?