RENOTALK PEOPLE

We finally get to meet ah soon last night and he promised to give us a english quotation tomorrow. But the tentative quote is 19k, which is quite good

Just a question, did he bring you all to the 'showflat' and sinlek to choose tiles? Or did you just go by yourselves?

Got to go hdb for my appt, chat with u all later

after seeing so many feedback about ah soon, i think thats it. we are going to get him!!

about the bathtub, i guess u guys/gals really make sense and put forward a better argument than my htb. guess you all are right. especially about novelty and cleaning and showering part. guess there's another reason to go for spa! hahaha..

about the fan, my friend bought a standing fan that has remote control and cooling effect. as in, in normal times, u can use it as a fan. if it's warm, u can pour ice into it and it becomes cold air. can consider..

and omg!!! i'm going to faint!! how come WC stuff are so expensive?? think i'm gg to eat bread and drink water for the next few months

k0k0 - the so call "showflat" he will give u the address then u just pop by on your own. usu he won't be there unless he has make arrangement to meet up with you. Choosing tiles wise I went on my own to choose. But hor I went sin Lek and in my opinion Sin Lek don't have much variety. I prefer the tiles at Hafary and Lian Seng Heng (not sure whether I get the name right :p) which are along balestier road.

anyone gt renovated pics to share? i also thinking of engaging ah soon. arranged to meet up with him this sat =)

ivy: Thanks for the tip on tiles. I checked the spelling and it's Lian Seng Hin. Will drop by Balestier to check out tiles & lights soon!

I don't feel like tiling up the bathroom. Thinking of saving some $. Anyone has experience in using just paint on bathroom walls? Think got to get paint with fungicide or something added. Can someone help me ask Uncle Ah Soon when they see him? Thanks!

tccwish: have emailed u!

k0k0: Ah soon will just give u the address n u go there to take a look when the workers are working. He wun bring u along and salestalk, one thing i like abt him. I had a couple who just pop up at my place on a sat! I think both me n them were shocked. haha!

I took all my tiles from Sinlek. Went Hafary too, but i prefer the tiles at SL. The mosaic at Hafary is VERY ex!

2nd appt today ah?? Congrats!

Evelyn: yes, must consider the bath tub carefully, esp if u will be the one cleaning! Anyway, any brands of standing fan to recommend? I'm totally clueless abt fans. My mum bought all our fans for us since young, n its w.o remote control.

WC got expensive ones also got cheap ones. 2-pc generally cheaper than 1-pc. bo bian leh, its a everyday necessity. Sometimes i think i spend more time in the toilet than in the kitchen!

k0k0, i also chose my own tiles from lian seng hin and when i met up uncle, i just show him for advise.

He gives good advise on the tiles choosen, so ask for his opinion.

k0k0: u can get ah soon to arrange for pple to fetch u to sin lek and back fr sin lek to home...it's a service provided by sin lek...i agree wif ivy tat the selection is nt much hence u notice alot of us selected the same tiles for toilets..hee hee...

as for the "showflat", it's actualli the owner's place so prolly u gotta make yr own trip...

felina - we made 3 sets of day & nite curtains and 1 set of day curtains. all half length. total inclusive of tracks $900. We chose a shiny looking cloth for all 3 bedrooms. duno hw to sae. hahahaa... will take pics to show.

Nottimonster, think u've to use epoxy paint if u're not intending to put tiles in bathroom or kitchen. Heard that from Ah Soon, when we were discussing the option of not having wall tiles in kitchen.

yoyo, ivy, for the tiles think they OEM from same source that's why if you go to Hafary or Sin Lek, you will see similar tiles design.

They got to produce those in trend ones and normally these trend will last a few years before phasing out for next. Hence the factory they OEM from will fabricate similar tiles till trend is over...

seems like ah soon's customers love to go without wall tiles for kitchen. I saw one unit at jurong and another at eunos both kitchen without wall tiles.

I am also going without wall tiles for kitchen

haha ivy, that's nice, my bro also without wall tiles, can save a lot of $$$

my is old school, putting up wall tiles in kitchen :P

so cute, yday's topic was toilet. Today chge to tiles and kitchen wall tiles esp.

i have wall tiles in my kitchen too. White wavy tiles..

Angel: ur curtain tracks, are they those olden type with the metal bar and hooks or those like bathroom curtains ring type?

mine oso has no wall tiles! u/stand tat it's easier to clean wif wall tiles but if we r nt doing extensive cooking tink shld b alright..can save alot fr no wall tiles

angel: can gimme yr lobang for curtain oso? im tinkin of doing for my living room and mbr...any advise for full length curtains? tot it looks nicer but wil it get dirty when mopping floor??

Cld someone upload some photo of their hse reno. here done by Ah Soon. Is there a alot of co-ordination work needeed to be done (like go to the shop ourselves to choose reno material for carpentry work etc.) if engaging Ah soon since he is not an ID. hope to gather some advice..

Christy>> to contractors/IDs it's not worth it cos it's near the cost of the cupboards... but honestly if the cabinets are still in good condition then every single cent saved is good ma.

mrspiglet>> thanks. I just keep sleeping... from yesterday afternoon to today I've slept for 18 hours already... I totally agree with you. I can feel what you are going through, to work and to go through reno is a big deal... urgh.

k0k0>> he told us to go Sin Lek and choose but that day he met us there.. dun think he met the other owners though. you can ask to go to any number of houses he is doing la.. he's currently doing SO MANYYYY... any area also have I think. lol. As for tiles hor.. you can order from ANY place cos he knows all the tile shop in Singapore. My tiles were from all over.

nottimonster>> paint only ah... eventually becos of the dampness, the paint will peel or bubble.. like the ceiling of the toilet..

ivy>> hehe mine also without wall tiles.. no wall tiles in the kitchen saves 1k+ le..

Oh yes.. thanks everyone for your concern.. i'll wake up every few hours to see the thread. haha
now going back to bed.

Vonic>> mine is here.

http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/409/970016.html?1238471182

Ah Soon has all the laminate and paint samples in his van.. you can take all you want.. he has a lot. haha Then you go home and choose whatever you want yourself. It's good so that you can choose without anyone hounding over you... cos different laminates different pricing.
Only tiles you have to go and pick.
Then the other stuff you have to buy yourself..

Even if ID brings you you also have to make the trip.. and how do you know if the ID is not bringing you to a place which is more expensive and has a private arrangement with your ID? So sourcing things for yourself might be a good choice.

BUT some of the forummers they looked for the items they want and they gave Ah Soon the brochure with the model on it for him to look for lobang... but they already know the price.. so they will know if he found them a better pricing one... m

hi vonic,

once confirmed with ah soon (in sequence) you need to get
- Tiles selection
- Window selection
- Aircon
- Bathroom fixtures (tap, heater, wc, basin) and kitchen fixtures (sink, tap, cooker hob & hood, oven...)
- Doors selection (Ah Soon get from YonTat, need 1 week time)
- Laminate for bedroom, paint colors for house
- False Ceiling design
- Lights (covelights can get Jason to buy on behalf as the measurements need to be accurate)

i forgot to add carpentry laminates, plumbing and electricity

Vonic, this is based on mine:

- Tiles selection
- Window selection
- Aircon
- Bathroom fixtures (tap, heater, wc, basin) and kitchen fixtures (sink, tap, cooker hob & hood, oven...)
- Plumbing/Gas works
- Electrical flow
- Bedroom doors selection (Ah Soon get from YonTat, need 1 week time)
- Laminate for bedroom, carpentry, paint colors for house
- False Ceiling design
- Lights (covelights can get Jason to buy on behalf as the measurements need to be accurate)
- Doors (toilet)

any get their curtains from jimmy textiles? I am intending to get mine there.

fondue: I have already gotten my own aircon, sanitary fittings, kitchen hood, hob, oven! so kiasu hor...

Pet, shouldn't u be resting? hehe..

i intend to get roller blinds for the kids' room tho'. but day and nite curtain for the hall and MBR
must have a romantic feel in the MBR lah...lolx

mm trying to keep myself up.. cos going to drag myself to the doctor at 1... otherwise later a lot of people.. can't survive the crowd.

ahh.. They quite good leh. My dad measured the width of the windows right down to the mm (you know he's fussy) and we brought it to them and they quoted immediately saying that since we're so accurate they can finalise the quote.

Then they left us alone with the books to see see, coming to help only if we wave. We sat for almost 2 hours...
I like them

YES I hate the hard-selling, follow around kind. The worst are those who do that and still don't know the answers when we asked them.

Happy shopping.. now my turn to drag myself out.

Pet: you say that we can go to any tile shops to choose the tiles we want since Ah Soon knows all of them, but what if the tiles we going to choose is more exp? Cos usually the quote for the tiles is already in the quotation when confirmed right? Will Ah Soon increase the quote if we dun choose the tile shop he work with?
Million tkss

mrspiglet - mine are those normal metal tracks one loh. and we use those plastic hooks to hook the curtains to the tracks. i know they have the other rails that u r toking abt, bt duno if it's the same cost anot.
can chk wif em.
wen u gg to do ur curtains?

yoyo - okok, i'll send to u in a little while.
I like full length curtains as well, but my hb dun wan. Making them will cost more, washing them in future will cost more too. And there'll b more dust/dirt on it. So for those sensitive noses, it's nt v gd.

Hee... wall tiles.. I also have them in my kitchen. Makes cleaning the grease after cooking easier. Also since it's shiny/glossy, they'll reflect light and make my tiny kitchen seems bigger than it is. :P

enivi28>> the quotation is $3/psf. I have one set of tiles which is $10.50/psf from Hafary. Ah Soon didn't increase my quotation also. Ah Soon is ok if you want to go anywhere else to choose. Bear in mind that your limit is about $3.. so if majority of your tiles is about that price.. and just one or two is more.. I'm sure he'll be ok.

If you're really worried.. bring all the tile samples back, ask the person to write the price for you and then consult Ah Soon on it.

$3 can get you quite respectable variety already. I've seen IDs trying to quote me $2 cos I tell them of my budget... $2 really have little choice.. and dunno what kind of quality. Please do not go for the $1++ kind.. I've seen houses where the owner drop something and the tiles CRACK... that kind of paper quality...

mm mother say I cannot go and see doctor.. evening then go. outside too hot. urgh...

mm full length curtains ah.. if you want to wash them yourself you will faint.. cos one piece will fill up the washing machine liao. then if you have four pieces for one set.. then have to wash four times.... *faints* Last time mine full length lor. Then now move to new house, mother say that we CANNOT have full length curtains... cannot have curtains even! LOL so blinds for everyone. No arguments.

i am for roller blinds, though full length curtains will definitely looks prettier.. but i cringe at the idea of having to maintain them.

Pet for roller blind, how do we clean them huh? since we cannot throw them into washing machine to wash??

Just pull them to the max and use a damp cloth to wipe them down. dry liao then you pull them back up lor.

There is a bad point and that is if you open your windows and put your blinds at half height the blinds will clang against your grilles/windows when the wind blows. but... I rarely do that.. cos when you open your windows it's to let the wind in ma.. then why pull down your blinds leh? but my siblings do that occasionally. They put the sponge pad to make sure that the noise isn't too loud.

i see. ok if that is the only bad point about roller blinds i dun mind living with it or maybe i'll consider half length curtains

what's the cost of roller blinds like?

Hi hi .. i am back online

Yesterday we only met ah soon at 10+, but it is ok since we are at home anyway.
After looking at my floor plan, he provide more ideas on what to do .. one of which is to do cove lighting.
But after reading all your comments, I wonder if it is really such a good idea??
I think we will go and view one of the 'showflats' with cove lights before we confirm

He also told me I can go look at the tiles first. He just ask me to call 'ah di' at 9xxxx.
So this ah di will tell us where to go is it? Anyone got the address of Sin Lek, Hafary and Lian Seng Heng?
How to know what size of tiles we should pick if uncle is not going to be there?
And can combine different tiles from different shops one meh?

Sorry got many questions to ask you all since you are all 'experienced'

familyof4,
the franke package looks nice!
Your fanco ceiling fan is hanging on false ceiling or normal ceiling?

ivyseah,
Oh i see, then the price of the rain shower is similar to the one we saw at poh joo
You haven't got your quote yet? I think ah soon says he will get his son to type out some quotes today or tomorrow

christy,
sorry to hear about the bad experience at bubblewash

mrspiglet,
Ya, that is what I am afraid lor. What if the owners of the 'showflat' not happy that we pop by unannounced?
Today is my 1st appt to sell my current flat. Will be getting the keys to my new flat next week!

Gaku,
Have you gone to any showflat yet?

Angel,
No worries, do post when you have more time. But I still can rem how your striking your lovely kitchen looks

Can also pm me your curtain contacts?

Pinkpetter,
Hope you get well soon. Ya, I think ah soon business is really flourishing thanks to your recommendations leh

Fondue,
You did cove lights and also false ceiling?

mmm my windows are about 3m wide and 1.5m tall. A panel of 1.5 X 1.5 is about $100 at Jimmy.. so one set of windows cost us $200. There are some materials which they have to charge a teeny bit more.

I went to the other curtain shops along the same stretch they charge me $120- $180 per panel. big diff. :P

k0k0

haha suddenly like a lot of questions. hehe Ah di can provide transport to and fro Sin lek...
He'll help. As for sizes... eh the shop people can advise you. Don't worry. One person will go around with you helping you.
living can take up to 600mmX600mm tiles
Kitchen can take 600X 600 floor tiles also.
Toilet MUST take 300mmX300MM (1ft) floor tiles.

and YES can combine different tiles from different shops. just tell uncle toilet tiles from where, kitchen tiles from where.

When you go to the respective shops (any shop) a person will write down the models of the tiles you choose and give you tile samples to bring home. then you can give uncle the model number and the shop that the tiles come from.

Example..
Common Toilet tiles from Hafary, model number...
MBR toilet tiles from Sin Lek...
Etc etc.

He will place the order for the right number. that one you dun need to worry.

as for address.. I a bit tired to google.. you can google for Hafary. LSH is along the same stretch.
Just 3 doors down from Hafary

koko, yups i'm doing false ceiling in my living and MBR, lbox for kitchen and wardrobe room.

familyof4, u not kiasu la, i also bought the bathroom fixtures and kitchen fixtures le.

this weekend going song cho and ikea to find those stainless stain railings and pull out basket.

yesterday reno was stalled as citygas technician will only be here to do the gas pipings. after this will be plumbing and false ceiling..

pet: i lik the day and nite curtains. am prepared to do the maintenance andcleaning for it for the sake of having that swee swee look! lolx

k0k0, my fanco ceiling fan is to be hung on the normal ceiling. it'll look too threathening if it's on the false ceiling...that is also one reason why i wanted to do cove lightings...

fondue: i am also planning to go song cho and see in a week or so once eerything is more complete!

Am meeting uncle at 5ish today, hope i have time to calculate my quote and share it here ;)

dear fondue & pet,

Thank you very much for yr valuable advice & input, at least I hv a clearer pic. now. As I will be doing mainly only carpentry work , false ceiling and lights installation, i think Ah soon will be good enuf for me.

Hi familyof4>> haha i know what you mean! i would definitely want curtains in my MBR also.. at most don't wash so often. :P

Vonic>> you're welcome!! do you have his contact alr?

Pet: i am secretly planning to have laundry service for the curtains since the charges are not too exx these days.

i am actually looking for unique looking clocks, anyone knows where i can find them?

Pet: U down with flu? Must rest lots & get mc! My friend's toilet not tiled. His ID use special type of paint which looks & feels different from normal paint on walls. I google but not much info.

Sorry but I blur like sotong...what's L box? For false ceiling lights must buy halogen bulbs? Do they radiate lots of heat?

Anyone knows if Uncle Ah Soon can put up wallpaper? If want to save cost then can just use wallpaper without plastering walls smooth?

Felina> Hopefully la
Still life got to go on one and be positive¡­

Pinkpetter> Oh so you mean you will still stick to change lamination only if the cabinats are still good?? Cause I was think if tear down the cabinate hor will be extra cost and they got to take care of the floor tiles.. I dun like my new house wall tiles so 90¡¯s colour.. its like those reddish orange colour.. the whole kitchen is in that colour sia. Well if got extra money than I will change my kitchen cause dun have extra cash if do up extra things in the house.

K0K0> Well its pass liao now just wait to collect back the shirt in 1 piece.. I very happy liao.

All> Wah looks like this thread is for Ah Soon le.. Hahah. But am abit worried that Ah Soon might not have time for me as ours is not a major reno plus we want it done ASAP. Will Ah Soon be able to cope with so many project in hand now??

just went for a lunch and back home. Now i cannot catch up on the thread already! *sweat*

Pet: aren't u supposed to be sleeping now?!

Angel: i haven decided when i wanna do my curtains, or rather say, i haven got time to settle down n think abt curtains!

I dun like those metal hooks, they rust so easily. I'm thinking of rollerblinds but that means curtain die die forever that color, cannot chge already rite?

k0k0: i wasn't unhappy when the surprise visit came. just a bit abrupt, cos cant possibly just leave them to walk ard if i'm ard right? So gotta play host a bit, thou was really a very unexpected visit.

those who r free n wanna see 'showroom' can come over to my place now. i'm stationed here for the rest of the aftn to make sure my closet design guy doesnt complain abt the painter again.

Btw, adding on to Pinkpetter's msg, i took 300mmx600mm floor tiles for my MBR toilet. I've no idea how it turn out that way, i was ok to take 300mmx300mm initially.

can try the air cooler from CK Tang. my friend bought it for $159 last year, or Iona tower fan from Best Denki (can't remember how much aly)