RENOTALK PEOPLE

pinkpetter >> it is resale .. so the previous owner had the kitchen in blue .. i think its blue overload lar. cus everytime i look at it or think about it i want to cry!
pic

yes granite! haha! exp stuff, but it makes the house a bit dull looking ..

felina >> my hubby wants someone we know to do our minor reno for us .. but if ah soon gives a lower quote, why not? lol

im thinking of giving my blank template to ah soon secretly lol

mrspiglet>> WA the chair very nice! It looks soooo comfy! definitely a steal! Can just imagine lying there to read magazines and nap! :P

hibernate>> ahhh I'm not a fan of blue so I can totally imagine what you're saying. haha change!
mm granite just polish and it'll look great! If it's a darker colour just have lighter walls and lighter furniture...
mirrors and glass will help to brighten up.

pinkpetter >> i like blue. but this blue is too much for me =(

unfortunately we got no budget for it ley .. sian .. looks like i got to make do with it

WAH a malay neighbour of mine getting married... the hubby came to pick her and 30-40 motorcycles trail behind his car!! They all horn and make a ruckus downstairs! So fun!! hahah

pinkpetter: i asked 3 contractors .. they say changing of the laminates is not recommended. may damage the inside, and also not feasible to just change the doors .. may cost more than hacking the whole thing ..
kao_sad2.gif

budget wise .. less than $15k. it'll be better if it could go lower ..

hibernate>> mm ya I've asked before too and that's what they say. Ah Soon says that too but I've seen people still change. mm

Ya not much should be able to ba.

pinkpetter: even if we change the cabinet door laminates, it'll still look ugly as the rest of the cabinets are still going to be blue lol

mrspiglet, i am also looking at hydraulic laundry system. Ezzi living, i heard before
I think it will be easier for meto have that too...

Angel, I am looking forward to more photos too!

Pet, Ya, uncle's quote is quite worth the wait and coupledwith aeroplanes. He promised some freebies for me and I am really looking forward to me revised quote.

My house staring reno soon and he promised that he'll help me ensure that the stuff i needed are done "swee swee".

anyway the kitchen is not my "tian xia" lol, my hubby's going to be there most of the time. and since he has no comments abt it, den so be it loh .. lol

it seems that in every few days the msg will change .. lols

it has been down since even before i went to hk! come back from hk liao its still down .. wah liews. the changes had better be good haha!

i went to alexander village to have a walk hunting for fridge just now. I had in mind a fisher & paykel stainless steel flat door fridge.

Asked Hong Liang on the same model and they quote me $1950. went down the stretch and another shop Aik Leong quoted me a flat $1800.

Hong Liang very "dao" and refused to intro anything when we asked. So we walked away. Aik Leong told me the types of possible fridge I can buy and Hitachi was the one he intro. I didn't really like the brand tho. But hubby is considering to get that stainless steel Hitachi fridge at $1250. The sales guy seems nice. I guess we can go to that shop to look for electrical goods.

Just to share this little info

familyof4.. i missed your post just now.. I'm so glad you found him to be good too. 2 weeks to go.. will you be starting immediately? then yours can probably go faster cos other people dun wan to start...

mm $1250 sounds like a good deal... you dun like hitachi?

Pet, it's a personal preference I guess. LOL...

I think we will settle for Hitachi's fridge.

Uncle also mentioned he has about 8 confirmed houses to start next month...so he still has got many projects on hand ;) I'll share my quote once I have gotten the revised quote.

Next thing to do is to finalise the lightings in the house and we'll start to source for lightings!

hehe I think Mommy is nicer...

Mommy>> wah 8 confirmed houses? lol on top of that he has some HDB rectifications to finish I think.
I'll give him a call tomorrow....
confirm you lighting points? ;) Will you have false ceilings and such?

Anyway I dunno much about fridges... hahah cause we didn't change our fridge when we moved here. I guess when we do need to change one I'll be asking you guys. LOL

Pet, ya...I have false ceilings on both levels. I do not have a very concrete idea on how I want for my false ceilings, told him briefly what I like and he is really nice...he says he'll go and design for me

The false ceiling lightings on level 2 are more or less confirmed.

As for fridge, I also dun hv very good knowledge, but I guess more or less the same except for the "heng /suay" part and the types of designs available. LOLx...

Hi all, seems like most of you are satisfy with Ah Soon's work. Mind if you email me Ah Soon's contact and email. Do he do design as well? Thanks!

oh so you're waiting for him to confirm the number of PLCs to buy?
that's good. hehe ya I think electrical stuff ah.. all heng/suay one :P

hi weekuan.
we are. I've emailed you. but .. ah soon doesn't do design as what you would expect.. not your 3D drawings and such. He doesn't even know English and computer.. but he is very very experience and sort of know how things should be done. haha he can give good advice on what to do.
He can draw simple diagrams for you confirm if that's what you want.
but not design like an ID.

Hi Yo yo, is the glass doors in your house tempered glass? Cos from the quote u sent me, the price is quite good that Ah soon give. My friend actually had a sliding glass door at the kitchen and a push glass door at the WC, she told me $1000 each. If Ah soon can give you such a good price for the glass doors, I scare it's not tempered glass.What if it's a thinner glass then will crack easily.

Hi! Can anyone advise which are not necessary to be done? I have tight budget wor...

1) Kitchen
Hack & remove existing floor tiles
Hack & remove existing wall tiles
Dismantle & remove existing kitchen cabinet & wash basin
Supply & lay 30 * 30com non-slip homogenous floor tiles
Supply & lay water-proofing for kitchen
Cement screed for kitchen wall
To construct wall with hollow block at kitchen basin area, finish with tiles
To construct fridge & washing machine base, finish with tiles
To construct cabinet base, side finish with tiles
Supply & install stainless steel pipes for kitchen
Supply labour to connect inlet & drainage pipe for kitchen sink tap
Supply labour to install drainage pipe for washing machine
Supply & install stainless steel rubbish chute
To custom make L-shape Island kitchen cabinet c/w handles, cutlery tray (Est. 13.5ft L)
To custom make top cabinet c/w dish rack (Est. 3.5ft L)
Supply & install solid surface table top incl extended depth for counter seat (Est. 13.5ft L)
To custom make open shelves display (Est. 13ft L)
To custom make cabinet for basin (Est. 2ft L)
Supply & install solid surface table top c/w backsplash for basin (Est 2ft L)
Electrical installations at kitchen
Supply & install wash basin in kitchen next to washing machine

2) Toilets
Hack & remove existing wall, floor tiles & sanitary for 2 toilets
Hack & remove existing squad pan & kerb & convert to sitting type (1 toilet)
Supply & install toilet bowl for 2 toilets
Supply & install wash basin for MBR toilet
Supply & lay 30 * 30cm non-slip homogenous floor tiles for 2 toilets
Supply & lay ceramic wall tiles for 2 toilets up to ceiling height
Supply & lay water-proofing for 2 toilets
To construct shower kerb in 2 toilets, finish with tiles
To custom make cabinet for vanity counter for MBR toilet (Est. 2ft L)
Supply & install solid surface table top c/w backsplash for vanity counter (Est. 2ft L)
Supply & install 10mm tempered glass door for MBR toilet
Supply & install aluminium bifold door at common toilet ent.
Supply & install tempered glass shower screen at 2 toilets
Electrical installations at 2 toilets
Supply & install water heater for 2 toilets
Supply & install stainless steel pipes for 2 toilets
Supply & install spray jet for 2 toilets
To supply & install aluminium wire glass window for 2 toilets

3) Living Room
Hack & remove existing floor tiles for living & store rooms
Supply & lay 60 * 60cm polished homogenous floor tiles for living & store rooms include skirting
Hack & remove 1 panel wall tiles in living room
Supply material & labour to plaster living room walls & ceiling
To custom make open & install cove light & downlight holder (Est. 19ft L)
To custom make TV console (Est. 6.5ft L)
To custom make LCD TV feature wall (Est. 6.5ft L)
To supply & change 1 no.of wrought iron main gate
Remove existing window & grille. Supply & install aluminium sliding window & window grille

4) Masterbedroom & 2 common rooms
Supply & overlay laminate floor include skirting for 3 rooms
Hack doorframe for existing MBR
Hack & create new doorway for MBR include making good side walls
To custom make L-shape writing desk & bookshelf cum display unit (Est. 23ft L)
To supply & change of nyatoh bedroom door for MBR, 2 common rooms & storeroom
Remove existing window & grille. Supply & install aluminium sliding window & window grille (for MBR & 2 common rooms)

5) Painting Works
Supply material & labour to paint whole house using with original ICI wash n wear emulsion paint include all doors and doorframes

6) Electrical

7) MISC
Haulage of sand, cement & tiles
Debris disposal of all waste under renovation
To provide labour to lay protection sheet for wholehouse
Acid / Chemical wash
Submission of HDB permit

hi jamie, its quite hard for us to tell u which items r must-do and which r not wor.. It really depends on ur needs and wants.

Maybe u could start cutting down items like washer/fridge bases, vanity top for toilets? Or items like TV console, can buy off shelf instead of custom-made. Save a little here n there helps ba.

hahaha but now I try to go back to RT a bit unstable. hehe

Felina.. over there we have our own individual threads. YOu click on Reno T-blog and see ... we each have our own for every house.

help, my reno contactor quote me for 11k,
- 10 feet cabinet post form top ( bottom only)
- 2 toilets
- plaster and paint whole kitchen
- hacking of kitchen tiles
- rewiring whole house
- 4 sets classic doors
- hacking of door frame
- false ceiling on top of door
- construction of L box
--- how can or not?

hi jamie.. I replied you in email.

mrs zaki... 2 toilets - means what? he hack all the tiles and retile the wall and floor? Includes shower screen and bowl and sink?
hacking of kitchen tiles = wall or floor tiles or both? then what happens to the kitchen floor tiles? then got kitchen cabinet base?

Hi pet, familyof4 & canny,
Paiseh, hubs still haven finish unpacking in the mbr leh. Been rushing him to finish it. Defn-ly will post some pics w/in this week. :D

Hi canny,
*hi-five!* yay, it's a nice basin! which tap did u get for it?

felina: my AD in May is the ROM+lunch banquet
Mrs piglet: yr AD is aug..stil hav alot of time compared to mi..so gd..
enivi: the door in my mbr toilet is the frosted tempered glass and the door in my common toilet is bifod door...i didnt get any kithcen door fr him cos i retained the existing one...
wee kuan: u've got mail!
pinkpetter: tink u did more things than mi..kitchen cabinet, kitchen flooring, changing of bedroom doors,hence the higher costs...for us, we try to keep costs to minimal so onli did the necessary..

pinkpetter: yalor! RT seems unstable leh. Anyway its been down for so long i also dunno where to start posting. Don't feel like repeating what i've posted here too.

yoyo: dun worry lah, can make it one. Ur house completed already mah!

I was happily updating yesterday but today it's so slow...

Anyways, Uncle Soon says it's better for me to change to timber door for my main door. As rain will splatter in and veneer door will not last

guess I hv no choice but to change to timber door.

have met with a couple of IDs and suddenly want to have a touch of English manor/Victorian/European feel in my house. think it's quite hard to imagine without the 3-d drawing. did any one tried having an ID who can draw out for you first w/o you paying for anything yet?

aiyoh... it is very painful to use the RT temp forum... think i'll squat here for the moment..

me getting keys on 17th April.. Ah soon say my work about 6 weeks.. but looking at the number of projects he is handling now... i think he'll probably need 8 weeks...

Pet/Mrs Piglet when will ah soon usually do his drawing for us huh?? I need him to advice how many downlights i need so that I can go and buy. My things mostly bought liao, kitchen, toilet fittings all purchase liao... set me back by $4K... siong....

Now left lights... and air con...

evelyn..can try plus interior.. i talk to Nigel and he manage to came up with 2 3D drawings to give me a feel of his concept..

But in the end i didnt use him.. price issue..

Haha! Yah! In the early morning it was still fine. I could still log in to the temp forum and reply/post. Now....
... Think we'll be here for quite awhile more.