RENOTALK PEOPLE

Hihi Everyone.. I went to see a ID from Fuse Concept today.. Quotation was quite okay.. About 18k for foyer, living room, kitchen, service yard, MBR, Room no.2 and room no.3, MBR toilet and common toilet and painting of course. But then not Include wiring, lighting all these...

I'm still keen to visit maybe one or two more IDs and maybe get a quotation from Ah Soon or Yeak before confirming. But my bf is already quite adamant in hiring the one we saw today.. Lol.. Our one and only ID we saw..

Sigh.. Dilemma. Plus we won't be getting our flat till 2 yrs later...

Hi Felina,mine is an EM. redo almost everything except for stairs n level 2 flooring, but polishing it.

I actually hv quite a fair bit of carpentary work

hi dave... I just renovated mine and moved in with my family. thanks for the offer.

familyof4>> WAH i'm so excited for you too. So many items for 34k.. no wonder you add things!!! haha

Rune~~ Thumbs up for Ah Soon. So proud of him... that he really tries his best to ensure that his people do work properly. I've heard him scold workers before also... scary. There was one morning that rained super heavy and he arrived at my place at 11am. I happened to be there... but it was just the two of us. NO WORKERS. He immediately whipped out his phone, dialed and scolded them super loudly! He even said if by afternoon they don't get over to Singapore (malaysian workers) the next day also don't need to come already... :P Glad you're having a good experience with him too.
As for lights.. the ones at my foyer are from DK lighting.

Felina>> dun be too rash? Cos in two years.. also dunno whether that ID will still be there.. Choose ID must choose the person.. not the company. Very good companies also have their black sheep... some even run away with people's money.

Pet - I'm trying to convince him to see more or at least try to get Ah soon or Yeak's quotation. Cos i believe Ah soon can give better quotation thatn what we were told today..

koko - soli, missed ur post. yah, recommend Yeak. he's gd.

Felina & those who's hbs dun like pple who fly kite - try yeak. :P (paiseh arh, pet, mrspiglet & the rest who use ah soon :P. hope ur dun mind tat i recommend yeak like tat)

Felina - i agree with pet. it's abit too rush to sign with this ID leh. moreover, u guys onli gg to reno 2yrs latr woh. there may b even better packages tat time leh?

mrspiglet - ur carpentry nice nice! and lots of gd stuff like soft closing for all and nice glass shelves!

wonder how's roamca now. tink she shd have shifted into her new place liao le bah. so exciting.

Felina >> yup must see more and also find out more about the people you are seeing. very impt.

Angel >> haha no prob la. It's true that he fly people kite ma.
and Mr Yeak does seem good for you too... over here we must help each other..

hi Pet, yah I told Uncle that I want to add more if he can really give me a good deal.

He says he earns very little and wil try his best for us, just tell him what we intend to do. Will be bringing him up to our new house on 15 April after the FS audit to finalise.

It is quite exciting actually. EVen my daughter can't wait!

BTW, mrspiglet, the hydraulic laundry system u had is it from a contact of Ah Soon?

Pet & Angel - Exactly.. MY bf so kan geong lor.. Don't know for what also.. Maybe also becos of what the ID said - If we sign now, the price is "current" price la, but if we sign two years later, the price might rise. So also maybe becos of this he doesn't want to see others..

pet - hehe.. muz sae soli first mah. cuz i'm afraid tat sme may mind. scarli i phrase it nt gd leh. :P

well, this was one of the reasons why i didn't sign with another contractor. my hb and i at first didn't intend to sign with yeak, but with another contractor. however, he didn't do wat he promised, eg: dun send quotations over as promised or very late for appts w/out informing us first etc. so decided to change to yeak. nvr regretted my decision so far.

felina - haha! scarly 2yrs dwn the rd even cheaper leh!

family of 4 - wah! so tat means can start reno after apr 15? tat's like alittle mre than 2wks onli woh. hehehe.. very exciting time now heheh

felina - hehehehe.. yah man. dun tink the economy will pick up so fast bah. well, save watever ur can now loh. i shd tink if ur sign with the ID, ur will need to pay deposit or sth bah. wat if he run away with the money like pet said, or wat if 1yr dwn the rd, the company closes? then the deposit will b gone liao.

mmm I agree with Angel... Felina.. maybe new technology next time... different kind of coverings and they wun use laminates liao? then new stuff you can do to your kitchen and toilets? heh then if you want to "upgrade" then it will be different... hehe slowly la.

familyof4>>
ya he tries to give his best price all the time la
haha can imagine how excited the little one is.

mm Angel>> ya different people have tolerance for different things.
Most imptly is to get someone we click with and is reliable.

Felina... haha just let him be for a bit.. lol I always think just leave them a bit la. My bf also super stubborn. And if I try to convince him on other things he will purposely insist on what he wants... until some "elderly" like my parents or his tell him what I tell him. hahahah usually I try to instigate them to do it. :P

haha felina - gd idea to use the elders to 'pyscho' ur bf. or just let him think abt it and u get quotes fr ah soon and yeak and show him. wen he see the prices, he'll tink agn.

pinkpetter >> yah lor .. im so lost without it .. =(

does ah soon speak english? lol. i have a couple of quotations and want to give him a "blank template" to fill up the prices lol

haha.. sometimes wonder if pple will go back to RT wen it's back anot. lots of pple will have completed their renos liao, and may not bother to return liao. signz....

hibernate... I agree... really miss it. Ah Soon cannot speak/read English...

Angel>> I tot of the same too. Then it'll be so... quiet there. haiz

mmm yes Angel.. totally agree. And I really hope to see more in case I ever get to do up my own.
Speaking of that... hehe your photos?

hi all, sorrie v bz wif hse cleanin so no time to find the quotation n so lost in the long thread i cant trace who ask mi to email them my quotation...here's a summary of wat i rmb..

- area 122sqm 5rm
- painting (unlimited colors)
- 1 feature wall
- 1 full height cum half height shoe cabinet
- 1 8ft sliding wardrobe
- hackin and tiling of 2 toilets floor + wall
- plastering of kitchen wall
- stainless steel backing for kitchen top area
- changing of kitchen top to bellus solid surface top
- supply and install 1 shower screen
- changing of 2x toilet windows
- frost glass door for mbr toilet
- bifold door for common toilet
- homogenous tiles for living room and laminated flooring for 3 bedrooms
total costs ~ $17k

hope i didnt miss out any major item..fyi, i didnt do any false ceiling, l-box, kitchen flooring and kitchen cabinet

for detail quote, pls email mi at [email protected] ya..but prolly no time to find tml cos gg for to settle invitation card & food tasting yeah!

have 2 on hand now .. both with very different stuff =(

basically the kitchen is in royal blue .. omg =(

first one ~$12k (i prefer this ..)

living
- design and install feature wall + suspended tv console

kitchen
- remove stainless steel backing at hood area
- supply and install tempered glass with sprayed white backing at hood area
- supply and install tempered glass with sprayed white backing at dishwashing area
- recut 2 pc of existing kitchen cabinet door
- supply and install top hung alum frame with sandblasted glass and lipstay at dishrack area

common toilet
- supply and install 2 sliding glass door top and bottom
- dismantle existing shower screen and bifold door
- supply and install sliding shower screen (1 fixed panel and 1 sliding panel, top track)
- supply and install powder coated bifold door

mbr toilet
- dismantle existing vanity cabinets, mirror and bifold door
- supply and install full length mirror
- laminate bottom cabinet and to replace doors
- supply and install tempered sandblasted swing glass door

mbr
- dismantle existing built in cabinet at window area
- construct and install raised platform in solid plywood and veneer finish, recess area for king size bed and with storage compartment
- construct and install full height partition in solid plywood in laminate finish
- supply and install wooden ledge at window recess area

- painting the whole house
- polishing of granite flooring

+ some other misc stuff ..

managed to squeeze time Went Barang barang sales, most of the items either old stock or display set. But managed to find a lounge chair going at $350! Saw the price at S&C going for much higher, felt so relieve that we didnt made a wrong move to buy it. Went S&C to buy our sofa and coffee table too, the lady boss was so cute and helpful!

felina: wun really splash out lah. We find that having a door is more inconvenient, so did without the door.

yoyo: in the end i took 1 dark 3light, the mosaic was my idea. Hub did 'live reporting' of how Ah Soon, tiler and tile shop guy fighting over the misaligned tiles, so in the end i said put mosaic, Ah Soon made the tile shop guy gotta absorb the cost! :P

At first Ah soon told me ur tiles was becos ur tiler not skilled, in the end realised it was the tiles itself having problem. I hope the misalignment is not too obvious for urs. The protuding wall is compliments from HDB, not my idea. It was built this way...gd ah? i still think it takes up too much space in the toilet leh. Now i dun even need a glass shelf or vanity top.

When's ur wedding?? Stress right, reno finish liao must do wedding prep. I'll be going thru the same thing...

pinkpetter: that stool is built together w the cabinet, sort of FOC ba, cos again, i was quoted only 4ft and my actual length is longer. U redoing ur shoe cabinet or for ur recess area? Yes! white kitchen! Pls dun tell me anything tt i'll regret...

familyof4: Carpentry so far so gd. But i haven see the final product of all carpentry yet, some still pending doors, some still pending glass top. But so far the finishing is quite satisfactory, except for some misaligned doors which i think isnt a big prob to rectify. But will go up tmr n spot for any defects or things to touch up.

My hydraulic laundry system was from Ezzi Living, i bought it b4 i met up with Ah soon. But Jason very cute, he was teaching me how to use it when i was at my place on Wed.

Angel: thks!! its nice to have free soft closing, then i no need to spend extra $ again. How's ur new place? We still waiting for more pics!

gaku: no prob, since i'll most prob have to spend wkends cleaning up. shd be at my place next sat/sun aftn, i dun wake up so early on wkends one. :P

Otherwise coming Tues aftn also can. I'll be there too.

Dear all RT regulars,

I am in a frantic search for ID, but too bad, RT is down and I got nowhere to turn to....thank god, I find you guys are seeking here getting your ID fix.

I have went to a few ID and narrowing down to a few....

Any comments on the following ?
Square Room, Cis**rn, V*gas, Id*al Design...

Please share your views on this or any horror stories that you have heard...

Thanks a lot
Replace* with e

Gaku: tmr i'll be there, but it shd be a short stay for inspections n i cannot cfm the timing i'm going over, so quite hard to arrange. I'll be there after 7pm on Mon to inspect closet design works, see if u wanna drop by? Else next wkend come n see me mop floor also can. :P

mrspiglet - from the way i'm hearing about ah soon is that he's super fast after we can confirm. so i guess what we do now is to start talking to other IDs first and see if we can come up with something we like. then all pass to ah soon and see how it goes?

felina - yup! he loves to cook!!

pet - i see..think we'll be getting granite. my htb insisted on it when an ID was trying to him out of granite. hahahaha...

yoyo - same here!! gg to get the house soon and getting married this year. then gg for PS soon. alamak. like got a lot of things to do yet i can't feel the vibe yet. haiz..

Angel, thanks for the info! I really like ur basin, so i went there to get one too! heee.... =p

and yes, me staying ard JE area. my hse currently doing tiling. still quite messy... will try to post some pics when the place is more clean up!

Do post up more pics k.. i believed lots of us here are waiting to view ur lovely place!

mrs piglet/evelyn, when are u getting married? my AD is in May...actualli im more interested in wedding prep than reno keke...

mm hey yoyo!
mm seems like we more or less did the same things except mine is tiling for entire floor and i have cabinet.. hehe which explains why mine is more la. *hais*

Hi hibernate>> the kitchen now is in royal blue is it? Or the ID designed royal blue for you? hehe Wah you aren't doing a lot le.. so lucky 12k only...
And you havr GRANITE flooring!! *envious*

hey mrspiglet>> ya when big brands have sale then might find things cheaper than at S&C... it's really a luck thing.. so happy for you hehe Oh my stool is for my recess area. Cos my current shoe cabinet no space to have a stool. So when I build up my recess I want to have a stool together with it.
Makes it easier to wear shoes. hehe Wah you got it FOC so GOOD!
haha Jason so cute.. He must have had fun playing with it... :P

Hi Bryce>> I went to Ciss**n before.. I've heard bad comments about them in RT but since that is hearsay I shan't say too much about it.. As for my own experience with them... their quotation for me was $29k... and that was only half of what I eventually did with Ah Soon. I guess if I gave them the items I did it would go up to $40k. I remember when I went, I was served by a very young ID who looked younger than me. He confirmed the appt with me in the morning at his office, and eventually went back to office late by 1 hour. The best thing was... 5 minutes after he sat down with me, a senior staff came also. The senior staff was already in the office all the time when I was there... So why couldn't she serve me first? If I have to pay $40k to wait like that... I'd rather not. BUT I've to say that the young ID was polite but he hardly knew anything. It was the senior staff talking all the way and he took notes. A bit risky if you ask me......

Evelyn, mm if your htb is fussy then.. good quality solid surface is the same price is granite anyway.. so it's no big deal. but Granite got china one and Indian one.. I've heard people demanding for Indian one... mm

Hi Canny! Looking forward to your pictures!

Hibernate - Me too, i'm also thinking about letting ah son fill up the prices for my blank template..

Yoyo- Haha.. AD is dinner or ROM?

hibernate and felina.. it's possible... but he might take some time.. cos he bring your template home and probably ask someone to help with it...

Pet - Oh, cannot like sit down and explain those english words for him and get immediate answers? So dont need to waste time

mmm I've only heard about him giving quotation on the spot once. And that's becos he owed the guy for a long time liao. I think he might not be comfortable doing quotation on the spot despite having the figures in his head. Even my friend's very simple reno he also did it at home...

reading leh? Last time when I first engage him (he wasn't as busy as he is now) I faxed him my items in english. I think he asked someone at home (sister/son) to "translate" for him and he called me to confirm over the phone. Then he sketch a picture (3D) of my kitchen and faxed it to me and I confirmed and he gave me my quotation that same night. mmm That was last time la.....

gaku: why dun u drop me an email w ur hp? i can let u know when i'll be over at my new place. Still got my email right?

evelyn: ya, i think that way is probably more efficient. Some of the IDs/contractors also took 2 wks to come back to me, after some chges here n there another 1 wk to get back. So i dun think Ah soon is considered slow. Just that for those haven gotten their keys, he will take a bit more time in replying. I'm pretty sure once u get his quote n ok w it, can start very fast.

yoyo: my AD is in Aug, ROM+AD together. Reno prep is all abt technical headaches, wedding prep is all abt human headaches! Planning mus accommodate soooo many pple.

pinkpetter: Ya, was quite a steal even thou its display set. I scrutinized the whole chair and ask them to chge one of the spoilt legs for me and surprisingly they ok wor! :P a pic of the chair http://retail.barang2world.com/zoom.php?pid=157&version=2
u building another shoe cabinet at ur recess area, cfm can get it FOC one lah, u intro so many biz to him! hahah!

mrspiglet: Has sent you a mail on my mobile number. I will be going to the west side in the late afternoon so don't know if can make it but do let me know. Thank you.