RENOTALK PEOPLE

and this says sale on 21-22 Mar 09
http://sg.offerstation.com/warehouse-sales/30490/barang-barang-warehouse-sale--2-days-only.htm
...confusing...
... I have other plan for this weekend but still need to buy furniture

haha! no lah, i called to ask something else but shun bian confirm that the sales is tmr. :P

a lot of sales this wkend, tmr got metro 20% storewide at Paragon from 6pm-11pm. Now i'm gonna chiong Espirit staff discount sales. Hoho!

yoyo, from your pictures.

our toilet (black/grey) same color. heheh.
our door lever handle, same type, so called $20
Even our wardrobe is similar color scheme, but yours is nicer.
btw, your wardrobe right side, the area for hanging clothes, isn't it a bit too short?

christy - our house is also financed by bank loan. our lawyer only got one cheque (total amount) from us and she's gg to do the cashier order and other payments from there. you might want to check with urs?

lawry>> mm your wardrobes the same but Yoyo's nicer? how so... mm

Hi Evelyn! yours is your own lawyer? mine did everything for us too. mm

mm this "fly aeroplane" thing ah... seems like the ladies are more willing to forgive whilst the men are more adamant about it.. mm

hey pet! my own lawyer? no idea..it's the one appointed by the bank. yup!!! she's doing everything for us. ahhahahaha

pinkpetter >> the colors are the same , matt borders, white insides, black glossy doors, but instead metal frame like yoyo's together metal strips.
I was given a "wooden frame." It's a whole chunk of wood without the metal frame. There's a "bubble" somewhere in the middle because the laminate wasn't well done. too big piece perhaps

I wish I can take a picture of it, but it's a walk in closet, very hard to take a picture. When renotalk resumes, I will try to draw it out.

hey evelyn.. oh. then the same as in Christy's case then.. bank-appointed lawyer.

lawry>> ahh ok. I think I get a little idea of it. mm

pet -> yup!! hahahahah!! been reading this thread since the way it's started and i'm so blur!! still don't know what kind of design i want. i only know what i want for my MBR. is it safe to leave it to my htb's hands? so envious of homes that are so nicely renovated......

@pinkpetter

I roughly took 2 pictures, the "frame" is made up of grey laminates, it's one whole piece of wood with no patterns, no metal, nothing.

The most irritating part, notice between the grey laminates and the black laminates? There's a big gap between and they used a black marker to color it?

984116.jpg

984117.jpg

evelyn>> I think if you have an idea of what is "nice" then you wouldn't stray far off la.
Collect pictures and stuff and decide with htb what you guys like?

lawry>> I must apologise.. I really don't see the black marker part.. though in the 2nd picture near the bottom of the picture I can see a gap... *I think*

Hihi Everyone!!! I'm back after a long day!!! Haha

Kaikai06 - Ah, Icic. i'm going to see a ID tomorrow too!!1 Haha.. To "see" some ideas.

Mrspiglet - Then how do you walk into your shower area without a door? Haha.. I don't know how it looks like so can't imagine it..

Yoyo - What is the diffs btw sliding door and casement? Your rubbish bin is so nice.. It's pink!!!

Pet - True true.. I told my bf say Ah soon very popular but got a bad point is like to fly aeroplane.. then he immediately say NO!!!

Felina: Yes I stopped for a while and since got key already got to re-start. My old records are stored in RT but it is still down. So hope any kind soul can send to me.

No problem, will send it to you if have.

Planning only, will start end next month.

felina>> ya I think men are more particular about this punctuality thing. Us? I just want to save money and have more freebies. mmmm

lawry>>
no la. very nice already... just I'm a little blur as to which part is this... as in how it is orientated on your wardrobe. I have poor visualization skills. :P

pet, felina -> totally agree! for me, i just want a trouble-free reno. hahahaha

pet-> i just know that you are in Simei!! same as me!!

all-> can anyone tell me what's so special about granite top (to be used in kitchen)?

Evelyn - You're planning to reno your place? New or resale? I just want cheap but not too bad quality... Hee.

Pet - Sometimes men are just so particular.. Agrrh..

felina - yup! going to get my house keys in Apr. but gg to start renovate in May cuz we won't be in singapore. New flat! 5 room at Kallang. For me, i think it would be a balance of two. but my htb insisted on NO platforms, MUST use granite, MUST have laundry system and whole list of things for the kitchen. think our kitchen will be his world. hahahahaha

Wah alot of renotalk ppl here.
And got new member somemore, like Felina & Evelyn.
Rune, your place at yishun rite? Hows your reno.
Lawry, how's your case with your id now. Miss your post a lot.

lawry: the shelves n hanger can be taken up to allow for more flexibility so it's ok..plus mi nt v tall so its enuff for hangin my tops

felina: casement doors meanin those doors tat u hav to pull out..sliding doors are those tat can slide loh
...i tink the pink color on the dustbin is jus a plastic cover which can b peeled out

yes, ah soon's package comes wif fly aeroplanes..we oso kena fr him b4..but if u asked mi if im happi at the end of the reno for the price i paid, i'l say YES! so pple who is considering ah soon, muz hav alot of time n not in a hurry to move in...a gd tips wil b to select everything (laminate, tiles, lightings, sanitory accessories, etc) b4 signing cos once he signed, he'l move v fast and if u move slower than him, there'll b delay cos he'll move his workers to another project which is moving faster..wow so many "move" in a sentence, duno if u all can follow...keke...

Hi Bluetooth,

yup my place is in Yishun. Well now painting is about to start. This week did not have the time to go down to inspect the works ... last week all tiling are up already. Discussions on the cabinets in kitchen have been conducted with Jason. This coming Monday, the toilet assessories are coming ... left searching for lightings. Electrical items have all been purchased too. Only that delivery to be due in late Apr as I will be away on course.

ya, i agree with Yoyo. I think so far only Pinkpetter was in a rush to move in and she highlighted to Ah soon abt it, and managed to move in within 1 mth of reno! we were lucky were already had our keys when we approach him and buffer 2 mths for reno, so ample time for him to deal w all the rectifications. But he usually moves VERY fast once a problem is highlighted to him.

Evelyn: My hub was kinda contemplating to drop him after being fly aeroplane for a few days in a row! But looking at the price and how chin chye he is, we have no regrets letting him do our reno.

Then again, its all abt feeling comfortable w the contractor/ID u are working with. Its impt to feel gd w the one u finally give ur deal too. Gd luck!

Pinkpetter, >>
Don't worry, I will definitely cover it again in renotalk in detail, with better pictures. :D

Evelyn >>
Granite top is good if your kitchen is a busy place, or else solid surface will do, the price is almost double. From what I used to think, white solid surface gets dirty easily, black solid surface, when there are scratches, they are visibly white.

Bluetooth >>
I posted some "ID excuses" update in this thread earlier, she had 100 excuses, but I can't remember which page it's in now, it's moving too fast. I'm trying to get her to negotiate with her boss, if she fail to, I will talk to him myself, will end up opening a new can of worms.

yoyo,>>
mine was measured wrongly last time, I can't really tell from your photo if it's just nice or too short. Mine was too short, the ends of my clothes end up resting on the bottom.

984323.jpg

shoe cabinet up..
984441.jpg

solid surface top up.. (pls ignore that pants that dunno which contractor left behind. it stinks badly!)
984442.jpg

its a box up for the big pipe. I was expecting just a normal box up, but they did mini shelves with proper door and soft closing! To think my boxup is FOC. Even the mini door on the right had soft close. *impressed*
984443.jpg

TV console in MBR with retractable doors. Expected normal shelving, but they gave glass shelvings! *doubly impressed
984444.jpg

TV console and wall paper done. L: Close up of wall paper selected.
984445.jpg

Shower screen in MBR up. Opted without doors.
984446.jpg

Felina: now can visualise how i go into the shower area without doors?

Evelyn - haha.. then why is he so particular about kitchen? likes to cook?

Bluetooth - Hihi

Yoyo - Haha.. with patience comes good stuffs..

Mrspiglet - saw it. Wouldnt water splash out as you shower?

mrs piglet: so yr toilet now izit 2dark 2 light or 1 dark 3 light? i like how they put that one strip of mosiac to conceal the misaligned tiles..mine cant b helped..
did u ask them to add that protuding wall at the basin for u to put things? hw much does tat cost huh? i like it leh...like hotel..

the tv console in yr room izit movable? it doesnt seem glued to the wall...

btw is the dish rack fr ah soon oso? keke..

Yoyo: Does Ah soon show you the samples of the laminate, tiles, lightings, sanitory accessories, etc b4 u sign the contract? So does it mean if i want chandelier or white/orange flush lights, all he can get for me? I tot I can go buy my own and ask him to install. tks

Hi Felina>> wah so your bf fussy! haha but I think mine will also be like that. *haiz*

Evelyn>> ya a troublefree reno is the most impt for me also... granite is not so soft.. and can withstand heat better.
Wun get discoloured easily also.

HEY rune!! How's things! Long time no see!!

WAH mrs piglet I must take the photo of your shoe cabinet. heheh cos I want that kind of stool next to it also. must tell ah soon. :P
white white kitchen!

Hi dave. nice place.

... envivi.. tot I msged you that? heh laminate samples he will give you to bring home and think... tiles he will tell you where to pick. the rest you go buy and order.

I finally met Uncle Soon after so many changes! LOL...

It was great meeting him yesterday andthe inital quote was really 34k!!! However, I added some items in there so he will revise and he PROMISED to meet me up again latest by Tuesday.

Since I am getting my keys in 2 weeks' time, he will quickly finalise and say he headache la...he duno how to give me a good good price!

But he promised to try his best to give me a value-for-money quote. So, I am still waiting ;)

mrspiglet, your house seems very ready! How's the carpentary? satisfied?

Hi pinkpetter,

Keke ... was quite lost without RT. Well luckily, fm RT, I had been cutting & paste into another doc. So has been using the info to do some research. Juz came back from my new place. The painters uncle started painting liao. Daughter's room has completed and the Ah Neh is cleaning up. Lightings have not been bought yet. By the way pinkpetter, yr main door lightings u got from A lighting izzit? I looking for a similiar ones for the main door and outside storeroom. Jason is going to start on the kitchen cabinet soon. However we had some issues with the tilings. Ah Soon was pretty mad at the new tilers. The group in charge of my house made mistakes at the fridge base size, did not align the floor tiles to the wall (rectified ler, rehack and relaid after being reprimanded by Ah Soon), some toilets tiles job not well done. Ah Soon is bringing in 'four eyes' to undo the new tilers job. So far, we are pretty happy with Ah Soon. When he reprimanded the tilers, he said that his reputation was placed on the line by them. He too cannot understands why they did not align the floor tiles to the floor. His sharp eyes even identified the bad workmanship which I did not even noticed :p

All> Hi I went to the Barang Barang Warehouse Sale today and its pretty dissapointed.. as most of their stock looks very old... and you all are wondering that there is stock mah... but most of the time I see the paper which is stick on the furniture are last item meaning they sell mostly display unit... some of their chair are already moldy they also display for sale.. OMG. Feel like kana cheated that I went Barang Barang today.