RENOTALK PEOPLE

huh?? is it?? so far my previous house did false ceiling to conceal cables also but no problem leh. HDB officers came to check did not say illegal leh

Renotalk forum is down for so long and no place to do research .. so glad to see all of you here.

I am thinking of renovating the kitchen and would like to know a rough quote. Does Ah Soon do soft-closing / anti-slam hinges for the kitchen cabinets?

familyof4: thks!! i was quite upset that i didnt get to choose my gate, hub say my 1st choice not nice, so ended up with this gate.
give Ah Soon some buffer, he told me 3wks, now 4wk liao still doing. LOL! ok, but we have all along told him we are not in a rush, so he most prob channel workers to those houses that r in rush to complete b4 QingMing. Just met him 1hr ago at my place, he promise to handover on sat.

roamca: congrats!! all swee swee and pretty! i like the pink/red wardrobe, so cute!

ivy/gaku/familyof4: conceal electrical cables behind concrete and tiles is illegal. But false ceiling and boxups are ok. I box up the entired DB box, all the electrical/water/gas pipes. Those engaging Ah soon should be pretty safe, he knows wat can be done wat cannot. He advise me against concealing water pipes, thou i read somewhere its legal.

btw, Uncle Soon was beaming all the way just now, he say he received 5-6 calls this morning to ask for quotations!

k0k0: yes, he does soft-closing and anti-slam for cabinets. But not blum thou. Cant rembr the brand name. To me as long as it works and its free, i'll take it. :P

Even my TV console drawing got soft closing.

micheletr: u've got mail!

ivyseah: What I meant was concealed cable in concrete ceiling. Some contractor hacked a recess to conceal the electrical cables and then patch back the recess.

mrspiglet,
Thank you. Me too, as long as it works and not too exp, I am happy too

Anyone can share Ah Soon's quotes with me? We are planning to redo the toilets, kitchen, system 4 aircon, downlights and feature wall in living rm and laminate flooring for the bedrooms.

What brand of laminate he offers?

k0k0: ur reno is abt the same as mine. Mine is abt $21-22k. I dun have a soft copy of my quotation thou.

i overhaul 2 toilets+ kitchen with 14ft top+bottom cabinet. Built half wall+TV console. din't touch living rm n bedrm floorings but i had things like plastering and chge of window grills which u may not need.

koko, he has 2 brands power dekor and one elephant one dunno what for the laminate flooring.

anti slam/soft closing is default in ah soon's kitchen cabinet/wardrobe

mine 31k, for major overhaul.

- hack & remove everything - kitchen, toilet, store and living, pillars, cornice, electrical, windows grille, tiled altar, cabinets and a lot

- new floor & wall tiles in toilet/kitchen
- new floor tiles in living area
- laminated flooring for 3 bedrooms
- 4 veneer doors, powdered coated windows (whole house) + 2 x toilet lourve windows
- plastering whole unit walls + ceiling for whole house
- any brand paint for whole house, white for ceiling only
feature wall wallpaper at mbr with false ceiling
- 14ft wardrobe with sliding glass doors
- 12ft corian top, 29ft kitchen cabinet (top and bottom)
- PD doors for 2 toilets
- Box up kitchen pipings/bedrooms/living room trunking if any
- False ceiling in foyer,living, dining and passage way
- 25 lighting points and new wiring for electrical (whole house, inclusive of db box), socket points give and take.
- Hot/Cold stainless steel piping for whole house
- Storeroom racks FOC
- Vanity solid top with cabinet x 2 for toilet

Hmm what did i miss out...

PLUS
- installation of bathroom fixtures, lights too
- shower screen at mbr toilet
- Glass door at kitchen
- wall partition between washing machine and kitchen

We didn't haggle a lot coz other cheaper contractor already quoted me 27k without 14ft wardrobe, extra kitchen cabinet, electrical and lighting points, hacking of 2 x toilets, hot water pipings.

mrspiglet,
Ya, I think my requirements quite similar to yours leh, just that I am not doing windows and grills. Mine is a 4 rm resale flat and I am hoping to keep my reno around 15k becos still got so many things to buy (all need $$$)

Yours is 4 or 5 room flat? How is his workmanship har? I wonder if I can go and view 'showflat' or not.

Where did you all get your aircon?

ah soon give me itemized pricing and bulk discount at the end, so i'm not sure how much is it after discount. before is 1.7k, casement windows.

rewiring whole house (new wires) - 2k itemised

good?

i got my aircon from hong ta*, starmex system 4 invertor (410 gas), 26btu (living), 10btu(3 bed rooms) at 4,070 inclusive of 1/2 thick insulation, bracket, installation

It's 471 bucks expensive than all bes*. Pay more for workmanship, don't want headache at the end of the day ;)

fondue,
Wah yours really major, almost everything change liow. I have never heard of power dekor laminate before **me suaku :p** Is it good?

Can share with me how much he charge
- laminating the 3 bedrooms
- Box up kitchen pipings/bedrooms/living room trunking if any
- False ceiling in foyer,living, dining and passage way

Oh btw, yours is 5 room flat is it? Your kitchen cabinet 29 feet is like super big leh.

haha mine is 4room, kitchen v important to hubby and me coz we like to cook and eat. haha

As for corian top, we asked for it. Sorry, corian top is 16ft, not 12ft :P

False ceiling 1.2k
Boxup 400

all prices before bulk discount

fondue: ok thanks. 1.7k is inclusive of casement windows and window grille, right?

For re-wiring, it's around the market rate.

But I noticed that his discount in the end make it very attractive.

yah, so cannot see itemised price la.

also we tell ah soon "see, we don't haggle ur price much so you also give and take la, then *wink wink*"

he say okok. haha

he don't know ang moh la, but i told him.

u very popular online le. haha and he was beaming ear to ear.

tonight maybe meeting ah soon again, since 11 mar start work think we see him quite a few times.

I think because hubby and I go down to our new house daily and check things with him frequently.

Lol

fondue,
Thanks for sharing the aircon lobang. Did you install one or two fancoil in your living room? Becos my living/dining area is big, we need two fancoil. So I am not sure if we need a casement aircon for the third bedroom or what

Ah Soon got give bulk discount somemore ah? If convenient, can pm me your itemised quote?

k0k0 uncle ah soon will give u itemize quote then sum up everything. Then he'll usually give u a discount off the total amount.

i'll see whether i can borrow scanner from my neighbour if yes maybe i can share with you and pink diamond as well.

i am receiving keys on 17th April. I am seeking FSM advice on when I can start. I speculate it will be later part of April

Pinkdiamond: my plastering is $1.6k for my 4A 107 unit. Every single wall (except toilets n kitchen) + ceiling, store rm inclusive. But i did false ceiling for whole living rm so he nvr plaster.

k0k0: i took my starmex sys 3 from Twincity. Its cheaper than Hong Ta*, and their technician is pretty skilled. I got this recommendation from another forummer (aka my coll), jeremylym. if u wanna view 'showflat', i 'show' u my flat lor. he promised to handover this sat (i dunno will kena fly aeroplane again or not!). :P

Fondue: i was also quoted corian top, but the pricing was surprisingly way cheaper than other contractors. But in the end i took Bellus becos Jason say they work better w Bellus supplier. So u may wanna double check on this.

christy, he fly aeroplane for meet ups to discuss quotes probably becos so many of us are engaging him at the same time and he says: negotiating ahh only uncle 1 person do, so a bit slower. but when work start is a lot of people do the work so the work will be very fast.

christy: its part of the 'package' one leh. must know he's really very popular and busy becos of his gd pricing. I also very scare my hub will make noise b4 he fly aeroplane so many times, but in the end we go w him cos its really value for money.

Ivyseah> Oh I see.. Think I really got to stick to my original plan liao. 1 week before I take the keys to my house I will call Ah Soon... than meet him at the new house and discuss everything one shot.

Mrspiglet> Hahah I understand¡­ Mine is not a big project so hopefully can settle & close the reno ASAP :P

Christy: Do take note that if you want to meet him at night, make sure your electricity is turn on first. If not, cannot see anything.

WAH roamca! nice nice!! The colour for the living looks bright yet warm cosy...
Ready to move in??

pink diamond>> emailed you! ;) quote.

k0k0>> emailed you! Quote

I also din know he got corian.. aiyah we couldn't be bothered.
today same thing AGAIN I come home from work can cannot catch up!