RENOTALK PEOPLE

Wah..lawry...thats a good one! So did your ID said she will talk to her boss? Did you give her a 'date line' to give u an answer? I really cant imagine you shown her 100+ defects photos and she still said 'its like tat'! Buay Tahan man!

Thanks Angel...i choose this gate design and the gate color choosen by my ah lao...heehee

Our Main door havent change yet...will be changing to those laminate door...

Mrspiglet: Sorry to heard that your reno is slow. Cause i think ah soon is rushing my house. Plumber will be jason, who is ah soon's brother. Dun worry....he can finish everything in 2 days.

sanngal: gd sharing! offer valid till when? I'm not shifting in anytime soon leh...

roamca: ur gate is nice!! i wanted to choose this gate also, but my hub say no nice, i was overruled. *sad*

fondue: u under ah soon too right? Or i rembr wrongly... too many renotalkers, cannot recalled who is which ID/contractor. Old liao...

lawry: Gd round! i'm surprise she actually dare to go meet u. So many defects can still say "its like tt one".

vincent: SO its YOU!! hahaha! which wu-zhu are u? I only know there's 2 yishun, 1 clementi, jesper is serangoon. My hub just reported back, plumbing will start tmr!! YaY!

I'm in jurong east.... They r rushing my house these few days.... carpentry jus finished today... tomorrow will be final touch up.

oh!! ya, there's another jurong one. Hee! i wanted to go over to ur place to see carpentry, but i think that time not up yet. How's their work?

Wah Vincent ... SO IT'S YOU! haha we've been wondering and wondering leh. Take photos for us to see leh!

Yup Fondue also under Ah soon... Fondue show some photos leh!!

LoL so far so good. Come up if u got time. You're always welcome. But i only did 12ft bottom and 12ft top kitchen cabinet, MBR tv feature wall and cabin, a god alter, 2 toilet cabinet, a platform, MBR wardrobe and box up of some pipes. I would say workmanship not bad. BTW ah soon and his brother all kind people. Jus that they are so forgetful haha. You got to remind them again and agin.

Pinkpetter: Thanks for ah soon contact. Pictures will be out next week ba.

I was choosing between Yeak, Johnson and Ah Soon. Ah Soon quote is the cheapest and he is the fastest. He really can produce miracles.

Gd gd!! i'm glad ur carpentry turn out gd! U still 'only'.. u did a lot of carpentry leh! when's ur handover?

Ur house soooo far leh. We are at opp ends of SG.

Ah soon's quote is really very much cheaper than a lot of contractors. I compared Yeak, Henry (impress21), JGH (jeremylym's contractor), and Ah soon is the cheapest with relatively gd workmanship.

Ya i agreed. Handover should be sat or mon. In the mids of reno u still can add in things. And dun forget to ask for free things like box up of pipes, mirror for toilet. Sometimes i add things in he didn't even charge me. Btw i changed all my bedroom door and he charge me only 170 per door. Cheapest i would say. Tomorrow i'll be meeting a wallpaper guy whom ah soon intro. Should be cheaper than outside.

wow.. i have received alot of requests on the www.urbancubes.com discount code. so i've decided to post it here instead, in case i missed out any PMs..

code: ubc88sb007
expiry date: 30 June 09
storewide 10% with no minimum purchase required

if i receive any new discount codes after the expiry date, i will post it either here or renotalk. happy shopping!

Hey Vincent.. I'm so glad that things turn out so well for you and that you're as happy with Ah Soon as I am.
I'm definitely looking forward to the pictures.

And you're so right.. the thing I like most about Ah soon is that they are honest and sincere people. They sometimes don't do things but it's not of bad intention, it's that they forget cos too many already... Definitely 100% better than IDs or contractors who play pretend. I'm most most afraid of those kind.

Remember to flood us with pictures! and hearing that you say he has wallpaper contact.. I'm tempted too! haha

Mrs piglet!! dun forget to get your freebies too! Like mirrors!

argh! too late! i already bought my mirrors!! didn't know he could provide as well. but i'm trying to get him to chge the toilet window panes FOC!:P

hi mrspiglet..so what gate design you choose in the end? Actually choosing the gate design is quite headache...cos me and hubby got different taste...So we actually spent alot of time in yeak's office just to choose the main gate. Ended up he give up and let me decide the design..and i oso give in to him to let him choose the color he wants! hahaha...fair mah hor?

mrspiglet: for painting, after it is done, if u dun like the colour still can change. ah soon will not charge u for changing of colour and u can have unlimited colours also.

roamca: actually i cant rembr the design i choose for my gate also. Hahah! we spent a lot of time looking thru the book that was left w us too! I still gotta match the gate w the living/bedrm grills. Headache! ur hub very gd to let u choose design leh...

Vincent: still can chge color ah?? Sure no charge? Actually i'm quite tempted to chge my lollipop rm to a milder shade of pink but i scare Ah soon find me too troublesome. or my hub will nag at me for insisting that color in the 1st place.

i've tried to call ah soon these few days, but he nvr on phone or pick up. Only hub managed to find him. my coll wanna do her IL's house, wanna introduce biz to him also so hard to find him!

mrspiglet... can can! then ask him for nice nice door lock and handle la. My dad changed the door lock 3 times ah! lol Change your room colour lor. even my brother is changing his room colour. You call him at night also never answer? That day when I called him he told me his phone no good having problems... will turn off on its own. and he no time to go buy....

Aiyah Ah Soon no time to eat, no time to buy phone no time to get a haircut.. no time to buy belt also. :P

really can ah?! My door lock all picked liao, taking those with the handle sticking out instead of those traditional door knobs for rooms. Jason say he will pick nice nice silver lockset to match my grey main door. Hehe!

I'm so tempted to chge the paint... ;)

I just managed to call him, he dun recognise my num one lor, i doubt if he even know who i am. Hub is the one tt is liaising with him all the while. Until i say "uncle! got biz intro u leh.. u still dun wanna on ur phone!".. then suddenly he wakes up. hahah!

N hor.. i think he needs a grooming session badly too..

haha...mrspiglet actually i oso forget what design we choose oso until we saw the actual thing...

Yeak called me this am and confirm handover on 27.03.2009 (next friday)! Thats exactly 5 weeks reno. Hopefully not much things to rectify cos we must move in on 30th march! Very excited!!

roamca: hee! I think this happens very often right? So many decisions to make, most of the time i had to take pics of the chosen ones, else i'll forget what i've chosen.

N Congrats!! i think ur house is also another super fast house, like angel's. She must be rushing mad w her inspection/cleaning/shifting this wkend!

Mrs Piglet... your door handles really sound nice leh! Change the paint la.. now still got time ma.

haha I think he needs more than a grooming session. LOL I wonder if he cuts hair once a year for CNY only. :P

Roamca>> if that's the case, then better drop by more often these few days to inspect so that he can rectify before handover. Less messy for you!

mrspiglet...i think angel must be very busy now cleaning up her house...thats one today didnt come in & update leh...heehee...

pinkpetter...i will go my house tomoro and finalise where to put my toilet accessories etc...very excited and hope to see some carpentry works...my last visit at my new house is last weekend..one week le...heehee...hope i will remember to take photos and show u all next monday!

Just thought I'd share a website which I discovered through Renozone.

I've been busy designing my master bedroom and found this website to be extremely useful:

http://www.floorplanner.com/

It allows you to come up with your own computerised floorplans in 2D AND 3D. I find a 2D plan sufficient. You can draw everything in SCALE, and place furniture and fixtures. It took me about 5 mins to figure out, and I've been hooked since.

Best of all, it's FREE for personal use. You can print the floor plan out, but you can't export to JPG unless you use a screen capture programme.

I found Floorplanner to be particularly useful when trying to tell my ID how I envisioned the layout of the room. How I wanted my bed placed, how a cupboard looked in relation to another. It doesn't show exact details, and styles, but that's the ID's job, to produce detailed 3D drawings.

I highly recommend this site. I've spent hours fiddling around with layout. In the process, I've discovered new ideas and possibilities, and realised some other ideas wouldn't work because the proportions weren't right, eventhough I thought it'd be OK. Having everything in scale really is useful.

This floor plan (not mine, taken from the 'net) was made using Floorplanner! Quite pro huh?

974592.jpg

Very nice indeed!
Quite a few of the RT forummers use floorplanner too. I have too but it sometimes refuses to load my thing.

But now it allows for 3D images right?

we engaged hong ta* for our starmex system 4 invertor aircon. initially Ah Soon say the aircon pipings can conceal under the tile floors in the toilet, Hong Ta* person was at site and want him to sign. Because Ah Soon don't understand ang moh he didn't dare to sign.

Yesterday the MBR toilet floor tiles were laid and we just checked with HDB guidelines that it can be concealed.

Hubby was damn sad, but ah soon very gung ho, say he will do it man! So now, he will have to re-do the toilet floor tiles
We will sign on Hong Ta* as per our instructions to conceal the pipings under the tiles.

YEAH!

Hey Fondue!! I love your toilet mosaic!! and combination very nice!!

poseidon gal .. mE TOO.. I liked it at first then it proved to be too difficult hehe.

fondue.. ya, ur mosaic tiles very nice... but expensive right, around $16psf. Me thinking of getting hong ta* also leh... price not cheap but installation supposed to be very good right.

hi zonkkie, i wanted to get all bes* but seems like the installation or workmanship not so good from a friend's comments and forum reviews. Though it's close to 300 cheaper, we still choose Hong ta* as their workmanship seems better.

My hubby knows installation and material of aircon as he used to be in this line. He commented the material used by Hong ta* is good.

aircon installation is important, else will suffer later.

Hi guys!

roamca & mrspiglet, yah! Today busy with housing stuff loh. And my hb went to service car, so took afew hours away liao. Afternoon went for the handover. Inspected everything! Not many defects.
Got one little chip at my door (whh is hidden wen door close), and Yeak minus $100 from the remaining bill. Hee... Must say that Yeak is really a very nice and chin-cai guy.
So roamca, dun worry about the defects. Mostly all nice nice.
& u muz be very excited abt the handover nex Friday!

Evening came home to pack the rest of the stuff. Tml will go with my ILs & hb to clean the whole place. Sunday morning start to shift things over!
kao_love.gif

mrspiglet.. I bought my curtains liao! It's a lobang of my hb's colleague. 3 sets of half length day & night curtains and 1 set of half length day curtain for $900. Tink quite ok lar. My hb tink gd deal, so immediately ok. So I didn't call those recommended in RT.

fondue.. wah! I like ur mosaic very much too! That's alot of mosaic.
And I tink ur roman pillars very cool also. Hee...

fearnone.. haha! so u went with ah soon. cool, tink he has very good reviews so far. :P

lawry.. cool! Hope that the boss will know what is paiseh.. and dun take ur last payment.

hi angel81, my ex-colleague jokingly said keep the pillars and revamp to victorian style. :S
anyway, it's hacked away already *phew

btw, think your curtains are reasonable price, can I have the contact too? does he/she do roman blinds? [email protected]

Wah Angel Finally you appeared! YAY! good for you. The next few days will be tiring with all the cleaning up so you better rest early!

Fondue.. think Ah Soon didn't ask you to top up for the Mosaic right?

hi pinkpetter, nope, he didn't

coz we didn't haggle much on the quote at all, so we asked him give and take lor. Lol cool right?

RT is down so long, tomorrow i want to go see cooker & hood + oven.

Don't know where to go le.

Next up is toilet stuff and lights.

WHY RT DOWN, CANNOT DO RESEARCH LE. SOB*

Hi fondue! I'll send the curtains' contact shortly.

Hee.. Yah, if it's victorian or roman style, it'll fit. Looks like urs is more modern, so wun reali fit. Hehehe... Show us more pics of ur reno k?

For cooker/hood/oven, try going adamas. roamca & rondy went there, and they got great deals there. It was abt 800plus for all 3! Cuzino some more. Too bad I bought mine liao. If not I'll rush there as well. :P Rondy went to the one at balestier. roamca went to the one at tradehub. Hope u get gd deals too!

Lights, go Extreme Lighting. Cheap cheap lights & downlights, but limited choice. City light has up to 70% sale that time we went. There were lots of gd choices there too. Can try.

Hi pinkpetter! Hehe, yah loh. It's really exciting leh. My bedframe, whh my ILs wan, was just dismantled. So tonite we'll be sleeping on the floor. So happening. hehehehe

Hee.. fearnone.. I'm sure he can't finish in one mth shd b cuz he was doing mine and roamca's house bah. :P Hee.. Good to hear that u got a better quote, ah soon seems to give such a great quote!

fondue.. u got mail!

Fondue .. Lights can also go DK Lighting, A Lighting and No. 1 Lighting along Geylang road.
I knew he wouldn't charge you on the mosaic. Good for you! And it really matches with the rest of the bathroom.

wah! i was only away for a night and thread flying so fast! Hahah! Everyone's badly deprive of RT.

fondue: i think ur reno very fast! u start much later than me right? Gd news, my plumbing's 90% up within a day. Tmr they will send all carpentry to my place! We r like competing who completes 1st! hahah!

For hob/hood, can go n check out the model u want and pass to Ah soon to buy. He say he can get cheaper price. I still waiting for him to get back to us for our cuizino hob/hood.

Lights i bought at No.1 lightins and ikea (cheapo lights for storerm!). I think u see where is convenient for u lah, like I wanted to go jurong east to Hylite n Pantech (i cant rembr if its that name) but i think its not worth my petrol for the few dollars of savings.

Vincent: actually i'm still in two minds abt my rm color. Hub stayed in that room the whole day today and he said he really like it a lot after today. So much so he wanna chge rm w me (w have 1 personal rm each). Tmr morn i'll go take a 2nd look and reconsider again. :P

Pinkpetter: i think ah soon very flexible w the mosaics! he also didnt mention to me i need to top up any. But he also straight away mentioned to me that my common toilet tiles very tedious to do becos of 2 mini rows of mosaic, so we will need to top up $100 for workmanship. I think still ok ba. Maybe try to nego w him to waive off at the end of the bill. :P

Angel: COooL!! not much defects then u can safely shift in without much worries! rembr to take pics hor!

Ur curtain lobang really sound worth it. Can send me the contacts too? [email protected]

mrspiglet, ask ah soon to waive off the 100 bucks. I did 3 mini columns in my common toilet, he didn't say charge extra leh.

seems like ah soon turning into a hot favorite le. heheee.

tomorrow morning we gonna talk to ah soon tiling man - si yan on some rectifications

- wall tiles in kitchen (some chipped at the end)
- mortar base for washing machine & fridge (not needed)
- confirm foyer walkway tiles/pebble wash design at living area
- missing wall tile near front part of suspended mortar (to support suspended bottom cabinet kitchen)

after that, got to go adamas at balestier to check out prices and also pass the model to ah soon see if cheaper.

hiak hiak

save $$$

Hi Hi ponytail reporting!
Wah so crowded here, this place is like a temporary shelter for all of us.
I miss all your photos.
Angel, your red & white kitchen very fierce.
Lawry, miss all your "defects" photos. How come the aircon gap so big arhh?
Let me share with you all my final 3d photo here, haha no more "lizards".
975013.jpg

975014.jpg

fondue: yes yes! save $$!! I'm still waiting to see what gd price he can help me to get.

I did mosaics in toilets and kitchen, but somehow the common toilet one needs to cut out 3 rows from the big piece so he say need more 'gong', but i think shd be able to waive it off, since i got him another potential customer today. Heheh!

Now i'm trying to get free window panes for toilet from him leh. Anyone managed to get it?

ponytail: u r back! everyone's seeking a shelter here. All holding back on their pics, its troublesome to post here. Ur pics look much better than the 1st few versions! Issit flowery patterns now?