Regent Singapore

• Thread starter Thread starter happy sunny
  • Start date Start date
VIP tables
162670.jpg

Cake
162671.jpg

Wow I think that whole "open concept" thing is really nice!!! The walk through thing is such a cool idea! Although I don't think it will work very well for relatives! More for friends.

Hey they have an advertorial in the STYLE Magazine (Pink Cover)... I wonder if I could put myself up for the draw for the second prize (which is a wedding cake)... The package details are all in there. Shynz, I think most of us are here because we have signed or are thinking of signing with Regent. I think the package is comparable.... but I think most of us fell in love with the venue before considering the menu and perks. Those come after. So well... i think its very much an individual thing. If venue is whats important then everything else becomes secondary. heah.

Hi I just went for my food tasting at Summer Place. My menu is classic. My family said the Black Garoupa fish was overcooked cos the meat was really tough. But when we asked the chef at the end of the serving, he said Black Garoupa fish meat is supposed to be tough!

Now we are thinking of changing the fish to Soon Hock fish. But we may need to pay extra bucks. Any one there has got similar experience when you tried the fish? Elegance menu fish is Canadian Perch. I wonder what's that. How about Soon Hock for Royal menu?

hey huiling!
i've been working on a list and that's how i arrived at regent and marriott. i'm torn between ambience and accessibility....guess i'd hafta get that worked out by the end of next week. as for the other factors, i've decided to leave it to the fiance...hehheh...always believed in division of labour.

hi bugbear!
so besides regent, which is the other hotel that's trying to win you over?

are you coming to a decision soon? can't believe how much it takes to plan a wedding!

fynn...sharkfynn...sharky....heheh....
yes, you know i'm taken with regent and the idea of a jazz theme! i love that the hotel is nestled in a quiet corner of orchard and all it's charming elegance.

Hi huiling,
you are from Divine also?? How do you know my MUA is Joanne leh??

You are very hardworking in hotel seraching hor ... me went Regent once and settled on it liao ...

How's the jazz theme like?

hall shymz, i don't have the soft copy of the package details. you want to try calling regent? 6733 8888, get them to email you the package details

hallo busybee, actually accessibility was never a consideration for me, unless it is the zoo or sentosa. I feel that as long as it is in town or centralised, it is fine
but that is me lor. actually the other day, I was kapoh, went to hyatt to look at the ballrooms, saw the hibicus ballroom. i think it is very cosy, like what the others say. I also went to Marriot, it is also nice. but I feel that the feeling that Regent hotel gives me is totally different. a little old grandeur look.

hey tougei. i think the photos are quite clear! nicely taken.

hallo lala, aiyah, i ask you that night mah, you told me your makeup artist is Joanne. I'm not with divine

Hey lala!! Good to see u back here.

Tougei, the photos are not too bad...and the whole setting very nice leh!! It's not exactly so red like CNY...just perfect!!

Hey Lala!

Welcome back! Am glad you enjoyed the celebration...From the photos, the set-up looked gorgeous!

What does your EG look like? The ad in Style weddings only featured your WG leh.

Hi tougei,

thxs for posting the pics.. the setup is very nice n classy..
i tot it would b a bit CNY, but its not at all!!
the jazz theme will b like tis but everything in cream color

Hi Lala,
wah wah.. mrs now..glad u had a enjoyable AD.. i m counting down to mine..
i finally saw ur photos cos i went to collect my album last sat..

nice

Hi bugbear,
i will try to post photos after my AD if i can

no worries..

Hi sharky, I agree with you totally, I fell in love with the place then think of the perks and stuff

Hi klkl, heard that the perch is good. May I know how much must you top up for the fish?

Hi Chubby, Think your jazz white theme will be very nice too. Have you seen the setups before deciding on which theme you want? But the white one may not have the centre flower arch. At least the setup I saw previously doesn't.

Hi Tougei,
I don't know how much it costs to upgrade to Canadian sea perch but to change to Soon Hock fish costs about $35 per table. Canadian Perch is a fillet. So you won't see the head or the tail. Normally, elder generation like to see a whole fish on the table.

Lala, any comments on the serving of your fish on your wedding banquet? I'm really thinking of changing black garoupa to Soon Hock but some people say Soon Hock no good.

Hi tougei,

Yeah the jazz theme has no central arch. That's what the Patrina (can't remember her name. Bleah.
) told me when we met her 2 weeks ago.

Hi Tougei...i think the canadian sea perch is very nice...i talked to the Chef that time i was there and he told me that the sea perch is actually cod fish (if you know what that is)...the meat is very white and soft...of good quality...what fish are u having now??

chubbyrain...don worry...ur Jazz theme is equally good. I have seen the jazz theme...it's wonderful!

I agree with bugbear. I was really tempted to sign up with Regent because of the jazz theme. (And all I got to see was photos).

But I can't make up 35 tables and decided it wasn't wise to sign up in that case.

Caitlin, my FH was also attracted to the Jazz theme...which is why we put Regent in the list. Cos initially, we feel that regent's location is a little inconvenient as compared to hotels like Hyatt, Marriott...but, the themes are quite nice....so...hehe...here i am lor :p

Hi KiKh, soon hock is a superior type of fish. the meat is supposed to be very soft and nice. usually when the older people see soon hock, they will know that the price of the menu is not cheap.

hi everyone, seems like you gals are quite taken by the Jazz theme. actually how is it like ar? I don't know anything about it.

Hi, can I join in? I'm thinking of holding my dinner at regent but waiting for my AD to be confirmed. Does anyone has the jazz theme photos to share? Heard a lot of gd comments about it. Thanks.

Girl, actually, i think the deco for Jazz is generally similar to the chinosis, except that for Jazz, there isn't any arch in the middle of the ballroom...and the who colour theme is cream....

Ying, welcome!!

Nope, i don think anyone of us here have the jazz theme...supposed to be a new theme...maybe u can call the planners and ask them to show u some photos?? For me, i happened to be there the other day and the couple is using the jazz theme
so i caught a glimpse of it.

Thanks for the info anyway. I wanted to meet up with them after my AD is confirmed so that I know whether the ballroom is available on that day (to avoid disappointment).

Just hope I can confirm the date by this week cause we are thinking of holding the wedding around Sept 05, which is quite late to book a hotel. Keeping my fingers crossed.

Hi bugbear,

thxs.. its alright, i hv seen the jazz theme myself.. like it a lot, so m sure it will b nice for my AD too

Hi tougei,
dun rem whether there is a flower arch or not.. ya, saw it b4, tts y i will b using jazz theme.
btw, the canadian sea perch is super nice, i luv tt dish the most.. its cod fish, my fav
yummy..
i hope i will get to eat it again on my AD :P so greedy ya?

Sigh...

At least you gals are more or less set on where you wanna do your AD...I haven't even made up my mind!!!!

What do you think of a wedding recep where the guests are seated on separate floors? I am considering Burkill Hall now.

Caitlin...don fret...i am in the same situation as u...i also have not made up my mind yet. Me still got time...so slowly see see look look...slowly talk to the shortlisted hotel's planners and see what they can offer u

Chubby!! Clock's tickking...count down for you liao!! :p As far as i know of the Jazz theme, i don't think they have any flower arch in the middle of the ballroom. but they have like 4 tall floral stands along the aisle and another 4 (2 tall, 2 shorter) on the stage.
Overall deco very nice!

Any recommendations on which coordinator to look for? Heard there are some who are more easy-going than others...Thanks

Hi Caitlin, i think it is fine to have the guests on separate floor, especially if you are inviting your relatives. you can have your relatives on the ground floor and your friends on the second floor.
) nice ! do update us.

Hi Yingal, you can try asking for sunil

Yingal, can try talking to Sunil. i think he is quite ok. Generally, i think the planenrs at Regent are all pretty friendly

Hi huiling,
oh, did I mention Joanne's name?? too many things on my mind liao until me blurred ....

Hi chubbyrain,
I am sure the white jazz theme will be gorgeous !!! How does it look like huh ??? I wanna see leh

morning lala...u looked very radiant that nite so how's everything dat nite? Food, service etc?
and yes, u did mentioned ur MUA name to us...
cant wait to see your pics though we have seen your montage in the ballroom...very nice

Hi Jan,
I was surprised to be still so energetic, in fact I had barely 2 hrs of sleep the night b4 and didn't have a wink at all in the day. I supposed all went rather well that night coz didn't hear any complains ... hehehe ....

Actually I am eager to see my AD pics too, to reminisce the whole event

so, are you going down to see the white jazz theme?? When is yours leh ?? I think we should have a table of our Wedding details so that I wouldn't keep asking
163709.gif

Hi Lala...wow oni 2 hrs...n no eye bags..good job mann... if time permits, i wld luv to see the jazz theme on chubbyrain's AD...

my AD is end of this year in DEC......

Hi bugbear,
u r right lor, i saw the setup of jazz theme b4.. no flower arch in the centre of ballroom..
but its alright..

Hi lala,
jazz theme is rather similiar to chinoi theme, except for the color.. i will try to send u photos after my AD lor

Hi chubbyrain,
Ooohh ... I think it will be very lovely !!! What is the colours of the flowers then ?? Champagne ???

Hey, have you collected your PS pics?? Can send to me pls ... [email protected]

Hi Jan,
I think both Joanne and the concealer did a good job !!! hahaha ... which theme will you be using ??

lala u so cute...ya i agreee i am a die hard fan for CONCEALER!!!!
i hav oways wanted a white wedding until i saw urs...very nice deep red roses...but again, i hav yet to see the JAZZ theme...maybe will decide after the peep on Chubbyrain AD

chubbyrain...if dun mind, can i see ur pics too?
my PS will be this sundae....so excited

Hi lala,
u so smart
yeah, i picked champange roses with lilies for the decor
hee..
collected my album last weekend.. din scan the pics leh.. so nothing to share.. sorry..

u hv any pics to share?
i only saw those in style magazine.. not enuff leh.. :P

Hi jan_snow,
good luck for ur PS
enjoy!!!
i very stressed leh, got some pimples recently..
so sad.. seldom get pimples wan, so very upset tt i m gettin them so close to my AD.. hope they will go away b4 my AD..sigh..

chubbyrain..ya me oso get pimples le...now keep using pimple cream,, hope will go off soon...
mayb we think too much that's y its popping!!!!

BTW, will it be ok if i pop by on ur AD? think i will be thr ard 6.30 - 6.45...just a peep and go else very paiseh when all family is at the reception..great to hear u will be using lilies too cos i am thinking of this combination...so can get to see...yeah

hi jan snow,
we better not stress ourselves hor?

sure..
tink noone will b there at tt time.. cos i hving solemnisation at tt time
maybe u would like to drop by earlier say bet 615 to 630?
ask evelyn to bring u ard on tt day
m sure she will b willing to do tt..

Hi jan snow and chubbyrain,

Don't stress, drink more water, have sufficient sleep ok? Am sure the pimple will go away.

hi, it's the bee butting in again.

hey huiling!
i totally agree with you about the old grandeur feel. well, even before i stepped into regent, my fiance was quite convinced that i'd love it.
we both love the place so i really hope things will turn out favourably. *keeping fingers crossed*

i mean, heck accessibility! we had initially entertained the idea of having the banquet in sentosa! hahahah...

hi jan snow and chubbyrain,
caitlin is right. rest well and down more fluid! i am told that sweating it out works well for the complexion too.
hope all turns out prettily for you gals.

tks tks...okie...will take all ur advice to drink more.....eeeee very excited le....
dunno i can smile "correctly" anot cos my face very fat....

Hallo Jan Snow, your face is not fat at all, don't worry!

hallo Busybee, so it is Regent for you?
)) when do you intend to have the wedding?

Hi gals, talking about getting good sleep. Anyone has any remedy for insomina? Maybe too excited over my wedding!!! Hard to get to sleep at night. Too many things to think about....

Hi caitlin & busybee,
thxs.. me goin for exercise tonite... will sweat it out man!

Hi jan snow,
y so critical? girl already said ur face not fat ..

aiyah..u shld see me when i smile...eyes small so become 1 line then the 2 "bak" will protrude cos of the cheek bones...eeeeeee

Hi Jan Snow...Don't worry about your face la...Am sure you are being too hard on yourself...

I am quite a perfectionist by nature also...And so am trying to control this side of me as I prepare for wedding...Cause there are sure to be hiccups and it will not be perfect. But it'll be silly to be upset that day because of some little hiccup which perhaps no one will even notice...

Any tips on how to keep "balanced" before the big day?

//Anyone has any remedy for insomina?//

Actually what I do is to take antihistamine (you normally get that for flu and allergic) It just makes me sleep!! Pop one pill before getting on the plane and its enough to knock me out.
I works for me... but if you have chronic insomia better go and see doctor. But a bit risky coz you never know how you will react to those drugs.

hi hi. Nowadays I also have problems sleeping. Can lie awake for hours one. Very frustrating. Poor FH always kena woken up by my phone calls.

Wow,

I'm glad I'm quite a lazy pig by nature and generally have no problems sleeping.

But here's what I do when I really can't:
1. exercise...will be physically tired and hence easier to doze off
2. origins pillow spray (can't remember the name)...but it's supposed to help you sleep and so far, it has worked for both myself and my godfather...just spray 3 squirts on the pillow and you drift to sleep more easily.

Hi tougei,
in fact few months before my AD, I kena insomia. I was surprised too coz me usually a pig, can zz anytime and anywhere ... me now back to the piggy mood
maybe u r too "gan cheong" liao

wow cailin,
the origins pillows spray sounds good. Should have asked you before my AD.

chubbyrain,
I am very lazy to scan my pics (The Edge uses film not digital pics), thought you gals have seen my album at the banquet. Maybe I can scan some pics using the proofs ... who's your photographer?