Regent Singapore

• Thread starter Thread starter happy sunny
  • Start date Start date
Lala...so you are one of the couples affected by Oriental. Bet u must be real mad...they only gave such a short notice. Out of curiosity, do u have to top up the difference to take up Regent? Or Oriental covers the differences for u?

Chubby, have u seen the suite? the bedroom and living hall is separated...so it looks spacious...and both room and hall has a balcony too...the best part is that they recently renovated all rooms...so the rooms are very new.
Maybe u should go take a look at the suite...so in worst case scenario that u need to use the suite, u will know where to put your table/chairs

Hi Bugbear,
yep, unfortunately.
Actually, me & HB were not really that mad lah coz our date is not popular thus still available in many hotels. Oriental pays for the difference.

hallo all, what time sd we drop by Regent this sat?

been to the bridal wardrobe, the shop owner uses good grade for duchness satin. but i think i prefer bridal veil for the design.

yep I have been to Dang too, their stuff is also quite nice
aiyah so many choices.

what happened at the Oriental?

i might not be able to go this sat...gotto wait for all ur feedback liao...hope u will enjoy.
btw, i chanced upon this shop name for bridal shoes - SEVEN, anyone know the location? I saw in latest HER WORLD Brides....

hi huiling,
couples already signed up with Oriental between Aug to Nov 04 were asked to look for other banquet venues due to Oriental's major renovation.

Girls, are you still dropping by on the 16th ?? let me know okie

hi ladies.

err sorrie...are we going for lala's wedding or this sat? Got abit mixed up liao.

huiling, think Oriental's renovation of their ballroom got delayed and quite a number of brides affected. So they had to source for hotel last minute. Right lala? I have a fren who was also affected and she changed hers to Fullerton.

lala, so Regent's more ex than Oriental? They told me the 2005 package they are inflating the price by as much as 20%. That's alot!!

hi gals..
maybe i hv confused all of u..
i m goin down tmr bec evelyn asked me to go down.. will not b goin down for lala's wedding..

hi tougei,
Regent is slightly more exp depending on which package loh. But next year, Oriental is gonna charged more due to the image of a new hotel.

hallo, lala wedding is on 16th sept right? yep, I'm coming down! what time do you want us to drop by? do you want us to introduce ourselves? you must feel very excited!

so is your photographer Jon Keng? he told me that he is going to set up a company soon.

oh and i have not heard of seven. is it a new shoe maker?

think there is this bridal shop called justin agnes. are they new? have not heard of them before.

Hi huiling,
you can come at around 7+pm coz I will be at the cocktail reception. Yep, feeling the butterfly in my stomach even now
Oh, of coz have to introduce yourself ... then I know from where mah
157056.gif

Hi Lala....

Good to hear that you haven't encountered much prob sourcing for another hotel. Cos i heard from some other couples that they are so stressed trying to look for another hotel in 3 months

Wah...Oriental pays the difference...no conditions? Then i might as well change to Shang or Fullerton :p

Hhmm...gals, i actually hopped by to see the ballroom setup on Sat. Was quite nice actually. THe couple managed to get the new Jazz Theme...but don reckon they have the saxaphonist...think just the deco only.

All in all, they had 4 floral stands on stage (2 tall and 2 short), along the asile, there are 4...that means to say that there isn't any stands just down beside the stairs to the stage. Actually it doesn't look bare at all...cos each stand is quite big and tall...so i guess if they have 6 along the asile will be a little too much.

Lala...ur wedding is on the 16th right? I might hop by early to take a look...but don think i can stay too long, cos i have a lecture to attend. Hope u don mind me hopping by to take a look. U going to have the burgundy theme right?
How's preparation??

Hi ladies.

Lala, I'll be going down too

Who's going as well? Huiling, what time are you reaching there? 630pm or 7pm? Want to meet up?

Bugbear & Chubbyrain, I went down on Sat too. But I was early, abt 530pm. What time did you reach? There were a few couples looking at the ballroom too and I was wondering if any of them could be someone from the forum

Bugbear is right, it doesn't look bare at all
Think the length of the march-in is not very long. But I didn't stay long enuff to see the deco on the stage. Does anyone have any comments?

lala, looking forward to see your setup

Hey Tougei!! I was there at 5.30 as well...but the room wasn't ready...so went for dinner and came back ard 6.15pm

By then, the stage deco is all ready. Was actually planning to take some pics...but was told by the planner that i can't take pics...cos I have not signed with them yet
so...sorry gals, no photos to show.

Hi gals..

i went down at ard 615 on sat.. saw 2 gals there.. bugbear, 1 of them is u?

the stage decor is very nice..
like the setup a lot, rather classic n elegant..
we din bring camera, so din take any photos..

Cubby...there was quite a few couples there that day leh...i am still ard during 6.15...so u might have seen me there...heheh...

Ah yo...i should have passed u my camera and let u take the photos man!! :p
heheh...

hallo! i was thinking of 6.30pm. Or Lala, would you prefer us to come at 7pm? but very paiseh, cuz at that time, you will be so busy with your guests.
yep yep, let's meet up. where is a good place?

oh yeah i suddenly remember that about two/three years ago, I have a friend, her sister got married and made a gown with TY, and the gown split on the actual day, so they pin it up. wonder if it is the same person.

anyway, i went to the Wedding Present on saturday, and they are fantastic! kekeke. i like their designs very much. and the guy who attended to me is very nice.. & they use Leon Lim as one of the makeup artists, i like Leon's work. ...so happy, i feel that I'm coming close to making a decision on who i want to entrust the making of the most important dress in my life to. kekeke. sorry gals, too excited.

yes Lala, please tell us when's a better time to drop by. Anyone else coming too? BugBear, what time can you make it??

Huiling, let's meet at the sofa next to the huge flower arrangement near the main entrance? So you have set your heart on Wedding Present?

Hi tougei, huiling and bugbear,
yep, I would be using the burgundy theme; the modern oriental look
I will only be around at 7pm coz prior to that I will be holding my church solemnisation in the hotel's function room. However, if you wanna come earlier, feel free to peep into the ballroom, don't think the hotel's staff will mind at all ... if you come at 7pm, then remember to say hello to me, okie ... and tell me who you are ... coz think on that day I would be very blur ... kekeke

Hi Lala. thanks for letting us peep the ballroom

Tougei, don think i can make it in time...cos i have a lecture to attend at 6.30pm.
Most probably my FH will drop by.

Lala...show us photos when they are ready k. Bet you must be all ready for your BIG day!! So exciting!!

Hi bugbear,
no problem, go ahead and take a look at the ballroom ... My album is not ready yet, however, if you have bought this month Style Wedding magazine, you will see my PS pictures under Andrew Tay, The Edge

Hey guys!

I haven't been posting but I hope everyone is well!!! I would like to see the ball room set up for both themes. hehee so if you get the chance, please post pictures!

Huiling> have you decided on the buffet? Can I be nosey and ask about the perks and stuff they threw in?

I'm having lots of problems deciding on my gown right now. *bleh*

ahhh! lala, your PS is featured on style mag! which page is it! wah wah!

lala, you wd be having church solemnisation at the function room? do you have to pay extra? or is it complimentary?
yep! show us your pictures! your photographer is Jon Keng?

Hi tougei, i was also thinking of that big flower centrepiece at the entrance. are you referring to the sofa beside the information counter? what time ar? meet 6.30pm? how to say hi to lala ar? must think of a way. lala, if you see a few girls lining up and waving at you, i guess that would be us
)))

i visited kevin seah atelier today and their couture range is very nice. just one gown alone cost $2K to rent! their non couture range is also quite nice, but i think the wedding present can do something like that for lesser price. so maybe will take TWP. but my fiance says it is too early to sign anything with BS. TWP is upping their price in October by about $200 leh. anyone has any opinion? to sign or not to sign? my wedding is december 2005

hallo sharkey, are you with any BS? as for the buffet, i think the perks are the same as the lunch package 2004 which Sunil showed me. I have not met up with Sunil yet to discuss anything yet. am going to ask for 2 nights bridal stay. die die also want
will update everyone once i meet up with sunil.

Hi Huiling,
yep, will be having my church solemnisation at the function room, it is complimentary by Sunil.

My photographer is Andrew Tay from The Edge. My PS pics are shown on page 291 in the Style Wedding Mag ... no need wah lah, the reason for putting my pics coz there are plenty of blue skies ... kekeke

Wah!! lala...to have ur pics in the mag is WAH leh!!
i haven't bought it yet...must faster run to news stand to buy liao. Andrew informed you abt your photos being published izzit? you got complimentary copy of not? :p

Girl...i dunno about you leh...but for me, i have already booked my BS. heheh...maybe i too ks, but i just want to get it out of the way lor...and i haven been to any other BS except Flamingo :p But think you have to be very sure and confident of the BS before u sign with them...else later u find urself regretting then won be so good liao lor

I agree with bugbear, me also signed up with my BS like 1+ yr before my wedding
I have heard so many horror stories about people complaining the svc of the BS after they signed up with them. Thus be very careful. Till now, I do not have any regret about my BS. Not trying to promote, just hope you gals to do some research b4 signing

Bugbear,
Yep, Andrew asked if he can put our pics in the magazine, before published, he did show us the draft
Those shown on magazines cannot compare to the proofs, the proofs are SOOOOOOOOO nice !!! I think Andrew did a good job for the outdoor shoots.

Hi Lala!

Checked out your pics in Style Weddings.

You looked gorgeous! Not ba ba at all as you said...Just right!

And i liked the photo before the brown building (is it the warehouse on the way to Sentosa?)...Very nice.
Hehe...you must have bought many more photos than provided for in the original package since all the photos came out so well.

Hi Caitlin,

Thanks !!! me really ba ba but Andrew took the slim angles. We have 46 pages in the album (total of 60+ pics including collages), top up an additional of $1.7k. Yep, the photo b4 the brown building is the warehouse b4 sentosa. I like that photo too, the wind blew at the right time ... hehehe

Wah...u gals are making me so anxious to see the photos...but i have no where to buy the mags now...not till this evening

Hi Lala,

I think you look great. We usually look more ba ba in photos, but you look slim in the photos...Can't all be about the angles.

In any case, at least with the body, can use clothes etc to disguise... I have a broad, heart shaped face, with super round cheeks...Very troublesome...Don't even know if I can have an updo for my PS...

Hello gals..

Hey Lala,
my photographer also Andrew Tay leh
oh, he showed me the proofs for his latest adverts b4, i commented to him tt the bride looks like michelle saram, so its u
chio

where got ba? me bah bah, in photos also bah bah.. i always jokingly scold him for not makin me look slimmer :P

but i haven seen the magazine yet

ur AD is next week, excited??

Hi huiling,
take ur time to decide.. no rush.. me also hv no regrets abt my BS.. in fact, i m rather close to my designer now
shes really a very nice lady.
but other than a nice designer, wats impt is tt u must like the design..

Hi bugbear,
me also haven seen the magazine yet.. i noe my designer has a copy, will go down n flip thru it when i visit her tmr

HI caitlin,
dun say until so bad lah.. i m sure u r not
women r usually more critical.

Hi Chubbyrain,

Similarly I'm sure you are not bah bah...It's only you being critical of yourself.

Any of you know if Regent is very strict about number of tables? I think I might have problem meeting 350, more likely 300 guests only.

Hi caitlin

How many tables did you contract for?
I asked Sunil before - I signed for 30 but if i can only fill up 28/29, will he allow the shortfall. But his answer is no as we had already contracted for 30 tables as a minimum so die die have to pay for 30

Basically, can increase tables but cant reduce as it affects their profit margin.

Hi Lala,

Where are the other places you went to for your photo shoot? I don't recognise most of the photos featured in Style weddings le but they look real nice and I am considering going there too.

Right now, my package only allows me 1 outdoor location and I was thinking of Sentosa as my fiancee and I spent our first weekend away at Beaufort. Thought it'll be nostalgic to have our photo shoot there...

Only your WG was featured...do you have photos of your evening gown? I have never seen an EG from divine before.

Hi bugbear,
when are you seeing your PS pics? By which photographer? I was also like you, nervous to see my PS pics, kept praying the nite before ... kekeke

Hi Caitlin,
no worries lah, make-up can make a lot of difference !!! same same for me

Hi chubbyrain,
so, your photographer is also Andrew Tay ... are you done with your PS liao ?? When is your wedding dinner?? Oh, he showed you the advertisements too ... the AD one is also very well taken

Heheh...lala...i am not anxious abt my photos...but it's yours...cos mine still long way to go. I haven even taken them yet :p Mi photos is with Montage.

How you feeling now?? Next week is your BIG day already huh

morning to all....so long never logged in....
lala, i saw ur pic...u looked fotogenic le
both of u look veli spontaneous in the shoot...well taken...clap clap

i m not sure whether i can make it on 16th just yet...let u gals noe lata....

Hi Bugbear!

Montage has really nice photos. A colleague of mine who was with Ted Wu used them for her PS...the photos were so natural, spontaneous and brought out all her features too!
Am sure yours will turn out really good too.

Huiling, there are many bridal shows in October. Why don't you attend some of them to check out the designs of the different BS...Can also get good banquet deals there too.
Since your wedding is end next year, no hurry...

Morning gals.

Hi caitlin,
tink they r quite strict..
we couldnt meet the min no. of 35 tables on weekend, so hv to take the elegance package which is abt 80 bucks more per table..
well, its cheaper compared to 35 tables for classic.. my coordinator was agnes tt time, she said if we manage to go up to 35 tables, we could revert to classic.. but we din wan to hv too many tables, so still 30 lor

oh, i m not critical leh.. its my family who like to say i m bah bah.. esp on photos.. tsK :P

Hi lala,
ya, my PS was in mid july..
but it rained in the morning, so not a lot of blue skies in our photos..
sobs sobs..
my AD is abt 2 weeks after urs
scary..
r u feelin nervous yet?

Hi bugbear,
heard montage is good
which BS r u using?

Heheh...the heat is rising in the thread huh...with ADs closing

Caitlin...thanks...i sure hope my photos will turn out good. I actually don like to take photos. Never looked good in photos

Chubby, my BS is with Flamingo

Hi Lala,

Are you writing your own wedding vows? Which worship songs are you playing at your wedding service? Do you know if there are Christian CD collections of popular hymns for weddings? I have been trying to find one but been unsuccessful so far leh.

hallo girls, recently met up with a few actual day wedding photographers, yawn. now my head is swirling with photo images

Hi huiling

630pm should be fine. Can you PM me your hp so I can contact u if anything? Which photographers did you meet up with? Is there any which is particularly impressive?

BugBear, i'm sure you will look beautiful in your pics. When will you get your photos?

Hi Bugbear, i have two friends who got married using flamingo. they were happy with the BS

hallo tougei have already PM you. i met with up Rueyloon and beetles@work. have also seen hilarion's work, Derrick Ong, Berryhappy, Hurricadia & The Pond.

so far, i have confirmed with Hurricadia, but i'm looking for a second photographer. Rueyloon's work is nice too. there are so many out there. so my number one concern is whether they are good, and the second concern is price.

aiyah everyone, i got a small crisis now. just did a rough estimation of my guest list for close friends and realised that i don't have 100 guests. only about 60 to be safe. *faint* not sure if Regent will allow The Bar to be opened for 60 people. jialet!

Huiling,

You getting a videographer? Why not have one photographer and one videographer and ask close friends to take casual photos as well?

A collegaue used Fabia(e?)n Lim Productions and they did a really good job. The videos taken in the day- church ceremony and serving tea- were edited to be shown at the wedding dinner. If you have having a lunch and dinner, you can perhaps include clips of that as well.

hmm..videographer. don't know leh, because i'm quite lazy, so thought that photos are easier to look at, rather than put on a DVD to watch. yeah I also heard that fabian Lim is very good.

my fiance is not keen on getting a videographer. actually he is not keen on photographers too! haha

Hi gals!!

Girl...glad to hear that your friends are happy with Flamingo. Actually, i have full confidence in Flamingo. I know the owner personally :p that's why i did not see other BS..i just signed up with Flamingo

Yup yup...heard that Fabian Lim is good!

Tougei...hahah...me still long way to go. I have not taken my PS yet...next yr then take :p

Lala...i finally managed to ay my hands on a copy of Style wedding!! U looked gorgeous!! Not at all bah bah like u described urself to be leh...ah yo...if u say u are bah bah, then i lagi worse liao!!
Which BS is that ar??

Hi Caitlin,
I am not writing own vows but the church ones
I didn't search for worship songs coz mine is a simple church blessings only.

Hi Bugbear,
Thanks !!! My BS is Divine Couture.

Hi Chubbyrain,
wow, your AD is also drawing near ... me now on leave liao till 27th. Not going Honeymoon coz HB has biz trip *sob sob* but I can go back to my parents to zz again ... hehehe

Hi Lala,

So good, you can be on leave a week before your wedding...At least you can go for all your spa treatments, facials etc and be a pretty pretty bride...So many of my friends would work all the way till 1 or 2 days before their wedding...

Does your photographer have a website? Wanna check them out as actual day photographers...Any idea how much they charge?