Regent Singapore

• Thread starter Thread starter happy sunny
  • Start date Start date
Hi Sharky I'm definitely not doing the sit down chinese dinner. should be a buffet for me. need to discuss with SUnil. you certainly seems to have many ideas for your wedding! for me, the dinner is for relatives only.

when is your wedding date btw?

Morning gals!!

Hi Lala, did Regent really agree to waive the corkage after the first casket? So smart! I didn't even think of asking for such arrangements when I was negotiating. Me engineer so very one-track mind one - got waiver/ no waiver

Think now too late for me to ask for additional stuff liao hehe. Ours' a different package and with different co-ordinator some more. But Lala, what's the perk for the beer like? How many free barrels did Regent give you?

Divine's gowns are very dreamy!! Looking forward to seeing you and your divine WG on 16 Sept

Hi iluydia. Welcome back!! Yar lor, there's always this uncertainty that the favours, invites and worse, the themes may change by the time we have our wedding since most of us book the year earlier. Very sian.

Hi Sharky, you are really very creative! I'm impressed and at the same time I feel very "chan kui" at my own laziness. I had wanted to make own favours and invites too but gotten lazy

What exactly does Chinese puzzles do? Is it a word puzzle like those "Mi yu" or hands-on puzzles? Both your lunch and dinner are at Regent?

Hi BugBear. Got your PM finally. THanks for your trouble

Surprised to see so many different settings of the table. Last time they told me only got white or red. Which one do you gals like? I like the almost black table cloth with the liles

If we like the table cloth of one and the chair sash of another, can we mix and match??

153783.png
This forum is going very fast, thus have to answer your question without addressing your nicknames *sorry*

I love Divine gowns, find that very pretty and more importantly, I got along very well with ,y designer.

Can come and see me in my gown on my AD, but me not the slim slim type, a bit bah bah, hopefully I still look good that day ... kekeke

Yep, we have waiver after the 1st carton of wine. Sunil gave us 2 30l of complimentary beer.

By the way, good morning ladies
153784.gif

Hi sharky, chanced upon your project on researching on traditions. I am doing something similar
maybe can exchange notes. Will you only confining it to food? I am also interested in yr supplier list. I am just starting on mine. Plse do drop me a line at [email protected] as well. Finally since I am here, just an informal poll. Would all of brides/grooms out there choose for 1 type of favor throughout or have a mixture of 2 different types? What do you think will appeal better? Thanks for all's help

wow lala..u got the free 2nd barrel..i need to gif up my 2nd nite stay n coordinator's rm to get that mann....
mayb ur package is more exp. than mine so that they can justify..but urs is weekdae right??mine oso le...maybe is the # of tables oso...

Hi iluydia,

i got a mixture of red n white cards.. red cards r for my future PIL's relatives n frens..
hey, u oct04 bride too hor? our AD is drawin near.. scary :P

thread too fast.. me lost..

Hi lala,
wah, ur bargainin skills so good ah? tink me n my FH lugi liao lor.. no waiver n no hv 2 barrels.. shuacks!

Hi Jan snow and chubbyrain,
I think my HB has good bargaining skills ... kekeke .... no lah, I think, it's due to different package and different perks.

Wah...this thread really moving too fast for me to catch up liao. Just 1 morning did not check and so many to read...heheh

Tougei, no prob...

Hhmm...seems like Regent changes their themes and packages quite often huh. March themes and Jul already so much difference...and the packages also different. Think it's very difficult to say who lugi and who earned on perks lor...cos their packages are different :p

Think so long we are happy with what we are getting and am a happy bride...that's the most important :D

slow down lei. when i open the tread, i cant even see my name man!!!

hey chubbyrain n iluydia
wat theme are u ladies taking? wat wedding favours r u taking? i saw alot last time when they are placed in the showcase. are they still the same

Thanks Lala! I will certainly come down to your wedding if I can make it.
Can use the opportunity to take a look at the Regent ballroom too.
Sure you will look good in your gown. Bah bah better than me- anorexic looking. I was at Kai Bridal Couture and the lady kept telling me I needed to put on weight cause the bustier gowns I tried on really didn't flatter me at all.

Sharkfynn: Like your cards for friends to write on idea. Saw in a recent issue of Martha Steward a couple (one Korean, the other Japanese), who had a display of peach blossom branches in a large vase for their guests to hang their well-wishes on. Maybe you can consider doing that too.

Actually Huiling, what is it about the buffet that appeals to you? You should think about what’s important to you and what atmosphere you want to create. My email addy is [email protected] we can discuss it off the forum board.

I'm still cracking on the waiver for corkage. Wah - I so pesky I also scared of having to deal with myself.

I saw one package where the option of free 20L beer or waiver of corkage. But then again, the hotel very smart, that one is a lunch package so people tend to drink less anyway. As for the waiver after first carton, again, their costing is pretty much the same. Like how many times will you ask to change your wine glass?

Anyway not pimping for the hotel but the wine list is not as exorbitant as other hotels. They range from $25 to $35 bucks before tax. I’m just more concerned about selection. Oh well. I dun drink… so what do I know. Thinking of sabo-ing everyone and have a wedding without alcohol. I wonder if I would get away with it. Hehe.

WRT for those Chinese puzzles, they are those hands on ones where it just leaves you frustrated. Haha! Those little metal thingy. How? Anyone interested? Then can recycle the pieces.

PS >> about the cake, there is a clause in the dinner contract that says that only “on-site food” which means that if you want the real wedding cake, you have to go through the hotel. I don’t have a problem with that coz our favourite cake happens to be the chocolate praline cake from Regent. Hehe… yummy.

I wanted something cosy and intimate, not too poshed like sit down dinner. so was thinking of buffet. but western set lunch also sounds good and it is mroe orderly. so have to talk to sunil again.

sharky, since your luncheon will consist of mostly friends, do you think that our friends will drink beer? more beer or more wine? i don't remember anyone asking for beer when i attend weddings...

oh so the cake must only be regent cake? can i just buy the usual cake from regent? no need the one with tiers? we can cut the dummy cake and serve the real cake?

as for the types of favor to give, i will prefer to have a selection of favors to give to friends.

Hi.

Bugbear, you are right. Everyone's package is different so cannot really compare. Hehe, actually I am trying to convince myself not to compare too. Very difficult
But anyway, it's too late since I signed liao.

Sharky, I was also thinking of a alcohol-less wedding but my parents vetoed
. Was thinking of getting the cheaper wines from Regent but dunno abt the quality cos' I don't drink either. By the way, can you tell me how much are the favours you looking at? Do you think if we combine and buy in bulk we can get better prices?

Lala, Chubby, iluydia, are you getting your wines from Regent too? Which ones are you ordering? Anyone can advise on Regent's wines?

Elin, if you have 2 types of favours, will some guests be unhappy becos' they want the other favour? You know human nature lar, always compare one.

Tougei, when i was at the workshop, they let us try 2 wines...1 is the Cornerstone ($22+++) and the other is Willow Glen ($24+++). Those 2 are the cheapest in the range..and personally, i find willowglen better in taste. Richer and more volume. Cornerstone is a little too light, but it's got a fruity taste.

Hi Tougei,
I will get only 1 carton from Regent and get the rest from outside. We will take the Cornerstone coz think our guests would prefer the fruity taste. However, to each his/her own.

Hi tougei (tou2), yes that is what I thought also but then I thought alternating the favors was nice thought since less mandane. But if in the end, causes unhappiness - it'd definitely be a boo-boo :D but thanks for your input
really appreciate ...

thks huiling too for input but after some tot maybe better not let jealousy get to the guests ... one type for all lah i think ...
otherwise too complicated if unhappy people bec all want the more popular one lor

chubbyrain
i called up evelyn. she said that there's a wedding on 4sept, usin the new theme. i might go down to take a look.

Hi Dor,

No lah. I 'm with Blush Blush...but Kai was one of the (many) bridal studios I went to. And the lady kept saying I was too thin and needed to put on weight to look good in the bustier gowns which I like.

Where are you doing your WG then?

Huiling > I don’t think our friends will drink beer so I am trying to work something out and get them to give me wine instead. Also if you get wine, and you have surplus, you can take the wine home with you. Not the same for beer…. Although taking the entire keg up to room could be fun. Hehe.. As for the cake, definitely no problem. They have an in house bakery (is on the side outside of the hotel). I think the problem is in making those elaborate cakes. I am sure they will charge a huge premium for designing wedding cakes since its not really something they do everyday. Then again, you should check with your coordinator.

tougei (tou2) > The wedding favours that I have looked at so far are rather expensive. The cost depends on the physical items. There are cheap keychains and there are expensive keychains. There are frills like personalizing of ribbons (printing names and dates on them) and also you have to source for boxes or organza… Ya. So really depends.

But for now, I have given up the idea of personalizing favours. I think too much trouble. But I am thinking of buying some of the stuff as gifts for my helpers. Am shopping around. I still have a long way to go. My wedding is next year. Will take the year end holiday trip as a shopping trip. … eh, I want to go to Bangkok. I think the Chatuchat market will be a great place to shop for unique gifts. But I am quiet a online junkie. .. so might end up buying online. If you have something in mind, I’ll keep a look out for you. You want those cutesy types or those “corporate” types? Better start surfing for ideas!! Coz very individual one!

I read this site where they has stalks of roses as favours and that’s an idea too. Its inexpensive and its very tasteful. Then you could just put ribbons or something around it and you are all set. Oh wait - Those flavoured tea leaves. I got them as a gift before but I guess you could buy and then pack those. They make nice gifts too.

Wah I spend all my time researching now. So fun.

Hi all..i am thinking of signing up with regent as well... any opinions of their catering sales manager priscilla? she seemed very nice and friendly on the phone.

Hi Lala and jan_snow, the cornerstone is 50ml or 75ml? The one I saw in Cold Storage is 50ml while normal wines are 75ml. So if it is smaller then it won't be worth it even though it is cheaper liao. How many cases did you order? I have 28 to 30 tables. Was thinking of getting 3 caskets. Is it enuff??

Sharky, so your real wedding cake is just one layer lar, not on top of the other dummy tiers rite? In this case, when you cut the cake, will it be difficult for the guests to see the cake since you will be quite far away on the stage?

Personally I like roses but if the guests are guys then will they appreciate it? Think they will be rather caught dead than carrying the rose home in the bus or MRT. So finally all roses will be given to the female guessts instead

I know of one hotel that gives little rose tea in test tubes. You know those flower teas that they sell in Carrefour or Taka basement? The guests can put the rose tea in hot water and voila, they have tea (but barely for 1 cup though) It looks really pretty though.

Oophs, now that I read my posting, think I sound abit negative. Sorrie Sharky, they are just some of my thoughts but I really think your ideas are great! Hope you don't mind

dor

your wedding next jan 05 yeah? my eg from kai as well. wg from TY. went shopping for my tea dress and saw this gorgeous dress. ( full length ). now i think it looks better than my eg!!!!

caitlin

yah...they say I cannot lose any more weight as well. but my face very chubby...took leon. he is quite good. I took alot of pictures and point out the ones I like and he did that style for me. usually for your fotoshoot, he will recommend sthg more daring. for AD you can go 4 sthg more subtle.

hey tougei

how many bottles of wine do we need? I hope my guests are all beer drinkers though...haha i will be going down 2nd week of sep. evelyn will show me the wedding favours then. black with lilies look nice. but i think the parents will faint. but then mine is on 31st Oct so fit in with the halloween theme yeah...:P

bugbear

can you send me the link?

so glad so many brides are with regent. regent was the 1st hotel I went to and i love it so much! i was %$^&%$^ when my cousin said that regent was lousy, only a 4star hotel!

HI iluydia! yeah same here, when i first walked in regent hotel i was very impressed. my fiance and I just sat at the lounge and chilled out. actually i nv really know about regent hotel until we visit it for wedding prep.

think I'm going to exchange my barrel of beers for a few bottles of wine. hope it works out

Hi Sharky
How about those sweets which you can personalise as wedding favours? You can ask them to put you and your FH's name on the sweets. From what I recall, it's not too expensive. It's one of those carts at the basement of Raffles City.

Iluydia, so envious of your TY gown...Was it expensive. I had been thinking of using TY too...but they seem really expensive... I already know what design I want for my EG, but for my WG, have been looking at TONs of magazines, but still found nothing that makes me go: YES! That's what I want. Just many that I find beautiful.

What do you gals think of a slim dress for WG? Do you think it doesn't like so good walking down the aisle? (My ceremony is in church.

Hi caitlin I think a slim dress has a quiet elegance to it too. just have the right hair and makeup to go with it. I'm thinking of something A line for my WG too.

huiling > how many people you having for luncheon? are you also doing dinner at Regent?

Thanks Caitlin, will check that out.

hmm, today is so quiet compared to the last two days.

I sd be having 100 pax for my lunch.

dinner is at a chinese restaurant. any recommendations?

Hi Huiling,

Chinese restaurant...how about doing it at Legends Fort Canning? Cause they have a Chinese restaurant there but I understand the club is flexible about letting you use a function room and serving the food from the restaurant. And their charges for rental are very reasonable, only a few hundred.

Or you can consider China Club- it's very traditional in its decor, and located on the highest floor of the Capital Tower (near Tanjong Pagar MRT) so the view is excellent. Check out their website: www.chinaclub.com.sg

woah, went to the website, china club is very nice, but also very ex!!!
)) but maybe i will go and take a look anyway

Hi ladies. Sorrie, today had Family day for my company.

Yeah, Regent's the only hotel which once I went in, I knew this is the ONE. Some frens said it's too far, but I think it only makes it moe exclusive. When we went to those hotels along Orchard Shopping Street, there are so many ppl moving in & out of the hotels that it feels very "Luan".

iluydia, think at least 1 bottle wine per table or more. I noticed that nowadays more ppl drink wine than beer. Just last month I went to a fren's wedding. The wine finished after the 2nd course and she didn't top up so some guests not very happy.

Like Huiling, I was thinking of exchanging the beer for wine. Think 1 barrel for me should be enuff - mainly for the uncles.
Huiling, please tell me how many bottles of wine can you exchange the beer for. Thanks.

wah really ar, red wine finished after the second course. you mean the guests will grumble? oh dear, i better try to avoid something like that. hm, have not tried asking for beer exchange yet. but how many bottles do you think i can ask in exchange? do you think i can at least ask for half a dozen?

Hi gals!! This thread is moving fast!

Hhmm...i think wine/beer consumption is very difficult to ask for advice...cos it depends a lot on your guests...see if they drink more wine or more beer...but i reckon these days, wine is more popular...

For me, about 40 tables, i am planning abt 60 bottles of wine and 60l of beer...most probbaly, i will only start serving wine/beer after the 1st fanfare...won be serving them during cocktail :p Also, will get the waiters to top up only upon empty glass...and also for the 1st serve, maybe just serve 1/3 glass...cos on first serve, usually guests just want to try out the wine and see if they like it

Also, i think it's best to arrange for consignment for wines...anything un-consumed, can return

Hi gers i am thinking of having my wedding in regent hotel as well.. as my wedding is on a weekday..the sales manager says she can lower the min tables to 23. and free flow beer as well. will try to negotiate waiver of wine corkage and day room for helpers and maybe cheaper rental for lcd projector.

for me, my hubby's frens & colleagues are heavy beer drinkers. so are his dad's frens so we will be getting more beer instead.

for wine it will only be consumed by my mum, her sisters and my gfrens.

think it really depends on the guest...hehe

yes yes a slim WG will look nice too. you know sometimes pple say that a slim WG will not look grand enuff. not true. you can look just as good!

hi iluydia
not sure u remember that we talked before when the thread is not that hot couple mths back. I took leon as my MUA too. bought my WG from AC. I hv not even took my measurement at Kai and my PS is less than a mth away.. gee..
Where did u get ur flowers? I m still decidin whether to take Greenpt though is $400
U hv done ur photoshoot, wher did u go? Any tips, i m going to hv it next mth. who is ur PS? mine is Vividshots

btw, regent had set a min 3 carton to purchase wine from them, rite? i m so confused

hey ladies
I hv a new turquise green evening dress for sale c/w a matching shawl. Size 4. It has flowery design in front. Anyone interested?

Hi Gina, welcome
Think the weekday package is indeed very worth it.

Bugbear, you mean we can brief the waiters before the dinner? If so, will definitely take your advice
By the way, are u still sending me an email?

Dor, I asked Regent abt the min 3 cartons requirement. Sunil said no prob, can be lesser than 3 cartons.

Hi Gina, welcome
Think the weekday package is indeed very worth it.

Bugbear, you mean we can brief the waiters before the dinner? If so, will definitely take your advice
By the way, are u still sending me an email?

Dor, I asked Regent abt the min 3 cartons requirement. Sunil said no prob, can be lesser than 3 cartons.

hey gals any AD photographers that you are considering? i'm sourcing for one now. i'm having my wedding over two days so every time i hear a photographer reply that he/she is charging extra for second day, my heart sank.
but i tell myself that wedding is a happy occasion!

Hi tougei..yeah the weekday package is really good
so when is ur wedding?

Hi girl ren yu...i just met up with my photographer today... he used to be from everafter...but now more of freelance.. his package is abt 1K... i like his works alot

www.jonkeng.com have a look at his website... heheh

You can check out this lady. She use to do alot of AD photography. http://www.berryhappy.com/

And I saw some works of www.photolanguage.net and they were pretty nice too. The last one is www.phototeam.com.sg. I always get confused between the two. One does more collages and "layout" work for the albums. We hear alot more from these two coz they tie up with bridal studios.

Since we are at it, I went around to Swarovski (sp?) shops today looking at necklaces... Comparing prices. I found this shop in Delphi (appaarently is Blush - Pin's cousin or something). They have beautiful handmade chokers that cost only $300. haha I don't know if thats expensive or not, but they were pretty!!! Its called Chryster on #03-07 Delphi. Its comparable to the necklaces at the Swarovski shops.

yes dor I remember you ;P

so you are getting WG from Kai? I got the flowers from greenpoint. go look at mags and take notes of bouquets which you like if you want sthg different. otherwise you will end up with a very typical bouquet.

I lost quite abit of weight so for the photoshoot, the gown was lose, esp ard the waist area...: ( now I know..better make sure it is fitting for the AD.

i went to regent, paragon, labrador park, sentosa, club street. the fotos at sentosa turned out the nicest. both my huubby & i are not fotogenic so we don't have a problem choosing the min required # of fotos!! don't have to top up

Tougei...yes, we can always let our coordinator know what we prefer and the banquet manager that night will brief the waiters on it. What email? Have i forgotten to send you something? After the photo link, i did not send you anything already

Sharky...Photolanguage is not bad a choice if u want natural, fun-loving photos...but have you seend the actual album already? Personally, i don quite like the finish of photolanguage albums...but i liked their style of photos very much