Regent Singapore

• Thread starter Thread starter happy sunny
  • Start date Start date
Hi bugbear,

so seat covers r not standard items.. icic.. but tink like wat tougei said since its low cost, they probably throw it in..

so u still decidin? take ur time.. its ur weddin

Hi lala,
wah, ur wedding is next mth, after the lunar 7th mth i supposed.. for me, abt 5 more weeks to go..

Chubbyrain!! Ur's also very near liao hor...Congrats!!

Yah...me still deciding...i still got laods of time, so slowly see see look look lor :p

Thanks !!! Yep, my wedding is 16 Sept, 3 days after the 7th month. I have still many things to look into, stress now ... cannot sit back & relax ... somehow there bound to have many things popping up leh ... hee hee. Now my concern is to lose some weight & go massage more often ... hehehe

Chubbyrain,
Congrats to u too, yours also nearing liao

congrats to both of you ..sep and oct bride
do share wif us ur preparation n of cos th AD...
mine will be end of this yr

Hi bugbear..
thxs
yup, take ur time.. if regent is tt inflexible, too bad for them..

Hi lala,
congrats!
wah, urs is 3 days after lunar 7th mth? r there lots of things u cannot do? my parents say cannot do GDL, cannot buy weddin stuffs, cannot send out cards.. so i can only do up AD schedule, write invites etc..

Hi jan snow,
yup, pls let me noe if u need help

dun stress first ok? still got time

go massage? wat type of massage?
hee, i tryin to lose weight too.. goin for aerobics lor

Hi bugbear..
thxs
yup, take ur time.. if regent is tt inflexible, too bad for them..

Hi lala,
congrats!
wah, urs is 3 days after lunar 7th mth? r there lots of things u cannot do? my parents say cannot do GDL, cannot buy weddin stuffs, cannot send out cards.. so i can only do up AD schedule, write invites etc..

dun stress first ok? still got time

go massage? wat type of massage?
hee, i tryin to lose weight too.. goin for aerobics lor

Hi jan snow,
yup, pls let me noe if u need help

tks chubby rain,,mine shld be quite easy cos not having the customary stuff,,,i am only having dinner at nite...
think u gals must be real bz wif those chinese custom thingy loh
i m more concerned abt the ambience depending on the theme i choose..so will need u gals comments and feedback

Thanks Jan Snow !!

Hi chbbyrain,
I have my GDL liao (very fun!!) and invitation cards for relatives have already been sent out b4 the 7th month. For friends, will send out this month. Now waiting for album to be out, go for final fittings and do AD itenary

bug bear, dun remember we have any themes for 2004 le..thot just choose flowers for the ballrm deco oni..cant remember le...u have?
mayb we shld check with coordinator again when its nearer,, hope they wil be flexi le...no harm asking hor

Hi jan snow,
lucky u.. no need to go thru customary stuff..
i will keep u informed once i hv met up wif evelyn

Hi lala,
u had ur GDL liao ah? mine will b 1 week b4 my AD.. so quite worried tt it will b rushed..
i hv done up a draft AD itienary, album will b out next mth
fitting next mth too.. hee, hope will lose some weight..
haven been too guai after PS :P
u mentioned massages? where n wat type of massages r those?

i supposed u hv finalised ur banquet details already
did u take those new themes?

yes tks chubbyrain

lala, tell us more abt wat theme u hav selected..since they have new stuff for 2005, do u think we can request if u really like it?

Hi is anyone taking the scent thing under miracle package? the one that allows you to have a scent of your choice at the ballroom or function room?

i have narrowed my choice to between four seasons hotel or regent. whew! so glad that it is now down to two, it has been tiring going to these hotels and considering options
I think I'm doing a luncheon. anyone else considering a luncheon too?

I heard that they are going to come up with new designs for invitation cards next year. and they might update their wedding cake design next year too.

anyone thinking of getting a wedding cake from regent hotel?

Huiling,

ME! I'm having luncheon and also I want a real wedding cake! What a coincidence! I just emailed Evelyn about it today! Hope they can come up with a reasonably priced wedding cake. I have been looking online and found some really pretty cakes. I love the stuff at Martha Stewart.. she is prob rotting in jail right now but the woman has such wonderful ideas!!!

http://www.marthastewart.com/page.jhtml?type=learn-cat&id=cat310&navLevel=3&navHistory=cat2%2Bcat247&site=

Wah I hope they can make me a chocolate wedding cake like the one seen in the link. Wah. Yummy.

I think the scenting is a waste of money!! haha! Its not like it smells bad or anything. Seems to be the fad now. Saw it on more than one hotel's package.

morning gals!!

me also thinking of having the scenting thingy, it's under the wishlist right? and i have already utilized all my choices...and according to the planners, if i want to do it as extras, it would cost like $500+...i striked off the idea immediately upon hearing the cost :p

The scenting thingy is nice to have, but i won pay for it lor

sharkey, are you having a buffet? western set or sit down luncheon? ballroom? i heard that wedding cakes can be really ex. i'm thinking of a buffet, thought maybe i can replace the buffet dessert with a cake instead?
there is this The pines garden that does cakes as well. use german chocolate for chocolate cake!

yeah, the scent thing is optional for me too. can we just bring our own scented candles? hehe

Hi ladies.

Err...I haven tot much abt the GDL. Knows nothing abt it. Can someone tell me something abt it?

Our parents havent even sit down and discuss dowry, pin li etc. When did your parents talk abt such things hur? I was thinking of end of the year.

Sharky, I liked the white cake with the purple flowers! Very pretty. Like so wasted to have to cut it up.

My Miracles package doesn't have the scent thing leh. Think they have changed their package somewhat since I last signed. Can someone kindly send me their latest package details? Thanks!

Tougei, i sent the new package that i have to you liao. The scenting is under the wish list.

Girl, i think we can bring our own scents...cos i did talk to Sunil about it...told him that i have utilized all my wishes, but i also hope to have the sscenting. He say that he cannot throw in the scenting for me...cos it's high costs, then i ask if i can bring my own scents...he say not a problem, but the only problem i might have is the diffuser...think with scented candles on each table it's wonderful enough liao hor...

Great idea Girl!! Scented candles...i was thinking of bringing my own diffusers :p

Good Morning Ladies !!
143271.gif

Jan Snow & Chubbyrain,
I am taking their new theme, where there is red colour lanterns. For our 1st march in, half way through, we will stand under a flower arch where HB will kiss my cheek before moving on. This is suggested by Sunil. What are the other themes?? What themes are u gals taking??

Chubbyrain, I sign with Body Contours since last year for body massage & spa. There are many types of massages including slimming massage, shitsi, traditional chinese, swedish & javanese.

morning with a yawn......
think the 2005 sounds more interesting than 2004 le...chubbyrain, dun u think so...
haven't get to see the red lantern though...
about the scent, need to consider cos some may not be able to appreciate that le....

Morning ladies..

Hi lala,
the pic u posted is very cute

oh, we r entitled to their new theme as well? okies, must ask evelyn.. sunil sounds creative.. hope she is as creative as sunil.. :P

Hi tougei,
actually, i noe nuts abt GDL also.. so far, my mum n future MIL hv met twice.. but usually, they use me n FH as middleman to convey msg.. we hv decided to keep GDL as simple as we can..
i hope it will go smoothly lor..
maybe u let both ur parents meet, let them discuss..

Ask u gals k...do both side parents meet up to discuss on the issues before we book the banquet or??

Hhmm...i still waiting for my official proposal...heheh...so i dunno if i should/can book the banquet before the parents meet...or after my FH proposed, then we gather both sides parents to meet and discuss??

Hallo all, think my parents and inlaws are meeting next month to discuss the number of tables as well as the bride price to give for the wedding. where is a good place to eat and talk? any suggestions?

Hi sharkey, rem to update us regardign the wedding cake by regent and the price.

Hi lala, jan, and Chubby

Yar, think scented candles is a good idea
Heard that Regent are already scenting their lobby. My fren noticed it when she went in with me but i didn't
Think I'm not too sensitive regarding these things. But once the food comes in, I don't think anyone can smell the scent anymore.

Lala, the other theme is the white one, i think. But personally, I liked the red one better. Think it's more dramatic and different. Alot of other hotels seem to have white too. When's your AD? Do you mind if I drop by to look at the deco?

Chubby, what things are involved in GDL? Is it when the guy bring the dowry and the jewellery over? Do you have roast pigs, wedding cakes etc etc? Anyone teochew here? Can advise?

By the way, Are you ladies thinking of doing additional floral arrangements for the ballroom? Went to a few weddings and tot that the standard floral deco abit too plain. Will it be very expensive?

We looked at all the menu and felt that chinese would be more formal coz the western menu was weak for our budget. The chinese menu was essentially better value. But what we are thinking of doing is adding a twist to it. I have been reading those American sites and will want to incorporate some of the western traditions to our luncheon (which is why i want a real cake!!! even if its just ONE regular 1kg CAKE and then they can do the sheets thing)

From what evelyn told me for lucheon, you have to have at least 250 pax to use the grand ballroom. And we don't have so many people. I dont really mind. I think the smaller rooms are very charming.

huiling, your parents let you get away with a lunch affair or you having a separate dinner?

As for the engagement, I think its more a convenience thing for both parties. Choose a nice quiet place to "negotiate". Mine was a rather painless process. Fiancé and I sitting there on edge and cringing. Haha. Something we won't forget for a long time. But I think I am lucky lah. My parents are not Christians but they accepted a long time ago that there are some chinese traditions that contravene to my belief. So they are already mentally prepared. All the ley chey things we are doing away with. But both sides wanted the tea ceremony.

Hi Bugbear, hehe think your situation almost same as mine. My FH formally proposed only after we booked the banquet.

In my case, we booked the banquet first cos' I dunno when he would be finally "popping the question" as he is supposed to give me a surprise. And I want to 'chop' the date of the banquet quick quick. What to do? Perhaps you can hint hint to your FH to hurry up propose so you can settle your stuff

Actually hor, I have an idea- to use the free food tasting as an opportunity for the parents to talk. I know it's abit too early but I have always tot that the food tasting is abit "fei" cos' I don't really think the chef takes into account our comments, esp since the banquet is a month later. My main concern is to make sure that the dishes we choose is good. So, might as well make full use of it
Can also use the food as conversation so wont have awkward silence.

Hhmm...tougei, the parents meet so late ar? I tot it's before we book the venue, but after FH proposed leh...so i still dilly dally...
no proposal, no booking of stuffs and no geomancer...hahah

Hhmm...i think the chef does take into account comments during the food tasting leh...cos i heard from friends tha during food tassting, the food too salty, then during the banquet, the food turned out quite nice...anyway, i am hoppig that the chef takes into account out comments...heheh

Hhmm...actually, my parents already met my FH mom...cos that time we went to buy hse, my parents were with us in the day...then my parents asked my FH to go fetch his mom to see the hse, before we sign on the dotted line...so as a result, they have already met...still, i reckon the day when they really sit down and discuss...will be a very awkard situation. just hope that things will be fine lor...heheh

Hi Bugbear, actually I was thinking of pushing the food tasting forward to about 5-6 months before the AD. But it's just an idea lar, must talk over with FH.

It will be good if the chef takes into account the comments. But was wondering if he does the cooking himself? If he cooks for 30 tables wont he "peng san" hehe??

Our parents only met up once so far. But think if formal talk will still be quite awkward one. Still remember it was so funny when my FH have to ask my parents for permission

Tougei...how did ur FH do that??i can imagine the situation to be quite awkard leh...tho ur FH already met ur parents upteen times...heheh

Hhmm...i think for Regent, the Chef will be in the kitchen cooking...but whether he cooks all dishes, i am not very sure liao...but confirmed that he will be in the kitchen during ur banquet lor :p

dear all, for my case,meet up should be around during the food tasting session too though they have met b4 loh....
Yep, Lala, if u dun mind, can we peep peep at your deco ,,,hehe....then we gals can meet up too ya
i din get to see the red theme le though i did mention to evelyn dat i would prefer a WHITE wedding....hehe

hhmm...Jan...if ur meetup session is ard food-tasting...then it's during then that both parents discuss on the details like pin jin and GdL stuffs?

hi bug bear, me not having the customary stuff lor
so just probably a chit chat session...
as for pin jin,, its probably decided by moi and hubby la,...think FIL will not be involved...hehe

HAHAH...i tot pin jin is decided by ur parents?
I also hope to have a simple session...but think quite impossible lor...cos my FMIL is more pantang on all these stuffs...so i think i will get them together earlier to settle all the stuffs...so i will have more time to book banquet...will leave it to FH to decide when he wants to ask both parents for a session...heheh...so awkard, me not going to be the one asking :p

well for my case, i dun look at it as pin jin since i m not going thru the customary thingy, rather an appreciation ang pow for my parents i guess.... my wedding is really between both of us, not so much of checking with parents...not bad huh,,hehe

no problem, you can drop by to see the red decor. My wedding date is 16 Sept. But hor, let me know who is coming, so that I won't go "huh, you are ??", at least I can say hello
143357.gif

Oh, just realised that 16-09 is a THURS... guess the best time to be there will be around 6.30?
so who's going???
My AD oso Thurs le,,
Lala, u mean that u change to the red theme when its nearer to ur AD?Was this proposed by Regent or u requested urself?

hving been in here for awhile, looks busy in here. btw, did anyone of you seen the new white theme? my AD is in jan05 but sign up the contract last yr. so i m not sure whether i can have the choice of both...

hi dor n bugbear, personally i felt more confident wif their table setting. I saw the few setups during the march wedding show n woz classy... i m jus worride abt the stage, floral stands n overall ambience loh. BTW, how many florals stands did you gals requested for the main ballrm? I thot 4 is quite pathetic and its not grand at all woh

Dor, you signed up so early ah...so whose ur coordinator? i jus sign up in july le..hehe

I find it quite weird...they seem to emphasize a lot of the table settings...but they did not showcase their stage and floral stands...and when i asked Sunil abt it, he say he will show me some sketches...hhhmm...i tot usually is 6 stands along the aisle? they only have 4??

Hi Lala. I want to go too
But at 630pm you will prob be still "Da Pan-ing" rite? Will we be able to meet you?

I also think that the floral deco too simple. That's why I'm thinking of adding to the deco at my own expense. Anyone intending to engage own florist to do up the place as well?

hi jan snow, bugbear
my ex co-ordinator is agnes. after she left, no one came to call me till i sent a 'nasty' email to them that no follow-up action is done. mayb they think it's too early but i think they shld do something. sunil attended to me but was passed to evelyn. we only conversed once. i still not sure wat's goin on now. i really wan to see their new setup but they said it's not done yet. u guys have any pic?? can sent to me
I sent them an email yest, but no one comes back to me yet. arrrggg.

Hv both of u gone thru the food tasting, did u do it on wkday or wkend? wat are ur perks. does it include swopping other dishes w/o add cost? evelyn told me they hv a new wine list, the aussie hardy amies is no longer available

i remember the flowers stand is 6 nos as per their ballroom plan to me. 4 along the march in and 2 at the stage.

oh things dun seems to gd abt their coordination hor....yalor i oso find the floral stands pathetic le...will check again on NEW themes since they dun seems to update us hor.
wine list??? hmmm i oni noe they have one new wine for consignment....

lala, do let us noe ur comfy time loh...if too late we will mingle as guest...haha

Ladies...i actually have some photos on the new tables settings...but it's hugh...i can't post it here..so if u are interested, i can send to u...leave ur email here k...but i think i will need to split to several emails

I have 4 different settings for VIP as well as 1 for the normal tables.

Hi bugbear, jan snow & tougei,
I didn't request for any specific theme, it was Sunil who suggested the red decor. He said he will take pics of the red decor set up during my wedding day for the hotel's future advertisement. Oh, instead of the usual dry ice or smoke for marchi-in, he is suggesting bubbles ....

I will be down for cocktail reception only at 7pm coz prior to that, I have church wedding in the hotel function room.

btw, when is your AD again and have you received your PS pics ??