Regent Singapore

hmeiyu23

Placid: when is urs? mine in 23 May 2010.. My friends been there, heard the food quite good.. i also signed with them over Pan Pac for their services..

Wat's ur perks like?

placid_mind

Hmeiyu23> My wedding is one week after yours! I will be having a lunch banquet so the perks offered is slightly different from the dinner. How is your preparation?

hmeiyu23

Placid: i see... nothing to prepare now.. i have already signed up with Sophia Wedding Collection..

I will be trying the gowns in nov, final fitting and PS will be in Jan..

Nothing much i can do now..

How abt u?

placid_mind

Hmeiyu23> Hi, thats my planning as well... gowns fitting in nov and PS in jan. fyi, I signed up with french studio. Guess right now is the slimming process for me... :p cheers

keithcaz

Hi all Regent brides and BTBs

Just to share some comments re Regent.

I shortlisted Regent for my wedding in Sep 2010. Very impressed with the ballroom, especially since it is on L1, and that there won't be many weddings in 1 night.

The downside is that there is no MRT nearby... so I end up with Marriott...

Would highly recommend Isabelle Wernitz, the catering manager to you. She's really professional, friendly and approachable.

:)

keithcaz

Oh, and re the food. I've been to 2 weddings there. Their food is from Summer Palace, very reputable restaurant, so no worries. But then again, food is subjective...

placid_mind

Glad to hear good feedbacks on the food.
I agree that location is not easily accessible. But also cos of it's location, it gives the "exclusive" feelings to most. Quite often dressed-up guests might want to take a cab instead. Also, can consider to charter a bus for guests. This way, most guests especially relatives can come on time. well well well... at the end of the day,its all up to own preferences. But its kind of Cazzie to compliment regent even though its not their final choice. Isabelle Wernitz must have done a good job. Cheers..

keithcaz

yup, isabelle is very nice. when htb emailed her to say we can't sign up with her, she was very gracious, and wished us luck. so sweet right?

hermes76

heard the recent case about 30 Chefs arrested for corruption, some are top chefs from this hotel, will this compromise the quality of food?

wlove

Herman: How did you know some chefs are from this hotel?

There's another upcoming wedding show from Regent on the 10th Oct, just got the news from an coordinator..

scorpion74

the head chef from Summer Palace, Goh Wooi Cheat, has resigned due to the investigations. Has our food tasting recently and very pleased with the food quality. Met Mr Goh recently and found him very nice and obliging.

Now he has resigned, we are very worried what the quality will be like though.

http://www.soshiok.com/articles/14205

Dear Singapore Brides members,

Greetings from The Regent Singapore.

While you may have heard of Chef Goh's departure, please be assured that this has not affected Summer Palace's high food standards.

Our Banquet culinary team remains intact, operations are functioning as per normal and our food quality remains top notch.

As always, The Regent Singapore is committed to providing an excellent dining experience under our Executive Chef, Executive Sous Chef and a team of seasoned Cantonese cuisine chefs.

Please feel free to contact The Regent Singapore's Catering Team at [email protected] if you have any further queries.

Thank you,
The Regent Singapore's Catering Team

Dear Singapore Brides Members,

We are pleased to invite you to our Love In Full Bloom Wedding Workshop, details are as follows:

Event: Love In Full Bloom Wedding Workshop
Date: 10 October 09 (Saturday)
Time: 12.30pm to 5pm (Registration starts at 12.30pm)
Admission Fee: $25.00nett and $20.00nett (DBS/POSB Cardmembers)

Register with us by Tuesday, 6 October 2009 and stand a chance to win attractive prizes including: -

- 3D2N Weekend Getaway at The Regent Singapore
- Cash voucher on Ling's customized wedding band worth $500nett
- Photography package from La belle Couture worth $1988nett
- 5-Hour Pre-Wedding MTV shoot from Damon Low Videography worth $1500nett
- Live! Studio Voucher worth $288nett
- Wedding Planning Package worth $500nett from Truly Harmony
- iWish! LIVE SMS package worth $428nett from SmsWedding
- Full spa manicure and spa pedicure package worth $400nett from Celebrity Nails
- 8 pairs of Basilico Buffet Lunch for 2 persons

For more information, kindly contact The Regent Singapore's Catering Team at 6725-3333 or [email protected]

Dear Kass,

Thank you for your messsage. We may have missed out on your email and we apologize for any inconvenience caused. If you could kindly provide the following details via email to [email protected], we would be more than delighted to assist accordingly.

Name of Groom:
Name of Bride:
Email Address:
Contact Numbers:
Date of Celebration:
Type of Celebration: Lunch/Dinner/Hi-Tea
No of Persons:

The Regent Singapore's Catering Team

limck007

Currently shortlisted Regent and Oriental...
Price: Regent win
Food: regent win

Services of the Coordinator and the actual crew on AD???

got comments abt them?>?

this sun i'm going down to regent to take a look

foofighter

I have a problem here.

For the AV in the grand ballroom, what format of your songs did you provide to the hotel? Mp3? Audio? If audio, self burnt or original cd?

Any ex-regent wedding couples to advise?

luvz17

Hi James,

I would say I am very satisfied with both. In fact, my coordinator stayed and opened the door for my 2nd March. The banquet manager & team are very professional. Very comfortable with them.

Hi Foo,
Mine was in mp3 format. I have both self burnt & original CD. Original CD is for march in songs & dish fanfare because these are the impt events that you cannot afford to have any glitch. The compilation for songs to be played throughout the night is self burnt. I have all kinds of back up eg in the laptop, in mp3, original cd, burnt cd. just in case something is wrong somewhere.

foofighter

Hi Luvz17,

Thank you for reverting.
The AV guy keep insisting they cannot play mp3 format. As we have our own compilation of songs to be played thruout dinner and it only makes sense to have it in mp3 format. We felt he wasn't helpful enough.

We wonder if anyone else who had their wedding at Regent and used mp3 format for the songs too?

hmeiyu23

I have went to both Oriental and Regent.

Both of their services are really professional. Though i have not met the actual crew but the first impression is very good for both.

If you mention abt the ballroom, i actually prefer Oriental. I fell in love with the ballroom once i stepped into it. But my HB dun like it as he said it is in a fan shaped. So when we march in, there will be curve march in. So he dun like the idea, as in like not a straight path.

At the end, i've choosen Regent over Oriental. One reason is the march in part (HB dun like), another reason is, it is too costly. I pay a little more, i can get Four Season Hotel liao.

Regent's ballroom gives me and my HB a very special feeling. very relax.. although i didn't fall in love, but it was very relaxing. I brought my in laws there and they love it.

wlove

This Sat is their wedding show, anybody going?

Hmm I also compared Oriental and Regent, Oriental has a very nice feel on its interior and exterior.. but Regent is nice in its interior. The main thing is, Regent's price is lower.. wahaha.

foo: why not talk to your coordinator and check with her whether it has been done for previous weddings before?

moonsafarian

i'm also deliberating over regent, hyatt & oriental! shortlisted these 3, i love the deco themes regent have, and the layout of tanglin room provides for a long, long march in, plus natural daylight w/ glass windows & a smoking area for my guests just outside the room.

BUT my HTB is icky about the couple of pillars by the windows. He says some of the guests won't be able to see the stage and that the room looks old, even after refurbishment. Sighz. Anyone held their wedding in the tanglin room? Any feedback?

wlove

Moon: Is Tanglin room the one on the second floor, opposite two small function rooms? If so, I think it's rather special, got windows can see the view (altho I'm not sure where it faces as I only saw it from the door entrance).

Are you holding a wedding lunch? Will be quite bright then!
Actually if you are holding below the maximum no. of tables it can accomodate, im sure you can arrange with the co-ord to avoid the pillars as much as possible..

moonsafarian

Hi sweetlove. yup that's the room!

my initial intent was lunch buffet (more hassle free!) now it's gonna be dinner since it's a weekday. Yeah, i like the windows too! Seems that there'll be guests who will be blocked. i've the dimensions of the room and the width is quite narrow. doubt that everyone can see the stage.

well, IMO, that isn't really imp since i won't be spending much time on stage. There's a projector anyway.. but he is fussier la. haha

wlove

moon: Hmm yeah, my hubby is also those kind who dont like to be in the spotlight, so I reckon the only times we'll be on stage is when there is the march-in and the toasting of champagne part. Haha..

Must psycho him- location not too bad, package quite good, waiver of corkage etc- all important factors to the cost, which I feel is quite alright. Also dont have to worry about sharing carparks, being in CBD area etc.

Bad point is that people (perhaps more towards the older generation) may not hear about Regent before, but then again, even if you hold in super famous hotel like Shangri-La, its not like they will give you that much extra in angpow?

wlove

Oh and yes, whats the view from Tanglin room? I can so imagine having candle lights and they will reflect on the window glass.. Hehe!

The Regent Singapore has begun an exclusive promotion for Singapore Airlines Cabin Crew. For all Singapore Airlines Cabin Crew, please access your Cabin Crew Schedule Page to find out more.

Promotion starts from now till 31 March 2010 for Wedding Dinners held by 31 December 2010.

Kindly contact The Regent Singapore's Catering Team at 6725-3333 or [email protected] for any further assistance.

foofighter

We've recently had our wedding at Regent. I must say from the day we booked the banquet till our wedding day, the service hasnt been too bad. We were rather happy with the services the hotel rendered. Our coordinator has been wonderful too. Comments on the food was good too.

The only complain we had from our guests was that the dessert portion was way too little. Many said that the portion they had was only enough for one mouthful. Some guests were kind and nice enuff to say that they had two mouthful of dessert that was served to them. After we received several of such complains / comments from the guests, we also checked with the guests at the VIP table and they had the same comment.

We are quite embarrassed that so many of our guests had the same comment. If it was just one or two guests commenting on this, we would have dismissed it. We did feedback on this to the hotel but were only informed that this will be feedbacked to the chef. This aspect, we are quite disappointed. It would have been nice if they could have given us a better explanation of why this happened? So that at least we can explain to our guests too. Its really embarassing for us to face our guests w/o a proper answer to reply.

Anyway, for those of you who are considering Regent, it is worth considering. Just make sure you do take note of the food / dessert portion!

Also, the bridal suite doesnt hv the bridal mood or feeling at all. This is one area that The Regent perhaps can look into improving.

hmeiyu23

Maybe Regent can like decorate a bit of the bridal suite to provide the couple a more wedding feeling rather than just a normal accommodation.

Hope they will improve in this area before my wedding day.

wlove

Hi Foo,

Good to hear your wedding went quite smoothly overall. Were your guests full? I just attended a wedding at Pan Pac and there was just so much food till we did not even eat much of the last 2 dishes.

Perhaps you can feedback to your coordinator. Anyway, yes I agree they can decorate it further- at least when they say they give "Four Seasons Service", it extends to all areas, no?

coriela

Is anyone thinking of having their solemnisation at the Regent too before the dinner reception?

Has anyone done it before? Please give me your comment. Am thinking of having mine at Regent but will like to know what are the feedback on that,

andrina

Just attended a wedding dinner at Regent.

Even though we had only 9 people at our table, I also felt that the food was not very enough...considering that half the table were gals.

Service was not very fast too as they seemed under-staffed. Drinks took a long time to be refilled. Some of the food was not very hot as tables were served at diff times due to the lack of staff. Shark fins soup and the mango dessert were tasty I must say.

foofighter

For us, the service was ok. None of the guests complained so far.

Its only the dessert portion that we had many complains. Still very disappointed with them that they had not bothered to follow up with us on this until now.

hmeiyu23

This really make me very worried! Think the changing of chef really does affect the quality of food.

And thot they promise that the standard will be the same even with the changes.

This is really disappointing. Considering they are providing a four season services.

xiaomau

any other comments on regent?

im thinking of choosin regent- but.. not sure of how it is in terms of wedding apart from food too little, anything else?

Dear Singapore Brides Members,

The Regent Singapore is pleased to appoint Chef Liu Ching Hai as Summer Palace’s new Chinese Executive Chef. He brings to the restaurant signature
specialties such as Braised Superior Bird's Nest with Lobster and Gold Leaf,Crispy Scallops with Fresh Pear and Pan Fried Lamb Loin with String Beans.

Hailing from Hong Kong, Chef Liu is a dedicated professional with over 20 years experience in fine Chinese cuisine. His repertoire of delectable
Cantonese cuisine has been enjoyed by dignitaries, diplomats, Hollywood and Hong Kong celebrities.

Prior to his appointment at The Regent, Chef Liu worked at several high-end restaurants in Singapore and a five-star hotel chain in Bangkok, Jakarta and Kuala Lumpur.
His career highlights include a Hong Kong Tourism Association's “Best Culinary Skills Award’’ and television show cooking demonstrations in China and Singapore.

Chef Liu will be happy to create the Wedding menu of your dreams!

Join us at the upcoming "Love in Full Bloom" Wedding Workshop at our Royal Pavilion Ballroom and savour Chef Liu's delicious creations.

Event: "Love In Full Bloom" Wedding Workshop
Date: 14 March 2010 (Sunday)
Time: 1.30pm to 5.00pm (Registration starts at 1.00pm)
Admission Fee: $25.00nett and $20.00nett (DBS/POSB Cardmembers)

Register with us by 10 March 2010 and stand a chance to win attractive prizes, including :

Chris Ling Paris Photography Package with Eugene Goh worth $6000.00nett
Wedding Gown from Amanda Lee Weddings worth $3000.00nett
3D2N Weekend Getaway at The Regent Singapore
Cash voucher on Ling's customized wedding band worth $500.00nett
Live! Studio Voucher worth $288nett
Wedding Planning Package worth $500nett from Truly Harmony
9 pairs of Basilico Buffet Lunch for 2 persons

For more information, please contact The Regent Singapore's Catering team at 6725-3333 or [email protected]

koalamao

good to know chef liu has joined summer palace.

my wedding will be in december this year, hopefully the quality of the cuisine will as impressive as ever = )