Regent Singapore

grumpy

Hi tougei,

The price for the AD photography can be found under the promotion link. I got their 2 photographer digital package which is still going for $699. I don't know when the promotion will end though. I think at this price it is a steal. The only drawback is that there is no album and no prints. I don't mind as I don't think an album + 200 prints is worth $1000+ more as offered by most of the other photography packages and they hover around the $2000 range and there is only 1 photographer. What's more, Kalyedoscope promise to take at least 800 pictures. With 2 photographers and 800 pictures, I think basically everything is covered. Futhermore I get to choose the ones that I like to develop, though developing digital prints cost >$0.50.

As for videography, I am not so particular about it so I got my wife's good friend's husband to do it for us.

grumpy

I also wanted a real wedding cake as I find it meaningless to pose for a fake wedding cake but after enquiring around, the lowest I can find is $400+ for 10kg. In the end, after considering the costs, we gave up the idea. :p

huiling

Hi Beary, I think someone mentioned that outside food is not allowed in Regent, which means that we must get regent to bake a cake if we want one right?

heard so much about the wedding favors and i have not seen any yet! Boohoo! so there are many choices? so far i gathered that there are chocolates, old couple figurines, bears, keychains, test tube rose buds. any other choice?

hmm, Beary did you use the bubble machine? is Jan_snow using the bubble machine? must come back and tell us how it was like!

grumpy

I did not know of anything about outside wedding cake not allowed into Regent, never got far enough to think of asking Regent. :p

The old couple figurine is the most unique wedding favors around and it is the newest collection in Regent's list of wedding favors. All my guests like this wedding favor and commented that this is the most meaningful favor they have come across.

We never used the bubble machine. Only the smoke machine plus the popping confettis (by the guests along the aisle) that was a surprise arrangement between our helpers and the banquet manager which we knew nothing about.

jan_snow

yeap i think i wil be having the bubble machine le...but not during march in. Its during the champange pouring session i guess.

tougei, personally i prefer the test tube favour to the figurines i have chosen but in terms the general view, guess the figurines were more appropriate..moreover, they will be nicely wrapped in boxes and ribbons le...

mezzan

Yeah, i advise you all not to rent projectors from the hotels. I asked for a quote from the hotel and they quoted me for $350 and it was only 1,000Lumens!!! Anyway , i managed to rent 2 projectors total $280.00 and one is 1,300 Lumens and other was 2,000Lumens if i remembered correctly. That included delivery, setup and cables!!

tou2

Hi Bugbear,

I opted for the jazz but I don't have any information on it as yet. I only heard from Sunil that it's a 3-piece jazz band with a sax player.

Sorry, my memory is really bad but have you decided on your venue yet

huiling

hallo qiuyan, may I ask how much wd it cost if i only want one projector? sorry I'm ignorant, but why did you opt for two projectors? is it because you wanted to make sure that all your guests can see the presentation? also, what is the difference when the projectors have different lumens?

hallo tougei! i also want a jazz band! but my fiance says vry weird to have a stranger in our wedding since our guest list is so small. he prefers to have a friend to sing instead.

hallo bugbear, are you also considering fullerton hotel? yours is in 2006 right? soon it will come!

crushh

Hihi Qiuyan,

My wedding slated to be at the Regent in April 05. Trying to find the most economical source for the 2 projectors, cable, and switchbox. Can pass me your contact? Thanks

bugbear

Hi Girl...yes yes...i am also looking at Fullerton...but Fullerton is a little rigid in terms of their perks and i am very concern with their portion of food...and yes, mine is 2006. lots of time

mezzan

Hi gals, yeah, i need 2 projectors as i have 45 tables. Moreover, my ballroom is quite long, hence my guests behind cannot see the screen lah if i only have 1 projector. I think if i remembered correctly, the guy quoted me $140 for the normal projector and the other for $170 for a high-end projector. But bcos i need 2 projectors, i asked for a discount..hehehehe

Ivy, i have received ur email and have replied u. Pls email or PM me if u dun get it.

huiling

ok thanks Qiuyan! since my guest list is small, I guess I wd only need one normal projector. could you pass me the contact number of the vendor?

hallo bugbear, actually my fiance loves fullerton the hotel very much. we were wondering if we sd have our wedding there, due to our number we cd only take the ballroom upstairs, don't know what it is called. some people said it is very nice, but some said it is just a room. personally I have not seen it yet. have not seen the bridal suite too. one of my friends said it is just a room, the gimmick is that it has another level.

bugbear

hi girl....u mean Fullerton, besides the big ballroom has another smaller ballroom?? I have not seen that as well
As for the bridal suite, i understand that it's 2 storey the entire 1st storey is the living hall and stuffs...the entire 2nd storey is the bedroom. I heard reviews that it's even better than Ritz bridal suite...but i missed the chance to see it when i was there...was fully booked then. maybe u want to also join us in the Fullerton thread??

busybee

hi huiling and bugbear!

yup, besides the ballroom, fullerton has the straits room to offer. it's sorta like a function room but more intimate than corporate. personally, if i were throwing a smaller party, i'd have seriously considered having it at the straits room.

about the bridal suites...since i'm such a goose for the old grandeur charm, i love the double storey french door leading out to the balcony! those doors make it more than just a room for me. hahaha...

bugbear
still twiddling your thumbs since the last time we spoke?
anyways, since it's my dream to have some sorta jazzy wedding with a live band, i'd most probably be opting for the jazz ensemble, except i know just about what tougei knows too. heheh...i'd try to dig about a bit for more info and would share it with you gals when i get them yah?

sharkfynn
where have you been?!

bugbear

Hi Busybee!!

Yah lor...sad to say that me still no progress yet
Been quite bz with work lately...so everything been sitting on the shelf :p
Ok ok..when u have more info...remember to update us huh :D Thanks in advance!

huiling

hallo everyone! need some good advice from you! I have never eaten or seen a chocolate fondue before. could someone share their experience with it? how is it presented or how does it taste like? anyone seen it at a wedding before?

hallo busybee! what? what? what do you know? hehe, quick share!

hallo sharky, found a photographer yet?

tou2

Hi Huiling, I tried the one at Olive Tree at HIC. But it was a long time ago. They had a metal circular container with a flame underneath and chocolate inside, and plates of fresh fruits (cut and poked with satay sticks) on the table around it. The guests will just dip the sticks of fruits into the chocolate.

Heard from my fren that Hyatt has the sticks inserted on stands such that it looks a "tree" with sticks of fruits coming out. Maybe you can consider that too

May I know who else's looking for budget photographer and videographer?

bugbear

Hi Tougei...me looking for budget videographer...u got lobang ar?

I think the choc fondue is going to be very nice for the guests. Any one has any idea how much we need to pay for that?

HI Huiling,

same thoughts! I had wanted to have chocolate fondue as the dessert for my banquet as well, but duno how to go about it leh. Any advice that you have heard in discussing with the co-ordinators?

sharkfynn

Nope not found my budget photographer yet. I made some arrangement to meet them but not actually met them yet. Now dont know if i should get a videographer as well for the ceremony. haha. my wedding getting more and more complicated.

I went for a chocolate buffet at Fullerton once and seriously, I felt so sick after one helping. Everything was CHOCOLATE. hahaha!!! And I LOVE chocolate but that was definitely WAYYYY too much.

huiling

hallo everyone, thanks for the feedback regarding the choc fondue. no idea how regent intends to go about doing it nor the cost cuz sunil has not gotten back to me. I think sunil mentioned something like it is difficult to maintain the choc fondue for large crowd. so if any of you gals have a long guest list, maybe choc fondue may not be possible. but you can double confirm with regent.

hallo sharky i know what you mean when you say wedding is getting complicated. it is once in a lifetime after all and which couple wouldn't want the best and the thorough? Plus we are spending so much money! better make it good and memorable!

tou2

Hi Bugbear, I found some videographers that I thot were reasonably priced. If you want, I can PM you.

Hi Sharky, yar, me too!! Didn't intend to get a videographer but my Grandmother "wants" an express highlights during dinner so now gotto source for a videographer liao. She told me photo montage not as nice as morning highlights so no choice... Hehe, she very modern hor? Which budget photographer are you looking at?

bugbear

Hi Tougei...

If you can PM me the contacts, it would be great. Thanks!
Tougei, your granny really very modern leh. Somemore ask for video to be shown

sharkfynn

tougei, they are photographers who contacted me. Coz i have been posting in the photography section about trying to find one. My idea of budget photography is anything under $600 for digital. Actually I think that is already pretty expensive... but as long as he/she is bettter than the amateur standard, I am happy already. I'll let you know on the ones I shortlist

How much is the videography priced at? I thought i just want a basic package. Dont know if i should get friends to do it. I only want to film the church ceremony. The dinner and all that a bit out of point.

tou2

Hi Sharky

Yar, I have met up with a few photographers too. All below $600 hehe... Have you checked out Waipeng and K*hHeng? Think they are both alright. I met this guy called Elson too. My FH likes his style but I find him too young. Do let me know who you recommend

I found a few videographers - Capture Moments, Emotionpics, MirrorCreations and WildeBox. All are ok but I like Miror one best but he's too ex. Hehe, I am also looking at a half day package for videography but I need express highlights so cant get friends to do it

sharkfynn

haha i met elson yesterday. did you also meet him? hehe. I dunno lah. I have reservations about it... seems more of a hobby for him than a career.. not that i have a problem with that... just that i read these stories about people gettig dumped by their AD photographers and left to find another at short notice. I'm kinda worried about that.

I going to see one last photographer tonight before i make my decision.

tou2

Hi Sharky,

Same same, I am going to meet Chapterone on Sun before deciding. See too many also blur. Actually I cant really tell the difference between the "styles". I can only rely on chemistry between us and the photographer lor. Have you decided on yours yet?

Hi Bugbear, it's ok lar
Yours is in Dec 05 right? Still have time but must start looking around soon cos Dec is HOT HOT period. Think the popular ones like Y@ppies already fully booked till Oct liao.

sharkfynn

Do you have waipeng's contact? I actually like K*hHeng's work and he seems to be getting better too. Unfortunately we waited too long. I went on holiday, got distracted by the house and just didnt contact him. Ha. My fault.

How much does chapterone charge? is it also about the same price range? I want to have digital photography. And frankly, i think 1000++ is too much to pay for digital.

tou2

Hi Sharky

Waipeng is at 96935299. Are you still getting KH then or is he taken on your date?

I went to look at all three's work -K*hHeng, Ahpeng, and Elson- on their webby last nite. Thot Elson's one is still better in the sense that there is always a central person in each photo. K*hHeng have some really awkward angles. But Elson like only got this particular portfolio for show. Dunno if it's a good representative of his work cos' nber get to gauge whether his standard is consistent.

sharkfynn

Actually i think that of the three you mentioned, Waipeng has the most potential. Its just my personal feel of it from the pictures on her website. http://www.geocities.com/ahp*ngp*ng/ That and female photographers tend to have more heart when they are taking pictures. Females are just more into capturing details. And when i say details, i dont mean a close up shot of the flowers or wedding rings... i cant explain it. Ha. Anyway my guess is she is just starting out thats why her rates are lower.

* with e

tou2

Hi sharky, I met up with Elson last nite again to see another 2 of his albums. Was quite impressed by his people shots (the expressions are well captured) and so finally decided to sign up with him. Managed to bargain for $450 hehe

He says he is willing to give the same price for my frens so if anyone is interested, let me know lar

I liked AhP*ngP*ng too. Think that she will be a nice person to work with. But her photos didn't leave too strong an impression on me leh. Have you settled on your photographer yet?

huiling

hallo tougei, do you have the website for Elson or his contact number? Does $450 include an album?

anyway gals/guys, some updates about my own prep. I'm thinking of simplifying my wedding attire. instead of getting a wedding gown, maybe just get a long white dress. I'm solemninising at the chapel at Singapore arts museum. it is pretty small. Hope that you can give me some advice, really am puling my hair out. Don't know what to decide.

tou2

Hi Huiling

Err... thot you are with TWP? Or did I get the wrong person
Is it just for your solemnisation? Not your wedding dinner right? SAM is very nice, you are having your reception at the glass foyer is it?

By the way, Elson usually charges $500. I think I have spoilt his market hehe
If you want to meet him, can you let me know so I can give him a call first?

huiling

hallo tougei,

yep I'm with TWP, just thought maybe I should save money, let go of the package and settle for a simple dress. In the end decided to go for a wedding gown, once in a lifetime, can never wear again.

so you settle your photography? how is your wedding prep? design by Margaret out already? Your wedding is next July? must tell me how is Leon lim's makeup! And ya still getting a band for your dinner?

will give you a call first before meeting Elson!

tou2

Hi Huiling

Yer yer, I think you made the right choice
I feel that every gal should have this experience in her lifetime to remember by. So are you still going with Regent? Or will everything be at SAM?

I have confirmed my WG design with Margaret liao. Going for fitting in Jan
Quite excited and worried at the same time. Worried that it will look horrid since it's MTM.

I settled my photography and videography liao and bought my shoes last nite at Tangs. So now feel abit at loss cos' nothing to do liao hehe...

I will be having my trial MU in Mar 05 so will update you on Leon's MU then

huiling

hallo tougei yep I'm still having it at Regent, taking my time to talk to Sunil. was supposed to meet up with him a couple of times but it is either he can't make it at the last minute, or we can't. have you seen the new invitation cards yet?

Guess what ? I also saw a pair of heels that I like at Tangs. I don't wear heels at all, suddenly need to buy a 2.5 inches heels, feel abit scared. is it hard to walk on?

i'm trying to cut cost leh, if leon lim makeup is not super super fantastic, then maybe I get a friend to makeup for me.

anyway, is Jan_Snow supposed to get married in december?? ahh! is it over yet? hey Jan snow! congrats!

sharkfynn

Huiling> Actually i think it may be cheaper to make a dress rather than to buy. If you make those simple ones, I dont think it will cost too much. I think those Daniel Yam is cheap but... maybe only 100-200 cheaper then having it tailored.

For me what i ended up doing is to get a wedding gown from one place and going to seamstress/tailor to make the evening gown & maybe tea dress. You know hor, i was browsing at the vera wang collection and the bridesmaid dresses are really nice!!! They are actually pretty grand and its like 80% cheaper than the WG collection! Problem is that you probably have to get someone to get it for you or maybe The Link will help you bring it in. Go check it out on the website.

No, I still not decided on photographer yet. All the ones I want are taken!!! Even trying to find MUA aslo have problems!!

tou2

Hi Huiling

No leh, haven spoken to Sunil for such a long time. I tried to send him an email but didn't get any reply. After that, I got caught up with other things and forgot

Hehe, yar, my heels is 3 inches and I am also worried that I will fall flat on my face. Normally I only wear the most 1.5 inch heels. So I am thinking of practicing by wearing the heels at home hehe...

Is your fren good with MU? Have you asked her to do your MU before? And can she do hair? If yes, I supposed that it should be alright. Even those expensive MUA kena complaints too hehe...

Oh yar, Jan's wedding is supposed to be in Dec. Wonder how is she? Maybe she's at her honeymoon now

huiling

sharky, really? Vea wang bridemaid collection is much cheaper? But still four figure right? Aiyah, wedding is so expensive. we are poor people! *wail*

I don't like daniel yam, very common leh. I once attended a wedding where the two bridesmaids bought the same silver daniel yam dress. One of them was quite paiseh so she changed her dress.

hallo tougei, just realised that the heels i'm eyeing is 3 inches high! gasp. anyway, i have not get my friend to try out her MU skill on me yet. and you are right! even expensive MUA kena complaints.

jan_snow

hello yes yes, my wedding this thurs wor....hehe
anyone coming to c the setup?i noe dor mayb coming lo...

i hav more or less settled all the stuff wif regent oredi. Now just staying at home doing the countdown...Cheers!!!

huiling

hallo sharky. yes, the bridesmaid collection is very pretty. any idea how much it cost to bring it in? I think i will seriously consider it. i like gown 31. It says the material is made of satin, it is not duchness satin right? bridemaid don't usually wear duchness satin.

hallo Jan snow! I have forgotten which is your BS. is it also Divine? who is doing your MU and what kind of look are you going for? ahhh so exciting. I might not be able to make it on thurs. what time is your reception?

tou2

Hi jan, congrats!! You must be very excited since your AD is less than 2 days away
I will try to drop by on Thurs if I can. Which theme did you choose? The jazz or the chinios? Will you be having the ensemble?

Hi Huiling, hehe sekali we liked the same pair of shoes. Is the one you like silver in color?

I totally agree about Daniel Yam's dresses. I supposed it's ok if you are wearing it for D&D or as bridesmaid but maybe not as a bride when you are supposed to stand out.