Regent Singapore

huiling

hi dor, you can try amor meus at esplanade. there is also this boutique beside lei garden restaurant at chijmes that does cheong sam.

or you can tailor made one at Empire (which belongs to The wedding present)

sharkfynn

My MIL suggested I go to Lady Xiang (cheong sum store in Centrepoint) its either on the 3rd or the 2nd level. Probably going there to check it out this weekend. Keep you posted if I like anything i see.

tou2

Hi gals. I was also thinking of making a CS
But I went to Allure and most of their CS are sold
The new designs will only come in Jan/Feb 05. Went to Ted Collection too but wasn't very impressed.

Hi Sharky, oh I think I went into the CS shop at Centrepoint b4. Quite ex though

Hi Dor, think the usual "Handiwork cost" for a CS is about $200 from a seamtress. But you have to buy the material yourself. But think it will still come up to less than $300. Is your CS by a designer or seamstress?

Hi Chubby, can you share on how much Dang charges for a CS? Thanks!

huiling

Hi sharky, busybee, jan snow, tougei. I have PM you. check out the deal!

hallo dor, the CS you described seems quite elaborate. I supposed $300 is reasonable. of course, it depends on the cutting as well. you can also try madam butterfly at takashimaya. I love their stuff

chubbyrain

Hi dor n tougei,

hee, i m not very sure how much dang charges for her CS leh.. cos i din tailor any, i juz like wat i saw at her boutique..
maybe u gals can call her?
pai seh..

sharkfynn

eps! I went to the CS shop in Centrepoint, you are right!! Its pretty ex! Some of the embroidery work is soo bold (and scary). Not that its not nice, just too chinese! Like from those period drama. haha! But I did see some that I liked but wayyyyy too expensive.
I personally love Amanda Lee's work with Cheong Sums but I dont need anything desinger-ish. Her rates are from $600 onwards

dor

hey ladies
i found a shop, Joan attic, at far east plaza 3rd who do dresses and cs too. I m doin mine ther cos dun hv much time left for me. She is a designer, also do makeup too. The lady is chargin $300 for a CS teadress. go ther n check out if u wan to. and her material is pretty nice too.

hi tougei
ya i went allure too. all CS almost sold out. I like the lime green butterfly one but it's a M size and cost $299. Slightly big for me so I must well MTM one instead. So allure is out for me. After all the comparison, i think the quote for my CS are rather reasonable for that type of material.

tou2

Hi Huiling. Your frens sounds good
but my AD will be only in Jul 05 leh

Hi Chubbyrain, it's ok lar. Thanks for the recommendation anyway. Dang doesn't just do CS rite?

Hi Sharky, yar the flowers on the CSs are very BIG and colorful hor? I was looking for some delicate embroidery type

Hi Dor, the $300 is for a short CS inclusive of materials, isit?

huiling

Hi tougei, actually that is not my friend, just a lobang that I gotten.

Hallo everyone! I have been trying to get Sunil for two weeks! He does not return call at all, not even when I left a message. Does anyone has the same problem? he gave me his hp number before but i lost it. anyone could pass his number to me? want to discuss my wedding luncheon with him. i have finally decided on regent, 100% confirm. want to discuss the details with him and sign contract. but it is so impossible to contact him.

tou2

Hi Huiling

I have PM you his hp liao. By the way, does Regent reply emails? I have sent them an email 2 months ago and no reply at all

chubbyrain

Hi tougei,

yup.. Dang is my BS.. so had my WG n EG MTM there
luv her.. hee

i tink regent is rather prompt in replying emails leh.. i sent a email to their reservation dept last week n they got back on the same day.. perhaps sunil on leave?

tou2

Thanks Chubbyrain!!

Hi lala, long time no see you in this thread
Me now kind of holiday mood at work liao hehe. I gotto confirm my WG design by Dec but I still cant decide on what to do for the back of the gown

jan_snow

morning all. so far, me finsihed my food tasting liao. will be collecting inserts and stickers this week. will oso finalise details with regent by this week...wow

chubbyrain

Hi lala,
u hv lots of cute emoticons hor?
always c u using cute cute ones.. where do u find them?

Hi tougei,
hee, me dunno wat to contribute sometimes, so juz read lor

HI jan snow,
ur AD drawing near, excited?

tealeaf

Hi tougei,
wow ... holiday mood at work ??!!! How I wish !!!! What design are you looking at for your WG ??? Which bridal shop ??

Hi Jan Snow,
how was the food tasting ?? Is the portion small ?? So, managed to bargain for better deals already ??

Hi Chubbyrain,
thanks ... me got from internet and some from the forum loh
Think I haven't reply for email to me hor (me getting old) okie ... will do so later ... kekeke

jan_snow

hi chubby, yep AD abt 1 mth away n still haven really settle wif things lo...me like v easy going le...prb will b bz after getting the inserts etc cos gotto send out cards liao

hi lala, yep food was ok and well presented. Though its for 8 pax but all of us (9 of us) cannot finish lo....yes yes, i luv the chicken too, thot was special compared to the usual one hor

will update u gals again after i meet them this weekend, Cheers!!!

tou2

Hi lala, my BS is Margaret Brides
Will be getting a lace halter-neck for my WG but dunno what to do for the back of the gown. Hope to get something divine like Divine's but I forgot the details of the gowns I saw there liao hehe... Cant see the full effect from mags also. Problem is my WG is satin, not organza, so more difficult to do anything interesting for the back.

Hi Jan, your AD very soon but you are such a relaxed bride
If it's me I will prob be very gan keong liao. Which chix are you referring to? The Mongolian one or the BiFengTang one?

jan_snow

hi tougei,, aiyah mine is a simple wedding mah, its just dinner...so i am like attending a dnd, just that i am the host lor...hiak hiak
oh the chicken is the one in the original menu,,, cos i din change anything fr the menu lor...
think someone commented it looks messy but i think is very colourful and tasty....

huiling

hallo tougei! thank you very much! i was so frustrated that i wanted to change coordinator or consider other venues
one thing though, does sunil pick up his hp? so far did you manage to arrange any meeting with him?

i thought regent is understaff or something. the communication is so bad.

hey lala, just want to check with ya, your makeup artist was joanne right? i have a friend getting married in March and she is not getting any package from BS, ala carte. but she likes joanne makeup very much

anyone doing a chocolate fondue?

tou2

Hi Jan, yours is the weekday or weekend menu hur? Sorry, i forgot liao

Hi huiling, yes, Sunil does pick up when I called last time. Unless he's on leave?

Ooohh, are you doing a chocolate fondue?? Think will really leave a great impression on the guests.

dor

Hi tougei
The CS quote comes with the material too

Hi Huiling
Dun worry, I bet u have talked to Sunil now. He's on leave during the festive period. I juz met up wif him after his leave to finalise our wedding stuff.He had a bad sore throat too.

Hi Chubbyrain
You took the jazz theme,rite. Can I see ur photos on how it look like? Thks

huiling

hey tougei, yep i would very much like to do one. would you know how much it wd cost per guest? my friend told me that since mine is a luncheon, people might just give a $50 hongbao! faint...

hallo dor, i still have not contacted him yet. will try his HP as a last resort

tou2

Hi Huiling, sorrie I'm not sure abt the cost. Have you asked Regent if a fondue is possible?

Hehe, I don't think ppl will give $50 lar
But some may give $60 though. Actually, if the person is "kiam", even dinner will also give very little one. By the way, is lunch the same price as dinner?

Hi Dor, in this case it is quite resonable
But I think I'm not getting a CS liao. Save the money for a videographer instead

chubbyrain

224727.jpg

this is the only photo i managed to scan of the ballroom, its kind of small..wonder if u gals can c the jazz theme setup.. anyway, i rem someone uploading pics of the ballroom during my wedding, tt was nicer

sorrie, my AD photos not digital format, so din not scan alot..

huiling

thanks chubbyrain, i thought the photo was very well taken!

btw i managed to contact sunil. finally. hope the negotiation goes well.

grumpy

Hey all, We just had our wedding banquet last Sunday. It was wonderful to say the least. The food was well received with majority of our guests rated it as good. Just some assurance for any couples with upcoming banquet at Regent.

Anyway, just enjoy your evening and leave the worrying to the Banquet manager and team. I feel the Banquet team is highly professional and efficient.

There are of course some things that can be improved and I wish to share with you.

1. Have your main co-ordinator (normally your best friend) step away from the reception table (and not be involved in the guest registration) and be aware of the growing crowd of guests. Once he/she feel that cocktail reception area is getting crowded and about 60% of the guests have arrived, have the Banquet Manager open the doors to the ballroom. For us, the feedback was that the doors should have been open sooner as it was over-crowded outside the ballroom.

2. Bring your own portable printer (if you keep everything in a laptop) in case of last minute table re-arrangements (which I had quite a bit)so that you can re-print your guests lists without too much changes made to your existing ones. This will reduce confusion.

3. Brief your parents properly and prepare them for the confusion that will likely happen (e.g. Auntie A found her seat occupied by Uncle B, or Uncle C wants to sit with Uncle D and refuse to return to his allocated seats.) Task them to handle such cases as relatives will tend to relent only when your parents intervene. Brief your parents not to usurp the Banquet Manager's or your main co-ordiantor's authority (This is critical). My parents actually wanted to have the ballroom's doors open to let the guests in on their own accord. My father even 'hijacked' the guests list so that he can let his friends know their seating arrangemnts leaving my friends stranded at the reception table without the list and a queue of guests forming.

4. It is important that your main co-ordinator and AV co-ordinator (for projector and songs) are not playing multiple roles. They need to focus solely on their tasks so as to ensure that the evening unfold as per planned.

Oh, by the way, if any of you are bringing in your own projectors (one on each side of the ballroom) and require the 30m long high quality SVGA cable to connect up the 2 projectors, I can lend it to you for a token sum (for transportation to and fro actually). I bought the cable from Sim Lim Square as I simply refuse to loan the cable from Regent's AV equipment vendor for $150. Anyway, I bought it for only $89. :p

Interested parties can email me at [email protected]

Cheers and all the best for those with upcoming banquets.

grumpy

Oh, some more observations from our wedding:

1. Many people are unaware that Regent is a world class hotel so be prepared for a number of $50 Ang Pows.

2. Average Ang-Pows is about $75-$80 as people tend to put Regent together in the same league as Hilton and Orchard Hotel. So be prepared to lose a bit.

3. Parking tickets ran out very fast, so for those who have yet to finalize your negotiations with Regent, ask for 30% of number of confirmed guests (instead of the usual 20%). This should be just nice or face paying $4 for every additional ticket.

4. Negotiate for your wedding cards to be 70% of confirmed guests. I find 60% to fall just short of my needs as most of my friends are singles. So I had to pay $2.50 for each extra wedding card.

5. Get in touch with your actual day on-duty Regent co-ordinator a few days prior to your wedding to step through the BEO (Banquet Event Order, I think) with him/her. He/She may not be the one you normally talk to.

Hope these helps.

huiling

hallo beary thanks for sharing! i think the Regent brides will certainly bear the the above information in mind!

you mean that beside paying for the projector we need to pay for the cable too? *faint* actually hor, i think no matter which hotel it is, $50 hongbao is too little. cuz i thought the market rate for restaurant is already $60

bugbear

Hi beary...thanks very much sharing. I am sure it will give upcominh brides some idea of what to expect and be prepared for it

Hhmm...$50 ang bao seems a bit too little huh. I was also a little concerned. It seems to me that quite a lot of people don't know where Regent is and don't seem to know that it's a 5* hotel

huiling

hallo bugbear, yeah lor... many people don't kow where regent is...sob.. it's the location lah. sigh..tell them it is a five start hotel, they don't seem to believe. but no choice, i like the place!

tou2

Hi Beary, thanks a million for you advice
I made my FH read too so he can remind me if I forgot anything hehe...

Can you tell me how's the service for the dinner? Are the waiters professional or "kalang kabut" types? I have heard some comments on the service which made me worried.

I agree with Huiling that $50 is abit too little even for 4 star hotels. Think these hongbaos must be from the older folks who doesn't know the market rate hehe
Sigh, i already expect to lose the hongbaos from my Grandma's relatives liao.

grumpy

Just to clarify a little, I am the groom. My wife says I am always grumpy but huggable hence the nick.

I know $50 is a bit on the low end but it does happen as shown in my case. I even had an interesting Ang Pow of $48.60, strange huh? But my wife and I like the ambience and food too much to care about the risks and it turned out ok as we managed to break even (barely though) with the help of our generous releatives and close friends. You'll be surprised that it is mostly the older folks (relatives) that are more generous as they really give out of love for you and not out of obligations which is the case for your not-so-close friends. Our relatives gave an average of $150 per person, which is why we are able to break even. The record was $500 for 2 seats.

Oh one more pointer, no matter how well you plan the seats or how many times you called up your guests to remind them, there will always be absentees during the banquet, just don't be too upset when you do see the holes in the crowd. For us, we called our guests at least 3 times, once before we sent the invitation cards, once after they received the cards and one last time a couple days before, and I still have about 15 guests who did not turn up. We even had a table with 4 guests and a couple with 6... talk about wastage of food.

As for the level of service mentioned by tougei, I think there are bound to be some inexperienced and clumsy waiters/waitresses but in general, the feedback was that it is good and prompt. One of my friends even remarked that this is the best service he has observed after all the wedding banquets he and his wife have been to.

At the end of it all, do remember to enjoy your evening.

grumpy

As for the cables, you will only need it if you bring in your own projectors. If you loaned the 2 projectors from the AV vendors at the princely sum of $350 each, they will 'generously' throw in the cable for you. For us, we managed to borrow 2 projectors that are rated at 1300 and 1600 lumens respectively which is better than those provided by the vendors which are both 1200 lumens. I guess if you can get your hands on any projectors >1200 lumens, the projection should be visible enough for the guests at the end of the ballroom. You will still need a video switch-box, which I borrowed, (1 input (from laptop) -> 2 outputs (at projectors)) to ensure signal integrity at both projectors.

grumpy

Oh, by the way, if any of you are looking for good and reasonably priced AD journalistic photography, you can try Kalyedoscope ([email protected]). They did an excellent job covering my AD wedding and lighten up the mood and loosen the tension by talking and joking with us. You can see their work at http://www.kalyedoscope.com

We took the digital package so it was like 600-700 pics per day (Church wedding 1st day and Dinner 2nd day). The coverage was total.

I will try to post some pics once I receive everything from them.

huiling

wow Beary! you are very detailed in your explanation! it is very helpful! I wish mine would come sooner! hahah, can't wait to marry off!

BTW, all regent brides/groom to be, the hotel has brought in new designs for invitation cards, from Lil art. they are still pending, subject to approval from the management. don't want to tell ya what the designs are like now in case some of it don't get approved. but from what I see so far, they are good stuff!

tou2

Hi Beary, oh you are a guy
Haha, dunno why I always assume that the posters are the brides. Wow, your relatives are really generous. For me, I will be happy as long as I don't lose too much.

Can I check with you how much is the AD photography? I cant seem to find their price in their website. Do you have any good-value videography to recommend too?

Hi Huiling, oohhh...how many new designs are there? Did you see the wedding favours too?

huiling

hallo tougei! let me count, i think 3 new designs, there are different colours. one of the cards is black in colour, so it may not go through.

i did not see the favours, in fact i have never seen the favours before! hope to see it the next time round

jan_snow

lala, wan to check wif u was the cake u chosen too small for the ballrm? i thot that was more unique but i was told to check out the tier cake instead....
as for wedding favours, i settled wif the old couple figurines since they are nicely wrapped in boxes...cool....i luv the bears but too bad, it doesn't come in a pair...

tou2

Hi huiling, Black?!! goodness, think my grandma will kill me if she sees it hehe. But it will be a talking point among my frens

I have not seen the favours too
But I saw the test tube with rose buds that I liked in one of the weddings.
Lala, is it your wedding that have this favour?

Jan, you have confirmed on getting a real cake har? How much will that cost?

Oh, i had the old couple figurines during a wedding at Fullerton. Got 3 designs right? - one in Vesper, Mercedes, and one on chair I think. Very cute
but in the end i took 4 figurines home cos' the guys all don't want theirs.

jan_snow

tougei, me no $ la...of cos the dummy cake lo
yeap u r rite abt the figurines...think guys will not keep such stuff la...
i luv the test tubes too and thot its nicely wrapped with bows..but then hor, again not many will appreciate that n even some gals may not enjoyed such tea lor...
well i guess we cant please everyone la...so just choose something wh i thot will be nicely presented

tou2

hi jan
oh, cos' i see that you were asking lala about the diff cakes so I thot you are making a real one
In that case, you mean we have a choice of fake wedding cakes too??

I like the test tube with roses tea buds cos' for the guys, i can just tell them to ask for some hot water and can brew the rose tea on the spot mah

By the way, did any of the Regent brides get the bubbles machine? Just to share, I went to a dinner at MM recently and they used the bubble machine at the door as the couple march-in. But the bubbles seemed heavier than normal soap bubbles and they all fall near the door (nber float around) The poor guests near the doors were frantically flapping the bubbles away. It was quite hilarious but I don't think if I were them, I will find it amusing lor

chubbyrain

Hello gals..

Hi jan snow,
i also picked the old couple figurines
i luv them.. its so sweet
noone left theirs behind for my wedding leh, i almost couldnt get a complete set.. there r 4 figurines in a complete set.. benz, vespa, plane n beach
collect all 4
ur wedding is drawing near, excited?

actually, i tink regent has a lot of nice wedding favours

Hi tougei,
i used the bubble machine but only on the stage when we were cutting the cake & pouring the champange.. the effect is quite nice