Raffles Town Club

shelyn, great! glad your guests like the food. mine too.... i even had pp talking about the food now when i met them... it's really one of the better ones compared to the hotels. I esp like the spicy prawns... i also have no regrets choosing RTC.... in fact now looking forward to my one year anni stay there.

hi, any of the brides here have the experience of engaging a band/quartet to perform at the wedding dinner? can share their contacts with me?

Hi Daphne,
Yup mi enjoyed my stay at the bridal suite... also looking fwd to my anni stay hehe... Luckily I had 2 nites stay for my wedding... cos the 1st nite we were sooo tired cant really enjoy the stay. So only managed to enjoy ourselves during the 2nd day stay.

Hi fudgecake,
I dun have any photos yet. Will upload them and post them here when it's ready.

After hearing all the positive comments from you gals, I have placed a tentative booking for RTC in 2007. Going to the bridal show this sunday to check out the ballroom again before i sign on the dotted line.

hi daphne,
r u still active on tis thread? can i view ur pics please? thanx!

btw is there any coordinators to recommend from RTC?

i emailed them a week ago but no replies yet

Hi ting ting,

I thot this thread died already. Did u sign up for RTC too? When is your AD? Hmm... I have been emailing them about my contract and they will usually call me straight away when they receive my email.

im tryin to revive the thread...hehe
haven sign up..lookin for AD venue now
*headache*

from the website..RTC looks good!
i wonder y they din reply my mails...mebby i shld call them? any coordinators to recommend?

Ha ha,

I also trying to revive the thread. My co-ordinator is terence. Did u go for the recent wedding fair? I have some pix of the new themes for 2006. I have the wedding packages in soft copy too. Let me know if u are interested. Can send to you.

hi all.... yeah, i tot no one else from here....
tingting, my previous coordinator may not handle wedding events now. think she handles more of corporate events so i think terence is still the better person to approach. otherwise is alicia.

hi fudgecake,
can u pls send me the wedding package?
thanx!

thanx daphne

btw i juz called them up...the lady who answered the call not very helpful..just took down my contact number n say will get her collegue call me back...but she said dat i haf to be a member or get a member reference in order to hold my dinner there??
but im not a member....so RTC if out for me??

Hi tingting,

My coordinator was terence. He's good but seems quite busy...
By the way, i strongly recommend RTC to u... my wedding was great! I really miss the day... and a lot of guests also commented the food is one of the better ones...

My BS is Shinju Couture... at tanjong pagar. my EG is MTM

tingting, no need to be member. I was not a member there. They open to public one. Look for terence.

shelyn, u got your photos ready? send to me leh...
i also miss my wedding there...... like the food...till now, friends still comment that the food is one of the better ones they had.

Hi gal,

Haha... suddenly this thread seems so alive again
That's great!.

Ting ting,
No wonder I find you so familiar? Saw u on the YC thread as well
Check your email.

Rinnie. Hi there. Send you the email and fotos as well. The prices are 2006 prices. If u call them early, they are willing to give u 2006 prices in 2007 as well?

Shelyn. Can share your fotos with me as well? [email protected]. Btw, Terence called me and said that I must choose select menu to include in the contract. Any idea which menu to choose? I was thinking about the orange blossom menus but worried about the food portions as it is only 8 course. Any feedback on the portions?

Pooh. U dun have to be a member to book. I am also not a member.

Thanks Fudgecake
is great to heard that
Cos my FHB told me that we need a membership to book for the banquet.
so now atleast i got another choice for my wedding dinner

I m waiting eagerly for my photos too!!!... asked my PG twice and he said will take 6-8 weeks after wedding...my god... that's about 2 mths after wedding....

so i shd be getting it in the next 2 weeks. will share with u all when i get it.

hi daphne, thanx for dat...dunno y the ger who ans keep telling my muz b member!

hi fudgecake, yeah..im a YC BTB too! hehee
juz chose my ROM dress yday

desperately lookin for a AD venue so i can chop my MUA n PG....hehehe...im v kiasu!

Shelyn... who is your PG? Btw, can share which menu did u choose and how is the food portions like? wanted to take the 8 course menu and worried that the food portion might be small. How flexible is RTC on the swopping of dishes for the menu selected? How is the bridal suite? Wanted to take a look that day when I was at RTC but failed to do so becos it is totally taken up.

Tingting. This time sent liao. Good to be kiasu rather not to get your choice at all. Will learn from u. Btw, how is your ROM dress design? can share pix? u on multiply? my id is fudgeposy.

Pooh.. can seriously consider RTC. I went to many hotels to look at the ballroom and did not feel anything. But the moment we set our eyes at RTC, me and hubby knew that this is the venue. Loved the private foyer and large ballroom. It is an entirely different feel from the hotels. Go and take a look during a wedding setup and u will know what I mean

Hi fudgecake,

My PG is sam wong. As for menu, my package was the older one based on 2004 cos i booked in 2004. But for swopping of dishes, sometimes u might need to top up if the value of the dishes is different.... I have some photos of the bridal suite but u wont be able to see much from it... will post it online when i get home.

I like your description of RTC ballroom!... that's wat i felt too but the only problem there is no mrt nearby and a bit difficult to get cabs too cos got to walk out to mainroad....

shelyn, what i did that time was to cater for 2 buses to bring my guests out to newton mrt and to the designated location i wanted. cos then i had almost half of my guests who flew in from overseas.

Hi Daphne,

Yup we also catered for buses... but more for relatives and guests from overseas... but my own frens wld have to go by themselves. Though they din complain lah.... so i'm not really sure whether it's easy to get cabs there. Maybe RTC will make arrangement to get cabs in.

Hi Daphne and Shelyn,
U gals catered buses for your event? Hmmm... that is not a bad idea. Btw, what kind of buses did u catered for and what are the chrages like? Did RTC allow the buses to park at the entrance? How did RTC call cabs for the guests? Did u gals make a list of people who wanted cabs during the dinner itself?

Shelyn. Glad u liked the description. I am praying hard that my guest would not find the distance factor a problem. Heard that Sam Wong is a pretty good PG. I am sure your fotos will turn out GREAT
RTC is nice. They hold the the 2004 prices for u eventhough your wedding is in 2006? Did they do any price adjustments subsequently ?

Hi fudgecake,
I'm not very sure about the bus parking thing... my dad and HB's dad were the ones who catered.. wat i know is that it's those 40-seaters. And cos the bus is too long, they cant turn into RTC so the pp got to walk in from the guard post.

I heard Sam is a good PG too... that's why waiting eagerly for my photos to see how pretty i turn out to be hahaha.... my VG also taking very long...though she is a freelancer... she told mi 4-6 weeks... but now 6 weeks already still no sound no picture from here... i msg her last nite she said need 1 more week to complete and pass to mi on vesak day... which is 8 weeks after wedding liao...sigh sigh sigh sigh sigh....

i booked RTC in 2004 during their Aug bridal fair. Had wanted to hold wedding in 2005 Dec and booked a date. But after a few mths we decided to change wedding to March 2006... They din do any price adjustment cos at that time, the old version was still valid. They only changed their packages late last yr i think....

Hi Shelyn,

Thanks for the fotos. Very nice and u are so pretty! Quick question? Were u featured in either the latest Her Worl Brides or Female Brides magazine... some feature on great skincare? Find your face so familiar.

Which is your bs? outdoor and indoor shots very well taken.

Hi Shelyn,

Realised that you are the bride featured for SK2 products! Do you have such great skin all along or was it due to the SK2? I have okie skin abut have freckles near the nose area. Wondering if SK2 can help in reducing the freckles. Did Sk2 sponsor u or pay for advertising for them?

ooops.... hahaha... i din realise i can create a commotion here by posting my photos up....

my BS is Paris Brides, now named Shinju Couture. It's at Tanjong Pagar. Quite a number of people also said my PS was quite good... so of cos happy lah though there were a number of complaints about the BS... glad that i had no big issue with them all the way til the end.

Yup the room is bigger cos it's a suite. The bathroom is very big... stretch thru the whole length of the suite (bedroom + living room)... very nice... There's jacuzzi

As for the mag feature, SK2 gave mi some free samples to use. I'm not paid. Actually i was helping my fren who was working on the feature and they had problem looking for a model so asked mi for help. I'm not sure whether SK2 helps with freckles leh... maybe u get samples from them and try to see??

ermm... i dun really know a lot about SK2 pdts... so it's best u ask their counter staff for enquiries... hehehe...

Hihi shelyn,

Wow... the suite sounds luxurious!!!! This is something to look forward to next year.

Hmmm.... so you are born with naturally good skin
So can share your beauty tips and secrets with the rest of us here?

Hi fudgecake,

actually... i won't say i'm born with good skin cos my complexion during my pri and sec sch days were quite bad and my mum kept asking mi to go for facials but the beauticians juz keep pushing more products to mi... and doesn't help at all but they keep saying it's getting better

it got better after i started using nuskin like 6-7 yrs ago... everyone started to see the diff and ask mi wat i'm using but the effect lasted for only about half a yr to 1 yr... so i stopped using. Now i'm using normal pdts u find in watsons... and every morning i drink a glass of water after i wake up. Not sure whether it helps in my complexion or cos i'm older that's why... hahahaha... i seldom eat fruits cos too lazy to cut but wld eat vege... I also seldom do facials (maybe once every half a yr or 1 yr??) and lazy to do mask too. i think most likely it's the age factor

fudgecake, when's ur wedding? I'm looking fwd to my anniversary stay too... but it's only 1 nite. I still miss my wedding day after 6 weeks... keep looking at the express highlights which is only 5 min haha... and keep looking at photos... waiting eagerly for the professional photos and video to come...

Hihi Shelyn,

u where got old? actually I think I older than you leh. haha... I also like u... lazy to go for facials and masks Hmmm... I also think H20 is the key to great skincare too. When I was in uni, drinks tons and tons of water and have clear skin then. now working... seldom drink water and the pantry is far far away from where I am seating. Now seeing the after effects of lack of hydration

My wedding far far far away. 9 June 2007. Really wonder what I should be doing now... sigh... It is no womder u miss your wedding... that is why it is a must to have fotos and videos to keep all the happy mememories. So how is married life for u? Staying by yourselves or with in laws?

Btw... if older means better skin... I will be looking forward to my 29th birthday tis year then ....

Hey fudgecake,
hmm... dunno whether u will like this idea... u bought an electric kettle and put it at my workdesk and every morning when i reach my table the 1st thing i do is to boil water. Then i'll have easy access to water the whole day... my kettle can hold 1.7l and i drink about another 2l of water at home (morning + nite). that's how i ensure i have plenty of water everyday. My pantry is also very far....

I'm not staying with in-laws.. Married life is quite ok... quite interesting haha. But less 'pak-to-ing' cos too lazy to go out even on weekends so we juz 'nua' at home

I think when older, skin gets less oily so will be slightly better? cos last time my face was super oily one. Need to use 2 pieces of blotting paper b4 it looks matt. Now slightly better liao 1 piece is enuff....

Hihi Shelyn,

I also thought of the kettle idea before but as I am the clumsy sort...I foresee more accidents with the kettle
Alternatively, I was thinking of bringing 2 big mineral water bottle to fill up at the pantry every morning.

Btw... can share with me your contacts for PG & VG? Izzit too early to book now huh? My hubby thinks I am super KIA SU to book now. If not convenient to post them on this thread. can pm me.

I understand what u mean on the pak-toking part. I ROM 2 years ago and me & hubby staying together. Weekend the fave activity is NUA becos it is less expensive and we dun like the crowds on orchard road.

For me... when I get older... my t-zone gets oiler and my cheeks get drier
I spend more blot paper on my nose nowadays.

Weird... seems that there is no more BTB who are holding weddings in RTC. I thought RTC mentioned that they are fully booked for weekends in 2006.

Hi fudgecake,

My PG is Sam Wong... dun think it's too early to book now cos if u wan those good ones have to book earlier mah. If not u will regret not booking earlier if u can't get the one u wan.

My VG is serene, she is juz starting out on bridal VG... so she's cheaper than the rest. Mayb u can arrange to look at some of her works first. Her contact is 91194512

fudgecake, i think those BTB doesn't come to this forum? RTC is quite fully booked with weddings and events cos my sil is a freelance emcee and i remember her going to RTC the last few weeks for events.....

hihi daphne and shelyn,
thanks for the reply and contacts! Hmmm...BTBs dun come to this forum? Maybe... I would have thought that this forum is the BEST planning website and tool any BTB can have. Wah...wonder how all these BTB do their research then. I agree with you RTC is fully booked for weddings too. My co-ordinator is so busy with all the wedding preparations that he has yet to draft the contract after I signed up at the wedding fair. 1 month passed liao. Shall I chase or wait and see?

Daphne,
Is your AD over yet? Any pixs to share?

Shelyn
Her VG is female. Interesting. More VGs I see on the forum are MALES. Thumbs up for WOMEN POWER! does she has any website which I can visit?

oppps typo

correct sentence is

Shelyn
YOUR VG is female. Interesting. MOST VGs I see on the forum are MALES. Thumbs up for WOMEN POWER! does she has any website which I can visit?

note : this shows that moi brain is not working at this time of the morning