Raffles Hotel

• Thread starter Thread starter rafflesian
  • Start date Start date
Bo Chup,

$500+ excess is really quite a lot. Thanks for sharing this wif us. We will all check our bill carefully.

Do you have to tell Raffles if you want to go by glass or barrel after the complimentary barrel before hand? I was just thinking what happens if we go by glass and it amounts to be a barrel at the end of dinner.

cookie's gal
heya i got my hub to fix the weird post liao. n no problem! glad i got ppl reading my blog haha...

seval
ok updated my post with a more detailed point on beer alone. =D

Hi ashlee and bochup
I'm going to have a more formal ROM at Raffles Hotel, then another wedding ceremony in Nice next April. We wanted to have a chinese wedding dinner initially but we're quite uncertain of where we'll be at the end of the year, so we decided to cancel that.

TSC
Oh I see...
NICE, nice. hehe... Never been there but always want to do so. Might try to pop over sometime this year for a weekend getaway. hehe...

Bo chup - Thanks for the extra information on the beer.

Can I know which web hosting services you use & how much are you paying? We are starting on our website & is now looking for web-hosting services. Singnet only has the .per for personal websites only. Tks.

Oh i see. No wonder. My hubby (to be) was still saying that unless you guys are pro or in IT line, you must have got someone to do it for you.

You got a very gd website. Maybe I'll just search for more web hosting company online. Tks.

cool...

For me, I'm also responsible for the nagging too and my hubby will be the one coming up with the website and maintaining it. :P

Hi Bochup,

Any idea how long the briefing by Sharul before the wedding banquet to your helpers lasted? Can the briefing start later than 5pm and must it even be on the AD itself? It'll be quite tricky to work this part into my schedule because of my church ceremony in the afternoon.

hi cookie's gal
I think it's best if you tell Sharul your schedule so that he can work around it. I was quite kan cheong and wanted to meet earlier (530pm) than what he suggested (6pm) to test the sound system etc because of my parents item and the two different entrances that required significant coordination. So we met at 530pm.
In my sister's case, she had her 'church' ceremony at the hotel (at about 545pm) just before cocktail reception so her briefing was around 430pm. Is yours at a church or in the hotel? You should also let Sharul know if it's at the church especially if you want to use the same flowers for the church ceremony at the dinner.

Seval
You can try Yahoo Small Business webhosting. Comprehensive package. Comes with templates for webpages too. Idiot-proof. Abt US$12 a mth.

You can also try this one. It has alot of features and if I needed to pay for a blog/website, I'd pay for this one.

Didn't know that you may be looking for a US hosting site and assumed that you'd be looking for a local hosting service. Anyhow, if u're just looking for hosting alone. this is the one we're using.

Hi Bochup,

Hehe... if i were you, I'd be pretty worried too.

My concern is this. I'll be having a tea reception after the church ceremony and I'm expecting it to end around 4pm or so. Even though Raffles is like a 5 min drive away, I think it'll be very rushed for my helpers to attend a briefing at 6 pm even since they do all have to get ready for the dinner. Hmm... will definitely need to discuss this over with Sharul. Ok, thanks for the tips.

As for flowers, it's unlikely we'll have anything to bring over to the hotel because it's a practice at my church that the flowers used for Sat weddings be left in the church for the Sunday service. (But hey, I get to admire my flowers just a little while longer!)

hi cookie's gal

hmmm... i think the timing is a little tight... but are u getting a spare suite in Raffles for yr helpers? If yes, I think that should help alot to get them ready. Besides, since yr tea reception is just before yr dinner, yr helpers really only need a change in dress. the hair can be the same and makeup make glam a bit.
I think yah la... u discuss with sharul la. he's had a lot of experience and proly have brides that had the same schedule as u before. =D NO WORRIES!

Just want to mention something about casuarina suite as reception...
We got lucky and the casuarina suite B was available for my reception. however because of that, it seemed like i had two reception areas since most guests preferred standing around outside the ballroom (even tho they knew they could go to Casuarina) where the photos were.
In conclusion, it's hard to please everybody. some guests may prefer the air-conditioned reception area, some may prefer not (cos ladies usually wearing more revealing attire). Also on hindsight, it's nice to have a crowd in front of the ballroom to lead your guests there (since sometimes can get lost at Raffles haha). It also makes it easier for guests to mingle.
Anyhow, IF you do take casuarina, just remember to get the waiters and receptionists to inform your guests of the other reception area so it doesn't look too neglected.

One more last thing... I think the side tables outside the ballroom is not prominent enough for photo albums. I understand that we have that digital console for photo viewing (which avoids us having fingerprints on our photo albums) BUT most times the photo albums done up by our photoshoot photographer is really pretty and would be a waste to not display. Therefore, I suggest that Raffles source for an elbow level stand for hard copy photo albums to be displayed outside the ballroom (or maybe even at the casuarina suite so if you have guests there, they can still view your photos.)

ok... done with my two cents.

Thanks Bochup and Ashless for the web hosting info. I think I shd be getting the one that Bochup is getting, value for money, more web space.

Bochup - You are so lucky to get the casuarina suite for your reception. The suite is taken on my wedding day. I'm worried about people getting confused with which is the right wedding. Worst of all, got to go all the way down to change. Is there any other nearer place to change other than the casuarina suite?

Is any of you getting a spare suite for helpers? It cost so much and to get a room at The Plaza or Swissotel Raffles is so inconvenient. They were unwilling to give it to us complimentary.

I agree with Bochup that the photos at the side tables of the ballroom are not prominent enough for the photos...When FH and I were flipping through, we felt a bit like "thieves"...Hehe...cause it was like no one noticed the album and we were wondering if it was meant to be there or not...

hi seval
Yeah I was lucky but what I meant to say in my rambling post is that it's not necessarily better that you have the casuarina suite. Thus I'm glad it wasn't something I had to pay for because it really depended on whether it was available or not closer to the date.
Oh and as for changing in casuarina... my cousin/coordinator recommended that I not do that because u can't guarantee the items in there won't go missing (unless u find someone to stand guard even while the dinner is going on?). And considering the amount of jewelry and (cost of) gowns u'll be wearing, it's better to just make that 9min walk back to yr suite. It's not that far and u can use it to rehearse yr speech. At least that's what I did hehe....
And glad u find the web hosting recommendation useful. Think Wen has been using that for several years now with no complaints.

Hi Bochup,

Oh you didn't change there ah? 9mins!!!!!
Oh no.... I was even thinking of having a second change of evening gown for the sending of guest. I think can forget it already. U are rt about the safety problem, things cld get stolen.

I shd be having my cocktail at the Lawn as I'm having my solemnization there. After that will proceed up to dinner. Hope this will minimize the problem of my guest going to the wrong wedding.

We have been looking ard for web hosting services but not too sure if the smaller US ones are reliable/stable or not. The one you have is quite good. Got 2g web space, Yahoo one only giving 25mb. Since yr husband has been using for several years, shdn't have a problem with server problems.

You had Wedding Paparrazi for yr videography right? Are they very expensive? Can u share with me how much did you spend on your video?

Seval
You're welcome, hehe, maybe I din do enough homework abt webhosting! hehe... make sure u send us the link when it is done ok?

Oh btw, actually the yahoo small business one is 2gig web space and 2gig email quota for up to 25 email addresses I think...

U wanna try get a room at Carlton for your helpers? It is literally only across the road, not further. Heard it is quite good from the reviews. My fiance will be staying there the night before the wedding. hehe...

ashlee - sure, it'll take some time as we are just at the begining stage. Did u do a website as well? Yahoo one 2g? Maybe we were looking at different ones. My hubby told me 25mb, shd be a different package. I will ask him to go look again. Thks!

Carlton is a good idea. It shd be cheaper than Raffles The Plaza and Swissotel Raffles. I never thought of that. Yeah, can consider. Perfect senario wld be in Raffles itself but they only have suites and it's so pricey for a night's stay.

seval
yeah ashlee's suggestion is good. last time i checked (for my fiance n his parents), carlton rooms were going for around $150 a night nett. Unfortunately that was hari raya haji so alot of indonesians in town and no room available.
yes, i used wedding paparazzi and i loved them. can't wait to see my video. i went to them thru a friend who had gotten a package from them before. So I got a 10% discount. You can let them know I introduced you to get the same discount. After discount I paid $1602 (for complete long story short package with express highlights) plus additional $252 (also after 10%) for the photo montage. Their style is very entertaining... like quirky romantic... but if u want the classic romantic kind then this is not the style for u. =)

My actual day is near, 03 April. Photoshoot on 25 Feb, so busy trying gown and trial make-up plus reno for house now.

Something abt Raffles bother me.. May I know if anyone has requested to exchange the beer for wine? I have checked with my coordinator, and he sort of insisted if want to exchange, have to exchange whole 30ltrs for 10btls of wine. Hwr, got fren actually being offered to exchange partial ltrs of beer.

I might consider changing all beer to wine, hwr, i am not at all impressed if there is really double standard on the exchange.

Please share your comments and experience.

thanks..

seval
Fabian lim charges at least $1800 and that does not include the express highlights. Instead I think he has an mtv style video that is maybe kinda like what the photo montage is. If you want something that's the classic romantic style, then u can try Fabian or Inspire (cheaper).

Or u can do without the photo montage. Meaning u get the long story short package at $1602 and then ask a friend to do the photo montage for u. That'll save u about $200+

zenith
I did not try what u are hoping to do but i wouldn't be surprised if there are "double standards". because maybe your friend has better connections (this is sadly how the world works) or she was willing to compromise on something else. a wedding package is only good if it can be customised. if it is too standard and fixed in everyway for everyone then it actually works against us, the customer. If u really need to, u can bring up your good friend's example and see what they have to say in defense to u.

Hi Bochup,

Got your PM. Would appreciate it if you can keep me updated about the outcome.

BTW, what's this thing about the digital console for photo viewing?

Thanks Bochup,
I agree that each couple most likely get variable package. What is being discussed now is not how much each gets, but rather the method one resorted to use in handing a request. Wud be happy for couples who get more. I think what i am trying to establish here is the misuse of "reason" such as "our hotel dun practise this".

Nonetheless, i will consider whatever that has been offered. Thot wud be good to share my experience and hear other experience. Thanks.

For info only, my fren is my colleague working and sitting beside me, no different relationship than we have with RH.

hi cookie's gal
okie will do - about outcome.
digital console is the white machine u see in the coordinator's office once u enter it. i think it's to the left of the door as u enter. u will need to pass sharul about 30 photos for them to be downloaded into the console for viewing approx 2 weeks before your wedding. if u have the time, go by the ballroom in the evening around 630pm to check it out. it should be displayed by then. or u can pretend to be a guest during cocktail reception hehe...

hi zenith
yah then u shld definitely check with them how come yr fren got different treatment i guess. who's yr coordinator?

Seval
Ya, think the 250mb one is yahoo not it's small business webhosting. But i reckon yahoo might not be the cheapest option around anyway, it just happened to be the easiest for us lor. hehe

Sorry, getting a bit blur. What is the digital console for? For showing photos? Where? hehe... Blur already.

Hi Ashlee,

The digital console is like a computer, just for the viewing of photos. You can give Raffles a CD with your photos and your guest can view the photos with that console. But I think it's for a certain nbr of tables above only. You can check with yr coordinator.
U took the yahoo biz package? So u having your website too? Must give us the link when it's ready.

Zenith,

I think you can check wif your coordinator & quote yr friends' example. Yeah, I agree with you on the misuse of reason. It doesn't feel good esp when you believed their "reason" and later found out that they had offered to someone before.
I've asked on the change of beer to wine but I think it's not worth it, so in the end I keep the beer. I did't know that we can change half a barrel.

Bochup - Tks for the other reccomendations on the videography.

seval
Oh, I see... hmm, maybe I have too few tables anyway. And there are four weddings on my day, so probably someone else has already booked to use it! hehe... Cheers for the info!

Ashlee, if you are interested, u can just ask yr coordinator. No harm. They didn't tell me about it too. I saw the console when I went dwn to see the ballrm deco and I later ask my coordinator what that was.

Chinese New Year is just around the corner. Happy Chinese New Year to all the Raffles Brides.

Happy CNY to all

seval, i also asked to change beer to wine and the exchange was a bit unfair in the sense that the retail price of the wine is worth less than the retail price of the beer! 30 l ($635+++) of beer change for only 10 ($550+++) bottles of wine. Then if want to change 30l to 20 l, they only give 3 bottles of wine!! so unfair right?

i tried asking how much will the wine be refunded for if not consumed and the price is even less than $25+++. i think previously there was one thread which said that the refund will be $25+++. anyone has any idea? i hope i am not being shortchanged. thanks gals!

Suzxie: our wedding coming real soon. i am so looking forward to it. have u settled ur flowers arrangement, favours, seating arrangement yet?
i had a wonderful experience with the printer jasvy. all my friends and colleagues were impressed with the raffles wedding card. especially the red sticker. the quality of the paper and printing was really good.

Sweetpea: Jan05 BS-Silhouette PS-The Edge
Bochup: 1Dec04/Jan05 BS-Ted Wu PS-Photolanguage
Pepper: Feb05 BS-Wedding Present PS-Image Garden
Suzxie: Feb05 BS-nil PS-The Pond
Terrapin & Cookie's gal: Aug04/Jun05 BS/PS-Bridal Concept
KatGrrl: Jun05 BS-nil PS-The Pond
Caitlin: 24/Sep05 BS-Blush Blush PS-??
Ashlee: Jul05 BS-Wedding Present PS/AD-Chris Ling Photographers
widowwitch:11/SEP05 BS-Tan Yoong/Kai Bridal

hi all.

Happy CNY!

cookie's gal and ashlee sorry har my explanation on the digi console not very clear. lucky thing seval helped explain better =)

seval no prob abt recommendations =)

<u>about jasvy</u>
yeah i had a good experience with them too. also ordered my US wedding invites from them and they managed to get them done pretty quickly so my hubby could take it back with him last month. their prices are quite reasonable.

<u>about wine</u>
i'm still waiting for my bill error (was overcharged) to be resolved... after CNY will be about a month since my wedding already. =(

bochup
No worries. Thanks for bringing up the digital console thingie! If not, we probably won't hear abt it!

Ya, have to agree Jasvy is really good. Good service and very patient with the constant little changes that we have on the template.

Jasvy is Raffles' appointment printer? How's the charges like?

Belle - Wat's the red sticker?

Bochup - Oh... such errors always takes a long time to rectify, esp for big corporations. They need to go thr so many levels. Hmmm.. shd demand free food voucher or free night's stay as an apology for the mistake. But anyway, you are not in s'pore. But if the hotel are good with their PR, they shd offer it.

Belle and Suzxie - So excite for you gals, yr wedding is just around the corner.

Ashlee - Hope you get the digital console.

I think I will still be putting my album out even when I have the digital console. So, there are two places for people to view the photos.

Hi Seval,

Yeah agree on the food voucher thing...

A friend of mine asked Conrad hotel for a quote for their wedding package and the coordinator made a mistake and emailed it to her and another BTB's FH instead of my friend's FH... When she pointed out the mistake to them, they offered her a free night's stay as apology!

Hi Seval, the red sticker is something like the red wax seal that the european used to seal their envelope. But Raffles one is a sticker instead of wax. But it is interesting enough. in the beginning, i thought it was rather lame, since people usually use wax, and i thought the shape looks a bit weird, but then the feedback i received was good

For Jasvy, $80 is a sunk cost for the template. then 40 cents for each card printed. But if u do a second print, minimum charge is $40. so should calculate the no of cards properly. I almsot did a second print because the numbers of guests i am inviting are mostly individuals and not relatives who have many members in a family. It was a stressful time managing the cards. wanted to print more but raffles was so stringent on the no of complimentary cards. I think raffles is really quite tough to negotiate. all my other friends who did at other hotels, got 100% cards. whereas raffles only give 70%.

Digital console is given FOC right? or is it because it is only given to those taking ballroom?

Yes i am very excited about my wedding now

about the wine billing error
i wasn't thinking about asking for any compensation on the error but the fact that it is taking such a long time is extremely annoying. i'd have expected better considering i offered to cancel the credit card bill and then have them re-bill me since I find the amount quite significant. And i must add too that I (and my hubby) reminded them over and over again about the billing detail before the dinner AND STILL had to identify the error myself when I looked thru the bill after the wedding night.
somemore... if what caitlin said is true... i should be getting some compensation for the mess up. Even if I can't use, can let my parents use mah... it's their credit card that's being overcharged now anyways. grrr...

belle yes digital console was FOC for me (ballroom). I do not know about other rooms tho.

Bochup - yeah.. usually the victim will just want the matter settled and not nd any compensation of any kind. But I think they shd, and they are in the hospitality line, so they shd really know such small PR tactics. Yr coordinator Sharul right?

So, Sharul, if you happen to read this thread, u shd know what to do huh... :P

Bochup - If they don't give, you shd ask lah, no need to pai sei, esp when they're so stingy with perks. :P

Belle - I'm thinking of custom making the wax seal as I thought that fits very well with the Raffles theme. Now that they have the red sticker, I might be able to save on that.

I like Raffles' invites, very classy.

Wow, $80 and $0.40 each is quite expensive, I think normally people don't spend more than a hundred for prtg. I just checked wif a few brides before on how much they spend on the prtg and they dun spend more than $100 blw 30 tbls. Hmm... maybe it's a different kind of printing. The other brides did inserts. I suppose Jasvy printed on the card itself.

Belle - Which day is your wedding? I might go dwn to see your wedding deco and get some ideas.

Caitlin - Conrad is famous for giving food vouchers as they mk so many mistakes. I have very terrible experience with them and I'm glad none of us r having them as our banquet venue. Yes, I got the food voucher too and I happen to be utilizing it today. Actually dun even feel like going down for it but my husband said that we shdn't save money for them, so we are going for it and not going to spend an extra cent at that place. Anyway, the voucher is not even enough to appease us and atone for what their coordinator did to us. Just thinking abt the incident again makes me boil....

Hi Seval,

Am surprise to hear that Conrad is so inefficient... I have heard mostly good reviews about them... though I never went down to see their ballroom cause I was sold on RH after I visited the ballroom...

My colleague has cleared up the cloud.
She checked with her FH and confirmed that she has to exchange full barrel for 10btls wines as well.

So.. sorry Sharul.

Hi Belle and Suzxie,
When are your actual days?.. Happy for you both

Thinking of popping by to take a look.

Caitlin - Anyway, they were horrible.... you need to look rich and have big biz for them and they will suck up to you. At least, that's the opinion I've formed of them. I almost signed with them, it's a long story. But I'm very happy to have Raffles now. I'm glad the deal fell thr wif Conrad.

Zenith - Okee... but I still think the full barrel for 10 bottles is really not worth it. I suggest you keep the 30L barrel, there are a lot of beer drinkers, esp guys.

I'm in a holiday day mood now, just waiting to knock off, no mood to work. :P

seval
wah thank you! help me to ask Sharul. haha... In his defense, it probably wasn't his fault because he said he did tell Jason (one of the captains) but the instruction wasn't carried out. although from the perspective of the client... I definitely feel quite aggrieved at the way things are going and expect a formal apology from the hotel for the inconvenience caused when the money is finally credited.

as for the printing hor... i tink for raffles' cards, u must definitely go for the more expensive printing... u can't do the normal ink because of the card material. but trust me, yr guests will be impressed by the card and that 'seal'.

zenith
wah lucky thing cleared up =) anyways, i agree with seval about keeping the beer. i know of friends who enjoying drinking beer when they go clubbing... female included. so it's not jus an 'uncle' drink =)

all
my list of (newly uploaded) vendor testimonials are here

Hi Seval and zenith, don mind u activate the private message function or give me ur email address so that i can let u know my AD?

the type of printing is called hotstamping. It is done in gold and it looks very classy and elegant. if i had the budget i would do the wax seal too. that will impress the guests even more!!

Bochup, i am very impressed at ur ability to juggle so many wedding prepration with updating ur blog. how do u do it??

belle,

thank you. the testimonials n thank yous i typed out shortly after the wedding. my hubby only had time to put it up now cos he was really busy settling back into work. maybe it's because he left for san fran only 2 days after our wedding so ended up having more time on my blog lor =D

anyhow, the boulder wedding prep ... i don't really have to do much at all hehe... so i can pretty much relax in terms of wedding prep now. but i am quite stressed abt packing up now for my move to US. hiaz... so much shiet to pack. and also will be facing customs on my own when i arrive at the airport... abit apprehensive abt that too.