Raffles Hotel

• Thread starter Thread starter rafflesian
  • Start date Start date
The 4 claw ring thingy is making me nervous as well as mine is a 4 claw and I wear it every day. Mine is a small diamond, 0.3, so shouldnt have any problems hor?... hopefully.

TSC - I know your heart must be aching, dun worry, it shd turn out fine.

Zenith
My actual day is on 13 Feb.. and I have 200 people (classic menu).

cookies gal
hope to see your pics soon!

all
my FH is an engineer and very practical. When he gave me the ring, he said that he specially designed it knowing how clumsy I am.. so had the diamond inlaid in the ring itself. It also won't catch in fabric.. so I have a practical engineer's ring (wry smile).. but somehow i still like those rocks in the claws!

Hi Suzxie,
U took the classic menu, is it buffet? I am taking that. No food tasting, dun know how is it, and how's the serving and food display.. If urs is buffet, do shed some light..

Sweetpea: Jan05 BS-Silhouette PS-The Edge
Bochup: 1Dec04/Jan05 BS-Ted Wu PS-Photolanguage
Pepper: Feb05 BS-Wedding Present PS-Image Garden
Suzxie: Feb05 BS-nil PS-The Pond
Terrapin & Cookie's gal: Aug04/Jun05 BS/PS-Bridal Concept
KatGrrl: Jun05 BS-nil PS-The Pond
Caitlin: 24/Sep05 BS-Tan Yoong/ Blush Blush PS-??
Ashlee: Jul05 BS-Wedding Present PS/AD-Chris Ling Photographers
widowwitch:11/SEP05 BS-Tan Yoong/Kai Bridal
CWS: 5Nov05 BS-Divine Couture PS-Chris Ling
zenith: 3Apr05 BS-Nil PS-Attitude AD-Sam Wong

Thank you ladies for all your suggestions and encouragements! I already called the customer service center but they couldn't give me any details. I'm definitely not going to buy my wedding band from them!

My AD would be on 30th or 31st July this year, will probably sign the contract with Raffles soon so will confirm the date later. I'll be taking the Chinese dinner package (Classic, which cost a lot more for 15 tables than for 20 tables) in the Casuarina Suite. Bofore that will be doing my ROM in the lawn in mid-May, this is a 'compensation' from my fiance for taking the CS instead of the EIR ;)

Haven't found a BS yet... I'm looking at a package of $5K but does the standard package include outdoor PS? I was thinking of Bridal Veil but it feels like a rather 'stuck-up' and expensive boutique.

Hi TSC,

I have never visited Bridal Veil myself but have been told by my friend that they were quite stuck up when she went too. Didn't allow her to try any gown.
Have also heard that she has quite an "artist" temperament so you have to click with her to enjoy the process.

There are a lot of BS who can give you outdoor PS at $5k- Divine (not sure which photog they work with)/ Flamingo (Montage) / Frederick Lee (Robin)/ Wedding Present amongst others.

Hey Caitlin,

I was mostly considering Bridal Veil cos they have tie-ups with well-known photographers like Chris Ling, Andrew Choi (I quite like his style!) and Kim of Studio D'Fia. Have seen some of their pics in wedding magazines and I'm more than impressed!

But realistically speaking, I have to try not to bust my budget cos I'll be paying for the BS package plus photography out of my own pocket. Me and FH didn't want our parents to spend money so he offered to pay for everything, but I felt guilty so offered to pay for my own BS package... Hmmm which I'm starting to regret now cos I just realised its so expensive!
But then again I felt really guilty for losing the diamond.

Think I'll also go down to Silhouette and The Wedding Present (which also ties up with Andrew Choi?). Keeping my fingers crossed that its not too late to get a WG and having the PS done before my wedding in July. Maybe I'll just stick to whoever can rush the job for me.

Hi TSC,

I don't think you have to be limited in your BS choice by the photography. I think most studios give you a good deduction off your package price if you don't take their photography pacakge.
I am not taking the photography of my package too.

hi TSC
I totally agreed with Caitlin. I did an ala-carte, BS and PS were separate packages. By signing up direct with the PS gives me more flexbilty in terms of top-ups. It may even be cheaper in certain cases.

Hmmm think I'll have to make appointments to see the gowns and photographs for myself...

BTW I've already booked the lawn for my ROM on May 15! But due to some unforseen circumstances at the very last minute, we are going to postpone the wedding dinner, maybe to the end of the year or early next year. Which is just as well, it frees up resources for us to have a nice ceremony for the time being.

My FH and I are both impressed by Sharul's service, and his sense of humour. Cos both of us are so blur and don't know where or how to start with the preparations, his suggestions were really useful. Plus we kept changing our minds about the ballrooms, the menu, and even postponed the wedding after all the trouble, I'm just glad he remained so patient.

Hi TSC,

Then you have more time to find your BS and photographer then? Do take your time so you won't regret.

Look out for the next issue of Style weddings. Last year, there was a compass photographer (i.e. Andrew Choi, Chris Ling, Montage Studios and Studio D-fia) promotion. Will help cut costs too if you do a la carte.

Hi Caitlin,

That would be great! Shall buy the Style mag next month then. I had the Her World Brides but there weren't much promotions found inside, only one I found interesting was to win a gown by Silhouette The Atelier. But other than that not much discounts or stuff like that.

Hi TSC,

If you already have a photographer in mind, also check his website regularly cause sometimes they have promotions.

E.g. Chris Ling had one last year- $1200 for 20 page 15R album. Andrew Choi had one recently too though I cannot recall the details...He has one for overseas shoot at Bali now...

Zenith
I am taking the Jubilee buffet. We did the sampling at Bar & Billiard Room but only get an idea of how it will be like cos we can't get to try the actual dishes on the menu. Quite risky, but what to do?

TSC
I strongly encourage The Wedding Present!!! They tie up with your fav photographer Andrew Choi, as you already know.
I was torn between Bridal Veil and TWP (after ruling out Ted Wu as he was too ex for us) and after some correspondence on email, i was totally impressed by the service and prompt replies by TWP (though Colin from BV was nice, but it was nothing compared to Jordan & Pat fr TWP, hehe ).
And I have to say, till now, TWP only continues to impress me in terms of their service and my WG & EG! Go meet them definitely!

Hi ashlee,
Did you got to sample at Bar & Billard for free?
Just curious cos it's in the contract no food tasting..
I am really curious how the setting is for buffet.
Anyone seen before?

Hi Ashlee,

Out of curiosity, do you know how much the Mariana Hardwick gowns that TWP carries costs? They look soooo nice...but must be very expensive...

Zenith
Err... Jenn din ask us to pay leh, maybe she has charged on the main bill? Not sure. But probably free I reckon. Oops!

Caitlin
Oooo... the gowns are nice but yep, come with big price tags! Was told it starts from $3500, all on purchase basis. But frankly speaking, I think some of TWP gowns are actually prettier than MH's gowns!
Hehe, and also I prefer the idea of having your WG designed for you, and not for anyone else. So not a big fan of OTR gowns lah... (maybe sour grapes cos I can't afford MH or Vera Wang anyway! haha)
:P

Caitlin and Ashlee
Thanks, I am so checking the BS and photographers' websites now cos my fiance would like me to wear my WG during the ROM ceremony.

To all ladies
Soo Kee rang me up this evening, and just like what I thought they would say - yes it's my fault that the diamond dropped. How can that be when I have only had it for less than a month and wearing it for less than 2 weeks? Oh, that's cos I had hit something hard and damaged one of the prongs, and I didn't realise that the diamond is already coming loose. Furthermore, when I was putting on my clothes, I must have pulled the damaged prong out straight with the threads of whatever I was wearing.

What kind of an explanation is this? They even have the cheek to ask me if I want to buy a replacement 'at a further discount'? I mean, what kind of clothes can I wear that can pull a prong straight? When I left home my ring was still ok, it was only halfway through work that the diamond went missing. And I thought they needed 2 weeks to do the investigation? And the worst thing is I'm leaving town tmr morning, so I can't even go and talk to them personally. Now I feel so cheated! Definitely, definitely gonna complain about them.

hi zenith & ashlee
its true that food tasting as stated in the contract is not available for buffet menu. However, if you think abt it, the price u pay is the same regardless if its a buffet, chinese or western dinner. So from wat Jenn told me, it does make sense to also offer food tasting for couples taking the buffet menu so that you wont feel kinda 'lose' out. However, she reminded that we will only (like wat Ashlee said) sample some of the food that will be served to sort of 'get a feel' of the quality. I guess its impossible to lay out the whole buffet spread just for us to sample.

So Ashlee, care to share your experience at B&B?

Hi TSC,

So sorry to hear about Soo Kee's response.
Yeah you should really try to lodge a claim with Small Claims Tribunal. It's an informal process, when the "judge" will mediate. Maybe he will strike a compromise between you and Soo Kee then you may still get some compensation...

To me, I think that even if you did hit something hard (which you can inform the "judge" is not even the case), is this part of normal wear and tear which the prong should have been able to withstand? A ring is meant to be worn not left in its box to rot...Clearly, there would be times when it has to withstand some knocks...Unless the damage is really caused by something extraordinary, I don't know like a ceiling beam falling on your ring such that it is unreasonable for them to manufacture something that can stand up to such pressure, I think you can still make the point that it was their negligence. At worse, you contributed but the loss should not lie with you completely.

Anyway hope this doesn't spoil your weekend ok.

CWS
Thanks, glad to hear we are not charged for the sampling. hehe... though we probably wouldn't have minded it too much as it was quite enjoyable! hehe...
The cold station is GREAT! But of course it is not included in the Classic and Jubilee menu lah, so no joy on that! hehe...
There was pork, beef and chicken cooked in almost exactly the same way, and I was not too impressed by them (my mum said they tasted like airplane food), but my fiance liked it quite a bit. Hmm...
The carving station (roast lamb) is excellent! Was so glad that Jubilee came with the carving station. Dun think Classic menu got that though...

Dessert was YUMMY... Chocolate mousse was really nice...
Overall, not bad at all! My friend just went to a wedding at RH with buffet dinner, and she said the food was really good. So I am not too worried.

TSC
I dunno anything abt law and consumer rights. But I think you really should take it further, like Caitlin said! Can't let it rest like that as it is clearly their fault that the diamond fell off in such a short period of time! Go kick up a fuss gal! I would if I were you!

Hi Caitlin and CWS,

I asked my fiance to go meet the store manager of Soo Kee @ Suntec, and what they quoted was very unreasonable. They kept saying they'll give us a good price but eventually they want to charge us 60% of the original price for the replacement diamond. This is so unfair! And when my fiance rejected their offer, the manager's attitude was quite 'bochup', like ok, then tell me what you want. He told my fiance that he's not in charge, its the company that makes the decision. All I can say is, this is very bad service.

Caitlin, now I really feel that its so insecure to wear a solitaire ring. Imagine if its a very expensive diamond, or a very sentimental one? What a nightmare!

Hi TSC,

That's really bad service! As I said before, you should file a claim with the Small Claims Tribunal. According to my friend (whose reno contractor brought a claim against him), the "judge" is usually quite pro-consumer.

I think 6 claw solitaires are safe. FH bought mine from Canary Diamonds (at Delphi Orchard). They were really professional and told me that I can only pick fine claws to set the diamond if it's 6 claw...if it's 3 or 4 claws, the claws must be thicker for the diamond to be secure...Maybe you can get that instead?

TSC,

Maybe you can bring your case to CASE? I'm not sure if Soo Kee has violated any consumer rules, maybe you can do some research & give it a try.

Hi Caitlin and Seval,

I don't know, think will give them a last chance cos they called again and asked for another meeting. If its still not satisfactory, then I'll lodge a complaint.

By the way ladies, how are your wedding preparations coming to? I never guessed a wedding is so much work! Yesterday evening I watched a documentary program on CNA about Chinese wedding, and a couple were filming at Bridal Veil. Gosh, Michelle looks so stern when doing alteration for the gown. It made me think twice about going to her.

Hi TSC,

A friend of mine used Bridal Veil...and she said when she went for fitting a few times, Michelle got upset and said if she keeps coming will charge her for making so many alterations!

Bridal Veil seems to have a reputation for bad and stuck up service.

TSC - For me, service is one of the most important factor for a vendor. As this is such an important occassion for us and there are so much work. If the bridal shop gives you trouble or makes you upset, no point. I think Bridal Veil not cheap right? If you paying more, then the qlty of service shd b better too. Why dun u scout around for more & see which bridal shop u are more comfy with?

For Soo Kee's case, I will encourage u to fight all the way.

I tried to call Bridal Veil just now but all the dates that I'm available are not good for them. Same for Silhouette but at least the latter sound so much nicer on the phone!

I'm looking to buy a full lace WG, will it be more expensive? Sigh now I don't even know if I'll be holding a Chinese wedding dinner, so most probably I'll be wearing my WG for my ROM in May to please my parents and then for my church wedding next year in my fiance's country.

Hi TSC,

Where is your fiance from? Wow, we have a couple of BTBs on our thread who are marrying non-S'pore guys.

Full lace gown? NICE!
Reminds me of Jessica Simpson's Vera Wang full lace ballgown.
If you are looking at lace, then Silhouette is probably a better choice than BV. BV is known more for its use of crystals. I saw a couple of full lace WG the last time I was at Silhouette. For some of them, they pinned scattered crystals on the lace too.
Very pretty.

TSC
Totally agree with Seval. I dun see why anyone has to pay someone money for their service and end up having to put up with their tantrums...

Can try The Wedding Present. Excellent service and I feel really spoilt by them! Very sweet and nice people.
I've seen their lacey WGs, very very nice. Bet Pat (their designer) can rustle something beautiful for you. But like any other BS, I think you might have to pay extra for the extra material, esp if they are expensive lace.
Wanna try calling them or go to their website www.weddingpresentbride.com?
Aiya, I feel like I am their salesperson... always recommending them! hehe...

Oh... Bochup's wedding tmrw... Congrats!!!
Dun think she will come in tonite then....

TSC - If you looking at lace gowns, u can go take a look at Julia Wedding News too. They are the "lacey gowns" people. And they import some french laces that many other bridal shops don't have. Go look ard lor.

TSC,

By the way, my cheongsam is with full lace overlay...Meeting my BS (Blush Blush) end Feb on a Sat to pick the lace...Wanna come along? He is showing me 2 series of lace I think...
Can check out the price of lace and the designs available...

Hi ladies!

I just signed a package with Silhouette, without even going to other boutiques... Ok, it was a little impulsive but I really like the gowns they have, and the people there are so nice (although they were even nicer after we paid the deposit

I paid $4450 to buy a WG plus the trial, studio and ROM make-up, flower bouquets and corsages, and studio & outdoor photography. I don't know how you ladies did it but Minda, my designer, just wouldn't give me any discounts. But the good thing is, I get a duchess satin gown for my ROM and she promised to rush it for us before May. And, she'll sew on full french lace with sequins for my wedding next year in France.

Caitlin, my fiance is French, so we've decided not to hold a Chinese wedding here afterall...

And Bochup, congratulations on your big day!!

TSC
Wow, sounds like u got quite a good deal eh? Well done gal!

I din ask for discount for my BS package too. Cos I thought it is not very nice, esp when we can't be in Singapore most of the time and they've been so nice to us. But I did ask for discount for my bridesmaid's gown and I got it. hehe... Dun worry abt not getting discount or the best deal in town lah, service and beautiful gowns more impt. Better to spend that couple of hundred dollars more than to get sub-standard service and gowns right?
But u can ask them for stuff that won't cost them anything or little, like extra gowns and accessories to lend u for PS and AD and discount for purchase of extra gowns or suits. Anyway, I am rubbish with bargaining lah, hehe... as u can tell by now, that is the best I can do! haha

Anyone has asked for change of dishes in their menu? Any advice on that?

Thinking of changing a few items on the menu but wonder how much extra we have to pay... If substantial then will drop the idea...

Ashlee,

Think u can ask your coordinator for alternatives and their corresponding costs. Or if u've something specific in mind, why not discuss it with him/her? (btw, is your coordinator Sharul or Jenn?) u haven't gone for food tasting right?

katgrrl
My coord is Jenn. Ya, just wanna get a feel of how much more it might cost before asking Jenn as we are really not ready to put in much more than what it already costs. So now sounding out first. Maybe we'll just leave it as it is lah. hehe...

Done food tasting already. Though it is not the actual dishes, only sample the "quality of the food" at Bar & Billiard Room. Quite ok.

HI LADIES!!!!

I'm back at the office! quite sianz and trying hard to catch up on emails so can't post on my blog or give details yet.

Thank you all for yr well wishes and for posting in my guestbook! Thanks caitlin for coming to my wedding =) Hope it gave you more ideas for yours?

I had a great wedding and everyone was quite impressed overall by the service. Sharul chased me out of the ballroom at 5pm and assisted my jie meis from there. Yang Chin, the banquet captain, was really great thruout the dinner. So many ppl to thank... will do it in detail later... back to work work first.

And I've been reading the posts... TSC sorry to hear abt the ring still and glad you found a gd bridal studio package. French eh? You migrating there? =) which part of France? yeah we got a pretty international group of brides here =D

Hi Bochup,

You are welcome. The pleasure was all mine.
By the way, forgot to tell you I thought WP did a great job! Now FH says he prefers WP to Fabian!

Bochup
CONGRATULATIONS!!! Aww, can't wait to see the photos. Got lots of questions to ask u abt the wedding... florist, food, service, etc...

Do inform us when u've updated ur website!

Hi Ashlee,
I remember Sharul saying that they're pretty flexible with the buffet items, and if you want a certain item to be included even if it's not featured in their in-house menu, they'll still try their best to accomodate you. Price-wise I'm not too sure, depends on whether the items you're changing to are more costly?

Bochup,
I so envy you! And you do sound like one breathlessly happy bride, and for that congrats again
And many well wishes on your new phase in life! Aren't the people at Raffles nice? It makes me a little wistful reading your posts cos I don't think we'll be holding a dinner afterall. Anyway I don't know if he's going back to France, but if he is I'll follow him

Thank you for all your congratulations =) I've been slowly updating my blog with stuff so feel free to browse. Also let me know if u have any questions specifically. I had a little gripe about the fruit basket in the suite but otherwise we really enjoyed the great room service and the 24 hour personal assistant on-call.

Sharul was quite efficient when briefing my helpers and Yang Chin was excellent thruout the banquet. Although, my helper who was controlling the alcohol quota was a little miffed that they didn't follow her instructions about waiting for guests to request for wine instead of offering wine repeatedly during dinner. However overall the alcohol consumption was still under control.

My helpers felt that the Raffles hotel staff (mainly Sharul and Yang Chin) knew what they were doing and gave them great guidelines on what to expect and what to look out for.

TSC: icic nice! so yr FH is a french guy u met while he was in SG? how sweet!

TSC
Cheers for the info. Hehe, we'll probably end up using their exact menu cos we are just too lazy to do anything! hehe...

Are u going to get married here or in France then?

Hi bochup,

How many bottles of wine did your guests consumed in the end? Were your guests considered light/average/heavy drinkers? Did you need to order any extra barrel of beer?

Oh yah, how were the guests opinion of the banquet food that day?

cookie's gal
eh the karen lau on my guestbook is it u har? hehe jus curious... as for wine... we consumed an additional 28 bottles red and 4 bottles white. hmmm looking at the bill now and i think i see some MAJOR billing error.... might have to ask my parents to hold the credit card payment if i'm right. hopefully i'm wrong.
anyway back to yr questions, i think an average of 2 to 2.5 bottles per table is considered average especially if u serve alcohol during the cocktail (which i did).
As for beer, we used up the free barrel before dinner began but thereafter there were only another 32 glasses of beer which meant that we were charged $320 instead of if we had gone for a full barrel (over $600).

Hi bochup,

The second karen lau was me alright. Not sure why but I didn't input my email for the first entry and the name just came out wrong.

Thanks for the updates. I think you really help to calm a lot of the raffles brides down with your blog.