Raffles Hotel

• Thread starter Thread starter rafflesian
  • Start date Start date
Hi KatGrrl

You're welcome! But I'm afraid I do not know the price coz I didn't make a trip down to enquire about it.

Hehe...so we're both gonna be celebrating our weddings in RH in June next year.

Hi widowwitch
No problems...that's what this forum is for right. For us BTBs to help each other out.

Cookie's Gal, it's ok, I think I'll call up Linn tomorrow to enquire
I'll let u know what they say. Sigh, tomorrow's the last weekday I have in Singapore before I come back for my wedding next year. (I'm based overseas) So many things to do!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hi KatGrrl,

Thanks! Wow...no wonder you have to settle most of your wedding stuff now. So where will you be heading to? Anyway, you can still continue to keep in touch with us online.

Sweetpea,

have u gotten ur cards from RH already? Will RH be giving us a template of the wordings on the cards? very excited as the day draw closer. are u planning to ask ur colleagues and friends in Nov so to get an actual count of the guaranteed attendance? i am thinking of confirming the attendance in Dec.

Hi Cookie's gal,

Thank goodness u reminded me about Linn
Just called them. Anyway, they charge $80-150 for about a 20-page album (i.e. 40 pages if u use both sides), 3-4 days to make an album (that's fast!
) and u can bring your own fabric for the cover altho they have a wide selection of designs & indian silks. Sounds great and preferable to The Wedding Gift Shop @Delphi in terms of cost & time! hmm..maybe I can use some of the leftover fabric & lace from my wedding gown for the album!

Will be going back to Finland
beautiful nature... hope I didn't miss the entire mushroom season again, really want to go picking 'em in the forest..

back from my work trip and leaving tomorrow again for another... so much time burnt that i could have spent prepping for wedding. sniff.

widowwitch
u're most welcome and *grin* abt the look. yes i'm probably getting a videographer. in fact today i have an apptmt to meet matt from ninetrogen to check out his package. have alreadi met with fabian and wedding paparazzi (both of which have very different styles). if you want express highlights (editing of yr tea ceremony that morning to show at the dinner) or an mtv style video at the dinner, be prepared to fork out over $1500. if it's just recording (raw footage) u can get one easily under $900 i think.

katgrrl
yes do feel free to email or post here for help. we can do the recceing for u whereever possible. i totally understand wat u mean cos i'm planning 3 weddings... 2 of which i won't be in that country to help plan at all. the one in the US in particular will be planned by my poor FH. So where is yr FH from n are u doing a wedding elsewhere too?

belle
u can ask for sample copies of the blank card (only 2 designs) to bring home n ask yr parents which is better. have u decided on the design u want yet?

sweetpea
yeah wanna know what's yr progress like too! cos me feel so behind sniff...

caitlin
u must be very swamped at work eh? hope that colleague is pulling up his socks already? take care and see u soon hopefully!

sob sob!!!

Just met up with Jenn today. If nothing goes wrong, shld be signing the contract in 2wks time from now. Aiya, but very sad coz was told that cant take photos at the lobby area. but the lobby really very grand and nice leh....suggested to them to make exceptions for RH wedding couples to do do PS at the lobby, but they say need to protect their in-house guests, that's why they dun allow PS in the lobby....was thking that lobby take photos wld be really nice, somemore got air-con, not so hot....but *poof* dream bubbles burst. anywae, guess not much other perks to ask lah,since most of the things I wanted oredi included in the pkg. guess now just have to sit-back and relax, not much to do like that,since the logistics part can oni discuss closer to AD.

widowwitch

i agree with u, so sad and rigid right? other hotel also allow guests to snap photos, why is it that only brides cannot leh? we are also hotel guests mah, only different we wear wedding costumes. somemore we are paying them so much for the F&B. haiz...maybe take a very quick one, they wont be able to stop us in time?
It is so hard to negotiate for extra things with RH. Not like other hotels so flexible.

pepper,

ya lor, was with our fren who oso works in RH, I really push very hard, told him that RH shld make exceptions for RH couples, maybe impose certain time in the day allowed for PS on certain days so can minimise disruption for the guests lah.....haiz....hopefully they change their rules....

Caitlin,

congrats! Hopefully when I back from my overseas trip come back contract ready then can sign liao....so u managed to neg for addtional perks other than those provided by RH? me oni managed to get 10% extra car passes and flat fee for BYO wines....some others that I requested still on hold, they say would need to chk for me then let me noe....

caitlin,

was lucky that I brought my hubby along, coz he was the 1 who thot of asking for more car passes,coz aniwae, we got nothing much to ask for,since pkg includes almost everything I need. Though RH can be very non-neg, but believe that we are in good hands and shld be able to trust them to do a good show for us. So it's definitely a big load of the chest! Now I'm just looking 4wrd to the day to sign the contract and then come June to deceide on thee nitty gritties like flowers, decor etc.....

hi girls!

I've just signed my contract with Raffles Hotel.. DONE!! a big weight off my mind. Phew. Will go home and celebrate tonight!

Just going to add my name to Kat Grrl's list:

Sweetpea: Jan05 BS-Silhouette PS-The Edge
Bochup: 1Dec04/Jan05 BS-Ted Wu PS-Photolanguage
Pepper: Feb05 BS-Wedding Present PS-Image Garden
Suzxie: Feb05 BS-nil PS-The Pond
Terrapin & Cookie's gal: Aug04/Jun05 BS/PS-Bridal Concept
KatGrrl: Jun05 BS-nil PS-The Pond
Caitlin: ??/Sep05 BS-Blush Blush PS-??

Are you all using Raffles' wedding invites? If not, are you DIYing or using another company? I'm considering using another company.. so will welcome suggestions!

hi there... won't be posting much for rest of the wk cos will be very busy with work so tot i drop in real quick.

caitlin
Congrats again! =) when is yr photoshoot scheduled for? add in the detail for yr data ok?

suxzie
i going wit raffles card. most invites are thrown in the rubbish after the event...sometimes even after receiving it (ok maybe misplaced). so i dun wanna spend more on that. wld rather save money for decor, favors, wine etc. maybe if u have church wedding than u custom make/DIY those?

widowwitch
congrats to u too! soon u'll be in the "lull period" where u can relax n just read n learn from all the kan cheong posts of the more soon-to-be brides =D

argh still got packing to do tmrw morning for KL trip... sniff... ok bye... gotta wake up at the ungodly hour of 545am

bochup: thanks! have a safe trip. I can exchange wedding invites for corkage waiver of 5 extra bottles of alcohol ($35++ per bottle x 5= S$200!) Since we will be bringing in quite a bit of alcohol, I figured I can save $200 on corkage and spend it on nice wedding cards instead.

caitlin and widowwitch: congrats! I didn't get the 10% extra car park coupons (I asked tho!!).

Bochap, thanks for your encouragement
My FH is Finnish and we'll only have a lunch in Helsinki for close friends who won't be able to join us in Singapore. Bon voyage!

Yah, it's quite a pity not to be able to take pix at the lobby. What about the front the hotel? I agree with Belle's argument, afterall we're guests of the hotel too! No, in fact, we're paying a LOT more than the average guest. Hey... something's not right with RH's argument.

maybe we should all petition for a fairer set of rules

bochup,

have a good trip, guess me will also MIA for the week coz heading to the middle east for a week. Looking fwd to signing my contract, then can truely sit back and relax. but can't wait till all the swirl of planning again lor...

suzxie,

congrats u too.....dat was quite a good deal abt exchanging invites for more alcohol....I tried many ways but in the end din use anything to exchange, but bargain for disc on wines..btw, as difficult as RH is, I oni managed to get 10% extra car-passes was becoz got fren working there and help us to get the 10% extra....even disc on wines ( if we purch from them) is like instead of $50+++ they gimme $50nett per btl.

katgrrl/pepper,

I support that 2....still working on it. Been nagging at our fren who works there to relax the rules, he say I very persistent. hehe, maybe each time I see him would nag and nag, mayb 1 day he would help us propose to the htl mgt to relax the rules????? I dun thk their guests would be in any way disturbed, in fact, they may be even fascinated, esp when some of us appear in our traditional Kuas or cheongsums during the PS.....thk we may help to create a cultural awareness among tourists, here and enhance RH as the most historical hotels in Singapore!!!!! Jst for RH couples lah....

i am so sad, i was just told by sharul that i couldnt have food tasting of both dishes even if it is by the portion of 4. So unfair, i think treatment wise, RH is not very standard.

Wen: who was ur coordinator and how did u managed to get to try 2 dishes? can help me coz i really would want to know which dish i prefer. thanks!

Not been logging in much cos have been super busy. We just had our photoshoot yesterday and it was a lot of fun though the weather was a bit rainy throughout. Went to RH too so just made sure we adhered to the guidelines.

Belle--We have not collected our cards yet. Probably will do so this weekend... want to get it soon so that we can start the printing. Want to kick off printing in Nov, if possible. Our wedding coordinator is Terence...perhaps could try persuading them a bit. But we only did it for some dishes..not all.

Hi bochup: progress-wise..past few weeks quite slow too cos been preoccupied with finalising the reno stuff and the second fitting. So must start work again . Plan to settle cards/invites asap. Also must meet up with florist again to modify the last design.

have a good week ahead

Maybe we should all bring up the matter (of photo-taking) with the coordinators whenever we meet them.
A more coordinated effort will be for all of us to sign a letter
... At the same time, I dun wish for relations to sour.

Btw, everyone, where are u getting your bouquets/corsages/car deco from? and how much are u budgeting for them?

Hi Katgrrl,

My bridal package provides the flowers. So have not set separate budget. But you can use RH's florist, I guess and see if you can work out a good package with them.

Hi sweetpea, where did u do ur outdoor shot at beside RH? i also worry about the rain. haiz....but really cant control the weather one. i scared i will also dirty the gown if the floor is wet.

Hi Belle,
We went to Esplanade as well as Pierce. Gown got a bit black too at the bottom so definitely has to be dry cleaned.

Yeah....weather-wise, we cannot help it....just have to make do. When is ur photoshoot??

sweetpea

i will most probably have it late dec or early jan or as soon as the gown is ready

did u have someone with u to help u carry ur things? my friend told me it is better to have a friend tag along but i feel paisei don want to bother a friend

Hi Belle,
Yeah...we did have a friend come along. It definitely helps a lot . Not sure how i could have managed without my friend. But you would also need to check with ur photographer though if they mind having a fren along. Some dun like it.

Definitely nice of fren to help....

Hi KatGrrl,

I will be getting my bouquet/corsages/car deco from my bridal studio.

You're doing ala carte if I recall. Have you checked with RH florist to get a quote from them?

yeah, it's a good idea to ask RH's florist. How come I didn't think of that?

Btw, do u know the florists that RH work with? Thanks!

i'm baaaaack!!!! but freaking tired....

suzxie & widowwitch thanks for yr well-wishes =)

sweetpea when is yr wedding in Jan? mine's on 21st... have u seen yr photoshoot photos yet? I rem u said u would be bringing yr doggie along. did he behave? =D My photoshoot is not till 1 dec... will be going on a major exercise regime from today... ok maybe tmrw or the day after hehehe. n maybe not so major. sigh.. tired man.
and yeah gd that u had a fren to help. i'll proly have to survive without one. o well =D don't think it will be too bad. I was in a thread for overseas PS and one couple jus DIY-ed everything during their honeymoon in France with gown n suit (the works).

Katgrrl the florists that RH works with is Woodsville. However they also have another called Sir Charles that u might want to check out. Think Sir Charles is located in the hotel itself.

caitlin did i tell u i got SKII at the airport before my trip to Bali? got the two core products (mask and the miracle water). using it religiously. now i just need a miracle for my eyebags. heh

Hi Bochup!

Good for you! Am sure you will become a fan just like me. Many of us on the Montage studios thread are fans too. A few of them, despite the consequential big hole in the wallet, used the mask EVERYDAY before their photoshoot!

So did you check out wedding papparazzi again?

hihi caitlin!

i got my sapphire pendant!!!

hehe will post on my blog with photos =)

and i got earrings at the same place too!!! AND AND AND i asked them abt tennis bracelet and the quote seemed quite reasonable (although I still gotta think abt whether i can fit it in my budget or not). yay!!!

as for paparazzi, i think i'll be meeting them sometime this week but i'm gonna be REALLY busy with the warehouse sale so will have to try n maximise my apptmts... also need to check out florist and a couple of printers.

how abt u? wat u been busy with? wah use the mask everyday (for a week?) is quite kiasu huh? eh any other product from the line that is worth the hole in the pocket besides the miracle water n the mask?

Am thinking of using Raffles but dunno if they do dinner outdoors, at their fountain area. I know they do solemnisation there but do they do dinner there for small crowds?
How's the food and the service anyone? Am considering Ritz-Carlton as well and heard the food and service sux...
Help?

Hi ashlee,

Welcome to the thread!
Do you mean the Palm Garden? Well.. I dunno; think it's best to check with RH's coordinators (Sharul or Jenn).

Personally, I can't comment much about RH's food & service as I haven't been to a wedding there before. But so far, I like their pre-wedding service I'm getting (besides their restrictive photo-taking policy that some of us here aren't very happy about...
) and the ambience of course. I was also considering Ritz but I got along much better with Sharul than with the lady at Ritz

hihi ashlee

to add on to katgrrl's comment, i believe it's the courtyard just outside east india rooms that u are refering to since the Palm Garden is strictly for the hotel "residents" (it's one of the restricted areas that we can't take photo at). it's a beautiful place. caitlin and me saw a setup there the last time we went to RH together. u shld definitely consider that place if you're not having too big a guestlist. =) not sure what's the capacity so u'll have to check with sharul or jenn.

We are having our wedding next year and would like to hold it in Raffles Hotel. We heard that the Chinese food there is not very good as they seldom have Chinese weddings there. Also read somewhere that the bridal suite is very far from the ballroom. Is it true??? Can anyone comment on the food there and whether u have to walk a distance to get to your suite to change? Please also advise what are the additional perks that we can ask for besides the standard stuff they give in the package? Thanks.

hi starmoon,

have u read thru the posts in this thread? u'll notice that alot of posts were made from aug 04 onwards and if u read thru them u'll find out alot of pretty current information besides those u're asking.

anyhow, here're the answers to yr questions:
1. the walk is not that far. it's just that it's not air-conditioned cos the suites are in a separate block.
2. food is decent by Royal China. i've yet to eat there but u can read the past posts for more on that
3. additional perks depend somewhat on yr connections (sad but true) as well as yr priorities (good wine? good favors? custom wedding invites? parking?). read thru our recent posts bcos we don't all have the same perks. altho most of us agree that the package in general is pretty complete in itself. just what u want to top up or reduce. =)

Hiya all!

Got in touch with RH today and am seriously considering having Wedding dinner there! The gal whom I talked to suggested I do it at the lawn if I want outdoor (probably where bochup was talking about). She sent me pix as well, it was gorgeous! But I have to pay $2500+ to reserve another function room in case of bad weather. So probably not going to do outdoors lah, dun wan the extra cost.

So am now thinking of Casuarina Suite or East India room. I prefer the EIR but haven't been there personally, so dunno how it looks like. Anyone help?

Katgrrl, I'm based in Europe too! I am in London! Organising wedding like that quite stressful right? I am going back during Xmas to sort out all the stuff... my actual wedding in July. When's yours?

I am taking their buffet probably. But the Classic package menu quite boring and they say no tasting session. How to decide without tasting? Anyone had their buffet before?

If PS is not allowed at the lobby, how about the rest of the hotel?

Sorry... lotsa questions... but a bit stressed already. Just had a bad experience with Rasa, hopefully RH is going to be fine...

hi ashlee,

perhaps u can ask Jenn (the lady u spoke to) to send u some additional photos of the east india rooms. in the meantime, here're photos i took of the casuarina suites during one of my visits. some of us are hoping to use it as a cocktail reception room during our weddings in the ballroom a short walk away (same floor).

personally if the size fits, i'd go for EIR cos it just seems more unique - a room with a distinctive style & character. =) I don't have photos of it since it is out of question for me due to capacity limitations. i've got a gf who's alredi bked the place for her wedding in early aug05 tho.

not sure abt the tasting... maybe if u really concerned, u can ask them to let u try at a discounted rate? or ask which kitchen is preparing the food and go eat there when u visit?

what was yr bad experience with Rasa about?

hi bochup

thanx for the info...haf read up on the previous postings...lotz to read up. aniwae, we haf decided to take up the package....so happy now dat one thing is settled liao. guess all of u must be looking forward to ur AD. Congrats to everyone!

I am so shocked that the fountain falls within the restricted photography area ie Palm Garden ! my goodness, that's the most interested and lovely place in RH i think. How anyone can think of an idea to take photos there? other than the fountain i dunno where else is nice to take already
so sad. all the nice places cannot take photo liao.

Bochup have u finalised ur deco theme and flowers and favurs yet? can share what u chose and what music pieces u chose?

Anyone know whether can RH play music CD which we burn ourselves or can they only play original CDs? thinking of compiling my music into one album

erm....i got a question to ask u all, pls pardon me for asking dis, but is the breakfast included for both days or izzit juz for dat one day after our wedding banquet? kindly pardon my ignorance.

hi belle

thanx for the info. u must be excited preparing for the photoshoot there....seems like many places are out-of-bound....wonder if itz okie to sneak in n take a quick one b4 ganna chase out by the guards....hehehe....hopes sharul and the other coordinators wun c dis...kekeke...*cheekily*

starmoon

yes i think i will have to learn to be sneaky at RH ha ha..else cannot take nice photos already :P

if u require anymore info just ask, coz we are all learning from each other here. very excited about the wedding preparation. i just had my first fit. the dress still very bare so nothing much to see, hopefully on 2nd fit will be better
so u choose ur BS already?

hi belle

thanx...haf chosen my BS liao...itz Flamingo. which bs r u wif? i will only nid to worry in Jan re: the dress since my wedding will be in Sep next year so still long way to go. had troubles finding AD photographer n videographer cos they r all taken liao....luckily in the end, found both through the forum...saw some postings and since the pricing is reasonable, so we quickly grab them b4 they r gone again. keeping my fingers crossed dat everything will turn out well. btw, wonder if raffles will help us come up wif the agenda for the day or not cos i know conrad has some kinda of agenda telling u what time to march in, second march-in, toasting, mcee speech, etc. if not, guess can use the conrad one as reference?