Raffles Hotel

• Thread starter Thread starter rafflesian
  • Start date Start date
Hi Bochup,
Talking about flowers...if it is cynbidiums that you are after, think would need to top up if the entire set-up consists of cynbidiums. I asked for cynbidiums too and all I got for the whole table set-up was 1 cynbidium. Quite sad. So now i need to re-work on floral plans. Maybe will also for the normal orchids.

Hi belle...peonies also need to top up. I asked.Flowers really quite limited in choices i think, unless we are willing to pay more.

Hi sweetpea

then i will settle for white roses (this don't need to top up right?). personally i don't think it is worthwhile spending extra for flowers, coz the guests may not appreciate nor remember right?

Hi Belle,
Yeah...think so. Might as well save the money for something else. I am thinking of getting a real cake too

belle
guess sweetpea answered for me =) orchids are generally more expensive. guess typical flowers are roses.

to all
i think katgrrl infected us with the cake fetish. hehe... but problem is RH don't seem quite keen to allow us to get our own cakes. I understand the hygiene concern (eg. RH can't be made responsible for guests that kena food poisoning from outside food) and sharul said that maybe i can send in some cake designs and he'll show it to the pastry chef. i think that option is only feasible if we just want a fake cake though. and may still need to top up.
i figure if flowers are gonna cost so much to top up then the cake will be a good way to help blend with the theme i want. plus if it's an interesting design, people may actually have fun eating it. sigh...

bochup,

thk I missed ur question....pai seh...I just got back from my trip.....u were asking abt videographer rite? I haven't sign yet, but thking of Xaptured Moments (X=M, coz cant post the name here) for my videography, coz if sign up by Nov, got promo price....

pepper/sweetpea,

so u gers have spoken to their florist? I thking of using alstromeria....dunno if they chrg extra for this....it's not a seasonal flower leh....so what are the flowers that no extra chrg 1?

katgrrl,

me have been reading yummily abt the cake thing and been trying so hard to resist the temptation of having a real wedding cake too....the more I read hor...the more I start to thk if I still got budget for a real cake or should I just use it on flowers???? But just love it if whole ballroom full of nice nice flowers lor... so maybe would just use flowers to hype up the dummy cake abit.....at least goes with the rest of the floral decor...

Bochup, why are u emigrating?!

Katgrrl, dunno about the songs yet. Having it in EIR so music can't be too loud. Classical music is boring though. Dunno yet. Still undecided!

Widowwitch & Pepper
Yeah, the laptop is a problem. Can't they lend us one??? I certainly dun want to bring mine all the way from UK to Singapore!

Sweetpea, seeing how u're from Wesley, have you decided on your processional and recessional music yet?

To all thinking of a real cake, yeah, do check with RH first on what they can provide. If u are not really fussy and into sugar flowers, I'm pretty sure their pastry chef will be able to work something out with you. He seems like a pretty nice & helpful chap.

Besides sugar vs. real flowers on the cake, it will also help if u know whether u want a stacked or one with columns and whether u want figurine toppers (Precious Thots is quite popular with couples in Spore)...

ashlee
cos marry dog/chicken follow dog/chicken lor =D my FH is taiwanese american. we met after i graduated from my studies in san fran.

katgrrl
yeah i'm counting on the chef cos I've given sharul some designs i like from the site u shared with us. hopefully things work out there cos apparently my mum don't think that real cakes are a good idea for dessert so no point for me to spend on a real cake now. guess the silver lining means that's one less thing for me to worry over. i'd love to see your cake pictures after your wedding tho. must share ok? =)

Hi Bochup,

Yeah, real wedding cakes haven't caught on in singapore as it's mainly a Western tradition. But look on the bright side, u get to save $ and no need to worry about flavours etc...
Who knows, maybe u'll have a tiny 2 tier cake for your 1st or 10th anniversary!

U know, 2 years ago I was even toying with the idea of making my own wedding cake draped in smooth satiny fondant
But after spending a whole day making a Christmas cake covered in white fondant, I decided to outsource the w.cake!

Funny how u mentioned, "marry dog/chicken follow dog/chicken", I really never thought I/we <u>must</u> stay in Finland because he's Finnish. For us, it's very possible &amp; likely that we return to Spore after a few years here and there...

Actually I was quite surprised that many people wants to have a real wedding cake. The thought has never crossed my mind until my finace said that he finds it stupid to hv a dummy cake. He said tt he dun even know the significance of it and wants to do away with the cake cutting, esp when it's a dummy. He qns why do we have a cake when our guests can't even eat it. So, it's either we have a real one or we don't have one at all. And I was so inspired after going to the websites with all the nice wedding cakes given by Katgrrl. But the cost is really high though. Are you gals all marrying non-singaporeans? seems like it from the thread..

Bochup &amp; Katgrrl
Me too, staying here in UK at least till we have repaid most of our debts! We just took up a mortgage for a house, so have to stay another five years at least. Hope to move to Australia though, or back to Singapore, dunno yet. Right now trying to earn as much pounds as we can lor...
Do or will u guys miss the food in Singapore? I missed the food so much... sigh...

Seval
Ya, quite a coincidence isn't it? That at least three of us here marrying foreigners. hehe...

katgrrl &amp; ashlee
i think in the long run we hope to return to asia and more specifically singapore. but for now, his career still puts him there and either or both of us might further our studies with a masters (him in comp science &amp; me in business).
well foodwise i'm still in singapore so i guess i'm better off than both of u for now hehe... but when i'm there, i'll proly try to cook some local dishes where possible altho there're alot of really decent asian places in the bay area cos of the huge number of migrants there (got more than a couple of singapore/malaysian restaurants dotted around the bay area).
yes! earn more euros! wait... but u took up mortgage for a house in UK? or in Sg?

seval
did u sign up with raffles already? do add yrself to this list if you have. =) i think only the 3 of us are marrying non-singaporeans.

seval, welcome to the RH thread
. Our (my FH &amp; me) sentiments exactly on what your fiance said about 'cutting' the dummy cake.

Bochup &amp; Ashlee, at least u girls are/will be staying in London/SF!!! Both places with great Chinese food; in Helsinki, there isn't even a Chinatown, forget about dim sum!
To survive, I've learnt to cook. I made my own rendang rempah and froze them, and put together spices for tandoori chicken &amp; briyani. We make our own sushi (because it costs S$8 for 2 pieces of salmon sushi here), wanton mee with char siew, and once I even made Chee cheong fun by steaming each piece individually in my bamboo steamer, then filling it with homemade char siew! Talk about being desperate
Tradedie for a foodie......

ashlee,

ya, when I next meet the coordinators up at RH, may sound them out for a laptop to rent. Honestly, I dun mind paying a minimal rental fee to use their laptop (I'm sure at least 1 of their staff should have 1 in the office) rather than bringing my own.....thk would sound my fren (he works at RH) out and see if can neg for a rented laptop....

Katgrrl,

I'm really resisting the real wedding cake thinggy....my gf and I both having our wedding at RH 2weeks apart, and we both decided that to convince ourself not to overspend, we went with the idea that since dessert is included in the menu oredi, our guests may be 2 full to eat another dessert(the cake), and for guest to tp the cake it's as good as the good ol' days of giving cakes as wedding favours....so we made-up our mind to forgo the cake.....though each time I flip magazines and see nice nice wedding cake...i just start dreaming again........*snap* back to reality....can't afford a real cake!
So would just stick to cutting the dummy, mainly to have another march-in, or else it not cutting the dummy cake, dunno 2nd march-in oredi do wat.....

seval,

nope, me marrying a Singaporean......but my gf (she dun come to this thread thou) is marrying Hongkie.....

Hi widowwitch,

If u've made up your mind, stick to it!
Discipline is the hardest thing to have in marriage prep...esp when it comes to the budget
Kudos to you! At the end of the day, it all depends on what's important to you -what are 'must-haves' and 'nice-to-haves'. For me, since I'm a teetotaller &amp; also because of budget constraints, we decided not to have alcohol.

Well, if u wanna do away with cutting the dummy cake during the 2nd march in, how about just the champagne and toasting part? Or if u've someone who has got the gift of the gab, get him/her to make a speech in honour of u guys before the toast. u, FH, Dad, FIL, Best man, Groom's men, Maid of honour... can all fill that role.

Hi katgrrl,
Nope...have not decided on the songs/music for church. Been so preoccupied with other stuff. So many things to do..so little time. Only 2 mths to go before our wedding. What abt u?

Hi widowwitch...met the florist one and was not too happy with the mock-up during food tasting. So need to meet up again. Again, not done yet.

katgrrl
wow definitely sounds like u were majorly desperate for singaporean food =) did u buy back some of those Prima Taste packets? The laksa one is pretty decent. And the hainanese chicken rice. And if u can bring canned food over... the Yeo's beef rendang isn't too bad either.

Katgrrl,

that's a really good idea.....was thking toasting during 1st march-in then got nothing else to do except to have a cake-cutting cermony....now I have ideas to work on....thx alot!

me just went to the wine tasting expo at Singapore expo ystday....now thking of asking RH to exchange the free btls of wines for my own wines....

so when u told RH u not planning to serve alcohol, meaning u din take up their free wine per btl? So what did u exchange it for? I'm now thking to forgo the 25 free btls, then ask for waiver of corkage for the 1st 25 btls of wine (ie I bring my own) then still go for the flat fee of $500 for subsequent 24 btls......any1 done this? RH wines @$50, so if I dun take their free wines that would be a cost savings of $1250 for RH......dun thk would be too much to ask for to bring my own 1st 25 btls of wines w/o corkage rite????I haven't try asking....thking maybe closer to the date then ask Jenn.......what do u gals thk?

ya lor.. how to inform guest that there's no alcohol? I was thinking of limiting the alcohol, which is not to have any additional wine other than the complimentary bottles. I wonder how to tell people when we have finished them.

Since mine is a buffet in the afternoon AND I personally dun drink, I didn't think it was a big issue not serving alcohol

But I agree that if I was having a sit-down dinner, then that's a sticky situation. Hmmph, maybe u could have an open bar only during the reception? And to put it down in your invite or pass the word along discretely to your friends/relatives? Alternatively, what a friend did was to specify to the hotel the upper limit of bottles to be opened. Once that limit is reached, the hotel has to get clearance from a designated person in the bridal party to make the decision. This way u control the 'flow' and u'll have an idea how much it'd cost...

Personal opinion: if u've a bottle of wine on the table, u can't ask people to stop at 1 or half a glass and 1 bottle is never enuff for a table. IMO, that one 'complimentary' bottle is a really smart strategy since it's like a bait/appetizer.. get what I mean?

widowwitch, I think what u suggested sounds good! Then, I'd suggest not putting a bottle on every table but only serve if a guest asks for it. Good luck in your negotiation!

sweetpea, mine is a good 6 months away hehe.. but if u haven't found anything, I just read on a thread that u can find wedding music CDs at Life bookshop. I haven't seen/heard it, so no comments yet. Do u know if it's complicated or failproof operating the sound system? A friend, a veteran of church weddings, mentioned that a 'live' musician will be better able to judge the tempo and less susceptible to tech glitches. So I'm thinking of a pianist or violinist....
but let's see if there's time to suss out the arrangement blah....

bochup, yeah....sigh, singapore has the best food ever. Yesterday, I made some chicken curry and I'll use some of the leftovers for curry noodle. I haven't tried prima taste but I've got Asian Gourmet for laksa. Btw, spaghetti works really well as a subs for course beehoon. The dried ones don't work as well..

Hi sweetpea and Katgrrl,

I bought a wedding music CD from Life bookshop. It's not too bad but not fantastic. (I bought it only for the song "I will be here" by Steven Curtis Chapman.) Another CD you can consider is Steven Curtis Chapman's "All About Love" CD. Some nice songs with lovely lyrics inside. A song that I am considering is "This is the Day" (singer name cannot recall now) which incorporates your wedding vow in the lyrics.

A friend chose a theme verse for his wedding (We love because He first loved us from 1 John) and based on this verse which he selected, he picked songs that reflect the theme as the worship songs for his service. You can consider that too. It will make the wedding service so much more meaningful.

Hi Caitlin, thanks for the great idea! It'll be nice to have a theme for the church service. Unfortunately, I haven't got much experience with church weddings

I am new here, considering RH for wedding banquet as well. Have placed tentative booking for 3 Apr (Sun).. I do have a few concerns thou... please help to advise..

1) how is the wedding decor at RH? We are planning buffet dinner so the centerpiece will remain thruout the dinner, and thus has to look good..
2) if top up, how much are we expecting?
3) Do RH has projector included, and if they have a built-in screen or portable one?
4) Do you have issue with the cocktail outdoor? my FH thinks it's gonna be hot and sticky for guests....

thanks thanks....

Hi Caitlin and Katgrrl,

Morning
Thanks for the Life bookshop tip. Will go check it out. Think a theme is definitely nice, must go check out the various verses. Of the top of my head, could be 1 Cor 13 ( Love is kind ....) or maybe even something on thanksgiving.

Katgrrl: think dun have to worry too much about the church one cos i think the pastor is charge will also give suggestions. Who will ur pastor-in-charge be? BTW, are u attending the PMC class now?

Hi irene: welcome to this thread

widowwitch
how did yr negotiations go? i'm considering keeping the 25 bottles in package to be served at cocktail. then getting the flat package of $500 for 24 bottles (but not sure if 24 is enough since the estimate is supposed to be at 2 bottles per table). But wanna know what your arrangement and costs will come up too as well. Apparently if you exceed 24 bottles, the 25th bottle onwards will be at a corkage fee of $35/bottle (or whatever is the going-rate).

katgrrl
thanks for the tip on spaghetti =)

irene
1) wedding decor depends on which florist u go with. you have approximately 3 options - woodsville (contracted florist), sir charles (in RH itself on 2nd floor) and labrise (also provides favors)

2) top-up depends on flowers chosen. suggest you work within budget and ask florist to recommend more attractive flowers within the range OR use more candles (if it's cheaper). if it's buffet, ppl are gonna be walking to get their food anyways so won't be looking at the centerpiece all the time compared to a sit-down banquet. in raffles, the norm is to have the centerpiece on the table thru'out (unlike some hotels where they take it away or ask for a top-up if u want it to remain thruout dinner) cos there is a side-table for the waiter to serve food per table (for banquet).

3) projector is not typically included but u can try negotiating. think it's portable and usually placed stage-left.

4) u may try and see if the casuarina suite (very near to the ballroom) is available 3 days before yr wedding n use it as yr cocktail area if it is. Of cos if u are willing to pay, then u can guarantee the room for yr own usage. i think april should still be fine though weatherwise.

hi bochup,
thanks for the advice!!
1) i still curious as thot wedding decor is part of what RH provides in the package. are they standard decor good enuf?

2) actually for buffet, becos the setting is rather western, and once people get their food, they will sit down, eat and talk, that's y i prefer nice centerpiece..

3) hmm... do u have any idea how much is the projector? and actually i really dun like the idea of porable screen, looks cheap.. prefer motorised built-in.. sigh.. have to talk to sharul..

4) is it wierd to have cocktail in one suite and dinner in another..

aiyoh.... so many questions???...

zenith,

u're welcome.
u should go to the ballrooms on weekends and take a look at the decor. u can try especially for the month of november because it's 10th month in the chinese calendar and there're definitely gonna be weddings at the ballroom. i've been a couple times, once with caitlin from this thread. take note of the decor and ask jenn or sharul which florist did it. it's usually woodsville but sometimes it's sir charles. very rarely is it done by labrise bcos they neither contracted nor based in the hotel.

2) u can ask sweetpea more abt centerpiece. she been going thru it several times...right sweetpea? =) i haven't seen mine yet and will only see it when i go for my food tasting session on nov 25

3) no idea. maybe a couple hundred. don't think u have a choice about whether it's motorised or portable since that's the way the hotel is done up. i think most ballrooms have portable ones simply because it allows them to be more flexible with the floorplan.

4) not really. it's very nearby. but might be good idea to have some entertainment particularly if it's in the casuarina suite cos it's a decent sized room. so like a pianist would be good.

sweetpea, hmmm..dunno who will be my pastor yet. Since it's some time away, they said that it may change.

Btw, how long are u estimating your service to be? Have u discussed the flowers with the other brides? Apparently there are 2 other couples after mine!
We can't attend PMC at Wesley for logistical reasons
so we'll be speaking to our pastor here if he could 'device' some kinda PMC for us. I Corr 13 is nice
I'll let u know if I receive any suggestions from my matron of honour.. Take care and stay stress-free!

zenith, welcome to the thread! Pls feel free to add on to our little list

Sweetpea: Jan05 BS-Silhouette PS-The Edge
Bochup: 1Dec04/Jan05 BS-Ted Wu PS-Photolanguage
Pepper: Feb05 BS-Wedding Present PS-Image Garden
Suzxie: Feb05 BS-nil PS-The Pond
Terrapin &amp; Cookie's gal: Aug04/Jun05 BS/PS-Bridal Concept
KatGrrl: Jun05 BS-nil PS-The Pond
Caitlin: 24/Sep05 BS-Blush Blush PS-??
Ashlee: Jul02 BS-Wedding Present PS/AD-Chris Ling Photographers
widowwitch:11/SEP05 BS-Tan Yoong/Kai Bridal

bochup,

I haven't had a chance to neg abt the wine thinggy yet....lately bz with my annual leave application. I applied 2x for leave ard my wedding date, 2x rejected.....jialat....now got no leave for AD and prep at all....coz co. quota full.....find it ridiculous that they can reject my leave to get married.... thk would oni email Jenn and find out from her at a later stage...coz we haven't get to meet up with the wine supplier yet....so not too sure if we firm on doing away with the free btls and bring all wines on our own....would depend on the kind of offer that the wine supplier can give us....coz if that's the case, we likely to order up to 50 btls, shld be able to get bulk disc......then ask waiver of corkage for the 1st 25 btls, subsequent btls take flat rate, which is oredi included in my contract.
would update u when I get a response from Jenn.

u mst be getting excited liao leh.....ur AD drawing closer....

Hi Caitlin,

I love "This is the Day"! It's a really beautiful song. I've been trying to find a CD that has it. Anyone knows where I can find it??? BTW, the singer of this song is Scott Wesley Brown.

Hi zenith,
Welcome to the thread!

Hi Zenith,

The centrepiece....hmmm...actually it looks pretty Ok for a round table..cos we actually decide on the look and feel we want to tell the florist. But for a buffet layout, u might need to ask them to design accordingly. I am also not done with the designing portion cos on food tasting day, it wasn't nice. So..back to the drawing board once again.

Hi Katgrrl...think a service will typically last between 1 and 1.5 hours. And thereafter..it will be the reception. Yup, we have met the 2 other couples having the wedding on the same day as us and also decided on the colour theme of the flowers already. It was nice that everybody could agree on the colour theme cos we started out with three totally different themes.Thanks..will try to be can feel my panic starting already esp with reno stuff as well :P

Hi widowwitch: good luck with ur leave application..never imagined that wedding leave would be rejected.

Hi Bochup: Have u chosen ur wedding favours yet? Which did u choose??

hihi widowwitch,

wow yr company is definitely ridiculous to not approve wedding leave. if this continues, u shld write in to Straits Times forum or something (as anonymous of cos). After all... how to take governments encouragement of baby bonus if u can't even get married in the first place! sheesh!

quite excited but my sis wedding is on nov 27 so the excitedment in the house is about hers first. also nervous because wedding actually means i immigrate to US shortly after so a little surreal still.

sweetpea,

still working out the favors with labrise... most likely it will be a spray bottle with the scent i chose for the night. (my sis is doing teddy bear and chocolates alternating for her wedding at shangri-la).
how about yourself?

Hi bochup,

Was thinking of the teddy bears and another favour for alternating as well. Actually i like the matchboxes that RH showed. So might just choose dat. Wow....ur sister's wedding is so near yours..there must be lots of excitment in the house then.

sweetpea/ bochup,

thx for ur well-wishes....I went back to see HOD and finally after much reluctance, he gave me my leave....was thking of gg to co. union if they dun gimme my leave, and then if still cannot, I wud go to MOL and MCD to appeal for help...but lucky din have to go thru this ordeal....dun thk wud resort to writing to forum,I may lose my job in the end....my co. news always attract alot of media interest....
Whew...at least quite settled liao...they have verbally agreed to grant my leave, but wud have to wait till next week to see the black and white verification.

bochup,

fancy having a double joy occasion in the family
...thk ur folks must be the most excited pple ard...anyway, save the best for the last....touchwood, if got negative comments abt anything a ur sis's wedding, u can pick up on that and make sure the same thing wun happen for urs....

I feel so excited for u all....choosing flowers and wedding favours liao...mine still long way to go....can't wait....so (a bit not shy...) any PS can share share?
I kay-poh....like to see photos!:p

Haven't logged in for a few days... Been missing out so much!

Bochup &amp; Katgrrl
Wah you gals seem to be such good cooks, esp Katgrrl. I am really impressed! I have given up cooking Singaporean food as my fiance is soooo fussy with food, I always end up having to finish everything by myself. Food in London Chinatown is not that great. Expensive as well. Aiya, everything in West Europe is expensive lah...

About the florists, are they expensive? I just realised I din set anything aside for florists in my budget! Oh dear... are the centrepieces the only floral items that are included in the package?

Sweetpea,
What is "designing portion"? What is not nice on your food tasting day? Sorry a bit confused and concerned as i am having buffet as well. oh dear...

Got major headache over wedding favours. The stuff that I want are all from the US and they don't ship them over to Singapore as they are breakables. Those that I saw in Singapore websites are rather boring. Those over here in UK are not impressive as well. Fiance said I shouldnt get so stressed over wedding favours... Does Raffles do nice favours?
Sweetpea, what is this matchboxes you mentioned? Sounds really interesting.

Hi Katgrrl,
thanks for the welcome.
Sweetpea: Jan05 BS-Silhouette PS-The Edge
Bochup: 1Dec04/Jan05 BS-Ted Wu PS-Photolanguage
Pepper: Feb05 BS-Wedding Present PS-Image Garden
Suzxie: Feb05 BS-nil PS-The Pond
Terrapin &amp; Cookie's gal: Aug04/Jun05 BS/PS-Bridal Concept
KatGrrl: Jun05 BS-nil PS-The Pond
Caitlin: 24/Sep05 BS-Blush Blush PS-??
Ashlee: Jul02 BS-Wedding Present PS/AD-Chris Ling Photographers
widowwitch:11/SEP05 BS-Tan Yoong/Kai Bridal
zenith:03/Apr05 No BS, seamstress MTM, PS-Most likely Attititude, AD-TBC

went to raffles on 12 Nov, and saw the wedding decor, not bad. Sharul has mentioned ok to throw in projector. I like his service, think he is frank.

love the suite, but my FH is involved in motorshow for till end of next week. so no chance to discuss with him, or rather to convince him.

saw the wedding favor, the bears are cute. not sure if this item one of their standard or not. sharul did mention that he can source for couples who has something different in mind.

sweetpea
yah lotsa excitement in the house =)

widowwitch
congrats! hope u get yr leave approval in black and white soon! =)
yeah... will be closely observing my sis altho i'm heavily involved so won't have much time to take notes. heh as for photos. only taking them on 1dec. will share a few on my website when ready =)

ashlee
lucky for me my FH can cook quite well plus the bay area LOTS of asians. wooohoo! hehe...
Florist - yr dinner at ballroom? i only know ballroom got 6 aisle pieces, stage set-up plus table centerpiece in package.
Wedding favors - send sharul/jen the images of the wedding favors u like n see if they can source it for u at their $3/pc price range. if not u mite need to top-up and they will advise u accordingly. they have a huge selection and can source for more if needed. this is a gd time to source too cos i think they try to source for new favors every year.

zenith
i think the bear that requires top up is the one with all-movable limbs and a little ribbon around the neck. it's also scented. another top-up favor is the mini wine glass with the wine charm attached.

bochup
ya, there are so many more asians, particularly chinese, in US. My bro and his family in San Diego and they said there are lotsa good asian food there, not expensive as well! So jealous.
I am havin my wedding at the East India Room. Very small so I dunno if they actually do anything else other than the centrepieces on the table.

Glad to hear that Raffles does a good range of favours. No more pulling my hair out! hehe...
Do u know how much we have to top up for the bear? Sounds so cute... but can't posssibly give the male guests that favour as well! hehe

Zenith
are u usin the Casuarina suite?
Yep, I shall go take a look at their range of favours in december and if I dun see anything I fancy, guess can request them to source for it!

hi ashlee,
i am using the grand ballroom for the wedding. and have spoken to sharul of using the casuarina for the cocktail reception which he say can't confirm to me till abt 2 wks before the AD.

hi bochup,
the wine glass sounds interesting. do u know how much we have to top up for it?

ashlee,

thk maybe u can have a mix of wedding favours, take half of each, maybe for the male guest can choose something else!

There's this restaurant call Kam Tong, and Four Seasons at Bayswater....their duck rice is good,comparable to those in Hong Kong....very well-flavoured and yummy....maybe u can go and try if u haven't.
that's another choice for good asian food.I personally prefer Kam Tong, coz they svc better, whereas Four seasons serve their food in heaps and piles, like feedings for pigs...kekeke...I nvr miss the duck rice there whenevr I go London.
Though mine is always short trip, it's bad enuff for me to crave for asian food and willing to pay S$20 for a plate of duck rice where in Sin I can probably get 6plates at least.

bochup,

lookin forward to see ur photos soon!
I oso interested to noe how much to top-up for the mini wine glass with wine-charm....( oni if u happen to noe?)I saw the whole range of the wedding favours, but din noe that some of the items there must top-up leh...thot they are the std choices. I wanted to give cd-roms of my wedding photos to my guest initially, till I saw raffles's wedding favours, and took a liking immediately, so not doing the cd-rom anymore...anyway, that wud be alot of work, so save myself the hassle and time...Unless got new choices next yr, if not I may just take the mini-wine glass with wine-charm....but Sharul says that they wud source for masquerade masks as wedding favours for me though....to match my theme....

hey widowwitch,
u mentioned masquerade masks.. intersting. ever thot of favors to match theme.. but till now, haven't got an idea what theme. only thot of having something modern and romantic. but seriously dun hv much budget on decor. might DIY...

Zenith
So are they charging you for the use of the suite? A bit risky to wait till two weeks b4 AD right? Anyways, best of luck with that dearie.

widowwitch
Wah, seems like we have to go the other side of London to taste that duck rice you are talking about. Hehe... we have a rather ok chinese take-away near ours, so dun think wanna go that far lah. Some more my fiance very wet blanket one, he is not into food. Sigh...
May go there if we happen to be somewhere near though, cheers for the suggestion!
Btw, do u come to UK often?

good morning!

ashlee
believe the bear is about $5 or more. since raffles budget for our favors is $3, the top-up should be at least $2. and u can do wat widowitch recommended...it's quite common these days to have 2 or more different types of favors =)

zenith
i don't remember very well but i think the wine glass with wine charm top up should be at least $3 (think it's around $6). best to check directly with one of the coordinators tho. zenith, who's yr coordinator? is it sharul? if u dun have budget then just select within the $3 range. they have a pretty decent variety plus if u have an idea, sharul may be able to source for one within that price range (subject to your idea feasibility).

widowwitch
see answer to zenith about costs =) most of the items no need to top-up. i am trying to get my favors within the $3 price range as well. thank goodness for betty from labrise. she's been very helpful and is trying her best to help me stay within the budget.