Raffles Hotel

• Thread starter Thread starter rafflesian
  • Start date Start date

Ok for the first link, you need to add one more "o" in "kool". Somehow I was not allowed to post the message with the correct website address with 3 "o"s. Not sure why also.

Hi Catlin

thanks for ur email! i love the bear very much, did Jenn say that we can take a pair of the bears or only one? i think it should be a pair right? If we want to have both the chocolate and another wedding favour, i wonder how much we have to pay extra for.....there's one wedding i attended where they gave a pair of bear and alternate with chocolate so the guests can choose to take either one.

caitlin:
the labrise website shows lotsa essential oils... does RH favor collection include miniature essential oils? man now got soooo many options =D

pepper: the alternating idea sounds good - like trying to have the best of both worlds... but then again... will ppl fight over it har? hehehe...

i am sure people will be tore apart from choosing either one so i am not encouraging that. for myself i got the bear and my partner got the chocolates, so i get to have best of both worlds! however for my other friend, he had to choose only one, luckily another friend don mind giving up the chocolate for him too!

maybe if anyone of u could manage to convince RH to give both a wedding favour and the chocolate :P

I think Jenn says RH is prepared to help us get any of the wedding favours available from their suppliers, subject to any top-up if the item chosen exceeds the price range of favours that RH usually provides. E.g. the ceramic bell listed in Jenn's e-mail is listed as $3 per bell on the supplier's website. The glass bell is listed as $4.80 per bell. Jenn can help us get the glass one but we will need to top up the difference. So should be no problem getting essential oils from Labrise.

Hmmm...after what my best friend cum wedding coordinator shared with me yesterday, I think chocolates are quite inconvenient favours. Her girlfriend had her wedding at Ritz and the wedding favours were chocolates. The wedding entourage did random checks on the boxes of favours and realised some were empty! Will be a bit embarrassing if the same thing happens to us and inconvenient to ask our friends to help us check the boxes. Think I prefer bears and the like which you can inspect on sight.

caitlin,

ok. hey u know the ivory bear at the labrisse site looks suspiciously familiar (to the teddy in the couple photos shown in the beetles website u sent us). it's $5+ each. i'm thinking i might want to just source for the wedding favors for my colorado wedding thru RH suppliers as well for better bulk price (hopefully). heh...

wow ritz also can like that? o dear... well my parents prefer chocs but they also proly have no idea the options avail hehe... so will get their opinion as well before i decide (cos alot of the guests will be my dad's biz frens).

p.s: i can meet this sun afternoon

Hi Bochup,

I feel comfortable visiting Karen for facials. She's sincere and very concerned about her clients. Really lives up to her motto of educating us BTB about how to care for our face & body. Of course, we gotta do our part too and listen to her advice/instructions on how to take care of our skin, can't expect facials alone to perform miracles.
In fact, I've read a number of comments by BTB who visit her that say they think of her like a big sis.

Bochup,

Looks like the other RH BTBs are also not free on Sunday le. Shall we still meet up?
Sat? (FH on full day seminar, so I quite bored also. Hehe
. That's why I say I will never survive long distance relationship.

cookie's gal: that's good to hear =) maybe will go to her for my underarm problem... altho i don't recall if she does that... i think she does... but it's the bikini wax that she doesn't do. =D hehe me posting quite late today too hehe...

caitlin: i don't mind meeting on sat. =) shall we meet at city hall mrt station? 330pm? maybe just get some light drink (both body and wallet on diet/budget hehe)

terrapin,

me not worry abt 11th sep being given away, coz tentative booking is mine, and sharul say would hold for me extra long a bit. coz of special circumstance betw me and my gf.

caitlin,

thk almost all of sep taken up lor..actually I oni book 2 dates, but my gf book 2 oso, so dbl lor,got more choice.
I find their wines very ex, i mean even if they give pkg of flat rate, then we bring own wines, still ex lor.

I saw the set-up last sunday at 5pm. thk they can work more on the stage decor, find it really boorish. But according to Sharul, those flowers I saw on sunday, no top-up, it's included in the basic pkg.

kargrrl,

I do find that the cake look too simple, hoping that they would chg a new 1 by next yr.

pepper,

I oni saw sunday's set-up,the flowers ya, could be slightly bigger. but probably that 1 was small coz more space needed to work on the reception table.I forgot to ask, guess must make another trip and chk with Sharul again. just very bothered that stage quite bare, no flowers, and bare. probably chk out their florist to see cost to add on.

bochup,

Really hope that those info on those waitering part did help. coz I just wanna contribute my fair share 2, ask u all so many questions, very pai seh oso.

understand that u have wat" blog" or some pictures to share??? may I see them 2?

sweetpea,

I thking actually each table no need 1 floral arrangement. I thk on VIP tables enuff. me contemplating of changing those flowers on each table for more alcohol.:P afterall, 1ce the 1st dish is presented, the floral piece at the table would be removed. Or maybe work on a smaller set. The 1 I saw on sun looks quite big on the table leh...

as for those along the aisle, I counted, got total 6, thk should be more than enuff.

Sigh...

just haven't make a firm booking, now just waiting for my gf to firm her hong kong dates so that I can pick on my dates and be TRUE BLUE RH BTB.

Morning gals,

I have made appointment with Jenn to sign my contract next Saturday for my wedding dinner on 24 Sep 05!
Am finalising the details now.

Anyone knows how much RH charges for the printing of the invites? If I recall correctly, Sheraton told me it costs $1-2 per card. Think I will try printing myself to save costs.
The cash would be much better used for flowers.

Bochup,

You want to go down RH ballroom to take a look at another wedding set-up on Sat?

Wonder if Jenn would mind meeting us again. Hehe

Saw on your blog that you were looking at accessories for the wedding. Anything that caught your fancy yet?

Tan Yw:
u can refer to this post =) then click on the hyperlinked text. no problem. we're all here to ask questions so it's always good to be able to help answer some. regarding the centerpieces for the other guests, they usually do not remove them once dinner is served. that is why there is the sidetable beside every table so the designated waiter can serve yr dishes from there (and not leave it in the middle for guests to take themselves). this helps to (a) reduce food wastage cos everything is portioned out (b) save guests the trouble of serving themselves which may be awkard if they seat with unfamiliar ppl (c) give a better service impression to our guests.

Caitlin: i think cost of overprinting (that's the term they use) for wedding cards pretty standard... can't save much there. suggest u DIY yr church invites instead - use yr home printer and lots of textured paper u buy yrself plus maybe some ribbons. can go bras basah to look for the materials there. the cost of printing does not come from RH - they merely provide the cards. u pay the printer (which they can recommend) yourself.
hmm i don't tink she'll mind but she mite jus tink we abit crazy/kiasu. haha... i guess mite as well see one more setup (21 tables this time) since this is peak wedding period... plus i won't be free for rest of oct and maybe even nov (got to help my sis out for her wedding in late nov). maybe after that we can walk across to bras basah n look at wedding invites/printers n get some rates. i need to shop for something to wear for my sis wedding... but i dun like jostling with the crowd on wkends... so will proly drive to town to shop on a mon or something... =D
i alreadi custom-made a necklace for my evening gown but still looking for something for the WG. think i looking more at pearl+diamond jewelry. hmmm which reminds me... i need to go to the jeweler all the way in AMK to see the progress... sigh... maybe sunday...

Hi Bochup,

Yes, am DIYing my church invites. Got inspiration from the shops in Delfi for simple, DIY-able invites which are pretty too.
I love my friend's church invites that are like postcards of the couples photos though...If budget permits, I would really like that.

What does your EG look like? Neckline? Colour? Beading? Low back? Hahah
Must show us photos when you go for first fitting with Ted Wu ok? I noticed on your blog that you mentioned TY (is that Tan Yoong?). I adore his gowns...but he was just way too expensive... So decided to go to Blush Blush where the workmanship in terms of beading and all is good and hope that between Pin and me, we can design something as lovely as TY.
Why did you not go to TY?

I don't think I will wear much jewelry for my wedding. I'm into the clean look (probably cause I will never look glamorous even with tons of sparklers...Hehe
) Have a pair of diamond drop earrings from FH...Small and delicate looking kind...Would probably set a diamond that is gift from future mother in law as a pendant, and that's it. Not intending to wear necklace with EG cause thinking of scoop neck.

hihi caitlin,

kk gd that u DIY-ing yr church invites. i would too if i had a church wedding =) more unique

EG - bustier but with a cloth overlayed so it looks like a halter instead. in various shades of blue and don't think there's beading... more of a flowy look that plays with fabrics. will check with ted if it's ok to take photos during fitting.=)

as for TY, yup... that's the one and only. i felt like his boutique and ego don't match (in size) so i didn't quite click with him. his designs are definitely very unusual and dreamy - my sis' gowns are from him. will proly post her pics on my blog when they are available. and don't worry... my cousin was definitely quite happy with Pin. =)

jewelry for WG will definitely be a clean look too... don't want to over-ride the designer gown i'm paying for after all hehe... maybe a simple pearl with some diamonds necklace (like the look of wavy lines around my neck) or even just a pendant depending on my budget =). will let you know if i'm happy with the setting i have for the sapphire stone i got for the EG when i finally go see the work-in-progress - then u can also check them out if u haven't got a jeweler in mind yet.

Hi Bochup,

Your sister is going to TY? Cool..His gowns are, in a word, gorgeous! I have heard of anecdotes when he made his brides cry, commented on their figure etc. He was pleasant when I went to meet him though.
But well, the costs of his gowns are in direct proportion to their beauty.
How much did your sis pay? Who is she going to for her photoshoot?

Glad to know your cousin liked Pin. FH's friend also went there, and gave the thumbs up for Pin for service and being totally upfront about costs-no hidden charges.
Many of my colleagues have used Ted Wu and really like him. In fact, besides myself and another colleague, all the brides in my office went to Ted!

Hi bochup,

What are you going to do for your hair? Flowers or tiaras? I have been trying to find nice tiaras for quite a while but no luck so far though.

caitlin,

think she paid over $8k including photos with Eric Er from Attitude. Already took the photos and they're so well done that Eric plans to have a sample album of their photos at TY's boutique! =)

hair haven't decided... will ask jasmine (my MUA) for her feedback cos she's quite creative n experienced. have u tried swarovski?

oh and i've posted some jewelry pics...let me know wat u think. hehe

Hi bochup,

Over 8k is not as bad as I thought. My package with Blush Blush is 4.8k (including photography, $4k without. But I realise that I really don't like their photographer so much. If I go to Montage and take their concept album package, would have to pay $3.8k. That would be a *gasp* total of $7.8k! That is why FH and I are holding back on placing deposit for PS. Cause there is no rush to confirm photographer for PS and if we decide eventually, we don't have the budget for Montage, will stick to Blush Blush's photographer. Did your cousin use their photographer? How did the pictures turn out?

Hihi bochup,

Saw your jewelry pics already...I think it depends on the kind of look you want. Modern, classic, or soft and romantic? I like C (classic), A and F (modern, although I would prefer A to be in white gold) and G (romantic). My personal favourite is G, cause the romantic look is what I want for my wedding.
When is your fitting with TW? May be easier to decide after the first fitting (if it's not too rushed for the jeweler).

I will probably be going to Canary Diamonds to set the pendant. FH got my engagement ring from them and I like the design.

Talking about jewellry today eh? My fav!!!

Bochup, I've seen your pics too! I'm more of a classic type person, so I'd go with C. It's a very versatile piece that would go with most things. The flip side however, is that some people may perceive the piece as boring.

The other piece that I like is D. It's bold and more unique. However, I'd advise you to actually try it on before commiting to that design. The concern here is whether the pendant is too long for yourself and if it will clash with your WG's neckline. Otherwise the design looks good!

BTW, have you made your wedding bands yet? These require some time to custom-make as well.

Hi Caitlin,
I found my tiara at Robinsons. You may wish to drop by the one at Raffles City to take a look. Seiyu Bugis Junction is also selling tiaras now. They have this collection from New York. The other place to look would be Chryster @ Delfi Orchard.

Hi Caitlin,

My wedding jewelry will all be in diamond & white-gold. (FH vetoed using pearls, so no pearls for now). We decided that the emphasis would be on my necklace coz I'm wearing a bustier. So earrings are kept simple, hence we went for solitaire-like studs. My necklace is an omega chain with a pendant that is shapped like a fan. The last piece is a half-tennis bracelet.

When selecting the pieces, the main criteria was that the individual pieces must harmonise with each other. Also, we went for designs that were elegant and timeless. (Like I said, I'm a classic type person)

Hi Cookie's gal,

I am thinking of getting a diamond tennis bracelet/bangle too.
Saw photos of a friend's wedding and photographer took close up shots of them exchanging rings in church. Think having something on the wrist would look pretty in the pictures.

I am deciding between not having any necklace at all, or the diamond pendant.
Depends on my WG design I guess. Still completely undecided on what I want.
My earrings are small, simple drop earrings with marquis shaped diamonds. My face is very round (sigh, never look good in photos, also restricts the kind of hairdo for wedding
) so couldn't take the longer drop earrings which would end halfway down other girls' cheeks but end at my chin cause of my round face.

I also like the clean look. Did you see Montage Studio's advertisement in the latest issue of Style weddings? That's the kind of look I want for my wedding. Delicate, romantic gown, with minimal accessories.

caitlin: thnks for the feedback! think i want to go for classic look but still have something unique... like how cookie's gal described D. yah me will only decide after first fitting =) usually custom make only need abt a month. n worse case can jus buy the original. my sis just turned 23.

cookie's gal: hahaha yr fav eh? thnks for yr feedback. yah gd idea to wait till i try the gown cos i'm planning on getting ted's feedback as well. he has a decent costume jewelry collection so i'd assume he'd know best what wld go well with his gowns. i actually like D very much too =D wedding bands not so rush bcos my solemnization will be in US so altho i'd consider us married by 21 jan (after the tea ceremony) we want to keep the ring exchange for the actual civil solemnization in april/may 05. what's yr wedding band like? and why no pearls? =) and nice to hear that yr FH and u making the decision together. what's an omega chain? some terms used are unfamiliar to me... like wat do u mean by half-tennis bracelet? and yeah harmony is impt; i plan to have simple earrings too.

tiara... hmmm guess i shld start looking too. i figure there aren't too many chances to wear a tiara without looking like i'm stuck in never never land (fantasies of cinderella) so maybe that's what i'll do instead of flowers. hmmm....

caitlin: yr face round meh? i tot it was more oval shaped.... o well. think of it this way - yr earrings will be more value for money cos other girls need to have more diamonds (lengthwise) if their face is longer in order for the earrings to look nice. =P

Hi Bochup,'

Yeah...if you look at my side profile, you see more cheeks and very little nose.
Guess I can console myself with the value for money bit.

Your sis very young! My friends were already saying I'm too young to marry when I'm 25 (26 by the time of my AD)!

Hi Caitlin,

Your earrings sound lovely. Actually, I'd have gone for drop earrings myself but the general advise given by most jewellers is that if you have elaborate earrings, go for a simple necklace and vice vesa, otherwise the 2 pieces will be conflicting for attention.

Anyway, don't worry about your face shape too much - you'll be amazed at what bridal make-up can do. I have very chubby cheeks too - hairstylists always have to figure out some way to de-emphasise my cheeks! Yet, my MUA was still able to create a variety of looks for me for my PS!

You may wish to go for a thin chain for your necklace, and pair it with a solitaire pendant. Simple, subtle yet classy. I think that as long as you are not going for a halter neck, you should still try to have something on your neck otherwise it'll look too bare.

Hi Bochup,
Wow, your sis is really young! How old are you?

Yah, it's a good idea to wait for Ted's feedback before committing to your jewelry.

My wedding bands are very simple. They made of platinum and we have the same design for both our rings. It's 2-tone as there's this thin line around the entire circumference in the centre of the ring.

Here's a pic of an omega chain. If I'm not mistaken, I think the necklace used in Pic D is an omega chain.
168432.jpg

I attach a pic of a full tennis bracelet. A half tennis is one where the diamonds are positioned only around the centre of the bracelet.
168433.jpg

About tiara & flowers, since you're having 3 wedding celebrations, why not have tiara for the one @ RH, and flowers for the one in the states? That way, you get to enjoy the best of both worlds!

Hi Cookies' gal and Bochup!

Can't find a picture of my earrings (bought from Aspial). But here's a picture of something similar.

168452.jpg

The differences are that I don't have the diamond in the middle (otherwise too long. Sob sob
)and instead of 3 diamonds at the end, I have 4 marquis shaped diamonds arranged in a diamond shape.

Caitlin:
well u'll be the age i am when u marry (cookie's gal that shld answer yr question too eh? =) what about u?) as for my sis... she dresses mature and is relatively mature among her group of friends. sometimes people don't know she's younger than me (which of cos pleases me no end haha).

cookie's gal: yah my FH wants a simple wedding band too so yours sounds like something he'd love.. my sis has hers similar to yrs (line in the middle) but with diamonds while her FH is plain.
icic yah i like omega chains =) but the one in D is a thin one. sorry pic too small hehe. as for tennis bracelet...that's the one i want too! just didn't know that's what it's called hehehe... where'd u get yrs and approx how much? this is proly real easy to custom make eh? =D ask me terms for the web anytime... hehe

and thanks for the idea abt flowers in the US. will have to find some DIY ideas for flowers cos don't think i can get MUA easily in boulder (as compared to if we were doing the wedding in SF, then i can get MUA easily...

Bochup,

Tennis bracelet are relatively easy to find, at a range of prices depending on total carat weight. Not really necessary to custom make I think.

My wedding band is simple too. From the Saint Pure collection from Goldheart.
168459.jpg

Both my FH and I took the band without the diamonds, cause I intend to wear my wedding band with my solitaire engagement ring.

Yeah, finally going home! Been a crazy day for me.
Next week is going to be WORSE!

Next Sat, besides signing contract with RH, FH and I will place downpayment for our flat.
Finally, we found some place we can call our own home.

caitlin,
thanks for the tennis bracelet tip... yeah will take yr advice n look around then. nice ring! yeah makes sense to have a simple wedding band so it complements the engagement ring =)
finally, CONGRATULATIONS on the flat! =D

bochup,

Thx alot for sharing. ya, u r quite right. I din think that there was anywae they could serve food without removing the floral contrepiece. how silly of me.:P but maybe a smaller arrangement, coz find that the 1 I saw last sunday was a little huge.thk would have to find time to pop down to RH again to meet with Jenn do ask more questions, get more details and work on the corkage part. my fh used to be in the hotel industry, say that no matter what,wines given free would always finish very fast,coz they dun usualy give that full no. of btls as promised. Pilferages are common in the hotels, no matter how big the hotel is..my gf,who is having her AD at the RH too, and i are still pondering how to combat this. we might 1 a champange reception, and certainly would not want things like that to happen since the corkage is not cheap.

caitlin,

if u dun mind me asking, how much did canary chrg u for setting ur diamond into a pendant? I went there to source for jade pieces, coz I want my si dian jin to be of jade set in loose diamonds and white gold. for full earring, pendant, ring, and necklace they say would likely be 8-10k. I'm hardly a jewellery person, so not sure if this should be the price range i'm looking at.

would some1 be able to tell me more abt TW's designs? coz from his website and mag features I can't tell his style. I just met TY and immed sign up with him for my WG, coz his style fits my dreamy theme of a masquerade, and he even offer to design a masquerade mask for me to match my WG for march in. but now, hesitant,coz I feel that I too rush into signing his pkg, and heard TW many pple go to him, and would like to know more abt his work. what r his chrgs like? any comments abt his EG? coz I haven't sign with any1 for my EG yet.

Hi Bochup!

Thanks! Is Wen sourcing your new apt in Boulder? On the tennis bracelet, guess what you have to consider, besides total carat weight, is how the diamonds are set- 3 claws? 4 claws? etc. Easier to decide if you can try on the ready-made ones I guess.

Hi Tan YW,
I haven't checked with canary for setting the diamond into a pendant yet. FH bought the loose diamond for my engagement ring from them so they didn't charge him costs of setting the diamond. Why don't you check out a few places? As Bochup wrote in her blog, neighbourhood stores might be cheaper. Just make sure their handiwork is good. FH and I were originally looking at a filigree kind of design for wedding band. B P De Silva's filigree ones had excellent workmanship, but the neighbourhood store one was bleah.
The filigree was not nice at all...So you should check the reputation and workmanship of the neighbourhood store. FH and I were at Fairy's Inc some time ago, and this couple happened to be collecting their diamond si dian jing. It was gorgeous! If I recall correctly, it was less than 10k.
Not sure they do jade pieces though. Why don't you check with them?

Last night, while having dinner at Far East Square, saw a couple taking wedding photos.
The bride had a simple bustier sheath, with a lace coat worn over and lace knee length veil.
Very pretty.
They were in front of the water feature at the Citibank Building, and the FH was singing to her and leading her in a slow dance. So romantic.

FH, while listening to Lisa Ono's Dans Mon Ile CD remarked that he wanted to play the CD at our wedding. And it's all French! (Which neither of us understands.
) Gotta go check what the songs mean. Don't wanna end up playing a lovely "break-up" song.

Hi Bochup and cookie's gal,

Here's a nice picture of a lady who wore pearls with her bustier gown.
I thought she looked really poised and elegant.

168552.jpg

Hehe, cookie's gal, maybe your FH may be convinced to lift his veto on pearls?

Tan YW,
good that u pointed out the alcohol pilferage thing. will ask a fren who used to work in raffles if that's the case =D wonder if an 'alcohol monitor' or a designated go-to person when a new bottle of wine needs to be opened will help. like maybe everytime they open another 3-5 bottles, the banquet manager should inform this alcohol monitor so he can keep track. but that sounds kinda tedious too. =(

as for TW, have u read the posts in his thread? (and also TY's thread which may help to reassure u about signing too quickly) i think if u can click well with TY, he's definitely well-known for his designs. my sis is quite happy with her gowns (WG & EG) by him. i'm quite surprised that u didn't sign a complete package (including EG)... would think that usually complete package more worthwhile and definitely more convenient when it comes to fittings?
for me, it was important that i click with the designer because there are so many beautiful wedding gowns in the market. seriously even names that sound obiang like Golden Horse actually have a great team of designers/photographers too (my gf had hers done by them and she looked really classy). as for TW designs, you just missed an apparently great show at four seasons by him on 4th october. maybe someone on that thread have pictures they can share with u? i didn't go since i'm already signed with him.

Hi Caitlin,

Your earrings' design sound really special.
Beautiful wedding band too. Now, you just need to get a lovely ring pillow to match for the church ceremony.

Congrats on finding your home!

Hehe...and you just made the same comments that I wanted to tell Bochup on tennis bracelets.

And lovely example of how to wear pearls with WG.
I had exactly that kind of look in mind when I shortlisted pearls. But since we've already gotten my wedding jewelry, shall keep the pearls to next time.

Hi Bochup,
If I read you correctly, we're the same age - 26!

I got all our jewelry from Soo Kee - we love their Brilliant Rose diamonds.

Regarding your hairdo, you could try getting tips from your S'pore's MUA on how to do flowers for your hair.

caitlin,
wow u in the office very early eh? yah easier to try on ready-made. sigh.. abit sianz abt shopping for this on my own. times like this can get quite frustrating with the LD thing. as for home in the US, we will be staying in the bay area (san francisco) but proly rent an aptmt or loft for the next couple years. no money to buy a house yet and don't want to rush into it (esp since i studied fengshui haha). his parents live in boulder.

wow... that does sound romantic =) and yah u shld definitely research the songs hehe...

where's fairy's inc? i found this when i did a search on canary diamonds on google. there's a couple other jewelers listed there that can help with settings. i will be checking out my pendant this sun and if it turns out well, i'll let u girls know the address/contact as well.

the pearls look very pretty =D i will definitely wait till i see my WG and ask Ted for recommendations hehe... too many options now and too little budget haha

Question: are any of u having any live bands at yr weddings?

Hi Bochup!

No worries about asking the hotel to inform you or your wedding coordinator about the wine. Jenn told me what they do is they prepare 25 bottles red and 25 bottles white, when you have almost hit your 25 bottles limit, the hotel staff will inform you so you can decide whether to open more bottles. She says on an average of 2 glasses per guest, you will need 4 bottles per table!!!!!

Fairy's Inc is on the 3rd floor of Delfi.
They have very lovely wedding band designs, unique and special. Think they are all with diamonds though (for the ladies, at least.

I don't think I will have a live band. But if you want contacts, Jenn says she has.

Hey Bochup,

I have a pearl necklace which I bought cheap on Ebay. Can lend you for your first fitting with Ted so you can see for yourself how it looks with your wedding gown?

Just to contribute a little...

bochup, if u're looking for tennis bracelet, i feel 3-claw looks nicer cuz they tend to stand out more n nt so fixed as 4-claw

I was at Fairy Inc last Sat n their wedding bands r really beautiful... Sandra was also very patient showing us lots of diff designs and photos... so if u want to custom ur bands i think Fairy Inc is a great shop to visit! In fact, on our 1st visit my FH oredi decided on e design he wanted n i had to ask him to look around 1st!

I'm juz wondering if e ballroom is actually spacious enuf to fit a live band in??

Hi Tan TW, i dun think u will regret ur decision to engage TY cuz my sis had her WG designed by him n it was splendid! very romantic n she's a totally satisfied customer of his!... e only thing is cost

caitlin,

I just spoke to Jenn, told her that I wold prefer to have my 25 btls of wine sitting on each individual table, so tat they are all in the open. She say she wun recommend that, but the option is open to us. My reason to her why I wanted to display was that my guests are very into wines and would love to read the labels, din mention abt concern of pilferages coz sensitive topic lah...

hey, they bride does look super elagant. simple and nice.

bochup,

I'm not too sure abt chking out other places, or which 1 else avail, coz not many do jade, and jade got different grades, and within diff grades, there are sub-division of classes. I chked with lee hwa they said they could do at half the cost, but it would depend on the quality of jade. Jade not like diamonds, I can't tell how good it is, worry that if I go to some smaller retail, I may not get the quality, figured that canary is quite reputable, but till now they have yet to source to jade pieces or got back to me. I went to them in aug, they say would need a long time to find matching pieces. Any idea where else is good to look for jade pieces?
I took ala carte just WG with TY coz my WG alone would cost prob up to $3k, so no budget for EG, decided to buy OTR when I go for overseas trip. Would need to but a fewjust for PS, coz my mua and photographer all frens helping, that's y din take pkg with TY.

info to share,

* dummy cake got few designs,can choose, or add flowers to it ( included in pkg)
* reception table got quite a few choices of colour, since they always get new pieces for vip events.
* stage decor can work on, if not too much frills, they can fit ur theme, and no extra chrgs.

would update more when I speak to Jenn again.

also, for flowers, as long as your choice of flowers not the seasonal type, it's incl in pkg too. They work on a certain min cost of Woodsville. If seasonal, then if import or early order is required, then there would extra charges.

cookie's gal
yup me 26 hehe... so which month yr bday? me july. kinda hard for me to buy jewelry cos hubby not on the same continent... sigh. but will drag him to take a look when he visits in november hehe. hmmm yah gd idea abt asking jasmine for recommendations. hehe... or maybe ask her to teach my mum (cos my mum is quite gd at such stuff) then she can do for me in boulder hehehe...

caitlin
sigh 4 bottles per table very ex man... heartpain already. but i think my dad might cover that since mostly his business friends that are the alcoholics hehe... thank u for offering yr pearl necklace! =D my mum has one that i'm planning on borrowing so will bring that with me. but thanks for reminding me otherwise i would not have tot of bringing it with me to the fitting. hehehe
band... i got the contact from Sharul. the guy is quite nice. wait i post separate msg...

caitlin & puiggy
wah fairy's like highly recommended eh? hmmm okie... will go look around soon. is it really mostly diamond wedding bands tho?

puiggy
yah 3 claws nicer... was looking at some quotes online hehe and as for live band... if u want with drums mite be a bit tight especially if u need the space to show yr photo montage. the space allocated is usually to the right of the stage (assuming u standing at the ballroom entrance looking in).

Tan YW
sorry dunno abt jade places. as for yr EG maybe can go Allure Charix to check it out. their range costs around $499 to $599. at 92 Amoy Street. their website is pretty decent and shows some of their collections. they also have very pretty shoes! and thanks for sharing the info! =)

general
A) Entertainment suggestions:
1. recommended by Sharul - ET Music
the guy Eddy was very helpful and I've been to their website. there're ALOT of bands/options under them. it even plays music by one of their acts (so be careful if u going to this website in the office; turn down the volume hehe).

2. recommended by a coworker - Vox Productions
website not so informative but looks like they got a lot of variety too.

B) Decor
the scent place that caitlin gave us also does decor (flowers with scenting package) so we don't necessarily have to stick with woodsville. however i guess there might be some top-up involved. betty (from labrise) said that she would try to give us a good price if we also got the (scented) favors as well. thinking of going to her place to check it out... anyone wanna go too?

Tan YW,

If you think you don't want to spend so much on the EG, you can always tailor make a glamorous cheongsam.
Shouldn't cost more than a few hundred.

Someone recommended a seamstress at Toa Payoh to me, who can do beading as well. PM me if you need her contact. When is your AD? When FH and I considered having a separate ROM with the church wedding, we went to her for my ROM dress. It will be ready in Oct (decided I can use it for photoshoot and when I attend concerts so didn't cancel). Will tell you then whether I like her workmanship. Maybe even send photo to you.
I showed her the picture of the EG I like (http://www.amsale.com/bridal/amsalecollection/020500/020500353.shtml) and she quoted me $300 including fabric. Can check her out if you don't want something OTR, and still want to keep costs low.

Looks like i have missing a lot. Been super busy at work these week so...not much time to come in here. Looks like i am missing a lot
If i read correctly, we can consider another florist besides woodsville?