Raffles Hotel

• Thread starter Thread starter rafflesian
  • Start date Start date
Hi, I'm new here, so a bit confused by all the acronyms.. just got engaged 2 weeks ago. Looking at a wedding in November 07. My fiance and I really like Raffles Hotel as it holds special meaning for us both and are looking at a solemnisation and buffet dinner after that. Can I have some advice and pics regarding that? Thanks

Hi Elaine, I think Raffles is great. U can make an appointment to go down to see the place and pictures of their set up.

Hi Terrapin, how's life for you! I also think that Royal China is good. I also got good comments on the food. Tung Lok doesn't feel as "exclusive" as Royal China but jus hope their food quality is good.

Bride, so you hv confirmed your wedding at Raffles?

<font color="119911">Hi seval, Yup, I've confirmed with Raffles already. So far, they're very accommodating, service is just great! I'm so impressed. I've helped many friends plan their weddings and so far, raffles has the best service and best of all, they're flexible.

hi elaine, welcome! Don't worry, if you have any problems, let us know. We'll help if we can
First, you need to decide how many tables you're having. If it's less than 10, you can consider East India Rooms. My colleague had his wedding there and it was so cosy. If more than 10, then you probably have to look at the ballroom with min 20 and max 25 tables.

Then in this case, Tung Lok vs Royal China, the food should be ok anyways.</font>

Hi Seval,

Yeah, life's great. Been more than a year plus, and I still have fond memories of the banquet in Raffles. Agree with you that Tung Lok just doesn't feel as exclusive as Royal China... maybe it's because they are found everywhere.

Raffles hotel has this "quality" associated with it. Even their mooncakes taste better than others.

hi bride, going to look at Raffles Hotel on Saturday morning. let's hope everything will turn out well. I'm choosing between Raffles, Goodwood and Conrad...wonder if any of you have any comments abt the other two in comparison to raffles..

<font color="119911">hey daisygirl! Have comments cos I've been to those hotels. Ok, goodwood's ballroom is towards the smaller side but still bigger than raffles. Max 32 I think. But the ballroom we felt so-so only, looks very old. As for conrad, it was one of my first choices cos of the grand ballroom! High ceiling, chandeliers, gorgeous! but my date's been taken so now my next choice was raffles hotel lor.

Depending on how big a scale your wedding is going to be. If you're looking at 300 guests and above, then conrad would be a logical choice. Smaller let's say about 200-250 guests then raffles. I personally don't like goodwood.

Hi bride, u refering to Raffles Hotel's ballroom which is so-so only, old looking? I am stil undecided whether to book at Raffles Hotel or Four Seasons.

<font color="119911">hi tcc, nope, i mean goodwood's so-so and old looking but this is in MY opinion la
Wow... four seasons. Actually, to be frank, each has pros and cons and i was choosing between these 2 too! Four seasons ballroom was nicer but service, raffles beat them hands down. Both are good hotels, around the same number of tables so you've got to make a tough choice
Choose fast before your date's taken.</font>

I attended a wedding at four seasons and found it not so different from any other hotels..went to recce raffles today and we were quite blown away. The lawn is beautiful too...only wish it is bigger. Any suggestion for raffles lawn lookalike but with bigger capacity?

Quite sure we want raffles now, but just hoping for some other alternatives to pop out. Going to recce Shangri-la and Fullerton first..

<font color="119911">I'm quite sure raffles will not waive corkage. We tried but the coordinator told us frankly that they don't waive corkage but will try their best to give you other perks. I'm guessing corkage is the only way they're making lots of money.

Corkage is $35+++ and raffles' wine is selling for $50+++... damn ex... That's the only thing that will kill us for raffles...</font>

Don't they give you complimentary bottle of wine per table? Not too bad, only need to top up... unless your guests are wine guzzlers

<font color="119911">hey terrapin, yes, they give one bottle per table but my coordinator ave 2-3 bottles per table so even if it's 2 bottles only (sat wedding), that's 1 bottle x 24 tables (for example) x $50+++ = about $1340 already.. that's very ex cos other hotels either waive corkage or corkage very cheap...</font>

I think the total should work out to $1400. Have you tried negotiating a bulk cockage fee instead... something like a fixed sum for 36 bottles or something like that. If you read some of the historical posts in this thread, I believe someone has done that before.

I was quite lucky... most of my guests drives and are law abiding... hence they didn't really drink much.

hi ter...anyone tried food at RH? are the food there gd?
abt the corkage for wine...tot RH gives complimentary a bottle of red/white to each table?does that include corkage?

Hi lilo_stitch, not sure what are the extra perks but think most of the brides here did not really get a lot of extras as Raffles' package is already quite comprehensive.

Cheryl, Royal China was good but not sure about Tung Lok.

Terrapin,
time flies ya? I still miss my wedding! hehe...

Bride, think that's the price you have to pay for Raffles lah, they are a lot more exclusive and of course expensive than the other hotels. They gave 1 bottle of wine per table, so must earn back the cost for the additional bottles you purchase. I agree that the alcohol cost is quite a lot at the end of the day, especially if your guests drinks alot.

hmm...seval thanks...think will drop by RH to view next weekend...any other perks or whatever i should negotiate with? not too sure what to ask for etc...i think don't dun have many drinkers...but think will have some for standby...what abt beer? don't seem to find complimentary beer on their package leh...
which room do u suggest best?i only looking ard 18-20tables....

lilo_stitch...ur wedd at RH too? when is yours?

<font color="119911">hey girls! Raffles is having their wedding show on 14th Oct 2006, admission FOC. But I have a question...

Anyone knows whether the package will remain the same with add ons or will we stand to lose out? Cos I just signed up last week and the coordinator didn't tell me about the upcoming show... feel a bit cheated leh...</font>

<font color="119911">hey cheryl, seval is right. The package is very comprehensive. Only problem is the alcohol corkage. They give almost everything you might need, but they're VERY sticky on corkage but other than that, raffles is quite flexible.

Main Ballroom min is 20 tables for mine, which should apply to 7 days of the week... think East India Room is not bad, but I don't think can take 18 tables cos it's quite small. Maybe you can consider an outdoor one? Apparently one of my friends did that some time back and it was quite romantic with tentage and candle lights

cheryl, planning on next yr end dec.

bride. who's ur coordinator? did she give u any perks?

seval, can u share w me ur wedding photon experiences with them?

<font color="119911">hey lilo, my coordinator is pauline. She's really nice. you should go to her. She was quite sick and yet she made an effort to meet us to try her best to accommodate our wishes...

As for perks, like the other brides say, raffles is already very comprehensive in their package. They don't usually give out extra perks cos other than corkage waiver, they give us everything. Including 2 nights stay in the suite! I suggest you decide if you would probably want to take raffles or not, then go down on the 14th of oct and sign up if you want because they're giving out extra perks, which makes things too good already, it overcomes the non-waiver of corkage. Hope this helps

Hi Bride, is Pauline a new coordinator? Is Agnes still there?

Lilo, sorry, my photos are no longer online, unable to share with you. But I would say that Raffles live up to their name. It's a luxurious experience with them.

Cheryl, I think maybe you can see what you need, then ask if they can throw in for you.

brides,...i signed up the FOC show yesterday...but no response from their end yet...not sure can still attend... :P will u be there too?
outdoor? never been to 1 b4...how is it like? hmm..seems not a bad idea hor...issit breezy usually for night outdoors? very much afraid if weather gets too hot or if so sway...rain....hmm...what abt photo package? do u have any gd recommendations?
mayb i can look for Pauline...

lilo, yup...mine tentative is next yr end....what abt ur's? will u be attending the wedd show on 14 Oct? have you had ur photo package?

seval, thanks...any good recommendations for photo package? cos nowadays u walk ard...if 1 drags u to sit down at their booth...then thats the end...no matter what u can sit until they close shop...oso they physco u to sign up with them....&amp; time consuming....cos had bad experiences with the photographer during my ROM with 1 studio.... i think is "say yes"

<font color="119911">hey cheryl, yeah, I'll be there. I signed up too but no response yet. I guess since it's FOC, you can just turn up? Not sure... But you can call the catering sales people and tell them you want to attend?

According to my friend, it wasn't too hot cos they put like fans stuff as "air con". As for rain... I guess you may be sheltered from rain but then might be soggy outside so pray hard if you choose this option

As for photo package, what do you mean? If it's actual day photography or pre-wedding shoot, I HIGHLY recommend Tri-Angles (Hilarion, Triston or Julian). You should go down to take a look at their portfolios. Really good! Alternatively, you can go to their website @ www.tri-angles.com.sg to take a look.

Don't worry, I guarantee there WILL NOT be any psychoing to sign up

bride, noted! will look for her

cherly, i will not be able to go down becos not in town

anyone know will they give extra perks during e wedding show?

here's the perks:

Couples who confirm their wedding celebrations at Raffles Hotel before 31 October 2006 will enjoy a host of additional privileges:

One 20-litre barrel of beer OR 8 bottles of house pour wine
Waiver of beverage fee for up to a maximum of 12 bottles of hard liquor, champagne and wine brought in by the wedding couple
Romantic Dinner for two at Raffles Grill on the couple's first wedding anniversary

<font color="119911">hi lilo_stitch, emily's right. These perks are over and above the normal package (which already has a lot of perks). The waiver of corkage for 12 bottles will come in very useful. Hopefully you can decide then you can book soon cos the offer will only last until 31st Oct 2006. Just give pauline a call and she'll help you.</font>

Thanks Lyons for your very strong recommendation and am pleased that Triston is able to be your photographer for your "big" day. However, I will still see you for your pre-wedding shoot, right? Do let me know if I could be of further assistance and wouldbe more than glad to assist you. In any case if you want to see me on MSN, it is [email protected]

<font color="119911">hey hilarion, no problem! If not good, I won't recommend mah. Yeah, I'm glad triston is available to shoot my wedding day. And I'm excited to have the both of you for my Pre-Wedding shoot! Can can, will let you know if I need more help

hey girls, if you're interested in AD PG or PS PG, do give hilarion a call.

PS. i ASSURE you i'm not getting any commission hor
I'm just a very satisfied customer and I hope to share my luck.</font>

<font color="119911">hey lilo, I'm not in the tri-andles website. Yes. Tri-Angles does overseas shoots. Very nice! But too bad, I don't have the budget to do that...

Lyons has not yet taken photos with us ... she has just signed up recently .. we are very certain we are all going to have lots of fun creating shots for pre-wedding and actual day ...

Yes some of the photos are taken in Perth, Brisbane and Japan ...
do feel free to give either hilarion or myself a call anytime ..

Hi hi lilo_stitch, we had done in the places such as what Triston had mentioned and will also be doing one in Melbourne between the 20th and 25th of this month. Do let us know if we can be of further assistance and certainly looking forward to be of valuable service to you. Do give Triston a call at 9692 7409 or myself at 6100 0088 for an appointment.

vez, thanks! i try to call her but she's always not at her desk
so far contact her via email. did u got any extra perks from anges?

cheryl, did u attend e wedding show?can share w me ur experiences?

unfortunately i wasnt able to get any extra perks from agnes...only the perks at the wedding show. will try for substitutions instead of perks when it comes down to discussing the nitty gritty.

they may take some time to get back to you via email. maybe try calling in the mornings when they are less likely to have clients coming down?
good luck!!

<font color="119911">hey lilo_stitch, you can try Pauline. Senior catering sales manager. She's really nice.

Usually only perks offered during the wedding show are given to maintain the quality of the hotel. You can try getting substitutions but I don't think they will give extras.</font>

hi lilo, sorry to reply so late...havent had time to come in here...

well, i was served by this lady chia hui. She is ver nice...but she told me annabel will get back to me...but it has been more than a week...i wrote her an email, she said will check &amp; revert lor...
cos the date i chosen there were 2 tentative booking but not confirmed...hai....
they give me a feeling they are short of manpower to deal with us lor...
what abt u? have u decided on RH &amp; who is serving u?

hi cheryl, which date are u looking at? annabel is e lady contact me via email so far, yet to have chance to speak w her over e phone. how's their deco? e pic i got is white deco it seem very standard

<font color="119911">hey cheryl, why don't you try pauline? I think you should be able to get her. If the coordinator they give you is unavailable, then try to get others since your date's so hot, you have to try other means. You can get pauline @ 64121336

hey lilo, did you go to the wedding show? They had the burgundy (deep red) and gold table cloth decorations as well, my fav is the gold one. will upload the pics later

<font color="119911">the pics here are not 100% accurate cos when I was at raffles, I felt that the champagne gold table cloths were a LITTLE yellowish, I prefer brownish-gold as in the pictures but the yellow gold is not too bad too la