Raffles Hotel

• Thread starter Thread starter rafflesian
  • Start date Start date
hi bochup,
thanks! my coordinator is sharul, i guess until i get my HB to confirm taking RH, until then, we have still alot of other thing to worry abt.. hahhaha.. :D

my rom is coming, 4 dec. abit kan cheong. doing own make-up, and photographing.. basic prep, thurs gg to seamstress for fitting rom dress.. this one more worrying..

zenith,

dun rush.....take ur time and keep a look out....can go look see in some foreign magazines, show to sharul....maybe they can source for u...I always think feathers, baroque period etc...very romantic...so when along that line....maybe feathered pens? hehe....DIY may be very time consuming lor....when come closer to AD, u may have too many things to hands on. I did that during my rom....made a mistake. I did my own floral decor and hand bouquet....the thing is, I did it just the day b4 my rom, but my manicure was done earlier, ended up my nail colour chipped quite a bit...lucky was I used a nude colour, so not obvious...ur AD in Apr rite? at least have up till beginning of next yr to thk....since rh may bring in new selections...can consider....

bochup,

thx for sharing the info again...wah....if I tell my hubby abt top up he bound to freak out!!!! thk wud just stick to those no nid to top up 1, unless hubby decided to be more generous!:P
so u mean when come to choosing wedding favours, we can actually arrange direct with rh's supplier?

ashlee,

yah...oni when u happen to be ard the vincinity...for me, my hotels usualy near Bayswater,so unless the weather is too cold....then I wud eat KFC ard the hotel.....somehow I find that UK KFC different from Sin, and it's nicer too!
I do visit London and Manchester say 3-4x a yr....but mostly London...Was in London Jul, and Aug...this yr unlikely to go there anymore...unless I swop duties with my colg.

So which part of UK u in?

bug bear,

u can try chking out RH'S website, coz the whole pkg is featured on their website. super max size of ballroom is 26tables, but preferably 25, coz 26 very cramp....

zenith
ah ic u haven't cfm with RH yet =) sharul told me can only cfm whether the casuarina available three days before my wedding. quite sad...

widowwitch
i went direct to betty because i went to see her office to check out the decor pieces she has. from there i went on to check out the favors she has. that's why i kinda went direct but generally if u want less hassle can deal direct with coordinator. at the end the supplier must still comply with RH requirements (like the $3 budget etc) or require top-up from u.

hi widowwitch,
thanks...
will try to look out for ideas from book. "scratching head" hehehe...

hi bochup,
i thot i rem he saying 3 wks. cos casuarina is prob used for corporate event, and 3 days is too short for any company to plan for a proper corporate seminar/lunch or anything.. hmm... but i am fine with the outdoor cocktail too. i think if the music is rite, cud be quite classy and different.. =)

hi belle,
i think i saw the bear couples last sat at RH, one wedding at grand br. very cute, they are in sachet of translucent bag..

Widowwitch
Wah, would love to have your job, visiting London and Manchester for free! hehe... I live in Essex, but commute to London to work. Pay in London is higher than the home counties, no choice lor. At least I get to live in the suburb and work in central London (Oxford Street area). Not bad lah.

Bochup
Cheers for the info. Guess $2 top up is not too bad, if it is for something really nice. Aiya, have to work out my budget again. hehe...

Everyone
Sorry have to drag everyone back to the topic of florist again...
But is the decor by the florist that is included in the basic package enough for the rooms to be presentable?

hi belle
this is the scented bear i'm referring to. do not know if the bear you're showing requires top-up but i do not that the material is of a more common quality. n do not think the limbs are movable but i may be wrong.

hi zenith
yeah i dun want to have to pay for the casuarina so i'm prepared to take the non-AC place if i have to. in the meantime just keeping my fingers crossed. =)

hi ashlee
u're most welcome. =) yrs is ballroom? cos i dunno much abt the EIR. i guess it depends on which florist u like cos u have around 3 options (woodsville, sir charles and labrise). i felt that woodsville was a little bare but then again i haven't really seen sir charles set up and was relying on caitlin's feedback that they are better. i went with labrise bcos betty was really friendly and from the photos she showed me, i liked what i saw. in fact i even asked for a feature to be removed becos i was afraid the stage would have no space for the family to stand when toasting. hehe... i had to top up a minimal sum (a couple hundred or so) but i think it will be worth it.

couldn't upload picture earlier so here it is this time - the scented bear with movable limbs. it looks a little scary cos i made it lie down... it should be displayed sitting up hehe... the ribbon around the neck and the scent are customizable.
222745.jpg

Hi bochup

thanks. just want to find out did u ask all 3 florists to show u their photos or have u seen the real flowers displayed in the ballroom before deciding on labrise? any clue whether the fabric on the wall panels are chargeable? thanks

Bochup, is the piece of paper with wedding dates and name done by the hotel for free? wah to print and tie it urself will be very tedious leh

Bochup
Yep, mine is in the EIR. Small room so I hope it is not going to be too expensive doing up the place.
Sir Charles sounds expensive. Have they got a website btw?
Went to take a look at Woodsville. Not bad, my kinda style, minimalist.
So what extra did you ask for, if you dun mind me asking? And what feature did u remove? A couple of hundred sounds fine actually. Went to labrise website but cannot find any venue decor leh...
Aww... bear is so cute!!!

Is that the one that you have to top up $2 for?

Anyone having / have had their solemnisation at raffles?

Actually how do we decide which florist to choose? They have pics to let us choose ah?

I'm intending to hv my solemnization at the Lawn.

Also does anyone know how is their invitation cards like? Heard that they outsource to American Wedding Present?

Seval
How much is the solemnisation package huh, if you dun mind me asking?

Trying to source for a venue for solemnisation but want to keep costs low...

belle
not quite sure what u mean by fabric on the wall panels. as for florists:
<u>woodsville</u> - i saw their website as well as at least 2 "live" displays (meaning the displays for actual wedding when i went down to RH ballroom). did not speak with the main person but did chat a little with the employee doing the set-up during one of the weddings i saw. also got a rough idea of some top-up costs by asking the coordinators if any top-up was done for that particular "live" set-up.
<u>sir charles</u> - chatted with the store asst mgr and saw some pictures. caitlin said she saw sir charles set-up at the lawn and loved it compared to woodsville. i have no idea about pricing but concluded that it must be pricier since it's located IN RH. but i may be wrong.
<u>labrise</u> - corresponded with betty over the email and phone. finally made apptmt to go down to her place even tho it's really ulu for me. (Sharul offered to arrange a meeting at RH but betty said if i go down can see the decor pieces in her studio. altho she does have photos that she can show if need be) i decided to go down since i was already interested in getting scented favors so i figured i could take a look at her complete range of favors as well (i think at least half of the scented favors are from labrise - eg. the bear pic i attached above).
and yes (i'd assume/hope) it's free if u get it from the hotel =) i think if not free i mite as well buy my own favors n DIY the tag.

ashlee
not sure if they have website. did u try googling for it? well it wasn't a specific top-up. mainly it was because labrise is not the contracted florist so she has some costs that she can't cover from doing many weddings plus she included scenting the room before the dinner in my package. however the overall look is going to be quite good and i also felt that a couple hundred is not a bad sum. i removed a water fountain feature... hard to describe but it would be quite beautiful if i had the space (if less than 25 tables can maybe make stage larger to accomodate but since my dinner will have 25 tables... so cannot lor). instead betty suggested she add two tall (but thin) stands on each side of the back part of the stage (with a decorated panel/grill in between). so altho i asked to remove the fountain, betty didn't take the easy way out n left it at that. she suggested alternative ideas and was open to my ideas.
yup the bear is the one =)

seval
u'll need to meet with these florists beforehand... decide which style u want n then go from there. in my sister's wedding at shangri-la, she had 4 florists (no contracted florist) to choose from n that gave her a headache going to so many. in our case, we can either go with the contracted (woodsville) or do our own research. u can either google or search past msgs in this thread for woodsville website.

Ashlee, are you having it on the same day as the wedding dinner? If yes, they quoted me $500+++ but I know someone got it free but they refused to give it to me.

If u are thinking of having it on a separate day, it's about $2k just for rental, deco and drinks for the Lawn. I think no food, canapes maybe. The package is at their website, you are look under the "wedding ceremony" but I think it's not worth it. I would rather you go to Four Seasons, they have nice east wing and west wing rooms tt can cater to about 30-50pax, high tea at 45+++. You might want to check that out. I love one of the rooms, dunno it's east or west..

I'm new here. My FW and I have confirmed with RH for our big day next year. We are having our sololemnization at the Lawn followed by a buffet dinner at the EIR.

We are not sure if its odd for our guests to 'move' to the EIR after the ceremony at the Lawn.

Would appreciate some comments and suggestions from the room. Thanks

I think it's ok lah but it's quite a long walk though. I find Raffles a big too big to move around.

Hey, so did you pay for the Lawn?

Of Coz! S$500+++ as you mentioned. I was in shock when I read they can give it for free.

We thought S$500 for ard 45mins of rental is actually quite steep. But come to think of it, the Lawn is really nice esp with the red carpet laid in the middle of the greens. Just hope the weather will spare us on that day.

I just know of someone's package some time back. She got it free lah. Maybe they have changed policy lor. That's how I console myself, if not, you'll just get very angry thinking abt it.
I like the Lawn too, I like Raffles because of the Lawn. I feel more for the Lawn than the ballroom.

When is yr AD?
How many pax do you have?

CWS &amp; Seval
Ya, my solemnisation on the same day as wedding dinner. And I am having dinner at EIR too! So what is included in the $500 huh? Is it just the table and chairs plus a few flower pieces?
I am now soooooooooooooo tempted to have my solemnisation at The Arts House. Oh my god, it is GORGEOUS! But very expensive indeed. $1300 for a small (but beautiful) room for four hours. Sigh, guess it is only sensible to do it for $500 at Raffles lah... Even Grand Copthorne Waterfront charges $588+++(688+++ weekends)for their "chapel", very nice though.

Bochup
So how much does Labrise charge to scent the room? That is literally a very refreshing idea! They sound really reasonable, charging only $200+ for the extra flowers. Well done gal! Can you please send me the photos after your wedding?

Hope the lawn is not booked up for my day, apparently, there are four weddings (incl mine) at RH on my wedding date!

CWS, when is your actual day?

Yup, tables and chairs. U can use the floral stands frm your dinner &amp; move it up later on.
Grand Copthorne can get it free for sure, I spoke to them before.

Seval
Thanks for telling me. Will make sure they include the floral stands. My fiance has completely ruled out Raffles for solemnisation. He wants solemnisation and wedding dinner to be separate and distinct. So vain. So probably doing it at Grand Copthorne.
Did u manage to negotiate the package with them before u decided against it?
When is your wedding day then? Is Sharul or Jenn your co-ord?

ashlee
for scenting of room alone typically costs approximately $500 depending on type of scent used and extent of scenting (how long etc). i will post the pictures on my website when they're ready/after the wedding. =)

seval &amp; ashlee
my AD 05 Nov 05, sounds nice huh?

I'll be having it at EIR so the max is 12tables. And oya, chairs n tables n floral stands are incl. So is the AV equipment. And not to forget the red carpet too! If you booked the Lawn, they will include a back-up function room (Casurina Suit) in case the weather turns bad. So come to think of it, u are actually paying $500 for 2 venues!

So ashlee, if u are considering the Lawn, better act fast. I think the Lawn is really worth it coz theres no where else in Sing that offers such romantic and intimate atmosphere, with the exception of maybe Botanic Gardens, which we thought its big and open for solm.

Ashlee.. oh if u are thinking of doing it on a different day, u wun be able to get it free at Copthorne lah. I had wanted to have the ceremony before the dinner, so the coordinator there said tt cld have the chapel thing and can provide drinks as well. If you want to do it separately, can do high tea. Four Seasons as I have suggested, outdoor can try Rasa if you like the beach but it depends on when you want it as they are having reno. Want cheaper choices would be Carlton and Amara. Actually, I havent decided on raffles as the wine prx is killing. I'm stuck btw Raffles &amp; Hyatt.

hi gals... i m intending to have my solemisation in gazebo lawn too... a few questions to ask.. hope some of u here can ans... thanks..

1) How much is it to book jus the lawn itself?
2) if i wanted to get the hotel for banquet and solemisation in lawn in separate days. will there b discount? how much will tt cost?
3)weekday dinner n wkend dinner got price difference?
4) who is better, sharul or the gal?

trippedchokeever, how is hyatt?? u getting it for solemisation? is the garden nice??

Dear Blur Blur,

Try my best to ans your question:

1.) To book the Lawn itself with no dinner at the ballroom, you shd be getting the "Wedding Ceremony" package which is on their website. But check with the coordinator for more accurate info lah.

2.) Dunno if got discount leh, maybe lor.

3.) All 7 days same price.

4.) I think subjective ...

Nope, I'm not getting Hyatt for solemnization. Garden is nice but hot. Not windy at all.
And it's very ex!!! They quoted me $2K for the ceremony before dinner, dunno how much if you do it separately but I think $2K is ridiculous, they brought it down to 1.5K but I still think it's too expensive. &amp; it's +++ lor.. I think they are crazy, I rather pay 2k for their chocolate fountain...

Seval
No lah, I am having my dinner at Raffles on 2nd July 05. Solemnisation on the same day as well. Just deciding on venue lor.
$500 for Lawn and reserve room? That is really good price. But my fiance very vain. He doesn't like the idea of having the solemnisation just before dinner as the two would blend into one event. He wants the solemnisation and the dinner to be two distinctive affairs.

He is all for having the solemnisation at late morning at Grand Copthorne (no food) and then pre-dinner cocktail and all at Raffles in the evening.

I was considering Grand Hyatt too before I signed up with Raffles. It is very nice too but Raffles style appeals to me more and it works out to be more expensive than Raffles for me (as I am taking only ten tables)!

Zenith
I'm sure they can put the red carpet in the br if u ask them to... not too troublesome for them right?

Blur
I think if doing just the wedding dinner at the Lawn, the backup function room will cost around $2000 as well. Asked before but might have remembered wrongly.

CWS
Wow, nice date for wedding! 051105... Good for you gal!

Blur
Think I definitely remembered wrongly. It is $2000 rental for the Lawn and have to pay extra for the backup function room... I think...

Hi blur

I think most of your ans can be found either in this thread or at RH url.

I will be having a solm at the Lawn then follow by dinner at the East India Room. The rental of the Lawn is a separate charge altogether. I dun think the rental price is indicated in their website but I'm paying S$500+++ for it, which also includes a back-up function room. If I'm not wrong, this special rate is only applicable to couples who are also having their dinner at the RH. So that means S$2000 might be the rate for a separate event. I suggest you call RH up for more details.

Blur
Grand Hyatt also charges $2000 for rental of their Garden. I agree with CWS, dun just take our word for it (especially mine! cos I've such short memory), give them a call and see how much they quote you. And I am sure you have a lot of doubts that can be best clarified by speaking to them personally.

CWS
I am having the dinner at EIR too. And Sharul suggested us doing the solemnisation at the Palm Garden before the dinner. So you prefer the lawn then?

ashlee
Yup, the Lawn is definitely out 1st choice coz its very romantic. Its out in the open but yet private enff for the solm. So do you need to pay for the Palm Garden?

CWS
If we do the solemnisation at the Palm Garden, it is within the hours on the contract, so I dun think there is an extra amt to pay, but have to top up to do all the decoration and flowers I guess.
Does your $500 for the Lawn include flowers and setup?

ashlee
It includes setup of chairs and flowers. H/w, the flowers will be reused again at the EIR. Unless of coz, you are willing to pay extra for more flowers.

CWS
Hmm... Quite embarrassing if guests see them moving the flowers to the EIR... but guess they would do it discreetly wont they?
Have u decided which florist to use?

ashlee
flowers are commonly recycled from church wedding to banquet (different locales so the florist has to transport the flowers from the church to the hotel). in the case of solemnization before banquet, there is nothing to be embarassed about in recycling flowers. it would be a waste not to use them again.

bochup
Yup, u are definitely rite!

ashlee
I think its still early for mi to decide. But Jenn showed mi some pic of the flower set-up, they were all lovely. I guess it depends on wat colors the couple prefer. So which florist are u using?

Hi Cookie's gal,

Sorry I took so long to revert to you on the CD. Couldn't find my own copy but have found the same CD on the website.

It's s Sparrow Double Play CD with 2 of Scott Wesley Brown's CD. Here's the CD cover: http://www.worshipmusic.com/spd1186.html
I bought the CD many years ago (1999) at a Christian bookstore that has since closed down. But you can try buying off the internet if you can't find it here guess. Try ACTS bookstore at China Square Central- it's quite big.

ashlee &amp; cws
=D it won't make any difference to me actually cos i just having a dinner in RH hehe (no solemnization until i get to US). but i'd definitely shamelessly reycle the flowers if i did.

CWS
I really have no idea which florist I should use. I haven't seen pix of the setups so have no clue at all. Will decide after I've met up with Jenn in December. Which one do u prefer?

bochup
So you are not going to get registered in Singapore? Oh... Thought i read somewhere that one must be registered before customary marriage, or it is against the law?
Hmmm... me blur as usual!

ashlee
humm...quite hard to decide for now. If i'm not wrong, there might be new set-up in 2005 so I'll just wait till a couple of mths b4 my AD to decide.

Hi girls!

long time no 'see'
Ashlee, u're right. According to ROM's website, it's against Spore law to have the customary before registering at ROM...but if Bochup is not registering in Spore, I'm not sure how that will work out though.. 1 Question, is your hubby Brit? If so, I'm just wondering if u guys went through any of the customary stuff such as Guo Da Li or Si Dian Jin? I'm quite blur when it comes to these things....

Bochup, how's your wedding prep? 7788?

Been alone for the past few days.. my bloke's coming back from Oslo tomorrow evening then we'd be going to a resort in Lapland past the arctic circle. There should be some snow by now. yay!