Qian Xi Restaurant??

Pisces, i know hokkien must have cans 'pig leg', can have hokkien cake/biscuit (think most ppl don't now) if u wanna.

Some return banana to groom side when they r hokkien (think most ppl don't now)

Think d rest of items mostly the same as other dialect gp.

1 thing i m vy sure is every single item must paste 'xi' sticker on it.

The temp chinatown market has a store no.132, selling items that the bride needs to give the groom like teapot, bath set etc.

Hope these help

Hi duckling, pisces, yah think that is what they meant. Coz if there r chinese & a few malays in the same table, how to place the diff dishes on the center of table together? Think the malays won't like it this way too?

Juz my own reasoning thou :P

But I also wonder how the dinner for malays will b like loh? Do they get 8 dishes like us or juz 1 dish/plate with everything in it liao? If 1 dishes, won't they finish vy early & watch the rest eat?

hmm i did not talk to the boss i talk to the mgr she say if one person there is no way to serve 1 whole duck or fish not even possible to serve a portion of it when they will not be making the duck or fish.

if really no choice then have to pay lor

<font color="0000ff">matsu; the MUA rm tt i hv do hav 4 chairs around and still can stand a few pple.. so no worries! if tt the case, u hv to confirm wif ur co-ord and see wat she says abt ur make up arrangement den..
as for the meals, the malays do get several dishes as the chinese food...

pisces; u jus go to those GDL shops, they will prepare for you. i rem tt time when i go to buy, the man jus prepare for me those standard items, its a pkg one lor.. u can go to my multiply to see few of the stuffs ive bought, will upload more pics of my GDL stuffs if i hv the time..
as for ties, u can go to the shop at far east, its at the watsons level wher they sell lots of tie at low price (abt $2 or $3 if im nt wrong).

duckling; its nt worth is if u were to open 1 full table for veg or muslim... it depends hw many veggie/muslim u hv, den frm ther u can try to arrange their seatings..</font>

duckling : my planning 7788 lor. i oso hv some vege &amp; muslim so will place them all one table. will b asking how they gonna be served nxt mon.

tansan : thx for the info.
eh..when u said GDL shops meaning any shops selling traditional cakes in chinatown huh? how to go multiply huh? sori if i sounded mountain turtle ah. :P

duckling: for my case..i open 2 tables of muslim..they serve in almost like chinese dishes..but slightly faster coz in the end..they'll place all the food on the table coz they hv rice to go with it..den i opened 1 table for veg (in VIP) coz my in-laws are vegetarian..so am i..so we open full loh as it'll look nicer..but i've 2 veg friends..i placed them in one table together with the normal table..and they're served in individual portion..by the way..how many muslim friends u have..? don't worry too much yah..? juz focus on the tekan session..hehe..but i hv to agree tt guests lists is the most difficult part..i used 3 weeks to complete it..haha..

i chose the red card.."xi" wording on the centre..den below is the "wedding invitation"..den the card open by centre one..

pisces: i've bought my GDL thingys at yishun..i went to a very old shop selling those traditional cakes..den they'll ask which dialect u are..den they'll prepare for u..somemore hv to tradition baskets..keke..very cute one..

Pisces, i know there is a tradition cake shop that sell hokkien cake/biscuit near Eunos market/mrt.

I need some cantonese cakes @ chinatown 2.

Think a few others, mayb u wanna search thru other thread, think i saw some postings.

Angeline, think we r getting the same invitation card design

U have the address of that cake shop? How much did u get your cake? If cheaper, i wanna consider too
Like the baskets idea lei...cool

Pisces, wanna try order some hokkien cakes together 4 beta bargain? Ha ha...juz a thought

<font color="ff6000">duckling; add u le...

pisces; nope, i went to a shop in hougang selling GDL stuffs but i dun tink they sell cakes as well... u nid to register urself in the multiply 1st..
no worries! </font>

angel: i think ur invitation card same with the one i chose too leh
it's horizontal wan rite?
can gv me the address for the traditional cake? how much will it cost huh?

i'm thinking of placing vege &amp; muslim together leh. so i think should be individual servings hor?

matsu : if can bargain then i dun mind order together lah. hv to chk with the store lor. but my GDL is 3rd Dec leh. urs leh? coz we collect on diff date wonder can or not hor? over the wkend i ask tong heng which is selling cantonese cakes. it's quite ex leh..abt $18 odd for 8 pcs. if 6 pcs then it's $14 plus but without those nice boxes lor.

the eunos mrt wan the cake nice? abt how much huh? can give me the exact address?

Tansan : how to register multiply? wat's the webbie?

Pisce, mine's on 11 Dec.

Wa...Tong Heng so ex hor? I haven start on GDL items but heard 'Da Dong' @ chinatown is cheap for cantonese cake but ugly packaging.

Juz nice that i will b gng Eunos tonite so let u know tml, ok?

So nice, urs on a sunday. Din realise urs is a week early only so meaning I m lagging on my prep again...sigh. Need to rush my mum 4 list again liao.

I need 2 get both hokkien &amp; cantonese cake ^_^V
But only in small quantity coz think it's only 4 praying &amp; a few neighbours/friends who r not invited to the banquet.

U r welcome
I need 2 go check out on it anyway.

tansan : thanks ah. so how i add u gals huh?

matsu : yalor..last night juz pester both parents abt the list...aiyo..headache leh..my FH's side they r adding more tables which mk my FH veri pissed coz the ballroom max oni 62 tables leh..can't extend liao...unless the next room no occupancy but i doubt so lor. sigh...

gals ... how s ur preparation ar??
me getting nervous liaoz now preparing for the
GDL stuff too plus my revision for my exam . still got another 6 weeks more to my AD

Pisces, abt this Eunos tradition cake shop. Vy ex loh, $20 for assorted in those traditional chinese paper box. Somemore need to order min 20 boxs

Think we can forget abt this shop liao, have to source else where. Paiseh abt this bad recommendation :P

Will search thru other threads tml.

Hi elaine, u must b vy tired to do wedding prep &amp; exam @ the same time hor? Must take care of ur health 2 coz the weather is really bad, drink more water ^_^V

Pisces, i also have problem with FPIL abt the banquet. Juz found out that they don't do save the day kinda arrangement.

Meaning they r gng to send invites to every1 they want without any prior confirmation. They think it's rude to ask if the guests r coming.

I m stress out by this kinda of planning, think sure a lot of no show.

Yah lor i have start my exam prep as well. sian leh also not on wedding.

Picsces, no lah i just went for my food tasting also. just ask wwhether on the same day haha.

As for my relative its ok one.

Matsu ... sometime really got no choices loh. Probably you would like to discuss with them on tat day itself get them to help to shift the relatives to ensure the tables are fully occupied.
This is what i will be doing loh.

Duckling ... ya pretty stress as my last paper is on the same day as my customary. So after complete the tea ceremony, abt 4 plus need to rush for exam

That's why i need to complete everything by end of Oct so that I can concentrate doing my revision

matsu : it's ok..we will wait for angel reply

aiyo..at 1st my parents oso said not nice to ask but i tell them to tell the guests that we r inviting u to our daughter's wedding &amp; would like to know whether will you b bringing your spouse &amp; any children. if ask like tat then not so rude rite?

if ur parents dun ask then it can b a danger leh..coz u might hv more seats or not enuff seats leh. think u better tell ur FH to talk to them again.if not enuff seats veri pai say wan. tat happen to my FH fren leh..in the end those close frens hv to give up their seats then after the wedding the groom gv them a treat instead.

duckling : when's ur food tasting? my FH uncle said he went to their marina branch a few times for wedding dinner. he said the food not veri nice leh..i think marina close liao rite? now i worried leh coz i booked without tasting the food b4...but so far all of u said it's nice leh...

Elaine, ur exam &amp; customary on the same day, my god, really kowtow to u liao
&amp; here I think I m too stress :P Take care &amp; good luck on your exam &amp; wedding!

Yah, think I beta standby XD &amp; JM by certain timing need to do some shifting if the tables r not occupied by then.

Sigh! Really hate this kinda of last min extra work (which can b prevent) juz bcoz of lousy planning &amp; stupid 'lose face' thinking loh

Pisces,

I have been to QX @ paya lebar 4 makan a few times. All of us think the food is tasty but diff ppl have diff taste thou.

Mayb u may wanna consider gng 4 the food tasting then?

elaine : HUH!! meaning after ur papers then u will rush for ur wedding dinner ah? veri stress leh...wish u luck in your papers ah. better take care leh...

matsu : it's like tat wan lah..wedding is not juz 2 ppl thingy lor. sigh... i told my FH i regretted leh..should juz go for honeymoon can liao but then his parents will kill us lor. coz only son my only daughter cum 1st wedding in both families..sigh..stress ah.

it's ok matsu will b going for food tasting coming monday. juz worried oni lah. but then oredi booked liao so nuthing i can do oso...think i too stress liao..:P

Gals ... luckily is that my dinner is on different day cos there will not be enough
time to rush cos my paper is in the evening loh

Thanks matsu &amp; pisces

Relax pisces dun stress too much
You have booked bliss garden, paya lebar or hilltop??

WOW elaine

Then must take care. My exam is on the 2nd week of Dec luckily AD last week of Dec.

I went this tueday le. My parenet and PIL tot it taste good. WOW i like the creal prawns....

As for the guest list i hate last min work also so now i already asked my friends whether they can make it but a pity is that many cannot come sigh.

Marina one close le

elaine : mine's at expo
u leh? so ur AD is when? but then u will hv to rent ur gown for another day lor..hire mkup artist another day lor. so extra cost?

duckling : ok lah..believe u then. guess diff ppl diff taste. no matter how gd still will hv ppl not satisfied wan.
y leh? issit they go travelling?

pisces, search thru the other thread for cakes liao.

here's what i gather :

1. Ng Kim Lee Confectionery
4 Chun Tin Road
Tel : 6466 3515

2a. Gin Thye Cake Maker
152 Bukit Batok St 11
#01-264
Tel : 6899 6929

2b. 423 Sembawang Road
Tel : 6257 1566

Heard both r in this business 4 many yrs liao. I love the idea that they provide the big traditional basket FOC for GDL

Pisces, almost same case as urs. HB is only son &amp; eldest grandson @_@ so we were 'forced' to do it.

Yr end, Dec time is always holiday period. Many ppl may have ored booked tour package as early as half a yr ago liao. So actually it is a risky period for wedding banquet...ha ha

Duckling you got to take care as well.

Matsu &amp; Pisces thanks for your concern.

Pisces, my AD is on 4th Dec &amp; dinner on 8th Dec at Bliss Garden.
Ya got to pay for the MUA well dun need to rent the gown for another day as I will be paying a deposit of $100.
I can only get back the deposit after return the gown loh

Ya they have plan for holi and some have other wedding to attend so no choice.

Matsu u here. see that u have select your pixs le how was it and did u top up any more photos. Did they give u a good deal.

matsu : thank u much much leh..
kao_kiss.gif

will go &amp; chk it out. u leh? getting ur cakes from which one?

duckling it's like tat lah. but at least they tell u earlier so u dun hv to confirm so many tables liao lor.

how much u spend for your PS? y u said u overspend?

Duckling, yah we juz did. Qutie a few of my WG photos have problems but after edited r alright liao. Overall, we r happy with our PS
Now have to wait again for all the photos 2 get edited. I did top up some extra photos.

Do u mean u regreted getting too much extra or u were over charged for the extra?

If u really love ur photos then i think it's ok to spend since u can earn it back

Don't worried abt it, shd b happy coz that means ur PS vy nice mah

Pisces, U r most welcome. I also need to check them out, dunno which 1 to 2 get yet
Juz got those infor from other thread today only.

Btw, met up with kelvin to discuss some banquet details. Nice fellow, vy patient &amp; gd service provider
Hope he is ard for my banquet.

Any1 gng to give hongbao to all the banquet staff? Roughly what is the range per person? $8 ok? Give b4 or after the banquet?

hey furnana, it's ok. Ur softcopy is gd enough
I met up with kelvin for the hardcopy liao. Thanks a lot for your help

When is your AD &amp; how's your prep gng?

HI Matsu, I have not select my PS pixs, going today.

Did they give u a good deal? Did they give u extra things and how much they charge u. I parying hard that the pics come out well cos i have this feeling it s not comin out nice.

<font color="0000ff">pisces; u nid to invite and incl our nick and wait for us to accept den u can view our pics..

matsu; yup, kelvin is a nice guy... during my dinner, he and steven (manager) are ard to help up. my hubby gave them a big ang pow before the dinner starts cos the staffs will hv the 'heart' to work... keke...