Qian Xi Restaurant??

hi jasmine,

no probs.. details updated..

i was thinking of an apple green, pink and white theme for the church and dinner will be red and gold.. but i have yet to confirm anything yet coz needs FH to decide.. hehe..

purple is a very nice colour that not many brides uses.. so i think it'll be really nice.. especially lilac..

i've seen a lord of the ring theme in the magical elve land.. really gorgeous outfits and deco and it was held in the fullerton hotel.. so i guess the couple are pretty rich.. *envy envy*

are u going to pay for ur brides maids dresses since u want them to be all wearing the same colour? may be quite costly..

hi maggie and tansan,

both of u are confirm not getting wedding favours ah? wanted to have the sweets bowl thingy too but might just have that for my church in the morning only.. still thinking of DIYing favours for the dinner.. hehe..

Hi Pet,

Hmm.. for my bridesmaids dresses..i'm not too sure yet.. cos initially i tot of giving them purple ribbons to tie on their waist then some of them says not nice as everybody's dresses are different & wont look good..then they suggested having purple waist corsage which have very big and obvious purple flowers or having a purple orchid each on their ears while they wear any pastel colors.. other suggestions are that they wear any shades of purple as long as its a purple knee length dress..so the idea is there but duno which one to use..headache..if my bridesmaids were to buy their own dresses then we'll bao a bigger ang pow for them lor..if i were to get it for them from my BS as they have agreed to rent bridesmaids' dresses to us at 30bucks each, then we'll pay for the rental fees and the ang pow would be smaller lor..

For the bestmen its very easy as they can simply wear purple ties to fit the theme..moreover my wedding stretches over 2 days and my bridesmaids also wants to dress differently on the 2 days..so very headache..very costly if i were to sponsor 2 dresses for each of them cos i got 6 bridesmaids..where 2 of them would be my emcee as well..

Hi Maggie, update me the cost once u finish with the decor hor? :P

For those who haven booked mayb can consider the Bukit Batok branch which is new. i think tat one can cater abt 50 tables max.

Favours wise can consider giving those chocolate in square shape. I asked liao..it's abt $0.80 per piece with a cute wedding picture on it. buy more i think might be cheaper. if 2 squares will be $1.75 with nice pkging. if u wanna customise then it's $100 for the mould.

Hey Jasmine r u using Stefine animation too?

Hi Pisces,

Yes I'll be using their animation too. Are you using them as well? Saw from their thread but not much recent comments. So duno if they're good. However,i quite like the works that they have shown us so far..

hi jasmine, i'm still considering coz stefine is abit ex compare to the others.

do u know how long will it takes for them to do the animation? how long b4 the AD should i contact them?

Hi pisces, others u mean rh*ma Media(* change to e)? From my findings only RM & stefine does animation. There's another one "me0wstudi0" who collaborate with chapterone but they're already full booked till June 2006. For RM, they need at least 3mths to do the animation. For Stefine, they need ard 2 months..

Since your AD is in Dec, I tink maybe you can start contacting them to view their portfolios, see if you like their works or not.. Cos they're actually quite popular & if you book them late, you might not be able to get your choice PG & VG. Now they're having promo leh.. You may want to check them out. The package is 2k including PG & VG. Then if want to animation, juz add another 400bucks.

For me,i started searching for PG & VG late. In ard end Jan to Feb..so have to rush in making decisions..afraid that they might be taken by others cos alot other PG & VG that we approached had already been taken..

Btw, do you want the entire package or only the animation part? Cos if you didnt take the package, individual item would be more costly. animation alone is 800bucks.. So it'll be more cost effective to take the entire package.

Jasmine and Pet: I'll be having a pink theme, mainly becos my wedding gown has pink shades somewhere, my tea dress has pink flowers prints and my evening gown is magenta so pink will be the running theme of the day. Also i think that it's easy for the jie meis to get their dresses. The only prob i have now is to coax my hubby to wear a pink tie..

Pet: I'm not getting the favors liaoz, think that i'm pushing my budget a bit too much. Realised that there're lots of hidden cost for wedding that will slowly surface as the date draws near. Will do away with favors.

Gin: Thanks for your photos!! They look GREAT!! I love the sky so much!! You must have enjoyed your PS at Bintan alot.

Jasmine, i also thinking of doing animation for my wedding as a suprise to my hubby. went to stefine's website to view some example, quite nice but dunno wats the cost. any recommendation which company offers better one?

My GF's wedding is using video clip on how they got to know each other and their home, quite nice and its only $500 .

As for favours, i checking it out in china. Asking my frens who are from china to helpme source. think would be much cheaper then in singapore.

Going to BS to try gown on wed, any tips that you gals can offer?

Hi, all,
mine will be a chinese theme for my AD dinner.. I will be wearing a cheogsam type of evening gown and all the songs played will be mandarin songs/music...

As for the morning, the brothers will be wearing purple shirts.. It's quite difficult for jie mei to find purple dresses, so they can hv a choice of purple or pink..

hi gals...if u all need lobang for videographer i can help intro my videographer to u... his charges are cheaper than market rate and he is a full time videographer somemore
anybody wants can PM mi lar :P

Hi Tansan,
Sent!

Dear Ladies,
I am considering going into Wedding Planner bis. Will be doing up wrist corsages, collar corsages, ang bao boxes, and also providing ideas for wedding. Would like to hear comments from you all what do you all expect from Wedding Planner.
Please email me at [email protected]

Hi maggie,
initially i tot of pink too..but i tink i'll have a hard time convincing the brothers & hubby to wear a pink tie..so i gave up the idea..Hee..

Phoebelow,
Animation for Stefine is quite costly if u only intend to take it alone..Its 800bucks..However, if you bundle it with the photography & videography, its much cheaper ranging from 400 - 600bucks..i got mine at 400bucks only..my whole package including, PG, VG, animation, photo montage, express highlights and collage photo album(20 pages) costs 2.4K..

Went there for lunch last weekend for my nephew's full mth...all relatives commented food @ qian xi is good and quantity is huge.

Only downside i think is the service of staff...didn't really know how to serve.

Hello all..

I juz came upon this webbie n find it very useful wif all the tips..but i still hv lots of thingys to learn frm u ladies..

i juz booked my wedding banquet at Qian Xi (Farrer Park) too..as for my wedding favours i got it frm kampung love too..i'll like to ask for yr advice..

my tables gonna be 28+2(reserve)..how many wedding favours should i prepare? im afraid tt it'll be very wasteful if i prepare a lot..thank you..

hi angeline!

welcome!

care to leave ur details so that i can upload it into the table?

as for ur wedding favours.. i think its safe to order 300 pieces.. however.. if u're afraid that it may not be enough.. order up til 320 will be more than enough..

worst come to worst is if u got extras.. then u can come here to the marketplace corner and sell it off mah.. i'm sure there will be buyers.. coz lots of gals doing the same thing.. hehe..

Hi tansan,
Me even Friday also work half a day..wat to do..boss nt around...sigh...
will go for massage, mani and pedi on friday too.

Geraldine,

No need to be troubled, maybe you try to get favors that can match your wedding theme lor..At least can narrow down the various alternatives.. also can see what your budget is 1st..If u got more budget then can get from wedding favors providers like duet forte etc, if not can DIY.. I've seen from a wedding mag that a couple actually gave green apples as favors to match their green theme. I think this idea is really fresh as apples can be eaten by everyone who attends the wedding and you wont waste your money. Moreover, its a cheap alternative. You can also DIY packets of sweet, chocolates, tea leaves etc. These are more practical as guests are able to use them.. Moreover, now you also can get nice and cheap fabrics, wrappers & test tubes everywhere.. Hope that helps.. Cheers!!

Petrina: hello..thanks for yr advice..guess the worst part won't work for me..keke..coz it's gonna hv our names on it..but it's ok..thanks..i guess i'll order 320.. O=)

Duckling: hello..keke..so coincidence..my AD's on 23rd Sep..which juz fall on my hubby's BD..actually i wanna it on 28th Sep..same as my rom date..but my mum wanna it on weekend..so juz nice 23rd Sep falls on sat..is my hubby's BD..n somemore still in time for Lunar 8th mth..so get tt date loh..keke..

Hi Jasmine, I have thought of DIY rosebud tea in test tubes but they sell the test tubes in 100s and i will have alot of extras that i can do nothing....
Also thought of shot glasses and DIY heartshape chocolates in organza bags...
Any1 knows where to get cheap heartshape chocolates??

hi geraldine,
i tink if u got extra, maybe can come and sell it here at the marketplace section. else u can also packet the rosebud tea in organza bags..

or you can prepare 2 types of favors and put in a container in the middle of every table or put at the reception table. DIY a flag or something which says "pls take one". let ur guest choose what they prefer. this way, u wont have extra test tubes and guests get to choose what they prefers between the two..

Hi geraldine

not sure of heart shape choc but umeya has chinese word "xi" wrapper choc but it cost $3 per 100 gm. you mau want to take a look.

Hmmm what will u gals be getting?? think of favours very boring leh
I have checked the price of rosebuds tea from nate before its about $70 per kg

Hi Jas,

stefine is abit ex coz i only wants the animation. so i'm considering me0w & rm now. me0w is abt $480 & rm had incease price to $600 i think. but if u sign up with them during bridal show then it will cheaper ard $500. but me0w was super busy so duno when then can meet up.sigh...

Hey Gin..may i tk a look at your pics too???? pls sent to [email protected]. thanks in advance..
btw r u holding ur AD at conrad? u muz be veri excited hor...congrats ah..!! hope everything turns out smoothly for u.

Hi Piglet..wah..chinese theme ah..we oso thot of playing a chinese oldies & wear cheongsum but the restaurant not veri cheena so my designer say wear cheong sum not match lah...sigh..

btw Petrina my BS is silverlining.

Hi Stacy, which branch d u go for your nephew bday celebration?

For favours i think it's better to get something which is edible or usable so that if there's any extra u can eat them or use them urself.

Geraldine; most likely i will forgo the favours, maybe will put a big bowl of colourful candies or chocolate on the recep table...
its kinda of time and $ consuming to find the favours... so its one problem down for me~!

Duckling: My BS is French Bridal..17th April will be going down to try the gown..sorry ladies..wat shd i take note of when im going over to try the gown for the 1st time? thanks..

hi geraldine,

can i find out from u where to get the test tubes from? and do u know how much does it cost for 100 tubes?

i think i may be interested in the test tubes as my wedding favours..

hi pisces,

ok ok.. will update ur details in a little while's time..

anymore ppl wanna update their details in the table?

Tomorrow is my big day. Excited? Not really....tired...very...now is 12.54am and me still not asleep yet...but very sleepy and tired.
Today went to collect my gowns and my album, and we love our album and portrait very much. It very much better than our first album.
Sad to say till now, hotel cant even confirm with me my check-in time. QXL called me and confirm the details already...
Hope things will be fine.
Take care all....

Hi GIn Congrats

I wish you bai tou xie lao, zhao sheng gui zi.

The table show your weddinng at 12 march leh i tot is on sunday.Hahah Blur me.

Do show me the picture when you are done. I am also attending a wedding tomorrow at qian xi expo tomorrow. Pai seh can't attend yours.

Enjoy yourself.

Halo Gin, wishing you a blissful marriage~!
btw, u taking the banquet at the expo one? how come ther is a hotel provided?
ya, do rem to show us ur foto when its ready, ya! Once again, <font color="ff0000">CONGRATS!</font>
kao_wedding.gif

Halo duckling; so u r attending a wedding at qianxi 2moro? do rem to highlight us hor~ hee... kam sia~!

hi gin!!

wah.. congrats congrats!!.. so fast its ur turn liao.. hehe... time really flies yeah?

anyway.. be a mei mei bride tmr okie? then let us see ur beautiful photos!! haha..

Hi duckling,

i was also thinking of getting a hotel to stay for the night leh.. which one u have in mind? i was thinking of the changi village hotel coz its one of the nearest to bliss garden..

what about u?

hi everyone, i'm new to this forum. happie to see so many brides under Qian Xi / bliss garden! just booked the bliss garden ballroom B on this week. my FH's bro also held his wedding at bliss garden on 10 Dec last year. Guests gave thumbs up for their food. i personally find their ballrooms pretty and comparable to some of the hotels. Initially, I was very hesitant to hold my wedding at a restaurant until i saw blissgarden. it's not as "CHINA" as most restaurants.
during my FH bro's wedding, their staff played the wrong march-in song... but their captain promptly apologised to the couple abt the mistake after their march-in. I guess the bride was too happie until she din't realise..keke. they changed their fake flowers to real flowers- a mixture of yellow and pink roses. also scattered the rose petals n the recep table and across the stage.. quite nice. costs them abt $500. anyone thinking of changing the flowers too? I am considering cos' find the flowers abit too artificial.. spoil the whole 'feel'..do u think it's necessary to spend such $??

Hi Sw

There is no contract when you pay the deposit but they will issue you the invoice.

Hi Petrina

I also dunno which hotel to choose leh... Very fan now...sigh

Hi Baobei
I don't think i want to spend on the decor cos i think most importantly for the guest is the food is good.

Hi all! Good morning!!

Hey Gin! Today is your BIG day liao! Congrats!! Have a fun time!!

Hi everyone, I think Gin was talking about the hotel reception she's having in the afternoon.

Hi baobei, i think it's not necessary to spend money on deco cos you can do it yourself also. get your frens to help you scatter rose petals on where you want it to be. I'll be doing that and it's definitely cheaper to just buy the rose petals and get your frens to help.

Hi everyone, I'm thinking of getting a computerized guest registration system for my wedding dinner. saves a lot of time and manpower. got to know about it from www.m1ngs1ong.com. (change 1 to i) what do you think?

*gasp* the next bride will be me!! *stressed*

hi baobei!!

welcome! leave ur details here so that i can update the table?

there are a few of us here who wants to change the artificial flowers to real ones too..

hi leyri,

u too yah? leave ur details here! same date as me somemore!! so exciting!! hehe

hi duckling,

how come u;re so fan? which hotels u have in mind? maybe we gals here can give u some advice?