Qian Xi Restaurant??

Hi Maggie; thank you for ur effort wif those pic, it really helps us a lot when comes to food tasting.. kam sia~!

Hi Phoebelow; most likely its you lor cos urs is 1 day b4 mine and havin the same venue.. hee.. hmm.. need to check again wif my IL and see wich relative they belongs to, urs or ur hb..
btw, im nt suppose to attend any wedding 3-4 mths b4 my AD.. "chinese law" hee.. if can, i really wana to attend urs..

Hi Maggie...thanks so much for the pics

Can i check the yam paste issit those watery soupy type or issit those thick and solid ones?

I c those pics i'm very hungry now lolx :P

Hi Geraldine,

I've juz eaten it like 2 weeks ago at the paya lebar branch. The yam paste is those thick & solid ones.I'm those that seldom eat yam paste cos usually i find them to be super super sweet but theirs is really nice & not those super sweet type plus got lotsa gingko nuts too.Ended up finishing the entire bowm.Keke..

hi gin,

hehe.. i think everyone's busy thats why..

not excited? why not?

for me.. this sat going for first gown fitting.. so scared.. later i cannot zip up the gown then so paiseh.. hahaha!!!

hi jasmine,

haha.. yeah.. loved the yam paste.. i thought my FH would leave his bowl for me leh coz he doesn't really eat sweet stuff.. but he finished it as well!! argh.. so no second helping.. haha..

hi geraldine,

opps.. sorry didn't see ur message..

qianxi's yam paste is the thick and solid type.. i talk about it until i got craving for yam paste liao.. argh!! AHHAHA.. i'm such a glutton..

Hi pet,
No worries, I went to select my gowns last fri too...and most gowns turn out to be quite 'fitting' too..hahha...they adjusting for me. I noe the more i wan to diet, the more i cant lose weight.

hi Everyone,
hey the photos really give me extra confidence with them. Hope the AD will be the same.

Hey Gin, Do you remember me? Phoebe from Axxxx Fitness ? hope you still rem me.. congrats!!
glad to hear your gd news.

Yam Paste is My Favourite too... Me also craving for it. I also thinking of changing to Ee fu noodles.

Maggie, This is which menu huh? My in law wanted to take the $618 menu and purchase white wine from other dealers.
Hey i actually know a few photographers from Kalyedoscope. They are the photographers for one of my company event. Just rem to remind them not to be late as the videographer was late as he overslept. My boss was fuming mad as he did not capture the scene when the VIP came.

<font color="aa00aa">Yahoo~! Its FRIDAY!!!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Hey ladies; do u tink its ok not to hav wedding favors? cos i find it time and $ consuming... u noe wat, those favours provided by M hotel are great! went to a wedding dinner last sunday, they hav 2 types:- couple bear and church bell foto frame (size of palm). hmm.. wonder y ours did nt provide, any1 noe?</font>

Hi Maggie,
Whao! after seeing the food pics realli mk me hungry. can't wait for lunchtime. :P

Hi Ugly duckling,when's ur AD?

Hey Rayna, i was at VC around 2 plus. u? May i ask how much is the otr pkg?

any idea if i wan to change dishes, on the average how much do i hv to pay?

Tansan, I have asked suzanna about this question on wedding favours also....she say that cos different ppl want different things so whatever they source might not be of a liking to us lor and they gave up the idea of having wedding favours included.... i also looking for wedding favours now leh hope to be below $2 per item... any1 got lobang???

Hi everyone!!

I'm glad that the pics are of help to you all. The menu that I chose is the $518 menu of farrer park, which is the $558 menu of Bliss garden. Now, am thinking of changing the cold dish to Lobster cold dish. Need to discuss further with hubby..

Rayna: Actually there's no lazy susan for farrer park. I think our table has cos it's for food tasting and they just wanna make it more presentable. The wedding dinner that I saw only the VIP table has.

Pertrina, Jasmine and Geraldine: The yam paste is ok lah lah, I wouldn't say very nice.. Mabbe cos I'm teochew so I have high standards for yam paste. My fave is the one at Boon Lay Raja, that one really is superb!! This one, like my mum said, from those packet ones..

All: I tried the red wine on that day also. Rem to try red wine during food tasting k? We asked for one glass and shared. Everyone who tasted it said it's not smooth and not much taste. To me, it seems diluted, no fruity taste. It's Jacab's creek, which is the $20++ type, those that most ppl buy for their wedding dinner, so i think ok lah..
As for the wedding favors, i think i'll do away with it. too mafun liao.. I already have a headache for all the logistics of the wedding..

Hi Pet,

Saw tt u post a msg for me on J&amp;M thread. Me wont be gg BS on 24/2. You're gg to choose gowns for PS or discuss on the design of ur MTM gown? I managed to settle my gown design last sat. So now, muz wait for the end product. abit scared cos the embroidery is those more kua zhang type with silver threads and beads one..and the area also quite big so the whole focus will be ard my waist area..duno if it'll turn out nice..so shall wait till the end product comes..My nxt visit (11/3) will be to choose the gowns for the PS. Gotta choose 5 sets of gown..u want to come?

Hi Gin,
Congras on your coming wedding.
Hi Tansan,
I didn't get any wedding favors. My guests didn't mind. I actually gave out the Thank you card with our wedding picture printed on it. I requested it from my BS.
Hi Maggie(eiggam),
I personally think the food served was good during my food tasting. My guest feedback was oatmeal prawns, fish and yam paste was the best. Overall for the food was 8/10.

Hi everyone, week end today, but my hubby is sick.. so stayed home consolidating guest list...
these 2 months got 2 wedding to attend and guess wat , BOTH also qian xi, one is Gin one is my best fren gonna be at Farrer park.
go there rehersal abit for my own wedding haha!! will update u all with feedbacks

lynn: Yah, i think the food overall is good, better than most hotels. quite happy so far.

All: Anyone around thinnking of getting their own florist to redo the deco of the restuarant? Not sure if I wanna do that. I like the white flowers at paya lebar branch but so so sure about the farrer park one. Also, i dun like those wedding arch. dunno if i should do my own deco or not..

Hee...Phoebe is going to be my emcee for Qian Xi..hehee..cos I find the manager abit cheena! :P I also practicing cos intend to open own shop for making wedding corsages, ang bao box..or anything related to wedding and also be a wedding planner...ehehhee... :P
Thank you Phoebe! :>

No prob Gin, its my pleasure.

Maggie, actually i thought of asking my own florist to do the deco of the restuarant. cause if i m not wrong, they actually use fake flowers thus i don't quite like it.
I think must check with suzanna abt it.

All: anyone know where to find ang bao box or where can find material to DIY one?

Hi Phoebe,

Will it cost much to deco the restaurant with real flowers? i oso dun like fake flowers leh..

u wanna DIY huh? can go spotlight lah..they sell lots of diff ribbons &amp; decor. if not u can buy those ready made wan. but DIY cheaper lor. there's is shop at fast east plaza which sell wedding stuffs. they got heartshape ang bao box. duno whether u saw on TV which was introduce last mth i think. it's a small shop. but the nice one which i saw on TV is out of stock. :P

Geraldine; frm wat i noe is tt most pple got their favours from BBK... its much more cheaper ther if u were to buy in bulk... its rather difficult to source frm SG but u can try.

Maggie; huh? the red wine is not smooth when swallow???
so r u taking the free flow den? do u tink its possible nt to get the free flow hard liquor but instead get the red wine at slight cheaper rate?

Lynn; oh really? u didnt get any favours for ur dinner? but ur thank you cards do not reach to all of ur guests rite?

the place piceses maentioned is at far east plaza 4th storey I think.....

Wow Gin going to start her own business....

Gin can teach me how to do wrist corages??? Me intend to do it for my jie mei... Thanks in advance le.

Gin is phoebe happened to be our secondary school frenz?

Hi can I check did any one upgrade their old menu to the new menu inorder to enjoy the free flow of wine?

How much more did you all pay? Care to advise.

hi jasmine,

11th mar ah! my next appt is 18th mar!! argh.. 1 week difference.. hehe.. what time is ur appt again? got to check coz i may have make up class..

i too a little worried about my gown.. wanted something plan and simple but my desiger says its too simply.. need more embellishes.. aiyoh.. i'm getting worried.. hehe..

hi lynn,

u're back! any photos to see? hehe..

ur BS was so nice to give u so many photo cards.. really get to save on the wedding favours..

hi gin,

oh! u're DIYing your stuff? me too!! wanted something more original.. but i have yet to get started.. coz still got some time away from my AD..

hi pisces and phoebe,

i also want real flowers for my banquet but think that it'll cost about $400 to do up the place.. going to be ex..

Tansan, ya lor SG favours are quite standard leh and kinda ex if u wanna get something unique US got alot of nice favours but they dun ship internationally haii~

Hi Phoebe,
Some shops sell red boxes already got slots..juz need deco only. Seen at Ngee Ann City KALM's but quite ex...seem some elsewhere cheaper..but dun remember..let me think. I use A4 paper box to do wan...though wrapping abit weird la..but can make it la. :P

Hi Yaya,
Nope, she is my outside friend.
A nice lady though. :P Heee I dunoe how to teach cos I usually trial and error wan. Go my website to see my wrist corsage if u wan. :P

Hi Pat ah,
Ya lor..gif urself 6 mths b4 to do lor..so can SLOWLY do ma! :P Relax...

Geraldine; sigh~! tats y i keep tinking if wana to forgo abt the favours...

Petrina; hee.. mine 2nd appt oso on the 18th mar, wat time is urs and who's ur designer? hope to see u again on tt day...

Tansan and apple: I just upgraded my old menu to the new one lo. No questions asked, so you just take the new menu with the free flow red wine, hard liquor and all. No problems at all.

Gin: I do freelance emcee for weddings also. If you have lobang can look for me also.
I rem that u went bintan to take PS rite? How was it?

Pisces: I think i'll do my own deco. That's this girl in my company getting married next week mabbe ask her for some ideas.

All: I bought my box from Daiso at IMM and decorating it myself. You can get the materials from Concourse or Spotlight.

hi gals...

OT abit... read so much gd reviews about bliss garden. was excided for u gals..

planning my wedding next year feb 06. was thinkin abt bliss garden also. wedding at expo sounds great
seems like the decor and foods are nice, tot of having max 25 tables. and do they provide invitation cards printing? is hall A better or hall B? can anyone advice? thanks!!!

p/s: for those who had held their wedding there, normally how much 'ang bao' guests give? thanks!

Tansan, ya lor i also did think of wanna forgo the favours part but then looks abit stingy leh having dinner at restaurant and dun have favours....haiii~

R the rest of u gals gonna source for wedding favours?

hi tansan,

HAHAHHA.. no need to paiseh lah.. innocent mistake only.. hehe..

thought ur BS along tanjong pagar road.. then we can go to one another's BS and look-see-look-see..

hi ivy,

welcome!! if u're planning to have max 25 tables.. u can only take ballroom A which is the smaller ballroom coz the min number of tables for ballroom B (bigger ballroom) is 40 tables..

hi geraldine,

i'll be making my own favours i think.. can't decide yet..

Hi apple! I'm taking the $518 menu of farrer park. Are you a farrer park bride also? Then u can leave ur details so Petrina can update the table.

Hi Geraldine, actually wanted to get wedding favors but then think again, i think the majority of the ppl coming for my wedding dinner are old people (like my parents' frens or relatives) so I dun think they'll appreciate it. Even for me, those wedding favors i got all stash away, never seen again (unless there should be a blackout). Most prob, i'll just put a bowl of chocolates at the reception for ppl to take (but must beware of kids).

Geraldine; ya lor.. but i was tinking of having those party bags for kids cos my AD falls on a childrens' day... tought of placing it at the reception and indicate "while stock last"... haha... wat do u tink? hey gers, any more suggestions???

Petrina; my BS is at tampines...

Maggie; wow~! u so early bird ah? hee... hmm.. i say this web b4, so far i tink they are selling the cheapest... quite a variety too... u oso got ur stuff frm ther?

Petrina thanks very much for your help. can see many plp took up expo branch. talked to my hubby abt this, he asked me 'do u think the location is ok?' for me i think its not bad, but he would prefer town area coz he think expo is not convience. which i think will be more ex right? saw the webby of qianxi reagrding the capacity, abt confuse now, hall A for 55 plp and hall B 38. so which hall is more suitable for 25 to 30 tables? thanks

Hi Maggie... Hmm i think ure idea quite good leh put a bowl of chocos at the recept table so who want can take.... hmmm if there are heart shape chocos it would be better
can consider doing it

For favours i think we have to also consider if it is convenient for ppl to bring it home or not esp those without car and ladies with small bags :/

Aiyoh Maggie,
Shld say so ma! Then shld have ask u to be one so no need to 'shoot' phoebe liaoz! :P But she very nice, she straight away agree to it!

I went bintan PS..oh..very nice!
My PS better than previous one..hehhee..anyway the venue is the Star idol contest the place lor. :P

Hello everyone!

Tansan: I woke up early to make breakfast for my hubby then after coming in I went back to sleep again. hahaha.. i dun think i'll get any favors lo, just the chocolate bowl ba. Just sharing the info with u all. ;)

Ivy: The ballroom at Bliss Garden is moveable so the size can change. I think for location it depends on yourself ba. Like for me, i like blss garden but my mum's side of relatives mostly living in the west so we chose the farrer park branch (which is more central).

Gin: Wow.. then must share lah. Can share with me? My email is [email protected] Thanks!

Pisces: Hmm.. i dunno leh. I need to discuss with my cousin first who will be helping me with the flowers. But definately will be doing my own deco..

hi tansan,

yupz.. i know.. u mentioned before that ur's is golden horse awards..

hi ivy,

there is a mistake in the website.. but comfirm that A is the smaller one and B is the bigger one..

as for ur 25 tables.. what the restaurant can do is to partition ballroom A to be a 30 table ballroom for u.. coz one thing good about bliss is that the partitions are all movable.. so if u need a bigger space.. can make it bigger.. if smaller.. can use partitions..

i hope u understand what i'm trying to say.. hehe..

hi tansan,

yupz.. i know.. u mentioned before that ur's is golden horse awards..

hi ivy,

there is a mistake in the website.. but comfirm that A is the smaller one and B is the bigger one..

as for ur 25 tables.. what the restaurant can do is to partition ballroom A to be a 30 table ballroom for u.. coz one thing good about bliss is that the partitions are all movable.. so if u need a bigger space.. can make it bigger.. if smaller.. can use partitions..

i hope u understand what i'm trying to say.. hehe..

Petrina &amp; Maggie thanks again... me too i've relatives mostly coming from west and east. expo will benefit those from east but most of them are my friends. maybe will choose farrer park also.

Like maggie i also prefer bliss garden.. normally have to book one year in advance right? worried as month of Feb quite popular one and my hubby thought of coming year end. guess it will be too rush for now, another place we thought of is: Dragon Gate at harbour front. will be attending hubby friend's wedding at DG, so will decide which one to choose.

Maggie; wow~! so sweet of u~! anyway, i tink i will oso go w/o any favours, maybe just the party bags for the kids and a bowl of colorful mixed candy at the recep... another worry gone~! phew~!

Hi Pet,
My appt will be at 2pm. you let me know again whether you can make it ant k..

Hey ladies,
anyone of you having any themes for your wedding? i was searching for AD PG &amp; VG and i came across this couple who had a cinderalla theme..its so magical &amp; beautiful..keke..but of cos, all these have a price to pay la..i believe the couple muz have paid a hefty sum for all the magical deco..so anybody here tot of any themes for their wedding.. care to share?

i'm thinking of doin a purple theme..where i'll get my bridesmaids and bestman to have something purple on themselves, purple ang pow box etc etc..

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-1">Nick</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">AD</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">BS</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">AD PG</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">AD VG</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Qian Xi Branch</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Number of Tables</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Email</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Love Nest</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Gin</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">12 Mar 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Jess Haute Couture</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Hector Niam</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Christopher Tay</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Paya Lebar &amp; Conrad</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected]</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Bedok</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Maggie (eiggam)</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">7 May 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Ted Collection/Printemps JB</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Kalyedoscope</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Own Friends</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Farrer Park</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">32 - 35</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Seng Kang</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Kelly</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">27 May 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Ever Bliss</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">40 - 45</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Seng Kang</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Piglet23</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">17 Jun 2006</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Wai Peng</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Cousin</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">25 - 30</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Woodlands</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Geraldine</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">18 Jun 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Bridal Concept</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Farrer Park</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">30 plus</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected]</font></TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Jasmine</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">18/19 Jun 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">J&amp;M Design &amp; Photography</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Stefine Weddings</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Stefine Weddings</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected]</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Bedok</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Phoebelow</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">30 Sept 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Seletar Broadway</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Ming Jian</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">38</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected]</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Tampines</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Tansan</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">1 Oct 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Golden Horse Awards</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">60 plus</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected]</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Seng Kang</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Maggie (Summer Gal)</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">7 Oct 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Yvonne Creative</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected]</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Seng Kang</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Germaine</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">21 Oct 2006</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">25</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Punggol</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Scanivalue</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">18 Nov 2006</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">36 - 40</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected]</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Jurong</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Petrina</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">25 Nov 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Silver Cloak Couture</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Simon - F0t0 Themes</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Christopher Tay</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">40 - 45</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected]</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Punggol</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Rayna</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">2 Dec 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">VC</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">VC</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">30 - 32</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected]</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Ang Mo Kio</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Elaine</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">4 Dec 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Golden Horse Awards</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Raymond - d.nuptials</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">30 - 32</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Ang Mo Kio</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Trista</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">9 Dec 2006</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Farrer Park</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Janet</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">9 Dec 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Ever Bliss</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Paya Lebar</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">40 - 45</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected]</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Aljunied</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Pisces36</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">16 Dec 2006</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Shiku Photography</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Shiku Photography</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">60</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Yaya</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">30 Dec 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Golden Horse Awards</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Sam Wong</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Christopher Tay</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Farrer Park</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">cherynn</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">27 Jan 2007</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Last update on jasmine