Qian Xi Restaurant (Farrer Park)

cath

Hi Jenny

aiya, my crazy ideas just came.. hheehee.. how about wrapped it up in aluminium but buy cloth and cut them into pieces and wrapped it up, ending with a ribbon too.. looks like a potpurri sachets too! =P

jenny

Hi Cath

The chocolate will wrap in aluminium foil in maroon or blu colour.
Tat a gd idea, buy those see through cloth and tie it up with ribbon. Save a lot. If can't find box, will use your idea. hee..
Will try to go down and search, not much time left.
As for chocolate, dun buy too early as their expiry date is 3~4 month time. Just need 2~3 weeks in advance.

kk

Hi Jenny,

Have u tasted the chocolates? Are they ok?

So we self collect them when they are ready? Is there a minimum number that we have to order before the confectionery will do it for us?

chijmees

Hi just happened to enter this thread. Just a suggestion..you may like to consider getting fruit favoured pastries from Grand City Pastries. If you buy in bulk, they can charge you cheaper at $1- $1.20 (i can't remem exact). They have pineapple pastries,honeydew pastries and strawberry pastries.

I had them as a wedding favour for my wedding. I had wanted to buy some organza or tulle to wrap them up and tie with a ribbon . But due to the amt of work involved plus i thought the pastries were already very nicely packaged, i gave them out as it were.

I alternate each flavour with the seats on each table. You can also choose to buy all same flavour too. My guests liked the pastries and found it to be quite unque coz they've nev tried them before.

I first got the idea coz i myself like the pastries. and chocolates were outta my budget (if you throw in the packaging costs). And i din wan chopsticks or potpourri. Not everyone will appreciate these.Personally, i thought it's better to get something edible.

Just a suggestion..

kk

Like to recommend a place to get wedding flavours. I find the things there very sweet

U can visit http://www.koool.com.sg

By the way, can i re-confirm something with u gals who have booked with qianxi farrer park? Can we really use the projector screen to show our wedding vcd run? Can Suzanna provide a laptop as well?

bom bom

hello kk,

I've tried out the projector last thurs. it's working fine. U've to burn 2 a CD then download 2 their PC lor if u dun carry a laptop.

well, the proj is working fine. dun worry. arrange 2 try yr slides few days b4. just like me
. if u've the time.

tis sat is my wedding mah. so going 4 rehearsal on thurs nite.

jenny

Hi Bom Bom

Congrat on you coming wedding, must update us how their food & service.

I will be going down tis sat to confirm the dish and printing of wedding card.

Hi kk
Sorry for reply late
Well I never try the chocolate yet, as they sell in a box (100pcs), I can;t but single piece to try. We need to order in just 3~4 weeks inadvance.
I have deiced to wrap the chocolate this organz or nice wrapper. Dun intend to get box.

Cheer

kk

Hi Bom Bom,

Wow, still got rehearsal ah? I didn't know about that, i thought it is "up to luck" on actudal day liao.. hahaa... all the best and congrats! Do keep us informed on ur wedding dinner and other exciting happenings

Hi Jenny,

i am still thinking of chocolates lor, despite availability of all other flavours. Perhaps we still stick to the idea of putting them in big glass containers at the reception tables.

dy

I new in the forum. Can i check with you is there anyone that have signed up QianXi on weekday (Mon - thursday). How is the service and foods portion. Any guest complain about setting wedding dinner on weekday?

kk

Hi Bom Bom,

can i ask u something? For ur wedding vcd, did u produce it urself or look for professionals do it for u? Doing it is no problem, but how about the music?

girl

Hi DY,
i just signed up with Qianxi for a weekday wedding as well. The food portion is big and generous cos I just went food tasting two weeks ago.
I dun think there should be any complain and suzanna has been very helpful.
wish u luck

jenny

Hi KK

What type of chocolate you giving out? So you will place the chocolate on the "big balloon glass" for the guest to take themselves?

Boom Boom
I also keen in the showing the VCD to guest, can let us know how to go ahead of doing it.

Thank

kk

Hi Jenny,

yah yah.. the big balloon glass.. what chocolate ah? Maybe hershey? Any suggestions? The idea feasible or not?

cath

Hmm.. wonder if bom bom is now in honeymoon =)

Bombom, if you see this msg, let us know how is yr wedding day last sat at qianxi oki?

kk

Any idea where to get the big balloon glass to hold chocolates? Dun seem to see it anywhere, not even in 1.99 shop.

kk

Hi Cath,

Yah, that is wat my idea too, look for it at robinson, taka and metro, etc.

Thanks a lot!

If u happen to see it anywhere while u are shopping. Do inform me

kk

Fishball,

Dun seem to find in 1.99 shop. That's why headache.. kekekeee...
Ikea? Can try
I guess it should fall under the category of glassware.

I would like to place deposit for Qian Xi (Farrer Park). Just wanting to get feedback from you all. Anyone's relatives complain about it being inaccessible? And the food/ service?

What can I bargain for when I go down to place deposit?

cath

Hi newbie,
If I'm not wrong, the Farrer Park MRT will start in this Apr, ie next month. Thus, it should not be a problem for inaccessibility. =) So far, didnt hear any complain abt the food or service (i hope there wont be anyway!)

I did not bargain anything with them cos they seems to have everything for us.

Hi kk,
I think my company has 1, if you couldnt find it, maybe i try to borrow it from them? Let me know k.

jenny

Hi KK

Do you manage to find the balloon glass.

1 of hubby aunt do sell those party & wedding stuffs, so end up we won't wrap the chocolate. We will buy mini bag from them and place the chocolate in it.

I tried to ask for waive of food tasting, but they can't.

The MRT is quite near to the Rest, is abt 5 min walk after the HDB flats, it at the end of the juction.

Their card printing is very fast, I confirmed the outwork on Tuesday and the cards is really for collecting on sat.

kk

Hi Jenny,

I have no time to search for the balloon glass yet. Maybe can use other containers besides balloon glass? ANy suggestions? I still think balloon glass looks the best.

Oh, so got lobang for the mini bags? How much ur hubby's aunt selling them? Who knows, i might get them too!

Why waive food tasting? U dun want to taste the food first?

I think the NE line confirm opening next month. So no worrry liao

Wow, card printing just took 4 days? That's amazingly fast!

I will try to produce my wedding vcd by june/july then maybe try at the restaurant during my food tasting in August (tentative)

jenny

Hi KK

Will let you know if I see any balloon glass.

Going for food tasting nest mth.

The MRT will be ready on 1 Apr.

Wow you do your own VCD, how to do it? I also want to show during dinner but still have not decide not time left.

The mini paper bag is $10/50pcs so it abt 20 cents each. Let me know if you need the contact.

kk

Hi Jenny,

At first i am thinking to let professionals make my vcd, but then pretty expensive. They can put in 60 photos plus 4 pieces of music and the whole thing last for only 12 mins and cost around $300. So my hubby suggest why not we do ourselves lor, using of course the simplest - powerpoint! And for music, we will pick out the pieces we want from the original cds and burn them into a new piece of cd and play it via powerpoint. I dun know how much time it will take. But scanning and everything should take quite fast. Maybe 2-3 weekends?

The mini bags sound reasonable. Ok sure, can u give me the contact? Thanks

When should i ask for the mini bags? My wedding in Oct and then, self collection? Location?

Thanks a lot!

leafy

hi kk,
u making ur own presentation ah... yah lor...ppt is the easiest. QianXi has PC linked to their projector?

by the way, i might not be preparing wedding favors for my guests.

jenny,
Why do u want to waive the food tasting? It's half priced right?

kk

Hi Leafy,

U not preparing favours for the guests? Yah lor, i am also thinking about the favours, not confirm yet. Anyway not a must lor.

Yah, as to what bom bom has said, can use qianxi's pc to link to projector. Or can bring our own notebook too. Do u plan to have presentation too? Oh yah, urs is marina branch and not farrer rite? Perhaps u can check it out with Suzanna whether marina does have the projection facilities

leafy

hi kk,

Nice favours are costly and optional. So decided to do away with it.

They do have projector...but not sure whether can b linked to PC.

jenny

Hi Kk

I will be going down again and let you know the contact by next week. Is at Golden Landmark Hotel Arcade.

Was thinking also dun giving favour but it look so wierd .

cath

Me too also thinking not to give wedding favors… I'm thinking of saving the cost for wedding favor and engage a videographer instead. Kekeke…

kk

Hi Jenny/Cath,

kekeke...actually i ate at dinners before which dun distribute wedding favours
Yah lah, i do feel something amiss, a bit strange, but who remembers anyway? hehehe...

Hi Leafy,

I guess since they have projector, they should have the facility for u to hook up

No problem lah, but then can re-confirm with them lor

jenny

Hi kk /cath

End up, We decided to have wedding flavour. Bought the mini bag but for chocolate will source for better ones.

As we calcuate the flvours for 400pax cost us ard $250. So decide to have it lor.

Cheer

cath

hi jenny,
yr cost is inclusive of choco and bags for 400 pax?

hi leafy,
i dont know if their projector can hook up to different pc. to be safe, have a backup copy in vcd format. =)

kk

Hi Jenny,

Yup, that amount sounds reasonable for 400 pax. Our budget around there too. Hopefully won't exceed too much if favours are really catered.

Hi Leafy,

As what bom bom said, do try to run the cd before the event. Give ourselves more time allowance, else end up panic :p

jenny

Hi kk/cath

Chocolate: $38/200 pcs
Mini Bag: $10/50 pcs

Mine $250 inlcusive 800pcs chocolate and 400 bags. We give 2chocolate per guest.

Is within our budget so we go ahead having it lor. So 1 guest is abt 58 cents

curious

Do you tink it's necessary to give wedding favors?

Wish to ask, does Qianxi's price come with +++, meaning, service charge, GST and cess? Or is it nett price?

jenny

Hi crious

As for the favours it up to individual preference.

Their price is with 4% GST only, there no service charge and cess.

kk

Hi Curious,

I dun think it is compulsory to give wedding favours. It is really up to individual like wat Jenny has said

Yup, the price comes with 4% GST. We booked last year, so GST is 3%. No other misc charges.

cath

Hi kk,
is it true that the GST is 3% if we book last year? Cos i tot if the dinner is held this yr, it will be 4%. You confirmed and checked with Susanne liao huh?

leafy

Jenny, kk,
When i signed up, Suzanna told me tt GST rate will be the prevailing one...not so sure thou.

btw...Is there dry ice effect for March in ?

curious,
their quoted price only has one "+" lah...i.e. prevailing GST

cath

hello
heard that MRT will start in May instead of Apr.. is that true also? Anybody heard anything yet?

jenny

Heard from the news that it will delay till May. My wedding is in early May so still dicuss with hubby see whether need Qian Xi to cater bus from Lavender MRT to Rest.

kk

When i signed up, Suzanna said that the GST will remain at 3% when the dinner is held this year. Cannot be me and my hubby both heard wrongly mah.. kekekee.. my hubby also told me only 3% last nite. If 4%, then what to do, guess got to decide which menu to take to keep within budget.

Yup, MRT delayed till May. I think somehow news released last week or so. Hopefully it will be opened by Oct coz that's when my dinner will be held!! It is not surprising that they will delay and delay and delay...

koibito03

i attended a friend wedding last weekend at Qianxi - Farrer Park and the food was simply great....
i think it's really value for money for those who do not wish to spend too much on banquet. only thing i do not like is the ambiance and location as there is a lack of proper reception & cocktail area.

kk

Anyway dun take my word for it regarding the gst.. hahahaa.. just in case suzanna request for 4% :p
I am thinking of taking the 3rd menu anyway, so with 3% or 4% doesn't really matter, the total sum still looks ok to me

Jenny, which menu has u decided to take?

Hi Koibito03,

Wow, thanks for ur good comments! hahaha.. i think we girls are very happy to hear that
U make my day!

By the way, can roughly share with us which are the dishes u have eaten and what should we take note of?

Yup, the reception part is a bit tricky. So i will be having the reception and cocktail inside the VIP room. I gave up the hotel room for this which i think is better for us.

jenny

Hi kk

I also decide on 3rd menu but will change the fish to Groupa as PIL insist on having it.
I saw the big balloon glass at Sun Plaza it ard $15-$25 depend on which size.
I have not confirm my table and dish with them and worse haven't go for my food tasting. I running out of time another 40+ days left.
I told their Hotel as my wedding fall on Friday so by the time guest arrive would ard 8pm+ so drop the idea lor.

Do hope the MRT will be ready by May so location wise is not a problem for me. Just pray hard!!!

curious

I think the 3rd menu is quite value-for-money, cos they have suckling pig (not the whole pig) and the braised duck.

My wedding would also be on a Friday. Does it mean tat if I book my banquet this year, but having banquet next year, then I have to pay 4% GST? What if GST rates go up next year?