Qian Xi Restaurant (Farrer Park)

kk

Hi Leafy,

My wedding is on 26 Oct 03. I booked Qianxi around 2 mths back.

I dun know how popular Qianxi is. But the lady boss told me they even have booking till 2004 now! That time because we have hunted many places and dun find suitable, in terms of menu, prices, ambience, location, etc, that's why we sign up immediately with Qianxi without hesitation. Scared end up nowhere to hold dinner :p

linda

Hi KK and Leafty

I think the MC is form the restaurant. Those Uncle uncle types who apparently think he is serving a dinner in the 1960s. Please, don't embarass yourself. Get your frens to be MC.

Service wise, I think they can improve better lor and I feel that the table size is too small for 10 pax. If you cannot get them to switch to a at least 6ft table then when you do your table arrangements, make sure you dun put too many bigger size people at one table.

Some other things I noticed. Dirty chair covers and glasses. VERY limited parking space. Got 2 halls so probably have to get someone to ursher the right guests in. Put picture BIG BIG and names BIG BIG. (I went into the wrong ballroom, so pai seh... :p)

But for the price and the freebies, very worth it.

kk

Hi Linda,

Thanks for the advice. I thought Suzanna herself might be the MC. Maybe the guy is the branch manager.

I agree those are stupid yellow jokes.

For service wise, i can't really hope much. Coz i have even seen poor service at hotels, let alone restaurants where they employ aunties to do the serving.

Yes, i know the problem of 2 halls. One bigger and one smaller. I am taking the bigger one and i think bom bom and jenny too. I guess we are able to do something about it, perhaps put signs or something like tat. Other restaurants also have such problems when they are big or have 2 or more halls. Hmm.. i think it is good to remind friends and relatives when giving out invitation cards so that they won't go into wrong hall :p

How do u find the food on the whole? Can comment roughly on the food u eat and how to improve on it maybe? i need more inputs

bom bom

Hi kk,

I went 2 Sentosa 4 my PS. Well, we went 2 4 locations in Sentosa. The old hse, the child's tree, 2 beaches, Siloso beach 4 sunset & Southernmost point. Anywhere, it's un but tiring lor. how abt u, anything where 2 go 4 yr PS? anyway, the photographer will give u suggestions.

I think I'll be using laptop 4 the slide show.

I aso saw the purple theme. I dun know what theme I like. I juz know tt I like the price....

I've not went 4 the fd tasting. but I dun think wanna go 4 1 cos taste the fd b4 on Mother's day. The menu is quite similar 2 our actual wedding dinner. so ok lor. we did give our comments 2 Suzanna already. see how lor.

We'll be getting our own MC. so I think tt's fine lor.

Last Sun, juz drop by Qian xi. saw the laser beams been up. there's a function in the rest, but a wedding dinner @ the opal rm. it looks much nicer than b4.

kk

Hi Bom Bom,

Me and my hubby thinking of going to Changi Airport for our outdoor shoot. Coz we hang around there pretty often when we go pak tor.. kekeke... Other places may be changi end and we are thinking of esplanade during nite time too. See how then

Oh, how u find the food then? What comments did u give her?

My hubby's sister ate there before for her MINDEF D&D and say the food not bad. If qianxi can do it well for D&D (normally D&D food sucks!), i guess it can do well for wedding dinners too

bom bom

kk,

I told Suzanna that the sea cucumber is too hard & need 2 stretch a bit. for the rest, both our parents & grandparents say it's quite gd, not as salty as dragon gate. and both our parents & grandparents like their dessert, the yam paste w/ gingko. I aso find it very nice.

my friend aso got so PS frm Changi end, where there is a place w/ lotsa of lalang. But their advice 4 me when PS is that better get 50% indoor & 50% outdoor. cos outdoor there are more scene 2 capture & they can take some candid shots of both of u.

kk

Hi Bom Bom,

Oh, u mean the sea cucumber u have tasted before is hard? I heard that the shark fin need to be improved too, like adding 3 liang more shark fin to add quality to the soup. Are u going to change any of the dishes? Which menu u choosing?

That's good! I am taking yam w/ gingko too. I dun really like red bean paste which is too common.

Oh, u mean the time spent for outdoor and indoor should be roughly the same? When i look at other couple's albums, i seem to feel that indoor photos always appear nicer than outdoor photos. More focus takes. But on the other hand, seems to have more variety for outdoor shoots, more scenery and greenery

leafy

bombom,
u've been to menu tasting. When is your wedding?

btw, to all qianxi brides,
Do Suzanna list out a "contract" when u pay your deposit?

kk

Hi Leafy,

We met here again! U are in the oct03 brides thread rite?

Suzanna just gave me an invoice for the downpayment which is $40 per table if i did not remember wrongly. So we paid for around 40 tables.

Have u booked with them? Not yet rite? If interested, u may like to book with them this year just in case they take out all the perks if u book next year. Think they are pretty popular nowadays too.

leafy

kk,
yes! I'm the one lor...in 2003 thread. hee...

I just place a deposit there too. But it's for Marina branch. Have u been to the place? Me really love the poolside, but did not choose lor...afraid tt our guests complain hot.

linda

Hi KK,

Honestly, I think it leaves much to be desired. My table food were cool if not cold even the Shark's fin. And the suckling pig was not probably cut so each slice has a huge underlayer of fats sticking to it.

As for service, maybe you can arrange for a small small angpow to be given to all service staff. That's what my hubby did for our wedding. Get the captain to gather all the stuff and then distribute. Maybe they could improve their service...

And for the first dish presentation, the staff were a bit blur as to where to walk and the best part is that you know they have this blinking light in the middle of the plate? After they put the plate down, they actually take back the bulb and battery!!! Not nice lor, I rather than you put a flower or a tealight in a bowl of water. And leave it there.

From the carpark a lot of stairs, so when we came up were a bit confused and walk to the wrong ballroom. More signs would be good.

kk

Hi Leafy,

i always thought having dinner by poolside would be great coz it is a new experience. But i heard of stories of mosquitoes, flies and all kinds of nonsense.. hahaa.. so u have made a wise decision not to have it there

Have u glanced through the menus? Any idea which one u prefer?

jenny

Hi Leafy & KK

My brother just have the dinner at Qian Xi. He commented that food was gd and the march-in and food presenation not bad, just the couple and the staff came out from the kitchen side (back of the rest).
The other thing is the glass they use. They only have 1 type of glass, so soft drink or beer all same high ball glass.

There fruit cakes for guest, he bought back and no printing on the box. So not sure is from the couple or rest.

There shouldn't be problem of guest going to the wrong rest of Farrer Park. As most of us are taking the main ballroom and the reception also at drive-in side.

They will renotave the floyer next year properly during their slow period (CNY or ching ming)

okeanosmao

hi leafy,
me oso considering qianxi @ marina but hv not gone down to c the restaurant yet?how many tables did u book? i told suzanna tat we will be holding 35 tables. n gals here did mention tat there are 2 rooms..if mine was 35, then which rm shld i be place in?

kk

Hi Jenny,

Really relieved to hear ur words.

i think the glass is ok for me. Got difference or not doesn't matter rite? keke...

yap, the staff will come out from behind. Did Suzanna show u the bride changing room? Quite well maintained and also at the back of the hall.

No printing?? Maybe from the couple themselves? I see my menu pamphlet, no mentioning of wedding flavours. If there is none, i have to decide whether to get my own or not. What about u?

My dinner in Oct. So most likely i can see the newly renovated foyer

bom bom

Hi kk & leafy,

I've tasted the menu which I intend 2 take. seems tt the fd is quite alright lor. The quantity sharkfins 2 me is quite ok lah, can't remember how much fins in the soup

But I & hubby like the BBQ pork ribs. tasty. I can still remembet the taste. Anyway,tt was a treat frm Suzanna when we went 2 place our deposit. haha!!

Leafy, I can't remember whether I sign a contract. but I did put a deposit of $1200. My wedding dinner will be held on 1 Mar'03. (3 mths frm now lor).

kk, I agree w/ u. always the case. the indoor shots r much nicer than the outdoor shots. I myself took 11 outdoor shots & 19 indoor shots. ttl =30 photos, incld i purchase 3 more fotos. hehe..

I think of making favours 4 more guests. anyone of u getting favours 4 yr guests? I was thinking of doing bulks will be cheaper. so duno leh, u girls going 2 do any favours. maybe gonna share??

kk

Hi BomBom,

haha.. can't really count how many fins inside the soup lah, but do u taste chicken meat or crab meat and nothing else? I dun like those with lots of meat in the soup but no fins, not even agar agar.. hahaha...

Got BBQ pork ribs in the menu meh?? Oh, it is an exceptional treat from Suzanna?

Oh, ur package comes with 30 photos? In addition, u add 3 more u mean? So together 33 photos?

But does qianxi gives chocolates or fruit cakes or guests? If yes, then maybe i do without flavours. If no, then i may have to get flavours. Not yet decided :p
What do u intend to get? If i want, i intend to go for ready made ones, instead of having to DIY somemore, lazy to do it.. kekeke...

jenny

Hi Leafy

There no contract only a deposit slip. I will go for food tasting on Feb, still haven;t deicde which menu to choose.

Wow most of you taken your PS. I will choose my grown on next sunday and PS ON Jan. Will it be too late as much thing not done.

If any no cake or chocolate, properly we will buy heart shape chocolate for guest.

leafy

hi okea,

The choice of ball room or mainhall is up to u, subject to the capacity and availability. Suz said her mainhall can accomodate 35 tables, but I think it'll be very cramp. 25 or 30 tables will be just nice.

35 tables in ballroom definitely no problem. But not advisable for huge crowd of 50+ tables, cos they'll extend the ballroom by opening up the wide side entrance, which will be enclosed in air-con white color tentage.

Have u visited them?

fyi, the mainhall is a long rectagular, high ceiling with a very long march in. the stage is at the end of the hall.
The ballroom more squarish...stage is at the center of the longer side of the room, walk in entrance will be from the shorter side, diagonal to the stage.

bombom,
I like the pork ribs also leh... I taste a bit of cola (Maybe i missed the mouth watering ke3 le4 pai2 gu3 too much) leh... did u??

jenny

Hi KK

Might postpone the PS after CNY?

Farrer Park can accomdate more than 40 tables, their min is 35 but suzanan gave us the whole ballroom. (mine only 30 tables).

Okea,
So which outlet you prefer.

kk

Hi Jenny,

Hmm..yah, if u can, maybe u like to postpone it to after CNY. i dun know why, even for fitting of gowns, my bridal shop advise me to go after CNY, maybe they are afraid i might change in size.. hahahaa... or they have new stock coming in after that.

Farrer Park can accomodate around 55 tables in the main hall. Once there are 35 tables, they will block off the area solely for dinner. Suzanna is really good!

bom bom

Hi leafy,

The pork ribs was a treat from Suzanna. There was a menu that feature pork ribs (2nd menu). I think there are 2 types of ribs. the coffee & the orange flavour...I taste the coffee ones. Yummy!!Maybe U drink coke w/ ribs & it became cola ribs. haha!!!

kk, I thought I tasted crab meat....I've 27 fotots + additional 5 poses (fotos) for art work. ttl 32 pics. Furthermore,I bought additional 3 fotos, So grand ttl = 35 fotos.
I'm making my own potpurri lor. maybe going 2 source 4 material. I got design already. Btw, do u wanna share? by the way, when's yr big day?

I got the main hall (30 tables) lah. But if another couple wanna take the opal room. then suzanna will be letting it out lor.boo.....I'm not sure is it same to all of U out there?

kk

Hi Bom Bom,

I think i have tasted that kind of pork ribs before at merchant court wedding dinner. Coffee type. Wow, i still miss the dish! hahaha... i am glad qianxi offers that

Are u having that in ur wedding dinner?

I just glance the menu. It is called baked pork spare ribs. keke...

Oicc..what does art work mean?

I think among gals here, my wedding is the latest on 26 Oct. U hardworking leh, making ur own potpourri

My parents went to Crown Prince Hotel for wedding dinner. The hotel gives potpourri. Very nice!

After i started this thread, then i heard from meow (i think) that opal room will be let out if another couple wants it. By then i have already booked qianxi. But it is ok lah. Anyway as long as mine is the bigger one, can liao.. kekekeke..

takongkong

Hi KK, bom bom, jenny, leafy,

Wow, what an interesting thread. I've oso juz signed up qianxi farrer park recently. Find the hall so spacious with no pilliar. That's part of the reason Why i signed up with them

But surprisingly, they told me there's no chocolates for guest. U guys have?

Oh yes,the projector.. I think tat's a very good plus point. I think some hotels charge you for rental if u need to use it..

kk

Hi hi takongkong,

welcome to this thread!

I dun think i saw any wedding flavours in my pamhplet. Maybe qianxi really dun offer chocolates nor cakes lor. Then u plan to get any for ur guests?

When is ur dinner btw?

Yes, it is good that qianxi has the projector. U plan to use it?

leafy

hi takongkong,

ya, nothing abt wedding favors(mini cakes/chocolate) was mentioned. But not so impt la.
Probably I'll get my own. If I intend to give out mini cakes or choc, my aunt is willing to bake for us.

Which branch u considering?

bom bom

Bom Bom busy this few wks lor. With my new nest...
anyway, kk, I'm not taking the ribs lor cos my sis says it's not tt appropriate so not sure what menu 2 take. How abt U?
Yup, I'm making my own potporri lor to save $$...not harworking lah...
No choice leh....Must give my guests something as a token of appreciation...

Hi Takongkong,
I'll be using the projector....when is yr big day???

kk

Hi Bom Bom,

I guess ur sis meant that if the ribs are served, pple will think the menu is cheap rite? kekke.. i have that idea too, so may not take it lor. Eventually i may take the second last menu. My hubby say not necessary to take the lobster salad. Since we want the suckling pig, we might take the second last menu, downgrade the lobster salad to normal cold dish, then upgrade the mushroom to braised duck. Dun know how suzanna is going to charge for that. What u think?

How's ur lovenest? Under reno? Hee... maybe i forgotten and u told me before.

A lot of gals suggested giving chopsticks. But where to get them? Any idea where to get nice ones?

bom bom

Hi kk,
long tim no talk....cos something wronf w/ my mails lah... anyway, u r rite. I find it quite inappropriate to serve the ribs. so i'll be taking either the 3rd menu or 2nd menu, but changed the ribs to duck. The duck dish have to top up another $25+ lor. anyway, see how first lah. Why not U take the 2nd last dish or the 4th dish? in fact, when u went fro food-tasting, then ask yr family members or hubby for opinio....cos i find that the food is quite good lor.
my lovenest had finished the reno lor. now busy getting in the furniture.....
At first, i was thinking of getting chopsticks but my friends suggest that if they rec'd the chopsticks, they will either use them & makan. & for token, some of the guests will juz put it aside or put in the kitchen juz like MIL. she rec'd the chopsticks, but do not know how. cos she said tt it's not very nice to use 4 makaning, juz like makaning the couples...anyway, it's up to individual lor. chopsticks have a very good meaning. but eventually, who would appreciate the good meaning....hmmm. so i make my own satchets of potpurri lor. & it happens to be quite cheap...

kk

Hi BomBom,

The menus all look very nice, that's why difficult to decide. Think have to go for food tasting then can decide further. Guess won't be taking 4th menu coz we want whole suckling pig, and that left with us 5th and last menu. Thinking of getting the braised duck to replace the mushrooms maybe, but that means top up
We try to see how we can try to squeeze in.. kekeee.. maybe downgrade other thing like lobster dish lor.

I always think that guests dun really appreciate whatever wedding flavours we give them. They may even say our wedding flavours are useless and take up space.. hahaha... well, maybe i just have some chocolates for them. Anyway my hubby is for the idea of having chocolates and we are going to get design for them, maybe print our names, or with thank u words or with nice wedding words on it. If u read the wedding handbook, u will get what i mean

cath

hi bombom
i'll also be holding my banquet at qianxi. You were talking about the making of potpurri rite.. have u started and can u roughly tell me what's the cost like.. cos i intend to make one too - for my guests

bom bom

Hi kk,

Do u have any lobang to get yr names printed on the choco? I wanna get to know how much will tt be. I'm not sure do i still go ahead w/ the making of potpurri cos my mum is ill lor.she is the one who helped me to sew some satchets w/ the organza material. But cath, the price for making the potpurri is abt $0.60/pcs lor. I got the cloth & ribbon cheap frm a friend. 4 the potpurri looking 4 cheap price lor. so come out 2 be around the price quoted..
Hi kk, yesterday went to qianxi for cards printing lor. the cards are quite nice. one file is frm the T-dragon, quite famous & we've chosen our cards already lor.
anyway, we'll rec'd the cards 1 wk later...not in a hurry aslong as I rec'd them b4 cny then it'll be ok. if u got the lobang 4 printed choco, let me know....

jenny

Hi kk & Bom Bom

So how yours favour?

I might give "heart" shaped chocolate to my guest. I check out 2 shop and their price range is quite wide. Will go down have a look and keep you all updated.

1st shop: $1.00 with box; if w/o box $0.80
2nd shop: $0.32 w/o box.

Boom Boom
when is your WD. I have not print my card yets leh. My WD at May How???

Cheer

kk

Hi Bombom,

i dun have lobang but then the designer chocolates shop i am looking at does customize for customers. But every new design requested from them need $200.

When is ur wedding btw? How long before ur guo da li do u go to qianxi to ask them to print cards?

Ohhh, so the cards will take only 1 week for printing. That's fast.

Hi Jenny,

ur 2nd shop has choco without box? Then how do they actually pack it? 32 cents is cheap!

I know chocolate box is expensive.

This is the website for the designer chocolates:
http://www.dcpl.com

jenny

Hi kk

They will wrap individual in foil. But the price range from the 1st shop so different.

Do you know how much the box cost?

cath

Hi Bom Bom

Wow.. yr cost of making the potpurri is cheap.. where can we get cheap potpurri.. i called scent shop and they are selling a big packet at $238 which can make around 100 or so sackets... I calculated my cost and it can come out to $1.50 each...

Hi kk

That time you were saying that they have 'xi' word for the choc rite? Will you be getting that? I think the choc with 'Our generic Round Wedding Pack' is nice.. =)

kk

Hi Cath,

yah, the round one is nice rite?? Too bad my parents' place pc down, else i can forward u the price list. I can;t remember the price already. Perhaps u can email them and they will send u the price list promptly.

I am tempted with the round one.. kekeke.. but i am having 40 tables leh, that means around 400 pieces. Expensive!

Hi Jenny,

Oh, the foil u mean those coloured easily crumpled type? Like supermarket that type lor? Hmm...actually got box or no box important or not? hahaha... it is really cheap without box. Did u take a look eventually?

cath

Hi kk,
I called them yesterday and the round pce is quite expensive.. around $1+ and it’s rather big too, 7.5cm in diameter… btw, will you be getting wine for your guest?

kk

Hi Cath,

yah, i remember the round one pretty expensive and since i am having so many tables, i can't afford to spend so much on flavours.. haha.. maybe i just have the rectangular one. Or maybe just get them from supermarts, put them in nice containers and place them at the reception table for guests to take.

I may not be getting wine for the guests. Feel that it is not really a must to serve wine in dinner. Depends lor. But if my hubby really wants it when the time comes, we may just get a few bottles and serve upon request, rather than letting it free flow. What about u?

cath

Hi kk

yap, now im in a dilemna whether to get wedding flavour or wine for them. I checked with my friends which they prefer and most of them tell me that wedding flavour not impt and perhaps wine will be better... sigh... and i cant have both of the worlds cos must budget budget a bit... :x btw, kk, how come u never drop a note in Oct thread, we miss you there also leh..

bom bom

Long time no talk. It seems that this thread is getting popular.
Actually, I'm also in the same situation as cath & kk. No budget for both wedding favours & wine. Thus, in the end, I end up with wedding favours as wine is not a necessity as nowadays it seems that more ppl will go w/o alcohol cos they r driving. Any way, our rest are very gd. it provides beer, stout & hard liqour which I think it's enough. I dun think our guests will try/mix with so many alcohol. hee...

In fact, I got potpurri satchet 4 my guests. Well, luckily my mum helps me to sew the satchets. so it's quite ok with the budget. But it's the time that is consuming the most. all manual work. Very siong man!!!!

Well, for the printing of the cards r pretty fast. They helped us to draft out(incld the parents name+ cont no.), then we chk through b4 they send the confirmed draft 2 the printers. so all in all it took abt 2 wks. pretty fast. the cards r nice & elegant. I chose my card from one of the file known as T-dragon. It's quite well-known lor. cos T-dragon helps most of the hotels to print.
So now, busy writing cards & prepare my guests list. right now, it's the most busiest time. luckily there r cny & hari raya haji tt maybe can help me a bit, meaming tt I dun need to take so many leaves.

Well, kk, u need to give yrself at least 3 wks b4 guo da li to get yr card ready. 2 wks to print cards & 1 wk to at least write yr cards(fast) lor.....

kk

Hi Cath,

Haha. i do monitor all the threads here. Sometimes dun know what to type, so never contribute e.g. Oct brides thread.. kekeke... didn't see ur msg here until today. Guess i must have missed it when i check for latest postings

Me and hubby also budget tight. Even if we have the $$, we are thinking whether it is worthwhile to spend so much on misc items like wedding flavours and wine. We may go without wine as i feel not important as wine is an addition to beer and liquor, but not a compulsory thing to serve lor. Come to think of it, wedding flavours may not be impt afterall.. haha...

Hi Bom Bom,

Oicc..wow, looks like we will get rather busy as the date draws near, like getting ready the invitation cards, etc.

Now still seem quite peaceful coz nothing to be done yet.. kekee.. i will be going for my first gown trial next Sunday. At least something to kick everything started.

jenny

For the heart chocolate is in medium size so I intend to put 2 pieces into 1 box. They charge me $0.28 per piece. Now I have to search for the box. I also dun intend to spend a lot on the favour.

Hi Pausini

My wedding is 9 May. When is yours?

pausini

Hi Jenny,

Mine is on 03 May. U looking for boxes? did u try the shop at concourse? i think they have it there.

kk

Hi Jenny,

Ur chocolates sounds good! Do tell me where u get the boxes when the time comes
I may need them too

I need the contacts for the chocolates too. Or have u mentioned it before in previous postings?

jenny

Hi KK & Shooby06

The contact for the Chocolate:
Meng Heng Confectionery Pte Ltd
No. 96 Arab Street.

I will try to go down to Concourse to look for.
I try Techman is quite ex @60 cents.
Glory Gaphic sell $18.80 for 50pcs but they dun have the stock and furthermor I can;t order from them, the ladies very rude.

Will try to update once I go down.