Plaza Hotel at Beach Road

butter

yeah....me using the bigger ballroom...but somehow i think the smaller one look better ley... Congrats to ur June wedding...heeheh

actually, she told me that the suite will be ready in October...
tiewster, how many tables will you be having? For me, I have only 30 odd tables... so, the smaller one will be enough...

You guys have any "theme" for your actual day?

Hi butter,
yap, me taking the smaller ballroom coz me got 2 seperate dinners lor, & I like the smaller one better leh, very cozy feel about it...
as for the AD photographer, my BS already have lor but thinking of getting videographer leh,
any suggestions?

Tiewster!!!
u also here ah!! waah.... btw when is ur AD?? I did not hear Felicia said anything about the Suite thingy leh! Waa... kaoz....
went to collect cards from her the other day, she never say leh... seow liao!!! will have to check, so now how? u mean she give u 2 single standard room first ah? then after renovation done, give u 1 nite stay in the Suite again??
Aiyoh,,... first nite got to sleep on seperate beds liao ah?? Ho Seh Bor??

Yap, I do have a theme for my AD, what about u all? btw, do u all have slides to show b4 ur wedding dinner too?

Hi skylar,
I got a list of videgraphers (someone emailed me) with me. If you are interested, I can share with you.

Felicia was saying, they are going to connect 2 rooms to become one "stand-by" bridal suite. Of course, if you had seen the real suite before, this is nothing comparable. Not sure how she will "compensate" you guys. But according to tiewster, he will be taking a normal deluxe room and then once the new bridal suite is ready, he can go back to use it for one night.

Care to share with me on your theme for your AD? Did you engage a wedding planner? When is your AD?

I will be having slideshow before and during the dinner. My plan is to have the slideshow for the studio and outdoor PS (not going to put the album out). And then during the dinner, will play a slideshow on what happened in the morning when the groom go and get the bride. Maybe will have a slideshow on our childhood pictures also.

theme??? *scratch head* what theme?? i dunno all abt thise ley... whaahhaahaha...i think my wife wld know better... it just so happened that some lady from Plaza called to inform me that they gt no suite lor...so i told them to call my wife lor... but i told my wife i wld prefer to take a normal room...then after wedding...go back for a short R&R lor...hehehehe

whaahahahahah...me AD on 20/11 lor....u ley???

Sleep seperate bed ok mah...anyway...dun think i got energy to do anything on that night anyway! whaahahahahah.....

eh...enlighten me ley....what theme u all toking abt???

tiewster,

you better bargain with Felicia for the suite thingy. I sent the contract back to her the other day coz she accidently mentioned that the wedding cards are INCLUSIVE of printing. I got her to change the FOC American Breakfast to Lunch (don't think can manage to wake up for breakfast) and asked for another normal room for whoever wants to stay that nite... The other time, she refused to give me the room... So, you guys can ask for it...

For the theme thingy... Some people will have themes like "retro night" (guests will have to dress up in 60's clothing)...etc... and also whether the table cloth matches with stage...etc... then will have matching balloons...etc....

ooooooooh...understood. So...cards are inculsive of printing?? heheeh...goody good!!...can save on those......yeah...think wld be idea to change bf to lunch...hehehehe...

Cards should be EXCLUDING printing, that's why I sent the contract back to Felicia for amendement that day... Me good gal... :þ
Whatever it is, do "bargain" with her on some stuff... She's able to make decision...

Hi butter,
so u got the slide show thingy ah? who do for u one ah? coz me also thinking of doing maybe but all like quite expensive lor,... no $$ liao....

so urs got theme too? heheh... its easy to get down to preparation when you have a theme though...

Tiewster,
urs in November ah? my in Sept, called up Felicia to ask about the renovation thingy but she said that she did not called me coz my AD did not affect the renovations so i will still have the Suite lor coz i think reno starts in Oct till Dec maybe....

cards include printing ??? me also want man!! Exclude lah.... so u all got ur cards for printing liao bor? btw which gifts did u all choose for ur guest ah?

Hi skylar
I am engaging a photographer for my AD... and in her package, it includes in the slide show thingy... I must say it's quite a good deal.. If you want, I can forward the quote to you...

Which theme you using?
I have not really think about this yet coz my AD is still far far away... hee hee...

Felicia said the printing of cards is only around $150 if I use their in-house printer... So, which card did you guys choose?? I must say that their invitation cards do not look very impressive...

As for the gift, I think I will choose the chopsticks.. Maybe will buy other wedding favours outside also..

hi butter,

well, ok can u fwd the quote to me then? thanxs!
as for the themes, selected a few but not decided on any one yet lor.... hehehee...
as for the cards, the printer which Felicia give hor, is about the same lah, as the outside one, I give my cards to Tdragon to print lor...
i choose both lor the red & cream one also...
so wat other favours did u buy?

Skylar,
another thing, did you use the guest book provided by Plaza ParkRoyal? If no, where u get your guest book?
Their guest book if so old-fashioned...

hi butter,

ohh ok, will go check it out but if i do not take up the photograhy with them then is it more expensive for the montage?

as for the guest book, i think i will get from outside also lor, got more choices leh... hehehe...

care to share more on the food, ambience and food in Plaza?

which coordinator is better to talk to? got Yvonne,Felicia,Jonathan and Jean")

hi starfruit12,
The manager in-charge is Felicia.
I heard from her the others are more like doing out-door sales. If you want, I can pass you her number.

I just went for a wedding dinner 2 weeks back... The food is not bad and the portion is huge... As for the ambience, I love the candles which were along the aisle when the couples marched in... and on every table, they had tea light candle.. very romantic...

I advise you to go down and take a look at the ballroom yourself...

hi star,

like wat butter say lor, better if u go see urself....

butter,
me have not buy yet lor, when i see, i tell u ok? wat do u have in mind to do for ur guest.....

i had ur contact for the montage liao,,,, thanxs~~

Due to some unexpected changes, I would like to transfer my 2004 package. If possible, it can be arranged for 2005 (according to 1 of the coordinator). Have already paid a deposit of $2k. I would like to have it transferred for $1500.

Anyone interested, pls email me [email protected]. Many thanks!

Hi Starfruit,

My package is actually a very basic dinner banquet. Bcos I have to do immediate transfer, whatever package you liaise with hotel, I'm basically transferring the deposit only, at a neg sum.

If you taking Plaza package, hope to hear good news from you

Hello starfruit,
U visited Plaza already?
How is it??

Hello Phinx,
When I signed the contract with Plaza, Felicia claimed that I have to pay $2,940 as the deposit (so that the Finance Dept can pay the GST easier)... wondering why is it that you can choose to pay $2,000... hee hee...

Hi Butterkiss,

We were asked to pay up $2000 as deposit by Johnathan. Not a choice....

Anyway, congrats to yr upcoming wedding !

butter.. i oso pay $2940.. dunno why too.. but i signed the contract that inclusive printing.. and i'm sure they have to honour it.. not a matter of $$ though..

i dint know about the reno thingy too.. she showed me the suite on the 7th floor.. is ttat what you guys are talking about??

what are the perks that you guys got??

Hi Gladys,

I signed up beginning of the year, cos supposedly getting married end of the year. Tats y i think the deposit differs from you gals.

Anyway, there wont be a wedding anymore, so I'm really hoping to be able to transfer just the Deposit at neg sum to any couple who's planning for their Big Day ! Else, I gotta pay the penalty...

Hi Gladys,
Did you sign up with Felicia also?
For my contract, it mentioned inclusive of printing also... but we brought it back to Felicia so that she can amend... haha...
Then we asked for extra room for the AD night (for my family) and she gave it to us...
We also changed the breakfast to lunch coz we know we sure can't wake up on time to eat... haha...

I have yet to visit the bridal suite... coz it's going to be renovated, no point for me to see also...

Hi Starfruit,

Wonder if u have checked yr email. hehe... cos I did not get any response.

Anyway, when did Plaza start their reno? Din hear anyone mention when we signed up beginning of the year.

Starfruit, if u keen on taking up Plaza banquet, pls contact me, I look forward to settle the transfer of deposit.

Hi Phinx,'

me and bf still thinking abou it ...cos not sure oso...

feel free to give to others if there are any interested parties..thanks...")

Hi Starfruit,

I would really like to transfer it to whoever is interested. Disappointing to say, till now, response is really worrying.

Anyone out there who wanna sign up with Plaza, do feel free drop me email [email protected] . I have till end of this month. Hopefully can work out something with coordinator too...

May I know whether Plaza's package is inclusive of beer? If so, how many litres?
The emailed version of the package I received from them did not state anything about beer...

hello limy....

I am not sure about 2005's package...
I signed up my package before next yr's package is out and mine (which is 2004's package) is inclusive of the free flow of beer!

Why don't you check with the coordinator (Felicia, I suppose)? She is friendly and will clarify things with u...

140206.gif

Well, as for the reno for Plaza, i think it should start in Oct till Dec lor, so those who are affected will be informed by Felicia lor... like for my case, i was not affected at all coz my in Sept too... hehehehe....

as for the printing of the cards, i reckon its a printing error rite? coz dun think that Plaza will include printing lor....

butter, ur here too!! hehehhee.... ya lor, i do know for the free flow of beer lor... so on ur AD nite, u have ur bridal suite & 1 more helpers room for u ah? good deal too!

Actually I asked for another night of stay in the bridal suite... but Felicia said she's afraid that there will be another wedding on the day after mine... which I think it's not possible... So, I asked for another room... hee hee....

We can hold her liability for the printing of card... since it's her mistake to put that down in the contract.... but my FH said Felicia is such a nice lady, we shouldn't do that to her... haha....

that time, when we went down to sign the contract on a Sat... we spent an hour talking about the contract and the next 2 hours was spent on listening to Felicia's "childhood till grown up" stories.... haha....
Must say that she's a very frank and honest lady... Really told us lots of her personal stuff.... We are so at ease with her...

140485.gif

hmm...I tried asking for Felicia just now when I called the banquet dept.
Was told she is on leave till next week.
Guess I'll have to wait till she is back to discuss details of the package...

Oh... u haven't went down to talk to her about the contract stuff yet?
U seen the ballroom already? I think if you are taking next yr's package, then there won't be any free flow of beer...
When I asked for the quotation that time, she also sent me the 2005 package... only when I went down to see her, she told me that the 2004 package is still valid, that was why we signed up with Plaza Hotel within a week....

limy, don't worry...
I am sure Felicia will help you with what she can...

140730.gif

nope, I haven't went down to the hotel itself.
Me and my FH shortlisted Traders and Rendezvous initally but heard -ve comments from friends and pple in the forum. I saw your comments on Rend's food at the other thread...

So I'm looking for alternative and came across Plaza Parkroyal.

As we only have around 16 tables and a budget of $600 to 750, it's no easy to look for a suitable hotel.

limy,
u are shortlisting Traders & Rendezvous ah? well, all i can say is that Rend sucks! u know why? coz i was there previously with my HB to see the banquet, called up to make appt liao, went down they told us that they're busy so will have to come down another day, thats it man!

to me, i think that service is very impt & furthermore not forgetting that we are the one paying leh, not cheap also... & yet this kind of service to us?? Give me a break!!

then i complained to their HR & later they called us up to fix up another appt but i told them straight, dun bother ...

just my 2 cents worth lor...

skylar,
Wow... that bad ar!
For me, I went there for the banquet... The food is so-so (hotel standard) and the services we got were fanstastic!

limy,
with ur budget, are you all okie with restaurants?
There are some nice restaurants out there also... How abt Carlton Hotel? If u are holding ur dinner on a Sunday, the rate is a weekday's price...

butter,
ya lor, the service they gave on the frontline is bad lor so i blacklist them liao.. hehehehe...

like wat butter mentioned, limy, for ur budget of like $600-$750, it will be way comfortable for resturant leh...

Thanks butter, I called Carlton up for their package and arranging to go down this sat...hope everything will go well

butter n skylar,

my FH doesn't want restaurant and is very resistant to it. Partially becos he afraid when people hear that it's a restaurant, they will not give that much for ang bao as compared to hotel.
so I got no choice...

I met with Rend's banquet manager, Denny, last week. Find him quite friendly and comfortable to deal with. Except till the later part of the discussion he started to stare blankly out of the window half way through a conversation. As I was back facing the window, I can't see what he was looking at...
that aside, he was very flexible with the perks and I get to work personnely with the florist on the deco...

hi limy

after attending a banquet at plaza hotel and hotel rendezvous recently. I find that both hotels have got their pros and cons...
for hotel rendezvous, I love the ballroom decoration... they have tea light candles hanging around.. damn romantic... but food wise, it was so-so and the portion was small... imagaine after the dinner, i can still say that I am hungry!!!

for plaza hotel, food portion was huge! find it abit too much liao... the ambience was okie... maybe can get them to dim the lights more during the march in so as to get those more romantic feelings...

as for carlton, i feel that the ballroom ceiling is too low... other than that, heard the food is great and services also good...