Phuket, Patong Beach

hi butter!!

hmmm maybe ur bf also have someting up to his sleeve yet! hehe..

hi racher
you are back!! congrats to you. wow, your bf is really romantic. when will be the ROM date?

where is raya, btw? how to go? book from the local agent?

i haven't decided where i should stay. other than burasari, is there any other place you recommend? (cost less than or equal to burasari) :P

rach,
we are already in the midst of preparing for marriage... he already bought the wedding bands... so, u think he will still propose meh?
anyway, he is coming up with some surprise for our anniversary end of this month... see what he has loh...

hey gals!!

Hey rach...

bak liao ah.. seems like u had a gd tan yah.. heh..
ur bf soooooooooooo sweet!!! propose to u during ur vacation.. haiz.. mine din even propose.. sad.. kekeke.. anyway.. seems like u enjoyed ur trip a lot...

tink most of d qns i wanted to ask r being put up by d gals liao.. so we'll b waiting for ur answers...

me will only be going to Phuket next year...
do u gals think it's a good month to go in March next yr?
is that the monsoon season?

hi nyny!

raya island is near to Phuket.. at the south of phuket from the map that i see.. it is also called Racha island..

oh ya gals.. go ard and bargain for the tours.. do not accept the price that is listed on their brochures.. i managed to get a tour agent who managed to give me a very gd price for all the tours.. hmmm as for his number tink i have to go and see the voucher.. the tour agent is Serenity Tours..

for PhiPhi/Maya/Khai island.. the stated price on the brochure is 2,400baht.. i managed to get it at 1,200baht..

for Raya island, the stated price is 1,300baht.. i paid 1,000baht..

oh ya gals.. i went thai boxing too!! but sort of quite disappointed by it.. coz the boxers are teenagers ard 13-18 years old!!! i was expecting adults!! haiyo and we paid like 600 baht per person for the show.. so cheated.. so do not go! not worth the money.. tink it's better if u go and watch it in Bangkok.. tink it's more real..

as for other hotels.. hmm tink maybe u can book Banthai??? i heard from my sis it's quite gd.. coz she stayed there when she was in Phuket last year.. as for the rest.. i'm not too sure abt it..
i noe that Marriott is nice..
as for Holiday Inn.. tink that they have suites.. and they look great.. the normal rooms look very normal..

hey butter!!

dun b discouraged!! see wat ur bf has for u for ur anniversary! heheeh

oh ya march shld be a gd month to visit phuket.. coz it's the peak season..

gals! i didn't managed to go to Similan islands coz it's closed.. heard that it's really nice too.. for those going in the peak season from Nov-Apr.. try to go there k?? hehee and show me the pics!

hey rach...

so roughly hw much did u spend for tis trip?

did u buy lots of things bak? been to phi phi island b4.. din like it also.. coz of crowd too.. heh..

hi racher
wow... can find the contact for me? :P
how do you bargain? teach me some skills leh. hehehe
how about phang ngai? is it nice?
me thinking of going to cabaret show leh. and thinking of staying at club andaman. did you hapen to pass by there?

Hey racherlle

Har..he proposed after you guys went to apply for flat? Abit late leh :P But it was a really sweet gesture..you're one lucky girl

I read that Similan is pretty far from Phuket..do you know how long it'd take to get there via speedboat? The pics of Similan look lovely. Ure lucky to be able to bargain better tour prices. I'm going in the peak season, so I dun think we can get it as cheap as you guys did.

hi celtricia..

my bf and i spent ard SGD750 altogether for the food (seafood), tours there.. not including accomodation and airtixs..

hmmm i bought a bag, some shirts, ard 20 small cube candles, 2 bed lamps, candle holders.. and some ornaments for my home..

hi nyny!

i didn't go phang ngai coz nothing much there.. heard from the tour guides that they juz bring u ard on the boat.. nothing much to see.. no snorkelling etc..

ohh the cabaret show ah? hmmm not too sure coz both of us not really into these.. hehe.. club andaman.. tink it's quite far away from patong beach rite??? not too sure.. pass by too many hotels.. hehe

hi alhana!
haha ya lor.. late hor.. but better late than never!! :P

hmmmm ya gals..
juz try to bargain hard when u r there!!
i slash half of the prices they ask for when buying things there :P

hi racher
wah... i think got to slash the price low low first then increase bit by bit. heheh.
did you go to phuket town? renting car? or just mainly walk along the beach there?

hehe... ya, club andaman is at the northern side of patong, not so central. where's that serenity tour located?

hi rach...

wow.. seems like u've spend quite a reasonable amt there.. hmm.. n u've gotten ur home quite somethings ah.. heh..

hi nyny!

i didn't go down to phuket town coz i dun even have time for patong already! hehe..
hmm and also the distance deters me from going!
phuket town takes abt 30 mins to reach there by tuk tuk which cost ard 350baht.. if u take the public bus which is 15baht per person.. it takes abt 45 mins!! no time to spare! hehe :P

hmmm serenity tour is located in patong.. it's inside one of the side roads.. it is actually a stall in a restaurant.. hmmmm will give u the address and fone number so u can call and check it out.. it's a 1 man show run by a guy call Ne-ong.. he's very friendly!

Racherlle,
Our proposal abit similar! But mine is bear, card n ring in the car. I almost thought I went to the wrong car hee So planning for next yr?

Racha resort comes wif private pool too? So temped to go after seeing you gals planning hee..

hi celtricia!

yaaaa.. realised we spent quite a lot too! heee sigh always wan to budget ah but end up buying more! hehehe terrible! :P but once a while it's ok lar keke tat's wat i always tell myself! tat's y lar! end up spending more!

zennn ah..
not very sure whether racha has private pools like banyan or not.. hmmm tink u got to go and check out their website..

but i will definitely go to the sea coz it's so private! not many pple there! so nice! and sea is soooooo bluey!!! so relaxing there.. such a nice place to be in.. i didn't wan to go back.. wahh now can only tink of it.. keke

oh ya zenn..

i remembered seeing a big pool there.. coz i saw some ang mos relaxing in the pool..
and i saw some of their cottages with no pools attached.. they might have 2 or 3 villas with pool..

hi rach...

dun worry.. travelling is to enjoy mah.. hw to b conscious abt the budget.. hehe.. gd ting u enjoyed urself all in all. despite the minor flood..

Hi sharetoo

When are planning on going? the rates posted are only valid till 31 Oct..prices usually double or triple after that. The bane of travelling during the high season! If it were the low season, I wld probably stay 1-2 weeks at these resorts :P Stayed in Krabi for a week in June and I still can't get over what a fabulous vacation it was. Sigh..can't wait for the Phuket trip in Dec.

Hi alhana.. my hubby & I are leaving for phuket next tue for 10 days so timing is just great since it's low season. This weekend must go get some good books for the trip! Intend to stay in different places throughout. We've only booked the 1st nite in Phuket at Begonia K-hotel - only 850 baht nett. Will probably skip Phi Phi island 'cos my friends said it's not that nice afterall.

Oh where did you stay in Krabi?

Gd morning gals...

Rach,
Thanks thanks!

Sharetoo,
Yo you are tempin me hehe btw, do you ve the website for Racha resort?

Hi cottoncandy. Only booked 1st nite booked at Begonia wing k-hotel at patong. Have not decided for the rest of the 9 days. Perhaps should really do some proper planning this weekend. But hubby is not worried.. he said it's low season, plenty of rooms everywhere. Thinking of going to Koh Samui too.. direct flight from Phuket only takes 45mins. Hubby is the 'spontaneous' sort.. he said we could even extend our leave and go Bangkok after phuket and come back from Bangkok instead. But I'm the sort who must plan! :P

Zenn, it's www.theracha.com. Go check it out.. it's really very nice!

Zenn, that's the plan.. or more aptly, the 'non-plan'!!. But will see how it turns out. I'm lazy.. I rather stay at one place throughout if it's nice. I saw this pic at The Racha website & I can picture myself relaxing on the sofa reading a good book!
192172.jpg

Cottoncandy, yes I've seen the burasari website. It looks really nice too! My hubby is a big fan of TAR.. he dreams of running around different places carrying a backpack :P Have told him to keep that dream till we go Europe. For such short trips, I would rather laze around, eat, sleep, read and lying by the pool under the sun.

Hi sharetoo

We stayed at the Krabi La Playa resort. Its a v new resort..opened this yr..and since it was the low season, there were hardly any guests staying there. We practically had the resort to ourselves :P The pool was almost always empty..save for the restaurant. Its quite nice and quiet...abt 10min walk from Ao Nang beach.

Oh, we'll be going to BKK too..but BKK first then Phuket.

Alhana, I just checked that the rate now at Krabi La Playa is 1,800 baht (free upgrade to next room category). What a nice pool!
192196.jpg

Zenn, yes that's how I feel too!

Racherlle, you just got back from Phuket right? Read that you bought some cube candles.. is there a lot of places selling candles and are they cheap?

hi gals!

yup i've been to Racha island and The Racha is really very nice!! hehe..

oh ya btw my pics are ready.. kindly state down ur email so I could send the link to u!

hey sharetoo!!
my FH & I would really love to join TAR too!! it's our dream!! heheehe.. but too bad dun tink we can qualify!

hmmm yup i juz got back from Phuket.. as for the cube candles i managed to see like 3 stalls selling them only.. i paid 50 baht for each candle.. i'm a sucker for candles!! hehe.. but tink u shld be able to get it cheaper at BKK if u r going there..

hi racherlle,

me wanna see!!!
been so busy, haven't had time to really post here...

btw, CONGRATS!!!!!!!!!!! on ur bf's proposal!!!! sounds most romantic!

i surfed on the racha's website the other day when i was surfing on the bale's... it's by the same co.!! and i was drooling......... one day MUST go!!!

Hey racherlle

Email me ure pics at [email protected]

I love TAR too! But i think I'd end up squabbling w my team mate. I'm the sort who likes to plan things sui sui before I go...that's probably the Virgo in me :P If things don't go smoothly, I get cranky :P Worse if I'm tired. When we went backpacking in Europe, my feet were killing me from all the walking ard. Wld just look fwd to plonking myself down and sleeping at the end of each day. But it was fun

Sharetoo,

Yah..they have a reallllly nice pool. Imagine having such a huge pool to yourself. Like Burasari, they have pool access rooms too. V nice. Oh, if u want to buy candles, I saw a stall in MBK selling ALOT of beautiful candles..small, big, round, square with pretty pictures etc. Shld be cheaper getting such things in BKK than Phuket. Probably can get them even cheaper in Chatuchak.

Zenn

We paid ard slightly less than $500/pax for 6D/5N incl airfare, accomodation, return airport transfer and 1/2 day city tour. Spent another $400 on food, massage, tours (we went for 2 day trips), shopping. Well, maybe not as much as $400 coz I still have quite abit of baht leftover.

hi oraia!!

thanks!!
hehe yaaaa i'm still very excited ah.. hehe

oh ya btw gals i've sent the link over to u gals!
hmmm have a look.. hehe..

alhana!
haha my temper is also very bad.. if my bf and i were to join TAR.. we would definitely b like Colin & Christy!!! hehe :P

woooo ur package for the 6D/5N looks gd!!

heeee..

i wan to go shopping too!!
can't wait to go BKK in March 05 to celebrate my bd!! and shoppppppp!!! kekeke
wahhh muz go and get more candles! and candle holders! keke

Hi zenn

I don't think its as crowded as Phuket. Well, I went in the low season so I have no idea how crowded it'd get during the high season. It was pretty empty then. Definitely not as developed as Phuket. The main beach at Ao Nang is actually not suitable for sunbathing, swimming etc..you'd have to go to islands or Railay beach to find nice beaches. Their beaches don't have deck chairs ala Phuket. U'd hafta get a beach mat/towel. They don't have watersports like jet skis, parasailing, yachting unlike Patong beach..but I like that. Its quieter, more laid back, more relaxed. Hardly any touts. There's plenty of restaurants, from seafood, to western to Thai, small little touristy shops selling souvenirs, t-shirts, beachwear, spas, massage & beauty parlours etc..quaint. And there's many hotels there now, ranging from 1* to 5*. We loved it. Actually thought of going there again in Dec, but decided we'd go to Phuket instead for a change of pace.

Hey Racherlle

Looking at ure pics now...wooo..hotel is niicee! Ure right, its as pretty as depicted on their website. Oh man! I love love love that prata thingy! Ate almost everyday in Krabi...esp the banana chocolate one. Yummmmmm. Weather looks terrific. Monsoon Schmonsoon huh :P Hey, no pic of ure new bling bling??

hi gals!!
i've sent the link.. go and take a look!

wahh alhana!
u love the prata tingy too? yaa the chocolate w banana! heavenly! :P
hehehe i loved it soo much!! i also love eating the mangoes there! so sweeet!! :P
ya supposedly to b monsoon period.. but i'm now still recovering from my sunburnt!! my skin started to peel off already! ouch!
hmmmm
ohh regarding abt the pic of my blingbling ah.. hehe i did took a pic of it.. :P but wanted some privacy of it.. hehe.. juz a princess cut ring..

Hi racherlle

Ooh..princess cut..nice! Yah, I love the prata thing. We had it everyday
Its soooo delicious! Piping hot, crispy on the outside, sweet and mushy on the inside. Gosh, I'm craving for it right now :P

Haa..we also kena peeling skin after our trip..my hubby had it worse than me..he didn't put as much sunblock as me..peeled alot when we came back.

Hehe..u can do advertisement for Burasari..so many pics for their rooms and the pool..very nice. I'm glad I picked that resort now

hi! I'll be going phuket in january, my colleague recommended burasari but i'm not sure if it's a very modern kinda hotel? coz i'd prefer a villa type... wonder if racherlle can share pictures? or someone can recommend where else is nice to stay? i'm going wif my hubby, as a relaxing trip before our AD in march...

hi alhana!

heee.. yup! i was so glad that i chose Burasari! so i ended up taking so many pics! haha :P
there are more actually.. hehe didn't really d/l all the pics up.. coz i'm using dial-up at home.. takes a long time to d/l the pics up! geee.. :P

haha Burasari muz pay me advert fee!! :P
hehe

ohh hi keiki..
Burasari is not a modern hotel.. it's a resort feel type of hotel.. very resort.. tink of dark wood, green plants etc.. hehe nice!
okie no prob.. will share w u my pics!

hi racherlle! juz seen your pictures, thanks so much for sharing
wow i'm so tempted, quite like the room! hehee
and congrats dat ur bf proposed!! so romantic he is, u lucky girl!
i went to see the pictures of the racha, and it's fantastic man, esp the private beach part... but wow it's ex...
can u share which agent u booked burasari from? did u get a gd deal ah? i tink i'll prob choose that.. i haf tix (tiger air) so will nd to book hotel n land transfer

hi keiki!

heeee glad that u liked Burasari too..
i had a very enjoyable stay there!
ohh i booked online direct from their website www.burasari.com
yup most hotels in Phuket have offpeak promotions and so mine was the Birthday & Wedding Anniversary promo which entitles me for a free upgrade to the Junior Suite (prior to confirmation when u checked in).
i paid THB9,700 for 4 nites of stay there..
including transfer to the hotel..

ohh did u managed to get the $2 Tigerairways tix?
sigh.. i booked Silkair.. 2 weeks before Tigerairways came out!! geee!! :P

hi racherlle! u got a REALLY good deal u knoe... i'm going during their peak season
the prices are double i tink... very ex

i got the 29c ticket there but tix back cost about $40. but now gotta try and book a hotel... i don't mind spending a bit more, but not too ex...

Hi rach,
I didnt receive! Can resend pls? [email protected] Thanks!

Hi Alhana,
Oh dan I think its abit like Hua Hin. Undevelop and not much seasports but very gd place to relax...

Rach & Alhana, the prata thing issit available at roadside? With many favours n they add milk in it? Quite sweet but v nice one?

hi keiki!

ohhh wow u got a very gd deal for ur airtix!
hmmm i paid like SGD400 for 2 airtix (including taxes)! geee tink the amount i pd for 1 tix cover ur both!! hehe..

hmmmm ya peak season it's definitely more expensive! no choice but at least u can go and visit more islands too! like the Similan Islands..

keiki.. saw that u r holding ur AD in March nxt year rite? where is ur AD held? hmmm have u gotten ur home yet?