Perth

starstar
me oso taking the 0115 flight.. reaching perth 0615...heehee...coming back will be 1600 flight...
actually wanted to take qantas de, fare onli 328, but when we wan confirm, promo over liow... fares went up to 420... so book SIA, fares is 350, slightly higher but overall still cheaper than the qantas

now is the arrangement of accomodation n car... think that one will headache... look at a few cottages style apartments, seems veri cosy n nice... haven go into details yet...

hi mocca,

Drive around is better and the roads are like singapore , very easy to navigate. if you drive around u can see a lot of sights as compared to just seeing fremantle and perth city only. Car rental u can go to Bayswater. cheap cheap rates.

hi Low,

Normally, i Reach perth and book. alternatively u can call them up and book (But i'm not sure on this bcos my fren did that.). They do have a website but they do not do online booking. Trust that helps.

pepe
hahaha..u also book your car from bayswater? real cheap right?
I booked mine thru phone.. call them direct.. IDD call..:p the website got their telephone one...

Mocca
the roads there I feel is real nice to drive.. stress free... not as stressful as in singapore... in singapore drive from jurong to changi can get 'stone' liao.. that time I drove non stop from perth to bunsbury..
enjoyed every bit of the drive..

starstar,

i always take bayswater one. i think theirs is the cheapest and somemore the car is pretty new. last time i rent from another company, they do not charge unlimited KM. they state each day 200Km if not 10 cents per km. in the end i dun dare to go anywhere bcos i afraid i will exceed the limit. what a dampener.....!!

Hi starstar & pepe,
not sure if you are still reading this thread... i'm planning a trip to perth in Jun, n quite interested to rent the car from Bayswater.

Managed to find their website, but they only hv tel nos there. Do you know if they hv any email add that we can send enquires to? Prefer to email them the queries rather than ask over phone...

thanks in adv...

Hi ninikiki,

No, they dun entertain email request (i hv tried that). You got 2 call them (preferably in the pm, cos am they r very busy and they dun pick up the line). No credit details reqd.

Going to Perth the week after next.. thinking of bringing some foodstuffs for my boy's porridge. Does anyone know if we can bring dried mushroom and red dates? Thanks

Bayswater no doubt is the cheapest but no baby seat still have to get from another company and we have to go to their company on our own. Not very convenient for family..

So in the end, we are using Ace Rent A Car. They are quite flexible with their terms.. they gave us a free baby seat after a few emails.. and they even pick us up from our hotel to their company to pick up the car.

Hi Coldwinter,

Wld u be visiting Swan Valley? I need to get something from Edgecombe Bros winery there. U able to help?

Hi Coldwinter,

No problem, thanks. Have a great trip anyway. Me just came back from Perth few days back. It's cold now, so do bring more clothing esp. for your boy..

claerwen - yup.. had gotten long johns and thick windbreakers for the children liao.

Do you drive in perth? how is the parking charges like? Do we need to buy coupons like we did in sg?

Hi Coldwinter,

Yup we self-drive. I had a gal too..

For public parking, some places are free, most are either meter parking (where u had to put coins in) or ticket parking where u get a ticket for it but it's those coupons like in sg.

Parking charges also varies from places to places, depending on where u are. Some are $1 for 25 mins & some are $1 for an hr. Some places also offer free weekend parking.

No prob. I meant NOT like those coupons in sg, sorry for the typo error earlier..

I wld say local produce like honey, jams, marmalades, preserves, nougats, macadamias & wines..etc are all worth a buy. Not only cheap, but fresh & plenty of variety to choose from. Most importantly, quality is good.

If u're looking for sourvenirs, u shld head on down to the E-shed markets & Fremantle markets in Fremantle. They're only opened from Fri-Sun, which is why they're also called weekend markets.

Subiaco is also another gd place if u like to shop. They have a pavilion market where they sell many unique & handmade souvenirs & gifts which u can't find elsewhere. Can always take a look if u hv time. It's only 3km from Perth city.

Hopefully there is enough time for us to shop in Fremantle next Fri. We have about 2hr+ before we drove to Dunsborough, our next destination.

Thanks once again.

Altogether 10 days... 5 nights perth and 4 nights in Dunsborough. More or less... actually I've a few places to visit in mind but will play by ear.

Thinking of Augusta (whale watching), Lighthouse in Dunsborough, Margaret River, Nannup/Bridgetown (u been there? worth visiting?)..

Any other places which we should not missed? My children are 10yr, 8yr and 1.5yr.

Hey guys,

Going to perth? Nice place! Love the south! Nv been to north though.

Nannup actually i find that there is nothing much there. Hmm. Hmm now is June.. winter. It will be quite cold. You gonna stay in margaret river? Cottage?

Hi Coldwinter,

It all depends on what u wanna do & see.

If u're going to Margaret River, can also stop by Busselton Jetty. The jetty itself is 2km long, stretches all the way out in The Indian Ocean & at the end, there's an underwater observatory. Can bring ur kids for a visit. Fantastic scenery there too, especially the sunset.

If u wanna try your hand at picking some fruits in season, can also visit The Old Goldfields Orchard at Donnybrook. Big orchard & rather famous. Wld also be a great experience for ur kids.

I've not been to Nannup/Bridegtown, but I know Nannup is a beautiful town famous for its tulip farms & bush wildflowers which u'll see them blooming in August. Brigetown is also a picturesque town with many old buldings & lovely sceneries. Other than that, not very much attractions there.

In any case, always plan out your itineraries before u go. That way, everything will be organized & u'll not waste time deciding where u wanna go when u're there, cos there's really too many places u can visit. Wun be like lost sheep also..

hey claerwen,

can they pick fruits in winter? Hmm what fruits are there now? I always miss the season when i go to perth. I thought only summer then got fruits to pick?

hiya people
should go to the tree top walk in walpole..
great scenery...
light house in cape leeuwin also not to be missed..
have fun!!! oh ya..if u like lavender, try cape lavender in margaret river..

Hi Mish,

Actually most of the fruits likes pessimons, apples & pears are still available for picking till late May & early June. Mandarin oranges & oranges can also be seen in June. It all depends on the orchard u visit & the kind of fruits they have.

Besides Margaret River, there's also a lovely lavender farm in Balingup. Can chk it out if u're heading Southwest..

OMG!!! I didnt know that!! Where??? mandarin oranges can be picked?? I check with the tourist information personal, they always say dont have during the period... sigh...

where can we pick apples, pessimons??

Mish
Claewen is right. in fact some fruits are meant to be grown during the winter season. esp the citrus fruits.

sigh. Sad leh. I always go also tot dont have. Miss it all the time. You gers know which farm have fruits during may/june? I perfer to go during colder seasons...

Do we get to see lavender in June?

Btw, planning to visit one of the caves.. any to recommend? I've a 20mths boy so hopefully not too much steep road or stairs to walk and climb...

Hi Mish,

If u wanna handpick some fruits & heading Southwest, u can visit The Old GoldFields at Donnybrook. U can visit their website at www.oldgoldfields.com.au for more info. They have mainly apples & pears there.

There's another orchard at Armadale (abt 40 mins from Perth) called Raeburn Orchards which have apples, pears, pessimons & oranges available. They're so lovely & delicious looking tt u really can't resist picking them, haha. But right now, u'll only see oranges there. All the apples, pears & pessimons should have already been harvested coz it's already winter season. When I went there abt 2-3 weeks back, abt 2/3 of the trees were already empty cos it's already end autumn.

But sadly for Raeburn Orchard, they do not allow fruit picking though cos they're mainly dealing with export business. However, u're still free to wander through their orchard though & sometimes, u'll be able to see the harvesting of fruits by the workers there. It's really interesting. Their orchard is also very popular with tour groups

Hi Coldwinter,

The lavender farm at Balingup is only opened from Sep to Apr. However, there's a Lavender & Berry farm at Pemberton near to Margaret River where there're opened daily from 9-5.30pm. Also a very nice place & with more things to see. Besides lavender, u can also see raspberry & blackberries. U can also handpick them when in season, which is from Dec-Mar.

For caves, there's a famous Lake Cave at Margaret River, only 20mins drive south. They're opened daily & have guided tours to bring u in. Stunning views inside, really beautiful. And it's suitable for people of all ages..

Thanks Claerwen,

I definately go there the next time. Saw the webby. Hmm dunno why I didnt go there the last time. I went in April. Maybe not on the way. hmm.

Hey btw, how come u know WA so well?

Hi claerwen, thanks for the info. Just back from Perth last week. Didn't visit the lavender farm nor the caves.. Hubby not too keen... sigh.

I simply love the ocean view in Yallingup.. Awesome!

Hi, anyone been to the Wave Rock? Worth the trip? How much is the admission fee?

Also, is the Fremantle Market only opens on weekends?

Hope to see some replies!

Hi Sharon,

Wave rock is abt 350km from Perth, abt 4hrs drive, pretty far away. Frankly speaking, not worth the effort & $$ cos there's really nothing much. We actually wanted to go there on our first trip but luckily was advised not to, so din go in the end.

Pinnacles would be a more interesting place to visit. And it's nearer too, abt 245km from Perth, 3 hrs drive or so. When u're there, u can also visit Nambung National Park to see the wildflowers & wildlife, pretty interesting place.. =)

And yup, Fremantle markets are only opened from Fri-Sun. They're oso known as weekend markets. Their operating hrs are from 9am-9pm on Fri, 9am-5pm on Sat & 10am-5pm on Sun & Monday public holidays.

So whn u visiting Perth?

Hi all, thanks for the replies!

I'm planning to go in Nov for a week with 5 families, so i have to plan the itinerary well as i don't wish to spend so much time asking & wandering! I'm planning to drive south as i think will be more suitable for the kids!

I'm thinking either to go Wave Rock or Fremantle Mkt (it will be a Sunday) driving from Albany.

Hi babyshannon, do we need to pay admission fee to go wave rock?

Hi Sharon,

I went to Perth with my family (total 7 of us) too and I am also the one who plan for the whole trip for 8 days. I bought a lonely planet book which is quite useful as it helps to figure out wat i want to visit during the trip. if you are interested, i can email u my itinerary. my itinerary included pinnacles, fermantle, rottnest island, margaret river, albany, etc.
U dont need to pay any admission fee to go wave rock.

attached is the details for wave rock.
- 350km southeast of Perth and 4km east of the town of Hyden
- 3.5 hrs drive from Perth
- Visitors Centre at the Wave Rock Wildflower Shoppe
- Mulka’s Cave – 21km from Hyden, feature Aborigianl hand paintings.
http://waverock.com.au/

There is alot of cave near Margaret river which is really worth a visit.
Opps, forget to mention that there is no children in my trip, so it may be quite different for u since ur bringing kids.