Perth

Halow everybody,

1st of all, thx Sweetiee for ur help in doing up the itinerary, i have roughly thot of the order of my honeymoon but still need to know where to stay

Really exciting to hear there are so much thgs to do at Perth coz i always hear Perth is veri slow and dead. Anyway, as i was doing some research, i came across these 2 websites, quite informative....in fact from discoverwest, u will see that they have many tours ard western australia.

After my rough research, I think i'll 1st spend 1 nite at Perth before driving down to Albany. Spend 1-2 nites there then travel to Pemberton, stay 1 nite there then move off to Margret River, stay for 2 nites then go bunbury and then Frementle for 1 nite. Following day will head for Rottnest Island, and then make my way bak to Perth.

http://www.discoverwest.com.au/mapall.html

http://www.travelmate.com.au/Places/Places.asp?Places_type=State&type=PlacesBrow

Hi Kylie and Sweetiee,

Don't mind meeting up. My album isn't that heavy so I should be able to bring it along. Let me know when and where.

Yallingup is sorta the center of activities for MR so I'm not surprised that it's fully booked especially over the weekend. Lots of sufers go there.....apparently the beaches there has one of the best surfs in the world. Did you visit any of the caves? I also did some bushwalking near the lighthouse. I was at the beach too but not sure if it's Smith Beach. We stopped at a couple of beaches to have a swim. Also visited my favourite winery...Sandalford.

Ham Wey and Kylie, try reading through the Lonely Planet for Australia. I've found it very useful. It gives a really good rundown of Perth and places to visit and also recommends places to stay. I have a copy and can photocopy the relevant sections for you when we meet up.

hi Ham Wey & Kelsey,

Ham Wey... Good! Looks like you've done some good research.
Hmmm... Perth city itself is indeed quite slow... but if you move out of the city, there are really quite a lot of stuff you can check out.

Albany is even further... how many days will you be there again? But anyway I heard it's nice too...

Kelsey, hee, perhaps we should organise a self-drive tour to WA again??
Would love to look at your pics too... my pics are all beach, beach, beach... me and hubby love beaches...

Oh ya, we did visit the Lake Cave. Simply magnificent!

Hi Sweetiee and Ham Wey,

Well, Perth is alittle slow but there's actually plenty to do if you know where things are. I was actually there for 2 weeks and spent most of my time in Perth with some trips out of Perth. In Perth city itself, I spent time shopping (can recommend all the good places for shopping), visiting the art galleries and also went whale watching. Really love King's Park. I had a wine picnic there to watch the sunset on my last day in Perth.

Sweetiee, the self-drive tour sounds great. Itching for a holiday even though I just came back from one 2 months ago! Would love to show you my pics. We should arrange to meet up soon.You can email me at [email protected] I brought out the album yesterday night and looked through it again. Brings back lots of memories.

Ham Wey, Pemberton is not really that pretty compared to the other towns. Try Bridgetown instead. It's prettier and not too far from Pemberton.

hi bubble,

Might be a bit long... actually it's not the suggested itinerary, it's the places we went to the last time and I'll also be typing out some remarks...

Maybe you can leave your email address... can email you when it's done.

hi kelsey,

That's true...
I remember getting our wedding bands from a shop and when we told this aunty that where we were going to perth for honeymoon she went "huh?! So boring..." Ha ha...

Geez King's Park is nice... we drove in there one early morning... and enjoyed the cool breathes of air and the view of the tranquil swan lake...

Ha ha itching is the word! I'm always itching for a holiday too... and sometimes the idea of going in a slightly bigger group is you can take turns to drive, take photos... etc...;P Have you been to NZ?? Thot of going to NZ for 2nd honeymoon...

You must have been to more places than me... great, would love to see your pics... will keep you posted via email.

Ham Wey,

If u could, maybe you should plan to go fremantle on a friday nite 'coz they say it's happening...i will try to do that as well.
good that you've already start planning liao. as for me, i'm still like listening to all of you but dun know when to start.....'coz the honeymoon will only be next may..........dun even know when to book hotels & airtickets.

if anyone interested in Criterion Hotel that Catz mentioned earlier, they have an office in S'pore. I've got the email address if any one interested. I've written to their AUstralia office to enquire whether they will have promo during may next yr.the present promo (now A$90) is up til oct'02. if no promo, it's A$179. the s'pore office replied & say that they are offering me corporate rate at A$107 nett per night for a double rm including breakfast. quite ok lah hor?

Sweetiee,
i'm looking forward to your itenary too.

O¯ J?y, Kylie & Bubble,

Just sent you gals an email...
Finally.
I've sent with my company's account and normally I won't access over weekend. But keep your replies coming in... Will definitely check it by Monday... Have a nice weekend gals...

hi Kylie,

i guess its still quite early for u to book the tics now, not sure but maybe can book next march? there maybe some travel fair for the June hol's? Anyway, my honey moon is next mth from 1-9/10 but i only just got the tics last week. $440 per pax Quantas.

When i wake up later, i'll be making a trip to the australia tourism commission, wonder if its open on sat :p

Hi Sweetiee, ya, thx again for all ur hard work :D when i have finished planning, i'll post it here and u guys can amend/ add/ delete accordingly....haha

hi Ham Wey,

Did you manage to pay a visit to the Australian Tourism Commission?

Got your email reply... will keep in touch.

Hi Ham Wey,
Thanks for your advise. I'll probably wait..juz worried that if i booked all the accomodations & couldn't get a ticket, that will be problematic! But i dun that will happen lah hor? at most, no choice but to buy ticket at higher px lor...

anyway, the rep. office of criterion hotel has sent me many brochures on Perth, some maps, day tours, rental of cars, etc. if anyone interested, think cn get from them?

oh yah, Ham Wey, so did you visit australian commission on sat?

Hi Kylie and Ham Wey,

I think 8 Days magazine is doing a cover on Australia right now. This week's edition is on Sydney and I think last week's copy is on perth. It's a separate booklet that comes with the magazine. I saw the Perth copy at a friend's place on Sunday. Plenty of info on where to go and all that.

Sweetiee, my hubby is from NZ but I haven't been there yet. We're planning to take a whole month off after the wedding next year to drive and go camping in the South Island. Quite excited about it. He keeps telling me that the beaches there are fantastic.

Would love to show you my pics. I love travelling and have spent 2 months backpacking through Australia so I've been to the more 'wulo' places.

hi kelsey,

The southern island sounds good! But I won't want to interfere if you're there for honeymoon... kekkekkee...

2 months in Australia! How I envy you... I can only dream of retiring younger and go travelling...

Ham Wey was telling me over email that this week she will be away so I guess we can fix up a meeting next week? Will keep you informed.

er, btw, i'm a guy hor, sorrie if i didnt make it clear :p

anyway my trip to bangkok has been cancelled but still rather busy this week, but nevmd abt me, just go ahead and let me know when
thx

If you're going after April, don't buy tickets now. Qantas normally give out real special deals for Australia Day - 3 day only special tix, valid from mid-March to end June. I got my direct return tix to Sydney for $499. Perth was $399. but can get quite cold in June.

My husband & I did a 10 day thing in Perth in November. We drove from Perth up north to Kalbarri (really nice seaside town with majestic gorges), then Monkey Mia (where the dolphins come to shore every morning), stayed 2 nights each. Then drove back down to Geraldton for 1 night, and finally back to Perth where we visited the Pinacles & the National Park along the way. It was a really good trip, we enjoyed all the stops along the way, especially the little towns where we stopped for lunch, break, peaches... really beautiful country.

We stayed at YHAs all the way (YHA = Youth Hostel Association). It's the best way to travel in Australia. You get all the amenities at a fraction of the price, and they have lovely double rooms with attached bathrooms. Even if you don't stay at YHA, you can get the YHA membership card -- gets you lots of discounts all over australia (including car rental).

Some advice if you're intending to drive in Perth,
- better to have 2 drivers so that you can take turns. can be quite tiring.
- look for a petrol station when it gets to 1/4 tank cos you don't know when's the next petrol station.
- try not to drive early morning (fog) and late evening (animals)
- they have this thing called the "road train" like containers but almost 50m long, like train. don't even dream of overtaking them. heh...

hi Ham_Wey!!

Ha ha... really... sorry, I just assume since this is a Singapore Brides forum...:P Then must ask your wife or WTB to come if we're meeting...

Hi Orchid,

Your itinerary sounds interesting too!
Make me really feel like going on a trip again... *itching*

Hi Guys,
Bad news.......i juz realise my wedding day is mother's day....might need to change date. All the other preferred date in May taken up, so might take 25th.......in that case, dun even know whether should go Perth coz it's gonna be winter soon in June.

What u guys think? ppl will attend wedding on mother's day?

hi kylie,

Mother's day only what... hmmm... to me I'll still attend lah... if I dun go, then of course mother's day can be one of the excuses but if it's a relatively close friend of mine then I'll go irregardless of what date is that... coz you only get married once.

So your wedding is on a sunday? How abt bringing forward then?

Me still thinking which are the appropriate dates. my hubby wants earlier but dun think my dad will be happy about it! haha.....april is definitely out, so maybe june onwards, but that will make my hubby mad! me will be contacting my fortune teller tonite, so will hear what he has to say!

What's wrong with getting married on Mother's Day??? It will be an opportunity to honor all mothers who attend your wedding. you can even ride on it and give your mom & mil a bouquet of flowers or gift.

hi kylie,

I kinda agree with Orchid... it'll be a good time to honour all mothers present at your wedding... Quite unusual.

Hi Sweetiee & Orchid,
I'm juz worried that ppl might not turn up...mine's on sunday, so the attendance might not be ideal already and now this........
how i wish all my guests will be like the two of you!

hi kylie,

Then it really depends on your crowd already... Wedding is a good time to tell who are your real and sincere frenz...
My wedding was on 1st Jan, New Year day but the attendance rate was abt 95%.
Imagine most ppl went out for countdown the nite before and school will re-open the next day but most of them made it!
One thing is I keep my guestlist very lean...

Sweetiee,
well, i think you're really lucky to find such frenz & relatives, i can't say i'm very close with my relatives!

wish me luck tonite.hopefully, i will have a solution tomorrow.....

hi kylie,

Oh ya, one thing is my parents are very supportive. They will confirm and re-confirm with my relatives on their attendance...;P As for my hubby's side, his relatives are not in Singapore so that saved us the hassle!

Dun worry too much... things will work out.

Hi Sweetiee,

I've checked, the dates(i prefer sundays) are all gonna be in june liao.....& the worst thing is they have all been tentatively booked by other couples. so i need to check whether those couples will let go. also meaning i might not be going to Perth coz it's gonna be winter in june right?
i can only check with my coordinator ( from the hotel) tomorrow as he's on leave.......xian ah.......

hi kylie,

Hope things will turn out okie for you...

Have you considered one of those public holidays in May??
Take care and keep me updated.

Ai ya, it's your wedding!! even if it's mother's day people will turn up one. They can always have mother's day lunch on the day itself or even the day before (very common now). Unless your mother disagree then hold it on another day. If not, i say go ahead.

Oh, another suggestion, if you have it in June, why not go to Mebourne instead? then you can spend 2 or 3 days at a ski lodge at Mt. Buller or Mt. Threadbough. It's very nice!!

I wanted to go when I was in Melbourne mid-Aug but the trip got cancelled cos the snow melted early that year.

Hi Orchid,

thanks for your concern. i'll keep your idea in mind if i really am going to Australia. Right now, feeling a bit down. how i wish tomorrow will come faster.

Hi Orchid,Sweetiee,
I got my date with Marina Mandarin liao......it's in June, I'm so happy, but the only disappointment is that i dun think i can go Perth liao. So i'm now thinking of where else to go lor.

Hi Kylie,

How come you can't go to Perth? Is it because it is in winter?

Are you still keen on Australia? If yes, you can go to Queensland....the winter there isn't that cold. About 21 degrees in the day. I was just there in June visiting my in laws. I didn't like Brisbane but as they were staying in Noosa...that's where we were all the time. Noosa is very beautiful. Or how about whitsundays. Can see the Great Barrier Reef.

Hi Kelsey,
Yap, the reason for not going Perth is that it'll be winter in June. So now I have to search for another location lor... I'm worried that if it rains in Perth, it'll be dangerous to be on the road since my hubby & I are planning to drive around....

Hi Kelsey,

thx for ur recomendation and advice
fortunately i manage to book the tree-top hse. just want to know if 2 days is too much to stay at Bridgetown? wat can we do there beside nuaring and idling around? :p

Hi Ham Wey,

Bridgetown is just a very small little town. So you'll probably be spending most of your time just enjoying the comfort of your accommodation...
It will still be enjoyable though...Bridgetown has nice landscapes...it's a valley town...

Hi Ham Wey,

There's not much to do there. But the farm itself is very beautiful and like goldie says, the valley is beautiful especially at sunset. It's not too far from Pemberton so I guess you can do day trips out to climb the Gloucestor Tree (can't remember the spelling). Are you staying 1 night in the tree house or 2 nights? How much did you have to pay for it? So lucky that you managed to get it. I liked the homey feel and the bed is super comfy! The owner of the place even makes her own jam and puts them in the fridge for you!

Hmm,

i have booked it for 2 nites, which is y i'm afraid it's too much....but hearing u guys say its such a romantic place, i thot might as well stay 1 more nite.

basically i'm offered $176 for 2 nites and 2 person incl breakfast. to me, that's real cheap.

Hi, November will be nice to take a drive down to south through Margaret River & Albany. very beautiful.

We drove north last Nov all the way to Monkey Mia, stopping by Kalbarri for 2 nights. the destinations were marvelous, but the drive was tiring esp since it was really hot. at some points it wa slike 35-40 deg C.

Hi Ham Wey,

Well, whether to stay 1 night or 2 nights really depends on what you really want out of the holiday. If you are the sort of couple that needs to see lots of sights, then might be better to stay 1 night so you get to see more of the margaret river region. But if you are the take your time and just relax, read a book sort, then 2 nights is great. It might be a good break after all that sightseeing.

How many days are you planning for this trip?

Some places which u might want to visit when in perth:
In Perth City:
King's Park (just next to University of W. Aust)
(very good view & skyline of Perth City in the night)
Hay St Mall (shopping area)
Northbridge (chinatown, pubs, discos, clubs, makan places- this is just a few minutes walk from Hay St Mall, recommended - Uncle Vincent's Chilli Mussels)
Booragoon Shopping Ctr @ booragoon
Freo or Fremantle -
about 20 mins or so from city
try the fish n chips - generous portions!!
freo market - open only during the wkends for shopping/tourists (Fri - Sun , close at 5pm)
visit the lighthouse while at Freo
lots of cool surf shops at Freo too!
Scarborough beach - overlooks the Indian Ocean, quite chilly at nite, so do bring along a jacket/pullover
Recommended - "Blue Duck Cafe" - u get to dine by the Indian Ocean!
Do remember that most shops close at 5pm, except Thursdays - late night shopping where they close later at 8 - 9pm
Have fun!!!

hi!!

anyone can recommend a good place to stay around Margaret River/Yallingup area? i will be going with my family so there's a total of 5 adults. lookign for those places like 2 bedroom suites or cottages or chalets that cost about $120 - $150. preferably not more than $200. tried searching on the net but there are so many it gets so confusing. also can't tell whether they are good or not and whether the location is accessible or ulu. anybody can help please???

went to Perth this March and really had an enjoyable stay there..Margaret river is really a nice place, too bad I went there to stay for a day, didn't have the chance to visit the chocolate factory..A place I would like to recommend for staying overnite is The Freycinet Inn..if you were to drive from Perth city to margaret river(4hrs drive continuous), it is just located at the entrance to the town at margaret river. The town is quite a small one and you can probably cover the town within 2 hours.

The famous fish and chip is called Cincerellos, which can be found at Fremantle or Mandurah..but I would recommend you eat at Fremantle becos of the excellent atmosphere there. One advise for all is to bring your favourite chilli sauce there if you needed one becos the sauce there cost money and the chilli sauce ain't taste as good as S'pore.

Hi dutchess,

You can try Margaret River Apartments.

They are all 2 bedroom apartments, and brand new. Can sleep up to 6 persons in 1 apt.
Fully self-contained with hall & kitchen facilities.

Cost $120 night (for 2 persons), extra person $15/night. 5 adults will cost $165.

Email them at: [email protected]
ask for Kim

Being to Perth in 1993. Wow coming to 10 yrs. Have also visit Queensland , Sydney and Melborne airport. ha ha...

Well, I still like Perth the best. Not so city like.

Juz wonder anyone travels to Albany, Esperance, Hyden, Kalbarri, Geraldton - like to know any interesting places to visit. Thks.