Pan Pacific Singapore

hi ying,
I have not got ur email yet, can email me again or if it is just text, can also PM me.

Thanks. My fh still wondering abt the menu, when are u going down to sign the contract?

wow , you people are very kind to have shared with me the tips

Really appreciate the help n kind advice !!!! cheers PP brides + grooms

icy,
the sash thing is free for the VIP tables.. but if u wan the sash for the other chairs, think they'll charge $2 or $3 per chair....

Hi Kysha,

Basically, I just go to Johnny straight if I have any questions. If he is not around, I will look for Sarah. She is quite nice too.

The person who sends me the contract is Patricia. hahha, so I have got 3 coord in all.

Thanks to those who have feedback to me on the wedding cards.

Anyone went for food tasting or have tried their food before? My friend just went there for wedding dinner and commented that the some of food items were horrible, like for e.g. the sharkfin soup and the red bean dessert and other dishes which I can't remember. Anyone who have tried their food before, can comment which item is good or not good??? What dessert is good to replace their standard red bean dessert?

aiyo, goodluck, hear like that worrying le... so far all those who've tried their food b4 at weddings all have good comments le... can ask your fren to give more details anot huh? like when, how many tables, which ballroom, wat dishes exactly, what was so bad abt them....

Hi Goodluck

I have just went for food tasting few weeks ago. The food is okie, or rather I would say good. My "tasters" aka my family and my in-laws all feel that the food is nice and pretty large portion. We asked the chef will the AD be the same standard and portion. He said yes. eg. the prawns will be approx 1kg (regardless of size).

I have personally attended a banquet at PB. The food was okie lei. In fact, the sharksfins served during the food tasting and that banquet was good lei, very thick and tasty.

Hi Miata

Would like to check is this 3 dishes nice and how it look like??? Sorie to trouble you

1) Sauteed Japanese dried Scallops with broccoli in brown sauce
2) Sauteed Live Prawns in 'Szechuan' Style
3) Steamted Groupa With Black bean soya and orange peel

Hi Bao Bao

1) Sauteed Japanese dried Scallops with broccoli in brown sauce
Taste : Good.
Look : Shredded scallop with broccoli in thick oyster sauce.

2) Sauteed Live Prawns in 'Szechuan' Style -
Taste : Good.
Look : Prawns (shelf-less) in sweet sauce.

3) Steamted (BLACK) Groupa With Black bean soya and orange peel
Taste : Average.
Look : Whole fish (got head, got tail) in special sauce.
Additional remarks : Has a bit of the "mud" smell. But with the sauce, can cover up a bit. Unless you wanna change the fish to red groupa (better fish) but must top up, I think $40 per table.

just adding my cents

the 1st time i saw orange peels for fish , i find it abit strange .....
Miata , were all the 8 courses served ?
can we switch to alternative dishes even b4 tasting ?

Serena, all 8 course were served. If you already have intention to change any dishes, better to inform them prior to the food tasting.

Bao Bao, I dun quite understand your question.

hi Lis,
is yours the OB menu too? be sure to update us ya?

serena,
think u can change the dishes b4 tasting... ie if u dun wan garoupa and wan soon hock instead, u can inform ur coordinator... then they'll prepare soon hock for your food tasting session...

Icy,
so sorry, the msg is too long yesterday read till i blur liao.
PPgroom,
U mean we need to pay for the silver sash? I tot is FOC for alternate chair for normal tables.

Sorry to cause alarm to all. I'm just trying to find out too if it is true about the food there, especially those who already had their wedding there or had attend their dinner. The food tasting may taste good but may not be so on the actual day since they cook in bulk ! My friend specifically say the sharkfin soup is too watery and can't see any sharkfin. The red bean dessert was so-so only.

Hi garfield,

yeah, from what i know only VIP tables have gold sash on every chair. the rest no sash, only covered with a piece of cloth. i believe will need to pay as informed by other brides earlier on...

i've been to one of my friend's weeding at PP before too, and the sharks fins good!! but i agreee that the red bean dessert is really not that fantastic... too bad they dun serve 'oni' hehe

actually one question though... for the sharks fins, watery or not, it's just a matter of more/less starch right? more starch thus thicker lor... any chef in here can verify? kekekeke

Hi frenz !

I'm new here and am gona signed up with Pan Pacific dinner package soon.
Anyone can share their experiences who has held their banquet there?

Hi Joyce,

Welcome to this thread. Are you taking theocean room package? You might like to read at some of the archives here. Some perks are being discussed over here. If you have any problems, then do let me know.

I am also signing up with them soon...I suppose tomorrow.

Hi All....
I'm new here. Also interested in PP for the ocean package.
Was thinking of booking only 25 tables, but a bit afraid that the other room might be used for other function.
Anyone has any advice?

Hi Ying,

Yep, I will be taking the ocean package...find the package too good to resist. Was considering PB previously...but diff of abt $200 for a weekend. Though PB looks more grand, but still prefer the exclusive foyer n cosiness of OB

Oh, i will be signing with PP tom too !!!! Hv read thru the PP thread and tink the offer is about the same... juz tat juliana oni gv me 36 bottles of corkage waiver for wines. But should be gd enuf for me...kekeee

hi laine,
welcome to this thread... think if you have 25 tables, it shldn't be a prob for you to get OB exclusively for your use... speak to your coodinator... at most, they'll ask you to top up a certain amt per table to change certain dishes (as well as to meet the min. sales required) to let u have the entire OB to yourself...

btw, when will ur AD be? will it be on a weekend? if so, better work fast....!

am having my wedding at OB in jul this year. need to check with u guys on the available themes...standard items that they will provide etc ....

i know that they offer three themes prev...any new additions....

Hi feroy
Thanks for the advice.
Yes, shall have to ask Johnny abt it. Still waiting to receive the soft contract from him.
My AD is on a saturday in Nov05.. haha still long long way to go.
Thot we were being super KS to be looking for hotel, but when we called PP, Johnny actually told us that we were second in the 'queue'.
Thankfully, the couple in front of us gave up the date to choose another.

Hi kysha,
My coordinator is Juliana, I think she is quite ok with perks.. since most stuff already include in the package.

Hi ppgroom,
are u saying they strictly no Yam pudding (or-ni)?

OB ceiling is pretty low , what can one do to spruce things up a little to gv it a more romantic feel ? any suggestions eh ?
been to Hyatt , noticed that their ceiling is also low , but heard many brides @ Hyatt thread , mentioned that once the wedding theme is set up , they are blown away .....
so just checking with you folks , what are your bight ideas to make OB more beautiful

hi i new here

i be taking their ocean package too
is so tempting
i be signing the contract soon

btw, for the food tasting
mostly when was it done?
after the contract or a few month before the actual day

Low ceiling gives you the cosy feeling. Hanging things on the ceiling is not advisable cos it will make it feel castrophobic. And brings more attention to it. The Zen2 decor is romantic.

Personally I dont like high ceiling cos it's very echoic (cutlery sounds)

Qing, food tasting normally 2 months prior to AD.

hello been coming in and out of this thread so often, still waitng for my AD date to confirm though i have book the tentative date with OB. just worried if we will face any problem if both PB and OB have banquet on the same night, not sure if guests will be confused.

hi Laine

my AD is also Nov 05. tot we were super KS when we first booked OB tentatively. Just confirmed it two weeks ago. When it your AD? Mine is 5th.

Hi Chel
Haha... so I am not the only one.. heehee
Mine is tetatively booked for 19th but havent signed contract or booked church yet.
Actually quite shy to tell friends when my AD is, because its such a LONG way more.
Besides booking the hotel, have you started on anything else?
Wonder when must we start like looking for bridal studios and stuff...