Pan Pacific Singapore

oh dear.. anyone here has montage included in the package? Esp those who signed up during the divine couture show?

I had 2 photo montage played during my dinner at OB on Mid Autumn night this year. One being the MTV done on my wedding pics taken during PS (by BS) and 2nd being the photo montage for childhood till ROM (by AD VG).

Received a lot of good feedback as we played the wedding photo montage before the dinner start to keep the guests occupied. Especially for those guests who turned up late and missed the wedding photo album.

Bride & all,

You may change from montage to additional nite stay before your AD. Just inform your wedding coordinator early.

hi Peg Choong, thanks for the info! But we already have one extra night for AD. Part of the package when we signed up during the show... Actually I don't mind PP doing the montage for us, just that I dunno which company that is lor... And I dunno if service and quality good or not. Anyone did the montage?

hopefully this is not going to happen to me...
ivan had actually sort of like "chased" me to confirm whether i wanted 21 Oct 06 as another couple want this date as well (snowy, i hope that's not you) (initally he gave me 2 weeks to decide)..called me last week and i promised to give him my answer on Mon..
so when I called to confirm with him this Monday, he's on leave!!!! but me super KS oso..wrote him an email, called his office, and also called his hp..hopefully nothing goes wrong..

now Iky just emailed me and say Ivan cant meet this weekend..how????????

hi fanfan, get iky to book the date for you now... before someone asks another coordinator to book your date. Kiasu a bit nevermind, better than losing your venue

hmm... keep trying fanfan... Ivan's the main coordinator and if he's on leave... heard iky very blur one so how about contacting another coordinator? Anyone from the catering sales dept?

i'd finally gotten ivan last night..but he never called back as promised..the only thing he confirmed with me is that he'd blocked out the date for me...
i want to have a further discussion on the package details..wondering should i "hound" him

I just wanna assure to everyone that the work-rate of ivan is really superb
I had my AD on 6 nov 2005. As far as I know,alot of coordinators from pan pac had left,so Ivan is handling alot of wedding couples. i guess its not his fault. Throughout my wedding preparations with pan pac, Ivan is more like a friend to me. Even after my AD,we still communicate thru email. As far as I know,he is under alot of stress
Thats the problem with hotel line

hi ryan,

I do understand that..that's y i actually "rushed" to give him the answer whether I still want the date that was tendatively blocked for me...oso hope to lessen his burden..
but on the other hand, when nothing is confirmed, you cant help but feeling unsecure right??

hi fanfan, i understand how you feel
when you haven't confirmed your date, you always feel uneasy, like someone else will take your date. FH always says i overly gan cheong
On the other hand, must trust the coordinator, if you don't then you will feel uncomfortable even on your AD

Hi novia, thanks for sharing my sentiments..must say we really abit gan cheong cos in 2006 my FH will go reservist on Feb and Mar and I'll be going overseas for work..so we hope to settle the things before 2005 ends

Hi hi, any comments about Pan Pac? I'm considering the ballroom for my wedding. But the only issue is now deciding on the AD as most of the hotels are already booked. I'm hoping to mine in Dec 06

hi fanfan, I understand. My FH also very busy in 2006 so we wanted to settle everything early. Actually, it's not too early you know? Best to start at least 1 year before AD. Even the wedding planning guides in the local wedding magazines advise 12-18 months before AD!
What else is outstanding for you? Maybe I can help...

hi soon-to-be, best if you settle the AD first. Without a specific date, the hotel won't be able to block the date for you. Same goes for the other areas like photography, videography, catering etc. Dec 06 is a hot HOT month
Better join us at the dec 06 thread in "a meeting place for all bride" and see the compilation table of all the brides, their dates and hotels, then you know what's been taken up already

Hi Novia, Ivan finally replied...but only managed to get waiver for 12 bottles of red wine...is there any way we can increase more? do u think forgoing a barrel of beer in exchange of waiver of corkage for wine is more pratical?

AD and church venue were the 1st 2 things we're almost done with..went a bit of BS shopping..still looking for ID / contractors for our new hse..so many things to do..sigh

Hi Bride, thanks for the advice. I've actually decided on a few dates earlier, but the hotels that we want are already taken up. Now looking at alternative dates in Dec.

hi soontobe..some hotels may tell u that the dates are tentatively reserved..you may wish to ask them to inform u when the couple decide to give up the date...that was how i managed to get Pan Pac date..i kept asking almost every alternate day on different dates and in the end my 1st choice date became avaliable

hi fanfan, it depends on the type of guests you are inviting. If they are beer drinkers, then I suggest you keep that barrel of beer. I think it's cos Ivan knows you want the date for sure, that's why he can don't budge lor... I hear from some other thread that you can buy bigger wine bottles (like 3 litres or more) so in essence you pay only corkage per bottle. So you can cut down on the amount for corkage
dunno if Pan Pac will allow leh? Anyone tried before?

hi soon-to-be, so which dates are you looking at? Weekday or weekend?

hi fanfan, bride,
think you mean 1.5L magnum bottles, since the "normal" bottle is 750ml
I think as long as the contract doesn't state how many litres each bottle (of free corkage) should be then you're fine, you can always argue on that point.

there are 3L bottles in existence, but these will also cost you more than 4 times the normal 750ml price. in fact, 1.5L sometimes cost more than twice 750ml becuase they're more rare and harder to make bottles for. But I've seen ones at Carrefour which are not too bad, like the Rosemount label. most distributors should also have at least some magnums to offer you, so might be a good idea to scout around!

Hi Iso,

YUp. I was referrring to those 1.5L bottles.
May I know where can i find those 3L bottle ones?? Pan Pac corkage damn expensive leh

hi fanfan,

as mentioned, double magnums/jeroboams i.e 3L bottles are really rare, i don't recall seeing any on sale in the shops, so you'll probably have to ask distributors

how many (normal size) bottles are you thinking of getting ideally?

Hi Bride, I have already given up the idea of doing it on a weekend. Anyway, I tried asking for Dec 7 (weekday) and Pan Pac is booked too. So now, I looking at some other hotels. Going to do some "site visit" tomorrow. Wish me luck!!!

hi fan fan,

yeah corkage is usually ridiculous, especially since they give you lousy wine glasses. how much is their house wine? if i'm not wrong i think their house wine should be pretty ok, and you can also control consumption and wastage of wine by giving very specific instructions that servers are not to take away the half drunk glasses, or to serve wine during cocktails, and to ask before pouring more wine (instead of just pouring...).

how about ask for a tasting and see if you like it? some chileans can be rather nice!
also your guests will be drinking it while eating chinese food, so if the wine is too good, a lot of people won't appreciate it either.. know what i mean?

hi hi girls!

I've tasted Pan Pac's house wine and while I'm not sure exactly the brand, it was nice! A bit too ex if you ask me. Think 48 bottles of wine is enough for 36 tables?

iso's right. some Singaporeans drink wine for the sake of erm, showing off? So most of the time, they won't appreciate full bodied wine so just buy one that will taste ok

hihi..thanks for the wine tips..

anw, so far, Ivan only willingly to give 12 bottles corkage waiver...for you guys, will u

1) give up the 30L barrel of beer in exchange for full waiver on wine corkage

2) buy wine from Pan Pac and change the 12 bottles corkage waiver to free bottles of wine

hi fanfan, I would go for option 2 because at every wedding, there will definitely be people who want to drink beer. For Pan Pac, one glass of beer is about $9-10 so if you go by per glass, it may end up to be more.

As for changing corkage waiver to free bottles of wine, since you're already buying from Pan Pac then yes, this is a good move.

hi bride, do u think 30L is enuff ..i'm worried that it will not be enuff...
will it be nice if i totally dun make beer avaliable??

hi fanfan,

i go with about 2 bottles per table lor. But that also depends on your guests. do they drink a lot? if not, then maybe 1.5 bottles or less will do. Hard for me to tell you how many is enough. As for beer, my personal opinion is that there should be at least some beer available. Maybe you can just take 1 barrel.

hi huiling,

i think pan pac's cards are either ivory color or red color. Anyone knows for sure?

hi fanfan,

make sure you get your worth. Just a rough gauge, if I'm not wrong, one barrel of beer is about S$650++ so you can just calculate
If wine, then you should get more than 20 bottles assuming one bottle's $30. One night stay in the honeymoon suite is about $300 i think? Corkage is $30 right? So if you've decided to buy wine from your own source and not from pan pac, then make sure you can waiver for wine corkage

Hi Bride,

Yup, the card is in this two colours.. U can choose half of each also no problem. Have u print for the inserts?

Wow, I've totally lost touch after being away for so long.

Huiling and Bride,

PP has 4 card designs....Silver wave, Gold wave, Ivory and Red....

I've just collected mine over the weekend.

Anyone had printed with Jasvy? PP recommended them.

Anybody can comment on Jasvy?

A late merry christmas to all and a Great Year ahead.

One more thing, is Pacific ballroom closed for renovations? It was out of bounds. Even the escalator was closed.

Any ideas if the Ocean ballroom will be revamped too?

i think PP is pretty inflexible with a lot of things.. and given that i've been asking in the forum for ages for anyone using pacific ballroom, i think they should seriously reconsider their packages to make it more attractive cos no one is taking it up!!! hahahah...

Hi Nisiel,

I had my inserts printed at the focal-ad marketing.. cos theirs is cheaper compare to Jasvy. I will be collecting the card at Jan. I have selected the Ivory and red.. How abt u?

Hi Iso,

How ur preparation?