Pan Pacific Singapore

Hi Cubby

Juliana nver force me for an answer..she said she blocked for me the date onli and I will call her back wen confirmed...hmm...weird rite..

Oh, so got new wedding favours huh..tink i will see first

Meixue

As for corkage, tink they will waive all leh cos Juliana promised it to me..maybe u can check again..

I will also ask for 10 persons food tasting...:P

corkage waived all huh? doesnt matter, because i dont intend to bring in more than the 12 bottles (free corkage). :P

oh, u mean that there're bigger and whiter bears as wedding favours? i've not seen them, are they nice?? I've only seen those on SUnday and i thought that they're nice too!

If i have already placed a deposit, do you think the price of the bows are negotiable? Usually it's the case that once you've placed your deposit, the hotel doesnt really accede to your request anymore...

Hi everybody

The new bears are totally different from those that we have seen on sunday. They look more cuddly and cute.. However, the packing is not as nice because they are only packed in plastic see through bags with a ribbon tied on top.

I think the coordinators are nice people and basically they will try their best to accomodate to us even though we have paid the deposit. Try to negotiate harder lor..

For me, the corkage are also all waived so can saved a lot on top of the free flow of beer.

Hi Boo

Din see you come into this thread anymore.. Any
luck in negotiating with them the projector ?

Do keep us update ok...

hi kokeishun and meixue,
so they got new bears liao ah? nicer than the existing ones...hmmm does that mean that they are goin to discontinue the existing ones? actually i felt that the bears in the box quite nice and exquisite loh...now change to plastic...dun know nice anot...anyway...will decide again in march!

i have yet to negotiate for free bows...i think they will try to give it to us if they can loh.. but me definately not goin to pay extra for it...

hi shanice,
its good that she din pressure u...like tat u got more time to consider....maybe u can go for more wedding shows to compare the promo of pan pac w those!

u mentioned they gave u cockage waived for all wine? is it stated in the contract?

Hi Kokeishun & Gals,

Yup... my BS is whitelink booked during her world bridal show. I find Delia quite professional as in nice and friendly. I guess she is quite accomodating in our request.

So i see u gals negotiate waiver of wine & liquor corkage? Hmm... will do that also... heehee! I'm surprised we need to pay for the silver bow tot is includ in the theme. Anyway, i will not pay extra cash for it, will neg with them on this as well as 10 paxs for food tasting... kee kee!

Btw, i prefer the brown bear than white bear! Hv seen the white bear and she told us they might change the brown to white bear next year. Also, we can actually choose alternate wedding favours like that sat's dinner.

Cheers~

hi kokeishun,
this is boo... have not talk to the hotel abt it yet.... cos dunno how to start and now after hearing u all talk abt waiver of corkage for all wines me really tempted but dunno if i have the guts to ask for it cos i've already paid deposit n more or less settled. dunno if they'll entertain me sigh......
but i've found a projector from a fren but must test it out dunno if it's good enuff for the ballroom..

just spoke to my coordinator, he said its actaully qutie dangerous to decor the lights...cos couples had damaged it and got to pay a few thousands for it...which is equivalent to pacific ballrm price. even if prof also not safe...a bit disappointed thou...

my coordinator encourage me to take pacific ballrm since its still avail...so just wan to get some comments and advices fm u gals...whether isit worth to spent so much on a banquet?

cubby how much are u paying more for pacific room
it is really beautiful but suggest to be more on the thrifty side in such times.

hi opps,
i think pacific will be ard 800+ per each table..so got to pay ard 180 more for each table...dun know worth it anot.....haiz..

Hi pple...wow seems like i missed looking at the zen theme. cos i oso went on sat only and was quite disappointed as well.

Hi Shanice,
is your coordinator juliana tan? is she bo chap as wat some have feedbacked?

hmm...seems like able to negotiate for waiver of corkage is good!!
any other perks? care to share?

Hi Kokeishun and muffin,
care to share about the other perks?

my email address is [email protected]

i havent booked mine, but will do it real soon =)

Hi Cubby

it really deps on your budget but i dun think i will go for it as likely to top up quite a bit. Wat kind of budget u r looking for? Is ambience very impt or food is ur priority? jus feel ur choice isnt just restricted to Pan Pac. U may like to widen it and compare.

But of course, if u r only looking at ocean room n pac room, will choose ocean (given the same menu) as m practical :P

no offence, the menu of 638 (food is pretty basic lor)but both of the rooms looks really new and modern.

cubby,

My wedding is next year (Oct). So plenty of time to yak here..

Like you, we also had a tough time deciding between pacific ballroom (PB) and ocean ballroom (OB). In the end I convinced my fiance that if we take ocean ballroom, at least we have extra $$ to play with, like spurge on more decors, hire musicians, do something more fanciful with the cards etc. We may not end up doing it, but the option is there.
Besides, we were looking at 20-25 tables, it will look horribly sparse if held in PB.

Sunday's decor also changed out minds, OB looks more cosy, and you don't have to risk sharing the ballroom with others.

Also, if cost is a concern, why don't you check out Holiday Inn Park View (I think), I heard they are giving $30 off $708 (i.e. $678) per table for weekend if wedding before Sep 04. I haven't seen the ballroom, but the website said it's 6metres high (that's higher than most ballroom). hmm.. come to think of it, I might go and check it out. Hahaha

hi Cubby, I would choose the Ocean ballroom. As what muffins has said, with a lower price per table, there's the option to do up the Ocean Ballroom even more nicely. If u take the Pacific Ballroom, it'll be abt $800+ per table, but you might still have to spend some more money to do up the place to your liking.

I also dont like the fact that the Pacific Ballroom faces the road (i.e can see the road outside from the reception foyer), that makes it somewhat less exclusive.

Hi everybody

Me and my HTB have been struggling between Ocean and Pacific and after seeing the sat set up we actually decided to top up for Pacific. But the lucky thing is that Delia told us to see the sun setup first.

We shot some photos on the sun setup and show to our friends, most of them feel that the ambience is very good and the setup is pretty and cosy so we finally decided to take up the ocean ballroom without second thought.

Moreover, if the pacific ballroom holds less than 30 tables it will not look nice because of the high ceiling. It will look empty and cold not the warm cosy feeling that ocean ballroom able to deliver.

Like what muffins says, we decided to save up on the money to do up the ballroom. We might even do away with the tables centrepiece and put in our own and exchanged for some other perks.

I will be going sourcing tommorrow and will keep you guys updated. My friend who is a free lance wedding coordinator will help me in doing the sourcing so I believe will have a few good deals. We are also going to the flower wholesaler to see if we can add on flowers to do up the whole ballroom.

Actually another alternative for doing up the chairs is like what the sat couple did.

Stalk of flowers with one big leave will be slot into the back of the chairs. If they are charging for the silver bows, then for me I feel that slotting of flowers is more worth the price lor and it did look much more nicer.

Also we can choose to do it for alternate chairs and so can save half the cost for doing so..

Mayber can consider this too..

hi kokeishun, u mentioned that you took some pictures of the sunday set-up. I'm interested in replicating most parts of that set-up for my wedding next year. Can u send the photos to my email [email protected]? thanks!

Hi everybody,

Hmm...but i tink that doing the wedding deco on ur own can be quite troublesome,...though u can make it really unique and special.

when i went down on sat, the couple asked their frens to put some leaves twindling down the pedestal and the candlelight tree branches. if not, the pedestal would have been quite bare at the bottom half!!

but personally, i feel that i like the pacific ballroom more cos of the high ceiling. the ocean ballroom seems low. but maybe again, tings would have been different if i have seen the zen theme...

Hi Kokeishun,

can i take a look at the photos too? my email is [email protected]

thanks a million

yah i oso tink the putting of one big stalk of leaf is nice..isnt that provided by the hotel? cos i saw it in one of the pix in the wedding booklet they gave.

hmm...nmaybe we should bargain for that on every chair hehe
hi shanice,

yah, me oso met her once oni...so need to get feedback..but if she promise u waiver of corkage, tink its very good...

Hi Kokeishun,

Can you send the pics to me too? [email protected]

BTW, I did asked Delia why Saturday's decor is so bare, and how many flower pedestals are provided. If I didn't remember wrongly she said that there are 8.

For Sat, the couple wanted to move 2 of the pedestals onto the stage (on top of the 2 that are already there) so that the stage does not look too bare with the candle stand in the middle.

Moreover, the couple chose to walk in from the middle door (not the back), so the 4 flower pedestals line only the short walk way and not all the way to the back.

If someone have a chance, can clarify how many flower pedestals are included in the theme, coz it's not stated in the contract :P

I can only email you the photos next week because need to scan them in and I am going away for the weekend.

All the chairs are only provided with white covers and anything additional are charged at $3 per chair so in order to cut cost, they would suggest couples to do alternate chairs lor...

I have spoken to Delia before and she insist that the package that ocean ballroom are offering is already very cheap so other additional items have to be charged.

Found her not as friendly over the phone than seeing her personally so decided to look for her again next week..

Shanice & Wendy,
My coordinator also Juliana but i thinks these 2..one surname Tan & the other is Poh....

My wedding in coming november...meet her twice...last year....recently on phone feel she a little Bo Chay.....I'm rather worried...Hope i'm wrong...

Anyone having the dinner on weekdays? Can share the package you have with Pan Pac?
Pls send me details @ [email protected]

hi yvonne, opps, muffins and meixue,

thks so much for ur advices!
think i am just a little tempted to change to pacific ballrm cos it just so nice...anyway guess u gals are right, its no point paying so much extra for just the room...somemore only for ard 4 hours. guess i will stick to ocean and use the additional money for decor...or a even better honeymoon!! hehe!

i tink it is possible to bargain for the silver bows if both weddings in the ocean and the pacific ballrm does not come out to the maximum. anyway i dun think it will be nice to have bows on every chairs (too messy) so alternate will be just nice. also spoke to my coordinator, and he said will throw in the bows for me.

as for the flowers stands, there are only 4 provided, but i managed to ask for more flower stands fm my coordinator for free too...if i wan more

hi kokeishun,
send me the pics at [email protected] when its ready! thks alot!!

think the stalk of flowers on the chair will be nice too

cubby, your coordinator seems so accomodating and nice. My coordinator Delia didnt quite mention throwing in the silver bows or flower stands for free... sigh... and now i've paid my deposit and i have less bargaining power already. My package is the Ocean Ballroom weekend package and I have about 35 tables.

Hi Kokeishun,

I'd like to have a look at the pics too. Please email to [email protected]. Thanks.

BTW, everyone here's talking about the ballroom and its setup. How about the food? Does anyone have any positive (or negative) comments about the food?

hi muffins,

i have 25 tables.

hi meixue,

i get along very well with my coordinator actually so he is acually quite accomodatin gto my request so long it is within his means. i tink its better u request from her when ur date is nearer cos even if she promise anything to u right now, nothing is written down too... so i wil request everything 3 mths before my wedding again....meanwhile i will just jot down things that i wan to request in case i forget cos its still quite far away

hi tris,

i heard the chef is from hai tien lo is previously fm Ritz carlton and my coordinator actually said so far they did not received any negative complaints....hope its true anyway...hehe

Hi Kokeishun,
I missed to go down to see the setup for the Ocean ballroom last weekend. Glad that you have taken the photos...

Can you also email me the pics that you took for the Ocean Ballroom? my email add: [email protected]. Great thanks.

I am just confirming the "nett" meaning that we wont be paying the 10% service charge, 1% cess and 5% GST for 2004?

I am also considering Pan pac. If the above is true, it's a significant saving, esp in such times of uncertainties. Currently made tentative booking in nov 04 also. now waiting for mum to get back to be about the date. Hopefully the date is gd enuff for us.

Hi Kokeishun
can u email the pic to me too? It's been sometimes since i last saw the ocean ballroom. I can be reached [email protected]. thanks.

If i can remembered well, i find the ocean ballroom more cosy, of cos, the only disadvantage is not having the diff color lightnings. And we can't have the garden theme, think the gazebo can't be fitted in. a little bit disappointed tot cos it's my dream to have a gazebo.

Hi cubby,

sorry can i check with u who is ur coordinator? cos i always tot it was delia...

Hi DK,
so is urs tan or poh? i was asking about tan hehe

Hi lynn,
the ocean room is nett, meaning it is inclusive of service charge, 1% and 4%. though i havent booked my package, but that was wat my coordinator told me.

hi cubby, your 25 tables is for weekend and your coordinator offered the bows and more flower stands FOC. your coordinator Johnny is really good!

I've 35 tables for weekend and delia didnt offer me any extras. but never mind, nearer the date, i'll try to bargain again! hope i dont have to pay for the bows! erm, do u think i can quote your example and try to persuade delia to give me the bows FOC? =)

Thanks Maroz! I will confirm when my mum gives the green light to go ahead with the date. :P Keeping fingers crossed!

DK
What do u want to know abt the pacific ballroom? I would say u have more choices in terms of the decorations and lightnings, also with the higher package u are paying for, u shld be able to ask for more perks.

That brings me to this pt, anyone who has taken up Ocean promotion package managed to ask for more perks? I have discussed with my co-ordinator before this promo is out. Not sure whether she can still give me those perks we have agreed upon.

hi maroz and DK,

my coordiantor is Johnny...i cant remember his surname thou...think there isnt other johnny there besides him anyway...

hi meixue,

i think u can try bargain w delia when ur wedding is nearer loh...cos now say anything also not written down...so no par kay mah....tats y me will jot down everything that i wan to bragain...then 3 mths before wedding then tell them...

hi lynn,

the ocean package is already very comprehensive so there isnt much to request. they even throw in unlimited parking, wedding cards, waiver of cockage for wine, food tasting for 10 etc....so at the moment u sign ur contract there is not much to bargain...maybe u can ask for the bows and more flower stands if u wan...

Hi cubby

Did u ask for those perks? Cos the doc i received din mention that. I will have to check with my co-ordinator. In this case, I would say i don't have to bargain much.
Thanks a lot.

Let u girls know when i confirm taking PP.

me oso signing the 'dotted line' this sunday..my coordinator is Juliana...( scared she is those bo chap kinda...haizzzz)

I havent really bargain for decors on chairs..food tasting yet..will do it on sunday...

Cubby,

Wah.. u sure it's "unlimited" parking? My contract says 30% for confirmed attendance.
You know someone should shoot the co-ordinators, they all promise different things to different people. Haha..

Ok.. kidding, I guess it depends on negotiation skills which I don't have... sigh!

Any of you know how "children" and "toddlers" are counted in the seating? i.e. I suppose if they sit on the adults chair, they are considered 1 head. What if they sit on baby's chair?

(1) Does Pan Pac provide baby chair or charge additional for providing it?

(2) Is baby chair considered 1 head too?

there is no mention of unlimited parking and cards on my contract too. these are all based on mutual trust i have with my coordinator. anyway i trust that he will honour his words too!