Pan Pacific Singapore

Hey Ooshie, that was exactly how I felt when I went to view the ballrooms. They are almost side by side, very confusing indeed ..esp for older guests..not very exclusive.That's why we chose PP instead.

Hi Ooshie and Sel

Thanks for the advices. Really appreciate it. Didnt know that RTP ballrooms are side by side as i've not been there for any weddings before. Will drop by and take a look..

Will be meeting Ivan soon..so will update u gals..please also share with me wat to negotiate for coz i am really very bad at this..:P

thanks and have a good day ahead...

Hi Mas,
I have collected my cards from Kevin and he has only given me 175 cards based on 25 tables confirmed. I am expecting to increase to 30 tables but I did not want to tell him yet as it is prudent to keep your min tables at its lowest.

Kevin has mentioned that he do not mind to give me more cards but for any unused card, it will be charge at $2 per piece. For example, if I get 210 (70%) cards from him based on a guaranteed of 30 tables and if the actual day, i only have 25 tables, rightfully, I am only entitled to only 175 cards. I will need to pay 210-175=35cardsx$2=$70 extra to Pan Pac.

Hope my example helps..
, so in the end, I stick to my original plan which is to get only 175cards from him based on 25 tables guaranteed

Hi Linah,
I am going for my food tasting on 17 April. Is your food tasting date the same as mine? I am having it at 6.30pm.

Hi Mas,
By the way, before your proceed to hotstamp, ensure that there are no errors. After you have printed your cards, Jasvy (if you are using them) will return the hotstamp mould to you and you can bring the mould to them the next time you want to print more cards. Jasvy is charging $40 (a one-time price) for hotstamp printing of not more than 100 cards.

mas,
on my contract, my invite card was 80% so.. I just confirmed abt 36 tables and I got about 280 cards. But then what I did was I add this probability thingy beside each guest so I get a rough count on how many cards I will confirm need it.. and what is the max card I need.. ehem.. something like that. I already checked with Jasvy, for reprint u will need to have at least 100 cards.

ooshie,
that the 2 new theme, I thought pacific pearl is quite nice.. cos have lilies and pearls as seen at the bridal show at the reception. :D

Hi Icy,

Jasvy told me that if i need to print more, let say only 60 cards, I can do so but will also pay $40.00.

If yours is at 80%, you should be quite safe. Kevin only gave me 70%.

hi ying, i mentioned to kevin that i'll most prob increase to 40 tables...not a confirmation...he said ok he'll give me the cards. he didn't mention abt the extra charge for the unused tables leh....if later did not manage to hit 40...dun tink it's fair for them to charge me for the cards...right??

Hi icy,
Nope, have not decided on the food yet.
Me jus email kevin about the menu for food tasting, got to wait for his reply.

My Coordinator is Ivan, but have never talk to him b4. hmmm...
But last time was told 1 mth b4 AD, so will only be expecting his call mayb end of the mth or, early nx mth lor!

Hi mas,
I confirm 33 tables.
Kevin given me 210 cards.

It ok for my case cos i am printing insert.
For any xtars will jus return them...

Hi Ying,
Yaya, 17 Apr (Sun). We will sure see each other leh...
My at 7.30pm.

Woh, so good ah! Icy 80% of the cards, ying 70% of the cards! me only 60% leh...
Although that time Johnny told me 70%, but was not stated... Sigh, bo bian lor!

Sel,
I have decide on the new 2005 menu, the $888nett one. Already decide, tomorrow go and makan makan. :D

Linah,
yah yah.. Ivan also told me that we will see him only 1 mth before AD. But my arrangement of things all with Ivan, cos we complain before liao..very unhappy with the changing of coordinators.

Wow, Linah...
Surre, will be glad to see you. I can bio you to see how you look like..Hehhee..You sure will recognise me. I have an extra table of about 8 kids. Heheeeee....
By the way, you sa-jiao with Kevin a little, he sure give you 70%. Think Mas is the best, no need to Sa-Jiao, can get so many cards..

Hi Mas,
If i see Kevin, i will "kok" his head. How dare he charge me $2 extra. Anyway, you don't go and check with him. Later he ask you to pay extra.

Kevin,
If you are reading this thread..how dare you play favourtism...later, I get Samara come and haunt you.

wah ying, so shiong ah....scary leh....bride must be more demure....hehehehe
anyway i also now a bit apprehensive...later out of the blue PP charge us....incur additional charge....we can't return the unused cards also cos it's hotstamping.....sigh...

Hi KSbride,
According to Kevin, i think they know about this SIngapore Brides Forum and its very powerful. Ha. But they are not really bothered with our comments posted here. Sigh...

Hi Mas,
Don't worry since Kevin did not state beforehand to you, then most likely, he wont be charging.

Yea, me going to Taiwan tomorrow. Will chat with you gals when I am back on next Tuesday.

I've received a reply from Kevin very late last night. The promotion still stays. Though I don't think very much of it. Didn't read anything about the complimentary table for every 25 tables on the email he sent.

Since 10 Apr is this Sunday, I was thinking of popping over to take a look at the ballroom later this evening to have a feel of the ballroom.

By the way, what does "In laws get-together dinner for a table of 10 persons with free flow of chinese tea" means? Is it the food tasting? So many terms, not sure what it stands for.

Does anyone know if the seat covers are complimentary? provided? Will there be floral centerpieces for VIP tables & vases of flowers for all guests’ tables? Can anyone help me?

Hi phy,
the complimentary free table for every 25 tables is only applicable for signup on the day of the wedding fair.
Yup, the In laws get-together is the food tasting.
The seat covers comes with the ballroom theme. hence no charge for that. In addition, you can select the color of the table cloth. but think seat cover are standard - white color.
Think there'll be centrepiece for VIP and guest table. What izzit will depend on the theme u choose.

Ying,
Xtra table with 8 kids!
Then we sure see u liao... hahhaha...

Ok, if not engh then me do tat!
Hahahhaaa...

Njoy ur trip ah!

Icy,
icic...
How ivan? heard he not bad...
Hope everything will be smooth with him ard.

Hi KSBride,

I think if you want to go down and take a look at the ballroom, you've got to make appts. Pan Pac does not take walk in, that's what the guy said when I went down just now.

By the way, does anyone know if they provide a table to place our wedding photos? What about projector? Is it foc?

hi phy,
Did i say I wana take a look at the ballroom? *scratch head*.
I have seen both ballroom already and have already signup with PP at the wedding fair.
Actually you can just pop by to take alook at the ballroom. usually its not lock. I have seen it a few times especially when there's a wedding going on. Can see how the deco is like.

Think the wedding photos can be place at the recep table. One projector is FOC. If u wan a 2nd one, that will be charge.

Hi PP brides & groom
long time no in here.. & so many ppl here

Anyway, can anyone advise me on the food tasting in PP? Food Ok?
Well, my FH & i went 4 d food tasting last week.. d food tasted not that good... some tasty, some no taste... & when we suggest 2 change d steamed garoupa (black) 2 red garoupa, PP actually charged us additional $100nett per table.... not sure whether its worthwhile or not... is this 2 X?

Bascially, doesn't have a good impression during d food tasting... not sure if this will repeat during AD banquet...if yes, guests will probably left much earlier.

linah,
so far the experience with Ivan is good, good and advising us and quite prompt in contacting us. :D

lfc,
me having the food tasting tonight,
can I know what is your menu and what it is that u think is good and not good?
I also have a Steamed Live Garoupa in Superior Soya Sauce in my menu.

hi icy
mine is d OB package that was signed last year.
Basically, felt that d deco & presentation were lacking in some dishes, hence just d food alone "dumped" on a simple plate.
Oso, all of us felt that some dishes were just 2 salty, such as d shark's fin soup, steamed garoupa, etc.. while d noodles were just 2 bland.
Mine is oso steamed garoupa in soya sauce 2. heard that this is black garoupa, so actually intend 2 change 2 red garoupa, but PP quoted just 2 much - $100nett increase/table.

Cannot understand just change a fish, requires such a vast increase ?!

lfc,
why must have 2 garoupa? Red garoupa more expensive than black one, moreover u wanna 2 leh.

Did u talk to the Cheif about all these, did he listen?

Icy,
If I guess correctly..I think LFC mean she wants to change TO red garoupa ..heehee.. actually i heard good reviews about the perch? I'm still considering whether is better to take steamed whole fish or the fillet of sea perch.

I think our elders will like red garoupa more than black ones. My mom was saying red is tastier. Hmm..

Btw, Icy, what is the menu like for the 2005? Are you taking the Pan Pac ballroom or OB? I wonder if there is any changes compared to the 2006 one.

KSbride,
Which menu are you taking for OB?

hi icy
not 2 garoupas, we wanna oni 2 change d black 2 red, and PP quoted an extra $100nett just 4 d change....
The Chef noted down our comments, but he will leave them 2 our coordinator 2 finalise....
Thats y feedback & thus got d price increase as feedback... now considering better not change, not worth 2 pay extra $3k just 2 change a fish.

Hi Sel
yalor... most of our elders said red garoupa nicer... but no choice in this casd lor... have 2 please my FH's pocket.

does PP serve only black garoupa?

i will be meeting ivan tomorrow. would be grateful if you ladies could advise the stuff to negotiate with him..Thanks a lot!

opps sorry Lfc
read too fast. :p

lfc and sel,
me have another choice of fillet of sea perch, so depending on how the black garoups taste liao. Wow red garoupas additional $100 is very ex.. tell them we provide the fish and then they cook also not so ex. :p

greekgal,
food wise i think u dun need to worry yet, cos menu keep changing 1.. concentrate more on other peaks. :D

icy
yalor... so, we just stick wif d black garoupa with soya sauce... just hope d dishes will turn out nice on AD.
You having your food-tasting tonight, right?
Do update us how you feel abt it hor

Hi Jean, the soon hock is for the ocean II menu, there is the ocean III menu which provides garoupa as choice of fish

Actually what is Soon hock ah..hahah..i dun know my fish very well. Only know garoupa. I also dun know what is sea perch!

Hi greekgal, I'm not really sure what you can negotiate for but I know the usual stuff couples request for are like extra beer, invitation cards,extra night in bridal suite,wine corkage and free usage of projector. Since PP includes the seat covers, that's one less to ask for. Hmm..did i miss anything out? Maybe others have more suggestions?

Hi Sel,
I also dunno leh, but according to one of the menus i "research" from a restaurant, soon hock seems to be more expensive...*shrug* I also dunno my "fish" very well...hehehe...me not very particular, as long as menu got fish can liao..:p

By the way, do u have any idea whether we can exchange the weddding cake for something else?

Hey Jean, ^5!! haha, my FH and I just discussin on the wedding cake!! We were saying,"aiyoh..the cake looks abit fake, dun know can change or not.." then I came in and saw your posted msg haha..wat a coincidence

But I'm not sure if we can exchange it, must check out with the coordinator. What are you intending to exchange it for? On our side, we were thinking of ordering our own cake but then if we cut the cake up and distribute it as dessert, we will lugi the last dish, not only that,the cutting and distribution will take some time and requires manpower. So still thinking on this issue.

I told my mom abt the soon hock too, she was trying to describe but to no avail, coz i simply just dun relate to the fish that she bought and those that I ate. But when I mentioned soon hock, she say oh good, soon hock is nice...
However, I think if i'm not wrong, red garoupa is more expensive than soon hock.But $100 more for red garoupa is too much right?

Hi Sel,

hahah, great minds think alike! I also was considering requesting them to cut the cake after the cutting ceremony and distribute out at the end of the dessert.I also thinking of ordering my own wedding cake, but i check a few web sites and find it quite costly. Besides, i heard my frens says, wedding cake have very thick coating of sugar in order to make it lasting. From wat i understand, pan pac only have the top tier as real cake, the rest is dummy. So i thinking whether can let the whole thing be dummy and change the genuine later to something else...Also dunno wat can be exchange leh..cos i think no one will like the cake also...hahaha

Yeah, as for the "fish" thing, i think 100 more for a fish is really too much! with that money, u can buy a LOT more in the market! heheh might as well told panpac, I buy my own fish, u cooked for me la! :p But seriously, it's really too costly...Sometimes, I think they are getting more and more "money" oriented as they are becoming more "prestigious", I have a fren who held his wedding a few years back there and he says it's not liked that the last time..everything also must charge now...Since u say soon hock is cheper and ur mum says it's nice, why not exchange for soon hock if u really dun like the black garoupa..

hi jean
i think garoupa in general r exp than soon hock, thats what my mum told me... in garoupa, there r red & black... red garoupa tastes tender than black... initally tot can change 2 red, but since need extra $100, so no change ... *sob*sob*

Hi PP brides,
does PP provide d wedding songs & music 4:
1st march-in;
2nd march-in; and
throughout d dinner?
not 2 sure abt this... pls advise..
Thanks alot

Hi jean,

According to my granny, Black Garoupa is the cheapest. Soon Hock more expensive than Black Garoupa but Red Garoupa more expensive than Soon Hock.

When I wanted to change my black garoupa to soon hock, pp also quoted me extra per table.

Hi maybride,
heheh, that's wat i thought too cos I did see the normal chinese restaurant quoting higher price for soon hock...So when is ur wedding date?
I assume should be may 05 according to ur nick...hehe

By the way,
Anyone has any idea whether PP will agree if i request for 80% of cards instead of 60%? Cos abt 90% of my guest are not couples...

Hi Maybride and LFC, yup I checked with my MIL,she mentioned that soon hock is slightly more expensive than the black garoupa and then next one is red and finally most ex is Star garoupa..

Jean,
Yah man, I jsut surfed the net and read magazines on wedding cakes, found they are priced quite on the high side, so I guess I'll stick to the cake PP is providing. My frens were telling me, the cake usually is for supper haha!

As for the cards, I guess you can try to negotiate. How many tables are you having?

Hi PP brides,

does PP provide d wedding songs & music 4 1st march-in, 2nd march-in and throughout d dinner?

We not 2 sure abt this, if need, may have to source 4 d music... pls advise.

Thanks alot

Hi Sel,

I am only having ard 30-32 tables...my Fh and I just discussed abt the 2 crates corkage charges they waived. We were thinking whther 2 crates are enough for our guest. But additional will be charged for corkage charges, so maybe we will have to buy "magnum" which is equivalent to almost 2 bottles of red wine to save the corkage charges..PP never restrict say cannot bring in "magnum" rite?

Hi Sel,
I'm taking the 8 course. As for the actual menu, I didnt go think about it yet. Coz it's still a long way for me.

hi gals!
i m going for my 1st BS appointment soon.. just wondering wat colour did u gals chose for your evening gown??? our ballroom is blue and i should not choose blue rite?? coz if not i will look like part of the table cloth... how about pink??? i personally like baby pink or those vintage pink.. pls advice, thanks!

KSbride, I'm also taking the 8 course..but I've been looking at the menu and feeling hungry most of the time. Hahah..

Jean, wat is magnum?? Actually if you took the free wine corkage for one bottle of wine per guaranteed table is a better deal right? 2 cartons only 24 bottles.

had my food tasting and found the food quite okie. Pil quite okie with the food.. not saying that the food is not nice but in a way it is the same old usual dishes that hotel provides for banquet so to them it is nothing different, :p

Well, it is edible and in big portion, comparing the other hotels, the overall food is nice enough.

There are 2-3 dishes that we really really find it excellent!
Stir-fried Scallop with Celery and Pine Nut in Home-made Basket and California Maki Roll - very fresh and generous portion of scallops and then basket and maki also taste great!!

Roasted Duck with Black Pepper Sauce “French Style” - yummy!! Something unusual but some pantang people might not like it.

Braised Broccoli Topped with Crabmeat and Crab Roe - very BIG portion. :D

Wok-fried ‘Udon’ Noodles with Seafood and Sliver Bean Spout - Very nice also except that a bit too oily.

For the Garoupa also quite fresh, but a bit small so we asking for bigger fish, for Braised Shark’s Fin Soup with Shredded Sea Cucumber, Crabmeat, Conpoy and Bamboo Pith, too much other ingredient that we cant see the shark fins at all.

lfc,
pan pac did provide us with a suggested song list so I asummed that they do have some songs bah.. but maybe quite limited.