Pan Pacific Singapore

New paper title "Bride walks down 20 floors in darkness, Hotel blackout sparks frantic venue switch" WEDDING HORROR: BLACKOUT AT PAN PACIFIC HOTEL

http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/top/story/0,4136,68316,00.html?

Actually not so bad lah. At least they did all the arrangments to find alternative hotel, inform guests and shifting of food, servers and decorations etc... to Conrad and coaches to fetch guests over. Guest was able to be seated at 8.30pm.

I think after this incident they will impose preventive measures, once bitten twice shy. They should have backup power supplies. They would not want to appear in newspaper for such negative publicity again! It was such an unfortunate incident but hope such things will not happen to our actual day wedding.

I think Pan Pac will give the couple reasonable explainations and reply to the Press on this incident. Perhaps they should post an explaination on their website for service recovery or maybe send email to future bride & grooms having wedding soon to explain the incident to give them reassurance that such things will not happen again.

Scared leh. I will be very upset if such things happen on our wedding nite. It will ruined the beautiful memories. It makes me think of the general insurance product from NTUC Income "Wedding Insurance" It covers such situation.

The press article is so interesting. Cross my fingers that it won't happened on that day.

Meixue: I prefer Zen 2 design more.

Once bitten twice shy, hope it won't happen again.

Yes it was quite something I'd not expect from a 5 star hotel. And yes the newspapers had the wedding couple looking really sad. I felt so sorry for them ... On the issue of Pauline, I hve been trying to finalise my menu details for the past 1 week but have been leaving messages for her to get back to me and still no news todate. I am really disappointed at the service rendered

Hi Meixue,
I selected Zen 1 as the design will not go wrong. Both design quite similar only different is the stand & hanging flower ball on stage. Opted out Zen 2 becos of the white flower ball hanging on the stage, worried that mom will be "pan tang". I seen Zen 2 design on the day when I went for food tasting. On every table, there will be a small candle in the middle surround by bowl of flowers. The waiter told me that it will be the same for Zen 1.

Tell us more abt the insurance dat cover the wedding on such incident pls! thks!
btw, in ur contract there's tis term dat state the claim of hotel due to negligence etc solely on the hotel part is up to the amt of the deposit paid. Wonder it is applicable to such incident??? Not sure hor?

Hi Santuarium

Sad to see that such things happening to the couple. Luckily, there is space in the Conrad, if not how?

We are buying the wedding insurance! Can send you the leaflet in PDF format if u r interested. Maybe you would like to write to me at [email protected]

From NTUC Income website http://www.income.com.sg/insurance/wedding/

You can rest assured that you will be covered for:

$3,000 cover for damage to wedding attires
With damage of wedding attire covered by Income for up to $3,000, no need to worry about accidental damage. Even the attires of your bridesmaid, bestman, pageboy are covered, so they too have the peace of mind.

$2,000 cover for wedding Jewellery & wedding Gifts
Even your wedding jewellery and wedding gifts* (including cash and vouchers) are covered for up to $2,000.

*Coverage extends to within 48 hours of wedding and/or reception.

$300 for no show of service providers
If any of your service providers do not show up, you can be reimbursed for up to $300.

$10,000 for recovery of deposits
$10,000 for loss of irrecoverable deposit due to death, serious accidental injury or serious illness to the wedding couple or immediate family members. Unavailability of venue for ceremony or reception due to damage or financial failure of the service provider.

$300,000 for public liability
On top of that, guard yourself against legal obligations that may arise from any bodily injury or death, loss or damage to property to third parties as a result of your negligence in connection with the wedding cermony or reception.

Coverage commences 6 months prior to the wedding date and ends after the date of the wedding and/or reception, whichever is later.

Premium $128 per couple. Can buy it for peace of mind.

my gosh the ballroom looks like shit...is it the lighting? it looks boring and the potted plants at the stage makes it look like a stage in the commmunity centre from the 80s!

Thanks garfield...
zen1 look so much better here compared to zen2.
but zen2 is yellow light while zen1 is white light rite?!
Actually tat time when i see pic from them, i prefer zen2.

Anyone got more fotos on zen2?

allison, your must in the Pacific ballroom rite?!

Hi linah,
I oso don noe abt the lighting color, i got these pics from others. I oso find zen 1 is much more better than zen 2, especially the stage. I more concern abt the decor than the lighting, so to me these photos is alright to me. May b others got much more better pic taken than these.

Hi allison,
these pictures taken when PP is doing the setting up. So actually lighting color may not b looking like these. Have to ask those who had their wedding liao. Photos is juz c how the design look like, not the final presentation of the ballroom. I believe the actual presentation will be much more beeter than these pictures. Must have faith wif PP.

Zen 1 photos are taken by me. Only partial of them are posted here. Zen 2 I got it from another bride, which I dunno how come it turns to yellow color.

Hi Elin

Thats Y I selected Zen 1, play safe. If not, mom "pan tang"

I seen the actual stage setting when its completed. It looks simple and elegant, nicely decorated with flowers. I don't think community centre in the 80's have such nice stage. Private clubs may be.

Hi Allison,

If community centre stage have such nice deco, perhaps you should consider it for ur wedding, low cost & good.

Actually the overall of both zen decor look nice to me, onli tat i unable to accept the flower balls for zen 2.

Hi Sandy,
Oh zen 1 pictures is taken by u. Thanks for sharing wif us, i don noe these photos r taken by who, my fren forward to me these pictures.

Anyone know about the new girl called Esteal at pan pac? I was keen at first but after talking to her, I was quite put off. She was aloof and doesnt even seem to know her stuff?! I think she is new bec most of the staff has left.

Hi,Tanya
mayb u can try liasing with Pauline or Juilana cos they are the catering sales manager & mayb more professional than "new birds".

everyone,
choosing wat color table cloth?
hv seen the above color of table cloth at another wedding dinner.. seems like dat color goes well with the 'orangey' light.
also hv u heard pple sayg: dont choose a EG the same color as ur table cloth.. how accurate? huh??? my bridal shop n PP told me dat leh.

I really cant decide between Zen 1 and Zen 2, keep switching.

I decided on using red table cloth for the VIP tables and a sandy colour table cloth for the other tables.

Hi Meixue,
I selected sand color for VIP tables & Ivory color for normal tables.

Hi Santuarium
Yah, better don't choose table cloth same color as gown. If not pp may laugh at u wearing table cloth. Ha Ha. Once in a lifetime, better be safe then sorry. The light blue table cloth also very nice.

Hi Garfield,
Ha Ha

hi all, the community centre doesn't have any auditorium like that anymore, or hall. anyway im lookin into pan pac for my banquet as well...but the pics look so disappointing, hopefully after the yellow lighting everything will b much betta...i also can't stand the decor that their florists always give...is there a way i can dun wan that, save some $ and do my own decor OR ask them to do something nicer and pay a bit more?

wong hoon ling (santuarium)
Username: santuarium

Post Number: 2
Posted on Tuesday, July 06, 2004 - 2:36 am:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I juz signed up Pan Pac Ocean Package for 2004 dinner.
Please share ur pointers with me on the AD dinner at the hotel.
Got my package at S$638nett on sat.

HEY HOW DID HE GET A SAT PACKAGE SO CHEAP!?!?!?!? santurium how did you do it!!

Hi allison,
Then is too bad since CC don have auditorium. Since u don like the ocean zen decor especially the lighting, den u go for Pacific ballromm lor. U can oso go down to PP, take a look wif ur own eyes on ocean ballroom setting rather den tot the ballroom is look like these. If u c wif ur own eyes still don like it, den go to other hotels look for ur ideal ballroom den. Some ppl like the decor, some ppl don, it is hard to pleased everyone at d same time. There is no 100% perfection in tis world, y forcing urself & wasting money take PP if u really not satisfy wif them. U still got a choice to choose since u have not confirm wif PP.

Hi allison,

think you hit off this forum on a bad note... MOST of the brides here are taking the Ocean Ballroom, yet your criticism are so critical...
I quote 'my gosh the ballroom looks like shit...is it the lighting? it looks boring and the potted plants at the stage makes it look like a stage in the commmunity centre from the 80s!'

anyway, if you dun like their decor, and from the way you wrote it seems you have cash to spare. Then by all means you can have your own decor, all you need is spend additional $$ to change whatever PP has. But then again, if you're going to do this, you might as well change to another hotel which might suit your taste better?

No point looking at pics. It's best if you can go down to PP personally on a weekend around 6pm-7pm and take a look at the actual ballrooms.

allison,

are u an impostor???I have been to PP twice this year to attend two wedding dinner,and i must say in terms of food,service and decorations,they are all very nice and good.

To all PP brides and grooms,

I support PP even when there are some hiccups here and there,although i have signed up with Grand Copthorne Waterfront.

Can one still get the $638 Ocean package? Just wondering ... bec read a few posts that still can (?) Very confused as I thought now its only the new package left? Though I must say if PP is on the cheaper price still its staying competitive in the market

Hi Enlin,
The $638 ocean pkg is for those who hold their wedding within yr 2004 only, not sure whether still selling or not. As for $668 ocean pkg for yr 2005, it is no longer valid. They have new ocean pkg for yr 2005 which is higher price, better food menu than the ext'g $668 ocean pkg.

Hi Enlin,
I think the $638 ocean pkg is for those who booked their pkg b4 Jul 2003. Now Ocean pkg for weekend is about $778 nett.

Hi Allison,
U said CC in the 80s have such decoration but now don't have. AMK, Yio Chu Kang CC still have auditorium with stage. I have a good suggestion, u don't take PP hotel ballroom, u have ur wedding in CC, pay extra $ for florist to decorate the stage to your dream stage decoration or best still do some repainting to the whole auditorium. CC will sure give u super best service.

Hi Christine,
u hv ur gowns at santiago huh? are they gd? saw their gowns.. nice also. svs how?
though i signed up my gown package oredi cos AD is in oct 04.

Allison

Yeah me agree with christine... If u don't like Pan pac so why u sign up.... U can go to other hotels. Since u have the access money, so go ahead

Hallo everyone,

seems like you all have scared allison away...
hahaha...

Ya totally agree wif u all, the food and everything in panpac always got beri good preview.

Hmm... ya hor, the mention of zen 2 like funeral... hmmm... must reconsider b4 i make a decision.
Anyway, still sometime away b4 my AD...
Hopefully zen 3 will be out end of this yr(tat wat johnny told us tat time)!

Hey anyone have more fotos to share?
Anyone have any idea when will there be wedding fair for panpac?