Pan Pacific Singapore

Hi Pan Pac Spy,

I dont mind meeting u as well. My wedding is on 8 Jan 2005. Ocean Ballroom.

Pan Pac used to be of high recommendation by all the brides and grooms over at this thread. And we are so happy to have our dinner there!! But now is kind of disappointing!! i called your office 2 weeks ago, and your staff actually told me that no one is assisting my account yet!! so do i presume that i have to keep calling and keep myself update who is taking care of me that day!!!

Yeah, kinda glad mine's over.

Dont worry pple. I trust PP will ensure things run smoothly. Now's the transitional period for them I guess.

I went for food tasting at Hai Tien Lou on friday. The food was very delicious and they served very big portion. Hope their standard is the same on my AD weddding.

Christine, you can be assured that the food will be that good during the banquet. My mum just told me another fren commented that the food during our banquet was good. Three cheers to PP on this aspect.

Hi Miata,
Its great to have assurance from u that the food will be good.

I went to PP for discussion on my AD wedding details. It went on very smoothly and was quite happy with the arrangements that Pauline has made for us. We can trust Pan Pac to deliver their service.

There is a wedding going on Ocean Ballroom today so we went in to take a look at the deco. The deco was Zen 2. The waiters and waitress are setting up the place when we went in. They are very professional, they entertained our questions even though they are very busy setting up the place.

It seems quite difficult to have 2 projectors, one in front and the other at the end. Have to have a very long cable to connect both projectors to laptop and also space constraint as we will be having max tables. They need to have some distance to project the image and I think the wiring will be quite messy.

Anyway, my experience with PP from food tasting (the friendly chef who even taught us how he cook the dishes and ingredients), Food, Deco, coordinator and waiters SO FAR quite Good!

My wedding in Sept, coming soon. Hope the service and everything will remain good on my AD.

Hi Christine!
Congrats to ur sept 04 wedding.. I was there too tis evening to take a look at the decor!
So last minute still managed to 'chop' a sept PP ballroom.. so good for u.
Are u taking Ocean Ballroom as well? How's ur banquet package rate?

Hi WHL,

I booked the Ocean ballroom last year Aug. My AD falls on a sat, didnt manage to book Pacific ballroom. Chinese Lunar 8 year dates very hot especially weekend. My package is the same 2004 package as the rest. How about u? Whens your wedding?

haven't been here for quite some time... heard abt the 'johnny incident' though... hope everyone's doing fine...

ppgroom,
you managed to contact the videographer?

aiyoh, u din? sent it quite some time ago... okie, me will try to resend it but pls wait can? cos my office PC cannot access my yahoo mail *irritating*

Hi ying,
Today called my co-ordinator regarding change of menu, she told me need to ask her boss, i think unlikely success. She only agreed to increase my invitation cards the most to 70%, carpark coupon to 30%.

Icy,
I'm asking change to new ocean menu coz i may need to change at least 2 dishes. Not worth to top up juz 2 dishes, rather change to their new ocean menu. Now waiting my co-odinator to call back my FH.

Hi garfield,
My coordinator also increase my carpark to 30% and invitation card to 70% automatically. Actually, I think it will be enough to have 30% as not all guest will drive. Its already quite good to have 30% carpark already. Other hotels don't have so much leh.

Hi Miata,

What wedding gift did u select? The wedding bears or the horse carriage photoframe. I like both gifts very much. Don't know what to select. Hee Hee

Hi Christine,
I not worry abt carpark coupon, even if is 20% still b enuf. I afraid invitation cards not enuf. 60% of my guests r individual, so may b not enuf.

Hi ying & icy,
Received call from co-ordinator. Allow us to change to new ocean menu I by topping up $50/table. So each table will b $718 nett, how u think? My coll told me not to change, my present menu is ok, must think of reduce the losses not increase. Now don noe to upgrade or not, can share ur opinion?

garfield,
how much is original new menu? the $698 one or the $778 one? Must compared then I can tell whether worth the $$$ or not.

actually upgrade or not also depends on the type of guests u have, especially with relatives.. are they fussy with variety of food, will they compare, complain?

And also the angbao they give? Ur purpose - do u feel better when u serve ur guests with better food, does it means a differences to most people?

My case is like my fmil and fh prefer 9 course dishes, therefore we are considering to upgrade the menu. :D

Hi garfield,

Not to worry. If u need additional invitation card, u can request from your coordinator. I think they will give. Its part of their service.

My contract states only 28 tables but actual table on AD will be 38 tables (max capacity). She gave me 70% of invitation based on 33 tables. She said if not enough, can request from her. I don't think it will be a big problem. PP won't be so stingy over the invitation cards.

Hi Icy,
U have answered all my worries, tats y i got d thinking of change the menu. My FH veri chin chye one, feel ok wif our present menu. He let me make d decision.

My colleague said it is veri difficult to please every guests, sure will have some guests complain abt tis & tat. Wat most important is to avoid over-spend on wedding, we still need funds for after marriage not juz only AD. Her wedding banquet is $50 lower than mine, she oso afraid unable to cover back.

Now I'm still considering.........

Hi Maybride,
Pauline is my coordinator.

Hi garfield,
What ur colleague said is very true, we cannot please every guests. Its our wedding not theirs. I didnt top up any $ for the dishes. Actually its very full after eating the 8 course dishes especially when the serving is so big.

My husband and I prefer to spend the $ on our honeymoon rather than on the banquet. Our parents very ok one, never interfere in our wedding planning at all. Everything we decide even the dates also. My dad never requests us to select special dates or go through tong shu. If not big headache. PP ballroom so hot, difficult to find one weekend auspicious date.

Did u all select auspicious date or set auspicious time for groom to pick up bride?

Christine

garfield,
then i think do what u think u will be most happy abt? Do u feel spending $1.5K extra will make u happy? If so, just do it. But if that $1.5k going to make u happier somewhere else then dun upgrade.. just make sure once u decide.. u will not come back to think and regret. :p

Christine,
I have a time range for groom to pick bride, given by my geomancer.

hey, will Pan pac provide us with ang pow box? they should huh, especially after that theft incident some years back...

I'm quite disappointed that Pan pac wont give me the helper's room for overnight stay. They dont even want to extend the check-out time of the room and insisted on 8pm. it's really quite strange to ask my helpers to check out the room when the dinner has just started or even sightly earlier.. what an inconvenience...it's just one room, why cant they be more accomodating?

surely customer satisfaction and a good word of mouth about their service and reputation is worth more than earning the room rate for the night?

How are you doing? Long time never come in here as i was out of Singapore. Went for a cruise, so relaxing and fun.

Garfield:
My personal opinion is that if your parents are okay with the menu, then don't change. For me, my parents wants to change certain dishes, so...I might as well top up additional $50 per table for that. After calculations, based on 30 tables, I will fork out additional $1500. I am quite comfortable with this figure. So, I will upgrade the menu. It really depends on you.
Personal opinion is that the new menu dishes is much better than the one we have. Quite worth it to top up for only $50 per table.

When is yr wedding? Anyway, we still have time to think cos our wedding is next year. Maybe, you can decide only when it is nearer to the food tasting date? That is what I plan to do.
WHo knows by then, they will come up with even better and cheaper menu.

PP min table for wkend stated is 30. But is it possible to neg for only 25 to held at the Ocean ballroom? Had anyone held their wedd at PP with less than 30 tables?

And usually how much will the extra cost after the dinner amounted to?

Hi Ying,
Mine is next yr March. Both our parents & my FH veri chin chye, they feel ok wif d present menu, it's me wan to change d menu, i oso feel d new menu is much more better than present one. My estimated tables will b 34, so will have to top up $1700 if really upgrade to new weekday menu. We can afford to pay tis extra sum, i onli afraid unable to cover back most of d expenses.

1.5k plus is actually quite a lot.. y dont u consider changing the VIP tables where ur immediate family members are seated to better dishes only.. any way its only the opinions of urself & close family members dat u wanna pleased. Trying to please the reviews of all of ur guests isnt an easy task. Ciao.

Hi Garfield...

I expect the same as you. Most of the expenses will not be covered back, especially my husband and me will be paying everything by ourself. I expect to lose about 6k.

Do what make yourself happy. If you are okay with coming up with extra $1700, then go ahead. Afterall, its really once in a lifetime and you do not want to look back and regret. Hey, by the way, can ocean ballroom accommodate 34 tables? Will it be too squeesy?

Hi ying,
Ocean ballroom can accommodate max. 38 tables for ballroom 1-5, i try my best not to exceed 35 tables. If not going to upgrade my menu, i expected to lost $7k becoz my FIL(should say by us)is giving 10 tables to my parents, so ang pow collected from these 10 tables are belong to my parents. We don noe how much can cover back from d remaining tables especially my FH side is a very big family, so have to think carefully

Hi Meixue,

PP will provide an ang pow box and there will be a security guard at the reception area.
I used my own ang pow box because one week b4 my AD, I was there for a rehearsal and I saw that day's couples' ang pow box at the reception table. It was very simple, wrapped in red, no ribbons lor.

My AD was on June 27. The service was good. Had many compliments about the banquet. So you guys shouldn't worry too much..

Hi Junni, thanks for ur reply! Pan pac said they'll give me an ang pow box to use.

For Zen 1 and Zen 2 decor, which one do you girls think is nicer? My actual day is soon, so nervous!

To Julia, I think the Pauline is not from Mandarin. She is from Amara Hotel. Pauline Ng, she used to work for Amara as their Catering Sales Manger then now left to join Pan Pac lor

Just sharing what i read about in The Newspaper today

A couple who had their wedding at Pan Pac had to relocated their wedding to Conrad becos pan pac suffered a power failurs at around 5pm and unable to revive it after 40mins.

No reason was given tothe family yet why the failure occur...it is lucky that conrad had a vacant ballroom on that night and the dinner start at around 9pm.

ohh what a terrible news. it is lucky for the couple that they manage to relocate, but bad luck to face this kind of chaos on the actual day. let's keep our finger crossed. hope that PP has been helpful in helping to relocate the guests.

alamak, its pan pac hotel dat kanna black out.. didnt expect dat, u all shld look at the 'gloomy' expressions on the affected couple's faces on the paper! poor them.. hope tis wil not happen to us who are holding our dinners there..
hope my guests will not 'laugh' at the choice of choosing PP now they hv become so 'popular'..
then again, i believe they will tighten their IT security after tis event.