Orchard Hotel

muffin: U r comparing to what u see at kristin's wedding to when u visit the ballroom? is it really tat bad? did u comment to Elleen? her response?

Jo> yup.. I didn't see the Kristin's ballroom setting in Elleen's so called new ballroom themes. We did show our unsatisfied faces and couldn't decide which theme to choose. Upon seeing our hesitation and dissatisfaction, Elleen told us that there'll be a mock-up of the themes during the wedding show and asked us to go and see before we decide. Also told us there'll be 2 actual weddings that we can go and see. I certainly hope what the photos showed was an unfair depiction of the actual settings.

Really don't know which setting to choose. There's only 3 kinds of setting...
1) Oriental Theme. Red roses with Red and Black colours. (Probably cannot use that because my EG is Red and black. I'm not going to blend into the background!)

2) crystals Theme. Crystals that look like glass to me in the photos. A bit like malay wedding.

3) Feathers Theme. Looks very cheapo. Maybe my students can do something like that too.

These are just hubby and my honest opinions. So hope whoever who has chosen don't mind!

I really really hope during the wedding show, I see something unlike what i've seen in the photos!

Hi Muffin, I went to sign my agreement today with Orchard hotel, I thought the crystal theme is not bad, but I havent see the mock up and am going to take a look during the wedding show too.

Jo, the favours that I saw in the pic was one of them is the coin pouch (which looks very china to me) another one is a crystal bear (which looks like you can buy at pasa malam) and the last one I saw in the photo is ... a key chain, a bride and groom key chain (which i think is pretty cute).

jo: feel so cheated. signed up with them last yr, they showed i tink 4 theme including kristin's. One of them sound like what muffin mentioned: red and black. I thought that look quite classic. Hope its not as bad. As for favour, was told there are 60 over to choose. Dun tell me, now left only 3 ah?

Anyone going over tmr for the show? i cant make it. Joanne if u r going can update me? thanks!!

favours with 60 over to choose?!?!?! Who said that? I was given less than 10.

Regarding the themes, Elleen mentioned that there's no more Roman Theme which we kinda liked.

Joanne, I think the crystals one looked relatively better than the feathers one. I'm going down to see the mock up too. Hopefully it turns out classy and not CRASSY! hehe

Jo & Muffin: I went down to take a look at the theme and Muffin I was quite lucky I managed to stay till I have a chance to see the actual crystals theme as there was a wedding going on yesterday. Erm... I think the one you mentioned about the feather should be called "Dizzling dreams". I think all of them look quite disappointing. None that I like.

Jo, the favours I heard there are more to choose but didnt know how many more. And is not aware of what are the rest, those that I mentioned above are their new favours. But I heard that the show yesterday is to gather feedbacks to see what is the response on the theme and favour, there might still be changes. So don't be too disappointed yet. The one that you said about the black and red, I saw it. Yes, i think is quite classy too. Have you go for food tasting already?

joanne: thks for updating! hope they will take in the response and do something abt the theme.

Hvnt gone for food tasting since my AD is in nov. Shld be going down in oct bah..

Joanne, When is your AD?
Mine is just next month and there's no hope of seeing any new themes. So sad... The best of the 3 themes are the Red & black one but it so clashes my EG!!!!!!!! So disappointed!

Joanne and Muffin,
I totally agreed with you. I went down to take a look yesterday and found it very disappointed.
More over, I found Ellen service is not up to standard specially after signed the contract.

mandy: ya what make u comments that? she is my co-ordinator too. I hvnt hear from her since i signed the contract but i thought its normal since my AD is in Nov.

oh my, this is worrying..
Are their standards dropping or our expectations are too high? Any pics of the new themes?

jo, i also assume that the hotel co-ordinator should call us. however, i think is better that we keep track of the deadlines. if they don't call us, then we have to call them and check.

i only rem abt she mentioned 3 - 2 - 1. 3 mths before, 2 mths before and 1 mths before. To do what, i cant rem liao. perhap anyone here can advise?

Elleen didn't mentioned the 3-2-1 guideline to me or I didn't hear clearly. she said will contact us when time is right. anyway, in the folder, they will attach a time guideline on the things to do. can use that as reference

mandyeh> Gee... THought hubby and I were the only ones who are dissatisfied with the service we're getting!

I have pics of the table settings they showed us in my Multiply. mcfluffy.multiply.com
can take a look at the not so nice themes :p

muffin: thanks for sharing! The theme arent really as great as the previoud shown to us. Hai.. Disappointing leh..

Oh ya, saw ur guo da li's pic too. when is ur AD? When u got to confirm with OH the theme? How did ur food tasting go? Food good?

muffin, my AD is next yr 7 Jun. sorry for this late reply, I am abit tight up with my work lately.

Hey, do you think we can write in to our individual coordinator or somebody to raise their immediate attention that their theme is really disappointing. I mean is just a suggestion!

Ellen does not give us any file nor does she mentioned anything about 3-2-1 guidline to us. Maybe we faxed our contract in.
We called and mentioned how disappointed we are. She told us, we are the only couple "mentioned" about it. But she does have a few couple would like to use 2006 theme. However it can not be done since the contractor does not win the contract.
On the 25 March, we went to take a look on of setting for couple hosting 80 tables and use up the entire ball room. OH only prepare 8 flower stands for them( my hubby counted). The stand has only one basket of flower on it. "leg" was bare.

mandy: tat sound quite bad. I realised when i saw someone pic online, her wedding was recently in mar. She took up ballroom 1 and 2,thought its look quite bare at the walk in aisle.
Was tinking did OH cut down their budget(but at the same time raised the price for their table), let another contractor won the contract and produce such works. Its spolit their image totally.

mandyeh, maybe you can tell Elleen to take a look at this thread, then she will know that there are many OH BTB who are disappointed in their new themes.

anyway, i hope they don't lower their standard on food. food standard is more important

true. theme can make do with it. my colleague was consolling me that the one with gold table look not too bad. And nobody will really look at the hotel deco but food is impt.

Saw thru muffin's pic, thought the red and black one look nice but tablecloth is black. Got to get approval from Parents and PIL if we take that theme, elders might not like it.

I attended the wedding itself on 25 March. From a guest's POV, I felt that the decor was good enough. In fact, I liked it a lot. Not too cluttered and the ambience was very good. The floral stands along the aisle were a nice number such that the guests' views weren't blocked during the march-in.

However, the serving of food and the food itself wasn't very satisfactory. By the 2nd march-in, only the 3rd dish was served. My friend had almost 80 tables and I was sitting at the 2nd last row, yet when she finally came around for photo-taking near 10-ish, we were only at the 5th dish. The rest of the dishes were served in a hurry. Most people didn't stay for dessert which was served at 11pm.

Food was only so-so. The sweet & sour pork ribs and steamed fish were not bad. The noodles were ok. But the rest are hardly worth any mention. I don't even remember what was served.

The wedding itself was great though.
Sharing my friend's bliss was more important than anything else.

hi rara,
i think the serving of food at your friend's dinner was slow might be becos she has many tables. imagine 80 tables! maybe OH never assigned enough staff

hi hi Rara,
I was there also stay till the 1st dish in.
The bride was beautiful and seems most of the guest came in around 830pm. It was a great wedding in term of coordination and other factors.
But it is just my view, the flower arrangment could be better.

ya, i think its due to the hote tried to drag the timing for the couple to be able to take photo with all their 800 guests thus the slow serving of dishes. 80 tables is really alot!

And also i realise hard to satisfied all guests. Diff people diff thinking, diff taste, what suit A might not suit B. So as long as the couple is happy and hv a blissful marriage will do bah!

Jo...80 tables, last dish (the dessert serve at 11pm) then think mine will be easier. Think can end at 10.30pm. Lolz Minus another 10 tables.

Hey jo, my AD is on 21st April. Coming very soon yet I've not decided on the theme yet. Really in a dilemma. I do not wish to blend into the red roses theme (oriental theme with the gaudy red circle on the stage) with my red and black EG. Have you all seen the oriental theme pics? Really not nice leh.

And yes, i've gone through the food tasting. Erm... Maybe my expectations are REALLY TOO high.. nothing worth mentioning about! Maybe the pork rib was something I could remember... the rest is so-so. Maybe coz cantonese style so the cooking might be a little salty for our liking.

mandeyeh, I did see before a wedding and also felt that the number of flower stands at the aisle were rather sparse. I told my hubby about it before but he has no opinion. Decided not to complain too much... maybe we are perfectionists. Haha..

By the way, the theme with the black table cloth right.. i don't think it's available for sit down 9-course dinners? As in, it's set on a rectangular table so we guessed that it could be for buffets instead.

Anyway, I feel that the money spent on OH is not really worth. After going for the food tasting, it seems like the food is over rated. The decoration I've seen is so-so. Only the bare ballroom meets my expectations. :p all-in-all, disappointed!! I hope everything goes smoothly for me on the wedding if not, i'm going to kick up a big fuss!!!!! First my original coordinator changes to a not so satisfying coordinator, den all these disappointment.. haiz...

Morning!!

muffin: i see. I show HB the theme pics, he thought the one with gold table clothes look nice, i prefer the one with the maroon table cloth thou. And also he used to be in F&B line, he commented the black n red theme is western table setting so most properly we cant use that.

Perhaps look at brighter side, choose a theme that can blend in ur WG and EG, pray that the food will be up to standard tat day, ur guests will like it and U will be a very pretty bride that day!
I love ur EG, its really nice!! Dun worry, gal!

hi muffin, thanks for sharing the pics. Maybe with the whole ballroom done up, it may not be as 'bad' as you think. From what i gathered, a lot of people will not notice the deco of the ballroom. I only began noticing when i started on my own wedding preps. Actually more people are more interested in the bride's gowns and the food.

hi Joanne! My wedding is also on 7 June ! But it's this year

Hi Jo, Ballroom 3.
Will be having my pre-wedding photoshoot this sat and OH is one of the venues. Hope the pics will turn out well. *cross fingers for good weather too*

chere: really? i ever thought of going there for shooting too. So can be done? need to liaise with the coordinator? which area will u be taking? the suite or outdoor? *sorry for so many questions, kind of excited! hee.. *

Jo, hehe.. maybe I'm really quite negative.. Will be going down this Sunday to view an actual wedding. Hopefully it wouldnt' be as bad as I think. Anyway, thanks for your compliments on my EG!

Hehe.. ladies.. which part of OH do you want to take your pre-wedding shot at? I've thought of it before but my coordinator & PG says it's a waste coz you'd probably take a lot of photos at the hotel itself, so they advised me to go elsewhere.

muffin: no problem!
Wedding suppose to be a happy event, dun let these things spolit the mood!

if OH hv the waterfall background like GCW.. wow.. will be nice!

hi jo, thanks

the new themes don't look as nice as the old ones. however, we can't judge just from the pics. the pics look blur when we enlarge.
anyway, i agree that is best to view the actual wedding set-up. i may make an appt to view one of these days.

no problem!

i thought its not too bad. hee.. i quite like the one in pink. ya, shld go there and view the actual set up. ur coordinator is elleen too?

ya, my coordinator is elleen. i didn't look carefully at the pics just now but i like pink colour. if there is a theme in pink which is nice, i may go for that one....hee