Orchard Hotel

joanne: my AD is in Nov07. My next appt with BC is in April. Perhaps we got chance to meet up at BC!

Jo...I think I won't have chance to see you. My AD date came out today, the earliest is 7 Jun 08. I will need to call BC to inform them that we are pushing it back. Due to the "qing ming" in Mar and Apr next year, we can't get married in that month.

So sad....

No la jo, I meant becoz my AD is on 7 Jun and urs will be much earlier ma (nov 07), so when I do my photo shoot that time, you might already finished your AD already. We cant possibly see each other at BC.

Hey I added you in friendster, you must share with me your photos after photoshoot ok?

How is your prep coming up? Hey, who is your coordinator for Orchard hotel huh? Mine is a lady called Cleo but somehow I find her kinda of not so efficient. Are you getting the $939net package? I am getting that but a lot of my colleagues tell me that they find Orchard hotel super expensive. Well... I have no choice, think is the only affordable hotel at this moment, the rest which can accomodate 70tables are hotels like ritz, shang etc which is even worse. *cry* my pocket is gonna burnt a big hole.

oic. ya.. but perhap we can see each other while u r there for fitting before PS. Hee.. who is ur coordinator at BC?

ya, saw tat. cant access friendster at office. will add u at home.

At OH, my coordinator is Elleen. Heard Cleo is quite experienced. Shld be ok bah. No, i signed the package last yr in sept before they revised the package. I tink its quite ok for a hotel ballroom pricing with Hua Ting as a award winning resturant as background bah. Just that its seems like OH isnt like very well known. Quite a nos of my friends doesnt know where is it. Haha.. or we are too gu lou kua wen liao. hee..
actually for hotel pricing for a weekend dinner, the rate is ard there. Just that I realise many people din know that the pricing had actually gone up so much over the years..

been busy lately with work, so din come into this thread. i have not really started my wedding preparations yet. have not even gone down to the BS for 1st appt. my AD in oct 07, so still got long way to go.

joanne - have u consider asking the geomancer whether can hold wedding dinner end of this yr? june 08 like very far hor.

orchard hotel is a 4 start deluxe hotel. close to a 5 star hotel. so the weekend price is comparable to a 5 star hotel. just that i felt most of the guests may give only $80 per pax. seem that that is the market rate. my sis held her wedding dinner at pan pacific hotel recently. made a loss. not many people will give more than $80 for wedding dinner

sunflower: i realise many people now esp those older generation doesnt really know what is the so called market rate. they just give according to what they rem.
ur bridal package is OTR or MTM? my colleauge whose AD is in sep is going for her 2nd appt this mth, having her PS in may. mine due to MTM, going for 3rd appt in apr. I scare not enough for album to be out. Hee... kiasu..

hi jo,
for my bridal package, i can choose to MTM either WG or EG. if mtm both, have to top up extra cash. most likely, i may go for mtm WG.
hehe...i think i am very slow hor. haven't even gone down for my 1st appt. take my time....

sunflower: tink u might hv to check with ur BS? cos my AD is one mth after urs and my MTM gown is in process liao. taking measurement next mth. Just in case, last min got any changes, u can still change.
looking thru any design now? hv a rough idea or what u wan? i m still deciding on the EG color.

thanks, Jo. May call up the BS this weekend and c what they say. i am too busy with work, so no time to think about wedding lor.
so far, i have not done any research. too much info. also dunno what i want. no time to look through the websites too. i may just tell the designer the theme that i want and let her come up with the design. My ROM dress is MTM from the BS too. my friends and colleagues commented that the dress looks very nice.

Hey...sorry my boss is in town lately, have been very very busy. Jo, my coordinator at BC is Eddie.

Sunflower, can I kapo abit o not? Which BS did you sign up? Oh... I can't married this year due to work issues. I have major events coming up and also my bf is in events industry, his calendar is blocked from now till end of the year already. That is also one of the reason why I started prep so early. Once we have the time we will just look around for the necessary stuff because we never know which weekend is burnt and which is not.

sunflower: tat is great! cos heard too many terrible story abt MTM gowns so i m scared. Just pray hard its will look good on me! Hee..

Joanne: Oh, dunno who he is. Will kpo next time when i pop down to BC. hee.. Sound like u 2 are super busy. Like tat, very hard to arrange hor..

sunflower: i heard its great too. At tat time when i m looking for BS, i was torn between my bridal room and bridal concept. Eventually choose BC as recommended by friend, gotten a better deal. I must say My bridal room gowns are really unique!

Good morning ladies... no la not very busy after this afternoon becoz my boss will fly off for 3 weeks and I will have freedom ... Yahoo!!! My bridal room? Hmm... never heard before. But congrats, sunflower, I think is important that you find a BS that can make beautiful gowns

joanne: its a new BS, at Tan quee lan street, just one street behind bridal concept.

Shiok hor? no boss ard! hee.. u r a event coordinator? this line always got this impression to me as busy but seems so exciting and interesting.

Jo, I am not an event planner my bf is. I am working as PA in an aerospace industry. What about the both of you?

:D Of coz shiok la... got boss ard, he stress, I also stress!

Jo, do you know that there is a bridal show coming up organised by BC at Furama Chinatown on 15 Apr. Eddie (my coordinator) called me in the afternoon to inform me about it. He said that the ticket is selling at $18. If payment made by UOB (i think) is $10. Then I asked him if I go, does that mean that they are offering me a better package (Lolz, just kidding) anyway, he asked me to go down and check out their new collection of gown. Want to go? Where you stay huh, btw?

joanne: i saw people mentioning at BC thread. my coordinator din call me to tell me abt it, i m still waiting to see if she will notify me abt it. Maybe she tink since mine is both gowns MTM so dun need to go lor.. I m interested btw. See how first bah. I m staying at sengkang. How abt u?

joanne, i m doing finance work in a statutory board. now in a dilemna cos my contract expiring soon. may get contract extension. however, i don't feel like staying on. but with my wedding in Oct, money matters, i may be "forced" to stay on. wat i should do, gals???

Jo, I am staying at Tampines but I am usually at Serangoon (my bf's place) over the weekend. Gee...very near you. See how lor...maybe we can meet up and go together. But I might be away from SIN during this period, still hesitating.

Ohh...sunflower you are in Finance. Too bad...my firm just hired a financial associate if not can intro you in to have a try. ;) But I heard that there will be additional one more position coming up. However, is not announce yet. If you don't mind to give it a try, then let me know. I will inform you once I heard anything from the HR. ;)

My company is at Temasek Tower. Sorry I copied the job scope thru my internal website, here you go:

Responsibilities: 1) Review of Customer Invoices • Work with the Asia Sales team members to ensure that Customer Invoices are verified on a monthly basis. • Liaise with the Headquarters Billing team to resolve/rectify any errors identified on the Customer Invoices. • Coordinate with the Headquarters Accounting team to ensure proper accounting of the Customer Invoices 2) Review of Accounts Receivables • Prepare bi-monthly Accounts Receivables Aging Report with updates on collection status. • Work with the Business Unit, Asia Sales team members and Headquarters AR team to follow up on the collection of long outstanding receivables balances. 3) Support the Financial Analyst in the Month-End Closing. 4) Work with the Bank Funds administrators to review the Bank Funds Reports on a monthly basis. 5) Review the monthly Estimate at Completion (or EAC) for all Airlines related Firm Fixed Priced projects. 6) Process Suppliers’ Invoices for payment. 7) Set up of WPN numbers. 8) Undertake any other adhoc projects.
Qualifications 1) Min Degree in Accountancy 2) Min 1-2 years relevant accounting experience 3) Intermediate/Advanced Microsoft Excel skills 4) Proactive individual who is highly persistent and meticulous 5) Independent, organized and a fast learner who is able to work within tight timelines 6) Strong analytical and problem-solving skills, with an eye for details 7) Good interpersonal and communication skills, enjoy liaising with people 8) Prior audit experience in Big 4 audit firms is advantageous
Amount of Travel Required for Position None

I will check if there is any opening if you are interested in the position.

No prob at all, what are friends for?

sunflower: i thought of changing job too but now staying due to coming up wedding. its too much to handle if will to go without a job. meanwhile can wait for joanne good news!

joanne: my parents stay in tampines too! used to be a tampines gal. Haha.. we might hv seen each other just that we dunno. we are so near either here or that!

kristin: thks for sharing!!

Joanne: just fyi, kristin is from BC too!

Jo...u are tampines gal too!!! Wow...this world is so small. We can come out for coffee one day! I mean if you dun mind la...

Kristin? I know her... she is the one that looks very pretty in her wedding gown and I send a msg to her at friendster and request her to share her photos with me. I think her make up is very natural. Thumbs up!

sunflower - where do you stay?

Jo sorry forgot to ask you what job you looking for? I used to be a recruitment consultant, I might got lobang from my ex-client. Some of them still contact me once in a blue moon, let me know, I can help you to check it out check it out! ;)

dun mind! got chance can meet up! hee..

ya, very pretty right?! i like her gowns, full lace. i cant take lace cos make me look old.

i m cluesless abt jobs at this moment. meanwhile will still stick on bah. thks for asking!

sunflower: nvm, we can always meet up in town! hee.. where is ur new house?

kristin: is the guest book u used from BC?

sunflower: ubi is near!

oh ya, how many tables are u having?

Joanne: read that u got 70 tables. that is alot. Taking the whole ballroom? i saw kristin's pics, the ballroom look so big with so many tables, cant imagine mine. Haha...

Whoo...sunflower, ubi also at east side. Near by only!
We can always meet up! Btw, my directors went to Orchard hotel for a wedding dinner last month, and they commented that the food are nice. Think they have a changed of chef, because my bf's aunty who hold her wedding there 2 years ago commented that the food not nice but they like the ambiance there. But I love their suite. *Gee...

Hi Jo, yes, taking the whole of grand ballroom. I went to take a look at the ballroom already, it looks big and spacious. How many tables do you intend to have? Haiz...I really dont buy the idea of having so many guests, is really hard to take care. But I got no choice ... is my future MIL's guests! I wont know who are they, they wont even know who am I. Lolz

joanne: will be taking e min table which is 40. Its enough le. ya, most will be IL's relatives too. haha.. dunno who is who. tat is why i told HB, we are like the main male and female char of the day, they are the directors. just need to get it over! hahaha..

i will be having min 25 tables. taking ballroom 3. not sure of the exact no. of tables. will try not to exceed 32 tables.

both of u have so many tables. guess the dinner gonna last for very long cos u have to go round so many tables to take photos....hehe

sunflower, u looking for job in finance? me in HR, so of coz know who's leaving or not. my company is very very big. won't die unless the world explodes. so want to send ur resume over? let me know, so i'll email u the add to send to. =)

Thanks Joanne, march07bride n Jo for your compliment..

yup, Jo my guest book is from BC.

Sunflower, all my guests gave good comments regarding the food.. no complains!
Dun worry!

Hey kristin,
juz saw your photos. I love your hairstyle during AD!!! Haha.. shall ask my MUA to do something like yours if possible.

Btw, what is the setting of your ballroom? Coz yesterday when I went down to OH to discuss the ballroom decoration, I don't remember seeing that setting? Anyway, the new setting looks really disappointing! The favours too! Sigh...

muffin: what with the new setting and favours? i signed up last yr. When i went there to view the ballroom, there wasnt any setting for us to view and the ball was used for a company D&D, not wedding. Nv view on the wedding favours too. can advise?

sunflower : there's vacancy for finance / accounts. i'll send the JD to ur account. then u decide whether u want to send in or not. mine is an MNC.

hi muffin, are the new themes really that bad? i also signed up last year and was showed the themes then ...i find them pretty good. Thought the new themes will be better ...

according to the coordinator( Ellen) there would be actual wedding setup as well as the other 2 theme mock-ups on Sunday, 25 March, between 3pm to 5pm.

thanks, miffy. what is your email which you send the JD to me? i can't access to my Yahoo email currently. or you can send to my singnet account:

Gals - I am starting to worry liao. are OH's new themes disappointing??? i signed up their new package

Yeah.. Elleen mentioned that there's be mock-ups for the settings during their wedding show.

Maybe my standard of OH too high.... it's not so fantastic afterall? Even my hubby agreed with me that some things were indeed quite disappointing.