Orchard Hotel

Hi Kristin, Congrats on your wedding ! Great to know that you enjoyed your wedding nite at Orchard Hotel..

How;s the food served?

Hi Jo23

enjoyed my HM in New York.. We went there F&E..so we have all the times to ourselves. Luckily never join tour.. But it's real cold there.. lowest is like -5 degrees.. but we really had fun and it snowed 2 nights.. So happy to see snow..heehee

For the projector, I'm not sure if it's at the side or not... my husband was dealing with all those things...but everything went smoothly..all my guests enjoyed themselves.. the sound system, everything..alright..

Thanks Cherish, the food is great...many guests commented good food.. but I guess a bit of too much veggie in quite a few dishes.. haha..I've a few colleagues who are not veggie-lovers did not really enjoyed the food.. but the "older generations" like the food..

kristin: ur HM sound so shiok! snowing somemore! wow...
thks for sharing!
ok, will find out more on the projector portion. So good, got HB to settle the techincal portion. hee..

Happy to hear of the good food comments. Was worried abt it. Hope mine will be ok too!

Which theme did u choose?

Hi Jo,

Dun worry, hope yours will go well too..
The theme I've chosen is Roman theme.. for the pics...gotta wait till the photographer..pass them to me..

The coolest thing is that we gals were always too busy to prepare everything before the wedding.. My husband does help me..here and there... and then on the wedding day, I really relaxed myself till 8.20pm..and my poor husband had to take charge of the rehearsal before the wedding till the reception time.... I think he really confused during the reception time as I mentioned earlier that another ballroom 3 also got wedding and u will see people everywhere. I heard got this person put his ang-bao into our ang-bao box "wrong place"!!!!!

kristin: oops! that is serious! haha.. wrong ang bao box! how is the service? ya, for my AD, there will be a wedding at ballroom 3, hee.. got to remind my HB and fellow helpers abt it.

so now back from HM, back to work?

hi kristin,
congrats to you
when was your AD? mine will be on 21 Oct 07. u have given us assurance on the food and service of Orchard Hotel. Thanks!

Hi Jo,
i just came back from bintan with my hubby yesterday. had my ROM last Friday...

me hvn't decide on any themes. may i know who has chosen what themes from orchard hotel?

Jo: we negotiated alot of things from elleen as we confirmed the deal on the spot without any other thoughts. she looked kind of surprised at our response. we used carlton hotel's package as a guideline when we did the negotiation. my AD will be on 28 Dec 07.

miffy: u r lucky! i was not able to confirm anything on the spot cos my HB did not go with me. For the first time, i went down with my friend, took pictures, get details, go back discuss with HB. 2nd time, went down with his parents, confirming details and signed on the contract. Till now, Elleen hasnt seen my HB yet! Haha.. was abit not happy abt it initally but eventually got to understand, he really cant make it, i just got to do it, if not no dinner during my AD liao! Haha..

Hi Sunflower,

Congrats to your ROM!!
My AD was 21st Jan 2007...

Hi Jo, yup..back to work after 2 weeks leave.. The service OH given us was very good.. Yusoff was my banquet co-ordinator.. He really helped us see to everything... and consulted us over every matters... Luckily no complains from guests.. No spillage... or clumsiness from staffs..

sunflower : i'll be using ballroom 3. what abt u? reckon so many people getting married and hving D&Ds, we won't have so many friends coming. hee hee ... though I've mentioned to my 10 expat bosses that I am getting married. hopefully they are around x'mas season.

from wad i see ... i'll be back to work on 2 Jan 08.

I will also be using ballroom 3. A bit worried that my no. of tables may exceed 32 (max. no for ballroom 3) and I cant use the other 2 ballrooms cos cant meet their min requirements.

Morning ladies!

This thread had been quite quiet hor.. CNY coming, how is all of ur preparation?

For the AD, how are the preparation going on? Which BS are u gals with?

i am with My Bridal Room. Quite a new shop at Tan Quee Lan street.
I have not really started my AD preparations yet cos my AD in Oct 07. still quite a long way to go. will be busy with work the next 2 mths
Jo-when is your AD? how's yr preparations?
Cherish-when is your AD? i heard ted wu quite popular.

sunflower: mine is 1 mth later after urs, in Nov07. Will be using ballroom 1 & 2.
Did all the necessary stuffs, like AD PG etc. So now can relax abit.

I m with Bridal concept. Going for my 2nd appt in mar.

I tink ted collection is diff from ted wu.

cherish: ted collection do very nice gowns! saw a couple, perhaps due to tailor make, its fanastic!

yah, i just realise that ted collection is diff....hehe is their price higher end?
Jo, you started your preparations so early ah. when is the exact date? is good to prepare early. my hubby always said i very "gan chiong". he said still got long time to go to our AD.

my date is on the 17th Nov. Ya, i kiasu mah! haha.. cos when i was searching for the dinner venue, i realise lots of places are taken up even thou tat time was sep06! Then from Nov07 bride thread, i realise that my date is a super hot date so i better chop chop get those necessary done, if not last min cant find a PG then i dunno what to do.

Wat else to be do??

jo, you can check from the checklist that OH gave you. it will tell you what are the preparations that you need to do and the timeframe too.
i dunno much about preparations, especially those customaries things. need to consult my sis....hehe
now i juz put my wedding matter aside first and focus on work.

yup, they are different. Ted Collection is not a BS, they tailor cheongsams and gowns. The package i got is $2k+ for 3 gowns, all mine to keep.

My AD is in June

sunflower, i was not given any checklist leh..

Cherish: its given in e folder together with ur contract. check it out?!

Sunflower: ya, me too. know nuts abt those customary things. We are leaving all to our parents to settle on tat.

cherish, have you seen the designs of your gowns? all mtm?
i read from this forum that ted collections gowns are very nice. i have not gone down for my 1st appt with my BS. also lazy to read up magazines.

Jo, my contract comes in an envelope not folder, and i dun have any other materials. Maybe will check with my coordinator when i next meet her. It's just general checklist for wedding issit?

sunflower, yes my gowns are all make to measure and i've got the designs. Currently waiting for my 1st fitting, which will be after CNY. I find that the gowns designs in magazines (refering to local ones) are pretty limited. You may consider browsing designs online.

Im very happy now cos the GST will only be increased wef 1 July. *phew* was so worried that it will be in april and will incur extra costs for everything, including the wedding banquet. You gals may consider buying the big ticket items early.

ya, luckily i managed to sign the contract at nett. Price for my BS is nett too. *phew*

ya, i got design sample from online too. local magazine not many designs..

i didn't sign up wif any BS. Dun hv that big money to spurge on. I know it's a once a lifetime thingy. I prefer to spend the money on the travel to exotic place to dive. My PG is settled, fren doing for us. PS done in Phi Phi Island last month. Still searching for MUA though.

looked through the songs in the folder. I dun intend to use them. Have my own set of song list. Have done 2 tea dresses 2 years ago in MTM in Shanghai. Now I only want to look for WG & EG. Still thinking whether to use the past D&D EG or not.

Will be scouting for hair accessories during the GSS. That's the time for the last grab before the GST increase in July.

Hi glas,
got any online websites to recommend for gown design? bridal magazines are expensive and seem to have the same info everytime.

cherish, who is your coordinator at OH?

miffy,i can recommend you the MUA who did the makeup for me during my ROM. Good makeup and hairdo. very experienced cos she does makeup for TCS artisties and female magazine models. She is Jeannie Yong. her website is
www.glamis.com.sg

The following is the thread in this forum on her service

http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/1/244755.html?1168401195

Her prices may be a bit hiogh end cos she is very experienced. try asking her

Gong Xi Fa Cia for the OH bride.
Any good BS can recommand? My AD is on 15 Oct 07 but still have no clue on the BS yet.

Thank you in advance

i think their wedding show is on 25 mar 07.

miffy, i don't think i will use tdragon for the printing cos my dad works in a printing firm. can get for free or discount

ya, saw the ads. this time round they tie up with OCBC card. Anyone will be going? Seems like this time they specific the theme too. Only 3 themes are available. wonder how they look like. I rem i was being shown like 4 themes previously.

Hi dearies

I am new here. Most prob I am also going to choose OH as my wedding venue.

Jo23, you sign your BS with bridal concept too right? Or I got the wrong person? Haha...

joanne: yes! i m with bridal concept. R u too?

Sunflower: ya, its really quiet here. is it bcos most of our dinner date is quite later of the yr? how is ur preparation so far?

Hi sunflower, i am going to know tml! i am meeting the geomencer tml. i kinda of anxious, i have difficult MIL and i know she has a lot of pattern one. *cry*

Hey jo, yes i have signed up for bridal concept. My first fitting will be in jun. when is your AD?